SFDR

Statutory information under Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 of 27 November 2019 on sustainability-related disclosures in the financial services sector (Sustainability Finance Disclosure Regulation – “SFDR”).

Policies on the integration of sustainability risks in the investment decisions regarding High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG and for High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (Information in accordance with Art. 3 SFDR)

This statement is the consolidated explanation of sustainability risk policies for High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG and for High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (together the “High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III”) in accordance with Art. 3 of the Disclosure Regulation.

High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III partially consider sustainability risks as part of the risk analysis in the investment decision-making process. High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III have decided to improve, to develop a systematic ESG policy, and to introduce an ESG management system. Such work is currently in progress.

Policies on the integration of sustainability risks in the investment decisions regardingg High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (Information in accordance with Art. 3 SFDR)

Sustainability risks as defined in the SFDR are taken into account in investment decisions concerning High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG.

A sustainability risk is an environmental, social or governance event or condition that, if it occurs, could at entity level cause a negative material impact on the net assets, financial position and results of operations as well as the reputation of High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG; and thus on the value of the investment. Sustainability risks can affect all known risk types, i.e. market risks, liquidity risks, counterparty risks and operational risks, and contribute as a factor to the materiality of these risk types. The review of sustainability risks is part of the due diligence process and risk management by the HTGF team.

Sustainability risks in the areas of climate and environment are divided into physical risks and transitory risks:

Physical risks include, for example, extreme weather events and their consequences (periods of heat and drought, rising temperatures, increased risk of forest fires, flooding, storms, hail, etc.) as well as long-term changes in climatic conditions (e.g. frequency of precipitation, weather instability, sea-level rise). The consideration of such physical sustainability risks is of particular relevance, for example, for investments in real estate. In the case of investments in portfolio companies, such as those made by High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG, physical sustainability risks do not represent a relevant risk position and are therefore not explicitly examined as part of the ESG due diligence.

Transitory risks include, for example, the risks that can arise from the changeover to a low-carbon economy (and any associated increase in the price and/or shortage of fossil fuels or emission certificates). For example, political measures can lead to an increase in energy prices. In addition, changing preferences of contractual partners and social developments represent a corresponding risk for non-adapted companies. New technologies can also displace known technologies. Transitory risks can also be realised in a decline in demand for emission-intensive technologies. There is also a dependency between physical risks and transitory risks. Insofar as physical risks increase sharply, this may require an abrupt change in the economy, which in turn leads to higher transitory risks.

Furthermore, events, developments, or behaviour that are classified in the areas social and corporate governance can represent a significant sustainability risk, as far as the probability of occurrence has not been sufficiently taken into account in the valuation of an asset. An example is the payment of fines for tax evasion or unjustly received refunds.

Sustainability risks can also have a significant impact on the reputation of High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG. On the one hand, this results from the potential for damage that sustainability risks basically implicate. On the other hand, there is potential for moral prejudice, which can result, for example, from an existing business relationship with a company which is exposed to sustainability risks on its part and does not alleviate them appropriately.

Generally, sustainability risks can have a significant impact on the economic result of an investment in High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG. Sustainability risks can result in a reduction or even devaluation of assets. They have not yet been sufficiently investigated science-based, particularly in the area of environmental risks, or there has been a lack of the necessary data basis. As far as a sustainability risk materialises, planned payments to the investor may therefore be delayed or be lower than expected or, in the worst case, be defaulted.

Regarding the consideration of sustainability risks  in investment decisions, the HTGF team ensures that the respective risks for each portfolio company are identified and assessed separately and prior to investment. This is done using a standardised assessment form as part of the due diligence process. If a particularly high risk is identified or other warning signs (“red flags”) are discovered, the founding team is informed. If the risk cannot be eliminated or adequately alleviated, the investment opportunity in question is not pursued any longer. The investment strategy of High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG includes criterions for exclusion with regard to the portfolio companies to be acquired. For example, the HTGF team already excludes portfolio companies that are associated with potential sustainability risks due to their business model. High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG refers to the exclusion lists published by the European Investment Fund (EIF) and KfW Bankengruppe. The assessment is carried out in the above-mentioned standardised assessment form as part of the due diligence process.

