Dr. Angelika Vlachou

Partner

Dr. Angelika Vlachou has been investing venture capital in biotech, pharma and life science start-ups for over 10 years. Over the course of her career, she has managed many transactions ranging from seed-stage venture capital and growth financing to licensing agreements, trade sale transactions and IPOs. Her expertise is also based on her virology-molecular biology research experience. One of her strengths is to combine scientific innovation with commercial potential. She is a valued sparring partner for founders, investors and stakeholders. With a doctorate in biology, she started her professional career in investment banking.

Portfolio

Posts & mentions

Blog
18. January 2024

2024: Trends, opportunities and challenges for founders

What trends and technologies can we expect to see in 2024? And what are the opportunities and challenges that founders will face? Our Partners Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Dr. Markus Kückelhaus and Markus Kreßmann provide an outlook, focusing on our investment fields industrial tech, life sciences & chemistry, and digital tech. Industrial Tech, Deep Tech and Climate Tech: An outlook by Dr. Markus Kückelhaus In the traditional industrial tech cluster, which encompasses fields such a
 
Press
15. September 2023

Successful exit for HTGF: adivo joins Zoetis to bring the benefits of species-specific antibody therapies to pet owners worldwide

adivo’s team and platform will strengthen Zoetis’ capabilities in therapeutic antibody drug discovery for companion animals. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) was among the first investors in a seed round in 2018 together with OCCIDENT and MorphoSys AG and closely supported the successful development of adivo. Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Founder and CEO of adivo: “I look forward to seeing what our team can achieve as part of a leading organization with global reach while continuing
 
Press
23. May 2023

smartbax Announces Seed Financing of €1.2 Million to Develop Next-generation Antibiotics

Munich, Germany, May 23, 2023 – smartbax, a biotech company developing next-generation antibiotics against multi-drug resistant bacteria, today announced the close of its seed financing round of €1.2 million from Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bringing smartbax’s total capital raised to €1.9 million. The funds will be used to advance smartbax’s small molecule antibiotics through preclinical studies, expand the company’s scientific tea
 
Press
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter appointed partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter to become partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds effective 1 October 2022Dr. Angelika Vlachou to further expand her duties within the Life Sciences unit at HTGF’s Berlin office in her new role as partnerStefanie Grüter to assume responsibility for marketing, communications and relationship management in her new position Bonn/Berlin, 29 September 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds, leading seed investor in Germany, has appointed Stefanie Grüter
 
KUPANDO Logo
Press
26. September 2022

Kupando raises €13 million in Series A funding round

Financing led by Remiges Ventures, co-led by LifeCare Partners, with additional investments by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.Proceeds to be used to complete IND-enabling work and initiate clinical development. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases, anno
 
Press
7. September 2022

faCellitate, a BASF spin-off, closes a €3.7m seed round led by SARSTEDT and HTGF

Proprietary intelligent polymer surface coating platform enables development of first-in-class lab materials for modern cell culture applications Closing of seed round completed raising €3.7 million from SARSTEDT, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), R3 Consulting, ARVE Capital, ROI Verwaltungsgesellschaft and Chemovator.faCellitate has developed an intelligent and ultra-low attachment polymer surface coating platform. The first launched product thereof is targeting 3D cell culture, enabling
 

Events

Event
3. June 2024

Rooftop Pitch 2024

Rooftop Pitch 2024 – For Startups: Call for Application Are you lacking the right financial support? Apply now for the Rooftop Pitch Potsdam on June 3. The Potsdam Pitch Event is aimed at startups with innovative concepts. As a participant, you will have the opportunity to present your start-up concept to investors for early-stage financing. Apply now and take advantage of the opportunity to get in touch with VCs, experienced business angels, family offices and other investors.

Dr. Angelika Vlachou

Partnerin

Dr. Angelika Vlachou

Partnerin

Dr. Angelika Vlachou investiert seit über 10 Jahren Venture Capital in Biotech-, Pharma- und Life Science-Start-ups. Im Laufe ihrer Karriere betreute sie viele Transaktionen, die von Venture Capital in der Seed-Phase über Wachstumsfinanzierung bis hin zu Lizenzverträgen, Trade-Sale-Transaktionen und IPOs reichten. Ihre Expertise fußt zudem auf ihrer virologisch-molekularbiologischen Forschungserfahrung. Eine ihrer Stärken ist es wissenschaftliche Innovationen mit wirtschaftlichem Potenzial zu verbinden. Sie ist für Gründer:innen, Investor:innen und Stakeholder eine geschätzte Sparringspartnerin. Die promovierte Biologin startete ihre berufliche Karriere im Investment Banking.

