Press

smartbax Announces Seed Financing of €1.2 Million to Develop Next-generation Antibiotics

May 23, 2023

Munich, Germany, May 23, 2023smartbax, a biotech company developing next-generation antibiotics against multi-drug resistant bacteria, today announced the close of its seed financing round of €1.2 million from Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bringing smartbax’s total capital raised to €1.9 million. The funds will be used to advance smartbax’s small molecule antibiotics through preclinical studies, expand the company’s scientific team to further develop its innovative research platforms and identify novel solutions against multi-drug resistant pathogens. In contrast to classical anti-bacterial approaches, smartbax’s product candidates act via a unique, double-targeted mechanism of action. This not only inhibits essential processes in the energy metabolism of multi-resistant bacteria, but also creates a stimulation of the bacteria’s protein secretion, which leads to a self-digest of the cells.

The growing number of multi-drug resistant infections, which are accountable for 1.3 million annual worldwide deaths, highlights the need for completely new approaches in treating resistant infections. We are convinced that our differentiating approach can overcome the limitations of currently available antibiotics and that we can thus develop effective therapeutics against both Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacteria.

Dr. Robert Macsics, CEO and Co-founder of smartbax

smartbax was founded in 2021 by Dr. Robert Macsics, Marco Janezic, and Prof. Dr. Stephan Sieber and was supported by BIVF with a first pre-seed financing of €700,000. The company’s scientific foundation is based on revolutionary research derived by Prof. Dr. Sieber’s research group from the Technical University of Munich. The research was awarded the VIP+ validation prize by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research as well as the m4 award by the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy.

The novel mechanisms of action being developed by smartbax could open new pathways in the treatment of severe bacterial infections. Moreover, the approach has the promise to overcome existing resistance mechanisms and makes a rapid spread of new resistances unlikely. I am glad that we can support smartbax’s scientifically strong team on their journey to address a challenge of utmost societal relevance.

Dr. Angelika Vlachou, partner at HTGF

The development of novel antibiotics is an important contribution to fight multi-drug resistant bacterial infections. smartbax’s founding team takes a highly innovative approach with the potential for broad applicability in numerous indications. We are delighted to accompany smartbax in their future research activities and to thereby support the development of new and urgently needed therapeutic strategies concerning bacterial infections.

Dr. Sebastian Kreuz, investment manager at BIVF

smartbax Team: Dr. Elisabeth Karg, Dr. Sylvia Varland, CEO and Co-Founder Dr. Robert Macsics, Simona Schindler (standing); Scientific Advisor and Co-Founder Prof. Dr. Stephan Sieber, Dr. Eric Juskewitz, Entrepreneurial Advisor and Co-Founder Marco Janezic (seated) | Photo: smartbax


About smartbax
smartbax is developing a new generation of antibiotics to address the increasing spread of multidrug-resistant bacteria. Their team of experts works on innovative solutions focusing on substances that simultaneously address several targets, thus hindering resistance development in bacteria. Moreover, the company specializes in the tailored activation of enzymatic pathways, as this approach is particularly promising in the context of difficult-to-treat biofilms. Knowing that preventing a resistance crisis tomorrow means taking action today, smartbax was founded in 2021 in Munich with the aim of making innovative research applicable in creating novel antibiotics that add true value for patients worldwide.
For more information visit our website: https://www.smartbax.de/

Contact smartbax
Eric Juskewitz
Senior Scientist
eric.juskewitz@smartbax.de

Media relations for smartbax
Eva Mulder oder Veronika Máté
Trophic Communications
+31 652331579 or +49 16090816161
smartbax@trophic.eu

About Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund
Created in 2010, the Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund GmbH (BIVF) invests in groundbreaking therapeutics-focused biotechnology companies to drive innovation in biomedical research. BIVF is searching for significant enhancements in patient care through pioneering science and its clinical translation by building long-term relationships with scientists and entrepreneurs. BIVF’s focus is to target unprecedented therapeutic concepts addressing high medical needs in immuno-oncology, regenerative medicine, AMR infections and digital health. These may include novel platform technologies to address so far undruggable targets or new biological entities.

BIVF takes an active role with its portfolio companies – delivering significant added value through its own extensive drug discovery, scientific and managerial expertise. BIVF has a volume of EUR 300 million, is represented with offices in Europe (Germany), USA (Boston and San Francisco) and China (Beijing and Hong Kong) and currently supervises a portfolio of 40 companies.
For more information, please visit: www.boehringer-ingelheim-venture.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) funds technology start-ups with growth potential and accompanied more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the start of its fourth fund, HTGF has about EUR 1.4 billion under management. The team consisting of experienced investment managers and start-up experts supports young companies with knowhow, entrepreneurial expertise, and passion. HTGF’s focus are high-tech incorporations in the areas digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business fields. To date, external investors invested more than EUR 4.5 billion over more than 2,000 follow-up financing rounds into the HTGF portfolio. Moreover, the fund successfully sold its shares on more than 170 companies.