The HTGF team is convinced that the sustainability risks will not have a material adverse impact on the portfolio due to the investment process as well as due to the risk diversification. However, despite the inclusion and consideration of sustainability risks in the investment processes, it can explicitly not be excluded that sustainability risks which materialise nevertheless, will affect the value of the portfolio and thus the return of High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG may be impacted.

Statement on the principal adverse impacts of investment decisions on sustainability factors concerning High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG and for High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (Information in accordance with Art. 4 SFDR)

This statement is the consolidated explanationon principal adverse impacts of investment decisions on sustainability factors for High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG and for High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (together the “High-Tech Gründerfonds”) in accordance with Art. 4 SFDR.

In accordance with Art. 4 SFDR, High-Tech Gründerfonds, in their capacity as fund managers, are obliged to provide information on the consideration of principal adverse impacts of investment decisions on sustainability factors, i.e. adverse impacts in particular on environmental, social and employee matters, respect for human rights, anti-corruption and anti-bribery matters (so-called “Principal Adverse Impacts” / “PAI”).

Consideration of PAI is largely dependent on the availability of relevant information on the market. In the area of start-up financing, the data required for this is often not available to a sufficient extent and in the required quality. Nevertheless, High-Tech Gründerfonds take into account the impact of investments on some of the sustainability factors and exclude some investments that would affect environmental, social, ethical or governance factors. The nature and extent of the consideration is related to the specifics of the venture capital business (investments in start-ups). High-Tech Gründerfonds applies the principle of proportionality.

Due to the legislative procedures that have not yet been completed at the current time, there is still a large number of unresolved detailed questions with regard to the specific requirements for measuring and reporting PAI. Therefore, High-Tech Gründerfonds does currently not yet systematically consider PAI in accordance with the legal requirements of the SFDR and its implementing provisions, but will instead await further legal developments. Corresponding processes in line with the legal requirements will therefore only be implemented at a later date, if deemed necessary. After the internal decision on the ESG policy and the ESG management system, High-Tech Gründerfonds will publish further information  regarding policies on the identification and prioritisation of principal adverse sustainability impacts and indicators as well as measures taken or planned in this regard.

In this context, High-Tech Gründerfonds will review possible compliance with codes for responsible investment and internationally recognised standards, as well as the degree of compliance with the objectives of the Paris Agreement, if applicable.

Information on the inclusion of sustainability risks in the remuneration policy concerning High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG and for High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (together the “High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III”) in accordance with Art. 5 SFDR

The remuneration policy of High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III is consistent with the inclusion of sustainability risks from the environmental, social and corporate governance areas. Thbecause reason is that High-Tech Gründerfonds only cooperates with public and private investors that meet high standards in terms of social criteria and good corporate governance, moreover, it only invests in such start-ups. In addition, High-Tech Gründerfonds also invest specifically in start-ups that pursue an environmentally friendly business model or even directly combat environmental pollution (for example, traceless materials GmbH). The sales of High-Tech Gründerfonds, from which in turn the remuneration is paid, are generated in compliance with this sustainability-related investment strategy, which is why the remuneration policy is already consistent with the inclusion of sustainability risks from the areas of environment, social affairs and corporate governance.

Information on the inclusion of sustainability risks in the remuneration policy concerning High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG in accordance with Art. 5 of the Disclosure Regulation

The requirements of Section 37 of the German Capital Investment Code (KAGB) for the maintenance of a specific remuneration policy do not apply to High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG. Accordingly, no sustainability risks pursuant to the legal requirements of Section 37 KAGB are taken into account in connection with remuneration.