Portfolio

Founders Classes

Academy
16. September 2022
Due Diligence – Die letzte Hürde im Fundraising
Du hast als Gründer:in die erste Hürde genommen? Dein Team hat einen interessierten Investor gefunden und beide Parteien sind der Meinung, dass es sinnvoll ist, über eine Finanzierung zu sprechen? Bevor ihr mit dem Investitionsprozess starten könnt, folgen zunächst die Herausforderungen des Due Diligence-Prozesses. Die Ergebnisse sind entscheidend für das Investment, setzten gleichzeitig aber auch die Weichen für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit zwischen Gründer:in und Investor.
 

Posts & mentions

Presse
15. September 2023

Erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: adivo wird Teil von Zoetis, um Haustierhalter:innen weltweit die Vorteile speziesspezifischer Antikörpertherapien zugänglich zu machen

Das Team und die Plattform von adivo stärken Zoetis und ihre Fähigkeiten in der Entwicklung therapeutischer Antikörper-Therapien für Haustiere. Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) gehörte 2018 gemeinsam mit OCCIDENT und der MorphoSys AG zu den ersten Investoren einer Seed-Runde und hat die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von adivo eng begleitet. Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Gründerin und CEO von adivo: „Ich freue mich darauf zu sehen, was unser Team als Teil einer führenden Organisati
 
Presse
23. Mai 2023

smartbax schließt Seed-Finanzierung über 1,2 Millionen Euro ab zur Entwicklung innovativer Antibiotika gegen multi-resistente Bakterien

München, 23. Mai 2023 – smartbax, ein Biotech-Unternehmen, das Antibiotika der nächsten Generation entwickelt, gab heute den Abschluss einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Millionen Euro mit dem Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Damit hat smartbax bisher insgesamt 1,9 Millionen Euro eingeworben. Mit dem neuen Kapital wird das Unternehmen seine präklinischen Studien zur Erforschung von niedermolekularen („small molecules
 
Presse
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden neue Partnerinnen beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden zum 1. Oktober 2022 neue Partnerinnen des High-Tech Gründerfonds. Dr. Angelika Vlachou wird als Partnerin am Berliner Standort des HTGF ihre Tätigkeit im Bereich Life Sciences weiter ausbauen. Stefanie Grüter wird in dieser Position zukünftig die Bereiche Marketing, Kommunikation und Relationship-Management verantworten. Bonn/Berlin, 29. September 2022 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds, führender Seed-Investor in Deutschland,
 
Presse
KUPANDO Logo
26. September 2022

Kupando erhält €13 Millionen aus einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde

Finanzierung mit Lead-Investor Remiges Ventures, Co-Lead-Investor LifeCare Partners und unter Mitwirkung von Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors und ungenannten Family Offices abgeschlossen.Die Erlöse werden für den Abschluss der IND relevanten Zulassungsarbeiten und den Beginn der klinischen Entwicklung verwendet. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, ein biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das TLR 4/7-Agonisten zur Stimulierung
 
Presse
7. September 2022

faCellitate, ein BASF-Spin-off, schließt eine 3,7 Mio. € Seed-Runde unter Führung von SARSTEDT und dem HTGF ab

Proprietäre Plattform für intelligente Polymeroberflächenbeschichtung ermöglicht die Entwicklung erstklassiger Labormaterialien für moderne Zellkulturanwendungen Erfolgreiches Closing der Seedrunde über 3,7 Millionen Euro unter Beteiligung von SARSTEDT, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), R3 Consulting, ARVE Capital, ROI Verwaltungsgesellschaft und Chemovator.faCellitate hat eine intelligente und extrem niedrig anhaftende Plattform für Polymeroberflächenbeschichtungen entwickelt. Das
 
Presse
9. Februar 2022

Lindis Blood Care schließt erfolgreich Folgefinanzierung ab

Finanzierungsrunde unter Beteiligung des High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital sowie mehrerer Privatinvestoren, die ihr Engagement bekräftigenDie neuen Mittel sollen vor allem für den Abschluss der laufenden REMOVE-Studie mit CATUVAB®, die Erweiterung des klinischen Programms, den Abschluss des CE-Kennzeichnungs- und Start des FDA-Zulassungsverfahrens eingesetzt werden sowie laufende Partnering-Aktivitäten unterstützenCATUVAB® ist ein neuartiger Ansatz für eine sicher
 

Events

Termin
30. November 2023
HEALTH TECHNOLOGY SUMMIT
From disease prevention and diagnostics to treatment and monitoring, advances in technology are transforming health systems and improving patient outcomes. But as healthcare becomes more digitally driven, concerns around reliability, privacy and data security may hinder progress unless due care is taken to ensure smooth integration. Organised by FT Live in partnership with TNW, the Health Technology Summit will bring business leaders, innovators and medical professionals together online to ex