The fund investors of this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer Society, as well as more than 40 companies from various fields.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
27. February 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: Valispace Joins Forces with Altium in a Strategic Acquisition 

Altium and Valispace are joining forces to accelerate the execution of a shared vision for empowering engineers.  HTGF was the first institutional investor and led the seed round in 2018 and has closely supported Valispace throughout all phases of their growth journey. As part of the deal HTGF will sell its shares.  Louise Lindblad, co-founder of Valispace: “We’re now excited to, together with Altium, continue our mission of empowering engineers to build great products,
 
Press
toolify founders
22. February 2024

€1.6 million investment for XITO: Seed funding for easily accessible robotics

With the completed seed financing, XITO now has €1.6 million to expand sales and product development. Toolify Robotics GmbH enables companies to implement robots independently with its XITO solution platform. Thanks to their product XITO, especially SMEs can get started with automation at low cost – without programming knowledge and without external specialists. Ulm, 22. February 2024 – The start-up Toolify Robotics, founded by the three robotics experts Dr. Dennis S
 
Press
21. February 2024

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, includin

smartbax schließt Seed-Finanzierung über 1,2 Millionen Euro ab zur Entwicklung innovativer Antibiotika gegen multi-resistente Bakterien

23. Mai 2023

München, 23. Mai 2023 smartbax, ein Biotech-Unternehmen, das Antibiotika der nächsten Generation entwickelt, gab heute den Abschluss einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Millionen Euro mit dem Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Damit hat smartbax bisher insgesamt 1,9 Millionen Euro eingeworben. Mit dem neuen Kapital wird das Unternehmen seine präklinischen Studien zur Erforschung von niedermolekularen („small molecules“) Antibiotika vorantreiben sowie das wissenschaftliche Team erweitern, um seine innovativen Forschungsplattformen weiterzuentwickeln und neue Lösungen gegen multiresistente Krankheitserreger zu finden. Im Gegensatz zu klassischen anti-bakteriellen Wirkstoffen wirken die Produktkandidaten von smartbax über einen einzigartigen, doppelt zielgerichteten Mechanismus. Hierbei werden nicht nur essenzielle Prozesse im Energiestoffwechsel der multi-resistenten Bakterien inhibiert, sondern auch eine Stimulation der Proteinsekretion der Bakterien geschaffen, die zum Selbstverdau der Zellen führt.

Die wachsende Zahl multiresistenter Infektionen, die jährlich bereits für 1,3 Millionen Todesfälle weltweit verantwortlich sind, macht deutlich, dass es dringend neue Ansätze für die Behandlung resistenter Infektionen braucht. Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir mit unserem differenzierten Ansatz die Grenzen aktuell verfügbarer Antibiotika überwinden und somit wirksame Therapeutika sowohl gegen Gram-positive, als auch Gram-negative Bakterien entwickeln können.

Dr. Robert Macsics, CEO und Mitgründer der smartbax

smartbax wurde 2021 von Dr. Robert Macsics, Marco Janezic und Prof. Dr. Stephan Sieber gegründet und durch eine erste Anschubfinanzierung in Höhe von 700.000 Euro durch den BIVF unterstützt. Die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen des Unternehmens beruhen auf herausragenden Forschungsergebnissen der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Sieber an der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Diese wurden bereits mit dem VIP+ Validierungspreis des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und dem m4 Award des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie ausgezeichnet.

Die von smartbax erforschten innovativen Wirkmechanismen können neue Wege in der Bekämpfung schwerer bakterieller Infektionen eröffnen. Der Ansatz erscheint zudem vielversprechend, bestehende Resistenzmechanismen zu überwinden und macht eine rasche Ausbreitung neuer Resistenzen unwahrscheinlich. Ich freue mich, dass wir das wissenschaftlich starke Team der smartbax auf seinem Weg begleiten können, um einer höchst relevanten gesellschaftlichen Herausforderung zu begegnen.

Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Partnerin beim HTGF

Die Entwicklung neuartiger Antibiotika stellt einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Bekämpfung von multiresistenten bakteriellen Infektionen dar. Das Gründer-Team der smartbax verfolgt dabei einen hoch-innovativen Ansatz, welcher das Potential zur breiten Anwendbarkeit in zahlreichen Erkrankungen bietet. Wir freuen uns, die smartbax bei ihren weiteren Forschungsaktivitäten zu begleiten und hierdurch die Entwicklung neuer und dringend benötigter Therapieansätze im Bereich der bakteriellen Infektionserkrankungen zu unterstützen.