SFDR

Gesetzliche Informationen gemäß der Verordnung (EU) 2019/2088 vom 27. November 2019 über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegungspflichten im Finanzdienstleistungssektor (Offenlegungsverordnung)

Strategien zur Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken bei Investitionsentscheidungen betreffend die High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG und für die High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (Information gemäß Art. 3 der Offenlegungsverordnung)

Bei der vorliegenden Erklärung handelt es sich um die konsolidierte Aussage zum Umgang mit Nachhaltigkeitsrisken für die High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG und für die High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (gemeinsam die „High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III”) gemäß Art. 3 der Offenlegungsverordnung .

Die High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III berücksichtigen teilweise Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken als Bestandteil der Risikoanalyse im Prozess der Investitionsentscheidung. Die High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III haben beschlossen, sich zu verbessern, eine systematische ESG-Politik zu entwickeln und ein ESG-Managementsystem einzuführen. Die Arbeiten sind im Gange.

Strategien zur Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken bei Investitionsentscheidungen betreffend die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (Information gemäß Art. 3 der Offenlegungsverordnung)

Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken im Sinne der Offenlegungsverordnung werden im Rahmen von Investitionsentscheidungen für die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG berücksichtigt.

Bei einem Nachhaltigkeitsrisiko handelt es sich um ein Ereignis oder eine Bedingung im Bereich Umwelt, Soziales oder Unternehmensführung, dessen bzw. deren Eintreten auf Unternehmensebene tatsächlich oder potenziell erhebliche negative Auswirkungen auf die Vermögens-, Finanz- und Ertragslage sowie die Reputation des High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG und damit auf den Wert der Investition des Anlegers haben könnte. Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken können auf alle bekannten Risikoarten, d.h. Marktrisiken, Liquiditätsrisiken, Kontrahentenrisiken und operationelle Risiken, einwirken und als Faktor zur Wesentlichkeit dieser Risikoarten beitragen. Die Überprüfung der Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken ist Gegenstand des Due Diligence-Prozesses und des Risikomanagements durch das HTGF-Team.

Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken in den Bereichen Klima und Umwelt unterteilen sich in physische Risiken und Transitionsrisiken:

Zu den physischen Risiken gehören z.B. Extremwetterereignisse und deren Folgen (Hitze- und Trockenperioden, steigende Temperaturen, verstärkte Waldbrandgefahr, Überflutungen, Stürme, Hagel etc.) wie auch langfristige Veränderungen klimatischer Bedingungen (z.B. Niederschlagshäufigkeit, Wetterunbeständigkeit, Meeresspiegelanstieg). Die Berücksichtigung derartiger physischer Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken ist von besonderer Relevanz bspw. bei Investitionen in Immobilien. Bei Investitionen in Portfolio-Unternehmen, wie sie durch die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG erfolgen, stellen physische Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken hingegen keine relevante Risikoposition dar und werden insofern im Rahmen der ESG-Due Diligence auch nicht explizit geprüft.

Zu den Transitionsrisiken gehören z.B. die Risiken, die sich aus der Umstellung auf eine kohlenstoffarme Wirtschaft (und damit ggf. einhergehender Verteuerung und/oder Verknappung fossiler Energieträger oder von Emissionszertifikaten) ergeben können. So können politische Maßnahmen hierbei bspw. zu einer Verteuerung von Energiepreisen führen. Daneben stellen sich verändernde Präferenzen von Vertragspartnern und gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen ein entsprechendes Risiko für nicht angepasste Unternehmen dar. Auch können neue Technologien bekannte Technologien verdrängen. Transitorische Risiken können sich auch in einem Nachfragerückgang nach emissionsintensiven Technologien realisieren. Es besteht zudem eine Abhängigkeit zwischen physischen Risiken und Transitionsrisiken. Soweit physische Risiken stark zunehmen kann dies eine abrupte Umstellung der Wirtschaft erfordern, was wiederum zu höheren Transitionsrisiken führt.

Auch Ereignisse, Entwicklungen oder Verhaltensweisen, die den Bereichen Soziales und Unternehmensführung zuzuordnen sind, können ein erhebliches Nachhaltigkeitsrisiko darstellen, soweit die Wahrscheinlichkeit des Eintritts nicht hinreichend in die Bewertung eines Vermögensgegenstandes eingeflossen ist. Ein Beispiel stellen Bußgeldzahlungen wegen hinterzogener Steuern bzw. zu Unrecht erhaltener Erstattungen dar.

Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken können sich daneben in erheblichem Umfang auf die Reputation des High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG auswirken. Dies resultiert zum einen aus dem finanziellen Schadenspotenzial, das Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken dem Grunde nach mit sich bringen. Zum anderen sind immaterielle Schadenspotenziale gegeben, die beispielsweise aus einer bestehenden Geschäftsbeziehung mit einem Unternehmen resultieren können, das seinerseits Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken ausgesetzt ist und diese nicht angemessen mildert.

Generell können sich Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken in erheblichem Umfang auf das wirtschaftliche Ergebnis einer Beteiligung an der High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG auswirken. Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken können zu einer Minderung oder auch Zerstörung von Vermögenswerten führen. Sie sind, insbesondere im Bereich der umweltbezogenen Risiken, teilweise wissenschaftlich noch nicht ausreichend untersucht bzw. es mangelt an der dazu notwendigen Datengrundlage. Soweit sich ein Nachhaltigkeitsrisiko realisiert, können sich daher geplante Auszahlungen an den Anleger verzögern bzw. in geringerer Höhe als erwartet anfallen oder im äußersten Fall ausfallen.

Zur Berücksichtigung der Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken bei den Investitionsentscheidungen stellt das HTGF-Team sicher, dass die jeweiligen Risiken für jedes Portfolio-Unternehmen separat und vor der Investition identifiziert und bewertet werden. Dies geschieht durch einen standardisierten Bewertungsbogen im Rahmen der Due Diligence-Prüfung. Wird dabei ein besonders hohes Risiko identifiziert oder sonstige Warnzeichen („red flags“) entdeckt, wird das Gründerteam informiert. Sofern das Risiko nicht behoben oder adäquat abgemildert werden kann, wird die betreffende Investitionsmöglichkeit nicht weiterverfolgt. Die Anlagestrategie der High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG beinhaltet Ausschlusskriterien hinsichtlich der zu erwerbenden Portfolio-Unternehmen. So werden bereits solche Portfolio-Unternehmen durch das HTGF-Team ausgeschlossen, die auf Grund ihres Geschäftsmodells mit möglichen Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken verbunden sind. Die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG bezieht sich auf die vom Europäischen Investitionsfonds (EIF) und von der KfW Bankengruppe veröffentlichten Ausschlusslisten. Die Prüfung wird im o.g. standardisierten Bewertungsbogen im Rahmen der Due Diligence-Prüfung durchgeführt.

Das HTGF-Team ist überzeugt, dass die Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken aufgrund des vorgenannten Investitionsprozesses sowie aufgrund der Risikodiversifikation keine wesentlichen negativen Auswirkungen auf das Portfolio haben werden. Trotz der Einbeziehung und der Berücksichtigung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken in die Investitionsprozesse kann jedoch ausdrücklich nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass sich gleichwohl realisierende Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken den Wert des Portfolios und damit die Rendite der High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG beeinflussen.

Erklärung zu den wichtigsten nachteiligen Auswirkungen von Investitionsentscheidungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren betreffend die High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG und für die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (Informationen gemäß Art. 4 der Offenlegungsverordnung)

Bei der vorliegenden Erklärung handelt es sich um die konsolidierte Aussage zu nachteiligen Auswirkungen von Investitionsentscheidungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren für die High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG und für die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG (gemeinsam die „High-Tech Gründerfonds”) gemäß Art. 4 der Offenlegungsverordnung.

Nach Art. 4 der Offenlegungsverordnung sind die High-Tech Gründerfonds in ihrer Eigenschaft als Fondsverwalter verpflichtet Angaben zur Berücksichtigung von nachteiligen Auswirkungen von Investitionsentscheidungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren, d.h. nachteilige Auswirkungen insbesondere auf Umwelt-, Sozial- und Arbeitnehmerbelange, die Achtung der Menschenrechte und die Bekämpfung von Korruption und Bestechung, (sog. „Principal Adverse Impacts“/„PAI“) zu machen.

Eine Berücksichtigung der PAI ist maßgeblich von der Verfügbarkeit relevanter Informationen am Markt abhängig. Im Bereich der Finanzierung von Unternehmensgründungen sind die hierfür erforderlichen Daten oft nicht in ausreichendem Umfang und in der erforderlichen Qualität verfügbar. Dennoch berücksichtigen die High-Tech Gründerfonds den Einfluss der Investitionen auf einige der Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren und schließen einige Investitionen aus, die ökologische, soziale, ethische oder Governance-Faktoren beeinträchtigen würden. Die Art und der Umfang der Berücksichtigung hängen mit den Besonderheiten des Venture-Capital-Geschäfts (Investitionen in Start-ups) zusammen. Die High-Tech Gründerfonds wenden den Grundsatz der Verhältnismäßigkeit an.

Aufgrund der zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt noch nicht abgeschlossenen Rechtssetzungsverfahren bestehen in der Folge noch eine Vielzahl ungeklärter Detailfragen im Hinblick auf die konkreten Anforderungen an die Messung und Ausweisung der PAI. Die High-Tech Gründerfonds berücksichtigen daher zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt noch nicht systematisch gemäß den gesetzlichen Vorgaben der Offenlegungsverordnung und ihrer Durchführungsbestimmungen die wichtigsten nachteiligen Auswirkungen von Investitionsentscheidungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren und werden zunächst die weitere rechtliche Entwicklung abwarten. Entsprechende, den gesetzlichen Vorgaben entsprechende Prozesse werden insofern ggfs. erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt implementiert werden. Nach der internen Entscheidung über die ESG-Politik und das ESG-Managementsystem werden die High-Tech Gründerfonds weitere Informationen über ihre Richtlinien zur Identifizierung und Priorisierung der wichtigsten negativen Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen und -indikatoren sowie über diesbezüglich ergriffene oder geplante Maßnahmen veröffentlichen.

In diesem Zusammenhang werden die High-Tech Gründerfonds eine mögliche Einhaltung von Kodizes für verantwortungsbewusste Investments und von international anerkannten Standards sowie gegebenenfalls den Grad der Übereinstimmung mit den Zielen des Pariser Abkommens prüfen.

Angaben zur Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken im Rahmen der Vergütungspolitik betreffend die High-Tech Gründerfonds GmbH & Co. KG, die High-Tech Gründerfonds II GmbH & Co. KG und für die High-Tech Gründerfonds III GmbH & Co. KG (gemeinsam die „High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III”) gemäß Art. 5 der Offenlegungsverordnung

Die Vergütungspolitik der High-Tech Gründerfonds I – III steht mit der Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung im Einklang. Denn die High-Tech Gründerfonds arbeiten nur mit solchen staatlichen und privaten Investoren zusammen und investieren nur in solche Start-ups, die hohe Standards in Bezug auf soziale Kriterien und eine gute Unternehmensführung erfüllen. Zudem investieren die High-Tech Gründerfonds auch gezielt in Start-ups, die ein umweltfreundliches Geschäftsmodell verfolgen oder die Umweltverschmutzung sogar direkt bekämpfen (beispielsweise die traceless materials GmbH). Die Umsätze der High-Tech Gründerfonds, aus denen wiederum die Vergütungen gezahlt werden, werden unter Beachtung dieser nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen Investmentstrategie erzielt, weshalb die Vergütungspolitik schon deshalb mit der Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung im Einklang steht.

Angaben zur Einbeziehung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken im Rahmen der Vergütungspolitik betreffend die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG gemäß Art. 5 der Offenlegungsverordnung

Die Vorgaben des § 37 KAGB zur Vorhaltung einer spezifischen Vergütungspolitik gelten für die High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG nicht. Entsprechend werden auch keine Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken gemäß den gesetzlichen Vorgaben des § 37 KAGB im Zusammenhang mit der Vergütung berücksichtigt.