Dr. Sebastian Kreuz, Investment Manager des BIVF

smartbax Team: Dr. Elisabeth Karg, Dr. Sylvia Varland, CEO und Mitbegründer Dr. Robert Macsics, Simona Schindler (stehend von links); Scientific Advisor und Mitbegründer Prof. Dr. Stephan Sieber, Dr. Eric Juskewitz, Entrepreneurial Advisor und Mitbegründer Marco Janezic (sitzend von links) | Foto: smartbax


Über smartbax
smartbax entwickelt eine neue Generation an antibakteriellen Wirkstoffen, um die zunehmende Ausbreitung multiresistenter Bakterien zu bekämpfen. Das Experten-Team setzt dabei auf innovative Lösungen, die Bakterien an verschiedenen Stellen gleichzeitig angreifen und so die Resistenzbildung erschweren. Darüber hinaus hat sich das Unternehmen auf die gezielte Aktivierung von enzymatischen Prozessen in Bakterien spezialisiert, die besonders im Zusammenhang mit schwer behandelbaren Biofilmen einen vielversprechenden Ansatz darstellen. In dem Wissen, dass die Resistenzkrise von morgen nur durch heutiges Handeln abgewendet werden kann, wurde smartbax 2021 in München mit dem Ziel gegründet, innovative Forschung anwendbar zu machen und so neuartige Antibiotika zu erschaffen, die einen echten Mehrwert für Patienten weltweit darstellen.
Link zur Website: https://www.smartbax.de/

Kontakt smartbax
Eric Juskewitz
Senior Scientist
eric.juskewitz@smartbax.de

Medienanfragen für smartbax
Eva Mulder oder Veronika Máté
Trophic Communications
+31 652331579 or +49 16090816161
smartbax@trophic.eu

Über den Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund
Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2010 investiert die Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund GmbH (BIVF) in bahnbrechende Biotechnologie-Firmen im Therapeutika-Bereich, um Innovationen in der biomedizinischen Forschung zu fördern. Der BIVF sucht nach signifikanten Verbesserungen in der Patientenfürsorge durch wissenschaftlichen Pioniergeist und dessen klinische Anwendung, indem langfristige Beziehungen mit Wissenschaftlern und Unternehmern aufgebaut werden. Der BIVF setzt den Fokus auf neuartige Therapiekonzepte, die sich durch einen hohen medizinischen Bedarf in den Feldern Immuno-Onkologie, regenerative Medizin, multi-resistente bakterielle Infektionen und Digital Health auszeichnen. Dies umfasst auch neue Plattform-Technologien, die sich gegen bislang noch nicht adressierbare Zielstrukturen und neue biologische Entitäten richten.

Der BIVF übernimmt eine aktive Rolle innerhalb seiner Portfolio-Firmen – und liefert dabei einen signifikanten Mehrwert durch seine eigene wissenschaftliche und unternehmerische Expertise in der Medikamentenentwicklung. Der BIVF umfasst ein Volumen von 300 Millionen EUR, ist mit Niederlassungen in Europa (Deutschland), den USA (Boston und San Francisco) und China (Beijing und Hongkong) vertreten und übersieht aktuell ein Portfolio von 40 Unternehmen.
Für weitere Informationen, siehe: www.boehringer-ingelheim-venture.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech-Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzenden Geschäftsfeldern. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
20. Juni 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane erhält 800.000€ in Pre-Seed-Finanzierung zur Revolutionierung von Software für klinische Studien

Carelane-Gründer Gustav Vella und Yannick Boerner (Foto: Carelane) Carelane sichert sich 800.000€: Carelane erhält 800.000€ als Pre-Seed Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, um ihre innovative Software für klinische Forschung in Europa und den USA an den Markt zu bringen. Innovative einheitliche Plattform: Um Ineffizienzen in klinischen Studien deutlich zu verringern, integriert Carelane viele Funktionen in einem System und setzt auf digitalisierte St
 
Presse
19. Juni 2024

Mehr als 5 Millionen Euro für die Zukunft der AI basierten B2B Video-Content-Creation: StoryBox sichert sich frisches Kapital mit „Video-first“ Ansatz

München, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, der Innovator im Bereich der KI-gestützten Video-Creation-Lösungen für Unternehmen, hat erfolgreich 5,5 Millionen Euro in einer Series A Runde eingesammelt. Angeführt wurde die Runde von Neuinvestor Wille Finance mit der Beteiligung der Bestandsinvestoren BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures und G8 Way Ventures. Das frische Kapital unterstützt StoryBox in seiner Mission, das Video-Creation-Management für Unternehmen zu revolutionieren.