Press

Kupando raises €13 million in Series A funding round

September 26, 2022

  • Financing led by Remiges Ventures, co-led by LifeCare Partners, with additional investments by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.
  • Proceeds to be used to complete IND-enabling work and initiate clinical development.

Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases, announces today the closing of its Series A funding round which raised €13 million.

The funds will be used to complete IND-enabling work and to initiate the clinical development of Kupando’s lead candidate KUP101 in a solid tumor indication. KUP101 is the only TLR 4/7 agonist in development, and consists of two small molecules, a TLR 4 agonist and a TLR 7 agonist, co-encapsulated in a liposomal formulation. The compounds induce a broad immune response, which will facilitate their development as an anti-tumor agent, as a stand-alone product, in combination with other anti-tumor modalities, or a prophylactic vaccine for infectious diseases. The induction of cross-reactive antibodies and a broad cellular response are promising features for a broad portfolio of indications, in particular where different strains and antigens play a role like influenza, HPV and others. A high target specificity in the absence of relevant off-targets are indicators for a promising safety profile.

The investment was led by Remiges Ventures and co-led by Life Care Partners with an additional investment by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.

We are impressed by the tremendous progress made by Kupando since its inception. Kupando is a real pioneer in the development of a novel innate immunity stimulator, and we look forward to working with the team and supporting the advancement of KUP101 into clinical development.

Kazuhiko Nonomura, PhD Principal at Remiges Ventures

We are welcoming all our new investors of this round. We thank them for their trust in this truly disruptive approach which has the potential to provide new therapeutic and prophylactic options in the fields of oncology and infectious diseases. We believe that the highly experienced management team will enable the company to progress through this next stage of development.

Pierre Morgon, PharmD, LL.M, MBA, Chairman at Kupando

Having new investors choosing to fund us is a great validation of our company strategy and pioneering approach, and we look forward to advancing our lead candidate towards clinical development thanks to their support. It is really exciting to now have the opportunity to develop compounds that can make a difference in the treatment of solid tumors and prevention of infectious diseases in terms of efficacy, safety and affordability.

Johanna Holldack, CEO at Kupando


About Kupando
Kupando is a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases.
The Company uses its small molecule-based drug candidates to build a pipeline in several indications, in-house or via strategic partnerships, as single agent, or in combination with checkpoint inhibitors, other drugs or antigens. Its drug candidate KUP101 is the only TLR 4/7 agonist in development and consists of two small molecules, TLR4 agonist and TLR7 agonist, co-encapsulated. IND-enabling work is on-going for treatment of solid tumors and prophylaxis of infectious diseases.
Kupando is a private company, seed financed by its CEO Johanna Holldack and based on technology invented by Dennis Carson’s Laboratory at the University of California San Diego.
The Company’s management team brings a unique wealth of experience in business and drug development, gained in the US and Europe.
Kupando is headquartered in Schoenefeld, Germany.

For further information, please contact:
Johanna Holldack, MD
CEO
jholldack@kupando.com
+49 30 5200586020
kupando.com

About Remiges Ventures
Based in Seattle and Tokyo, Remiges Ventures is a US-Japan cross-border venture capital firm focused on therapeutics. Remiges Ventures takes a lead position for the syndication of Series A or later stage of investment rounds globally and actively creates new companies based on innovative assets discovered at academic institutions. Remiges Ventures’ team is connected with serial entrepreneurs, KOLs in various therapeutic areas, key consultants and major large pharmaceutical companies in the globe. The team actively participates in the value creation for its portfolio companies.

remigesventures.com

About LifeCare Partners
LifeCare Partners is an independent investment advisory firm providing financing to private and public life science companies. LifeCare Partners targets the entire life science industry with special focus on medical technology, diagnostics, biopharmaceuticals, food & nutrition, industrial biotechnology, biomaterials, e-health and bioenergy. Based in Basel, the LifeCare Partners team has successfully invested in more than 50 life science companies over the last years, of which a large number have already been listed on the stock exchange or have been acquired by leading players in the life science industry. For more information, please visit:

www.lifecare.partners.de

About Brandenburg Kapital/ILB
Brandenburg Kapital GmbH is a subsidiary of the Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg (ILB). Since 1993, as the venture capital arm of ILB, it has supported Brandenburg-based companies by acquiring equity stakes and equity-like investments. As a public venture capital company, experienced lead investor and active partner, Brandenburg Kapital ensures a strong equity base for start-ups and small and medium-sized enterprises in the State of Brandenburg on the basis of a stable group environment. The Early-stage and Growth Fund is currently available in the amount of around 100 million euros for this purpose. The funds for the Brandenburg Kapital fund, which was set up on behalf of the Brandenburg Ministry of Economics, are currently provided by the European Fund for Regional Development and by the ILB. Through ILB’s investment activities, 244 companies have so far been supported on their growth course with around 275 million euros. In addition, private investors have invested more than 600 million euros in the companies to date. For more information: www.brandenburg-kapital.de

About Ventura Biomed Investors
Ventura BioMed Investors invest in early-stage life science companies developing pioneering technologies and innovative therapies. As serial entrepreneurs with many years of experience, we help shape the long- term development of our portfolio companies and provide them access to our broad investor and business network. Ventura supports exceptional entrepreneurs with their vision to accelerate medical breakthroughs that solve unmet patient needs.

www.ventura-biomed.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High–Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. With the start of HTGF IV, more than EUR 400 million in fund volume will be added in the fall of 2022. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 160 companies. 
Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and many companies from a wide range of industries.

HTGF Press Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de

HTGF Contact Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Angelika Vlachou, Principal/ Authorized Signatory
a.vlachou@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest
 
Press
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs receives seed funding to advance its automated and AI-powered platform for sustainable electrosynthesis processes

Regensburg, November 17th 2022 –In a seed financing round, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invests EUR 600,000 in ESy-Labs' proprietary platform technology. The fresh capital raised will be used to expand the technical equipment and employ additional staff to further advance the ESy screening technology. Through the electrosynthesis of organic fine chemicals and electrolytic recycling processes it is possible to develop significantly more efficient and also new processes to make bett
 
Blog
17. November 2022

FundaMental Pharma launches with EUR 10 million in Seed financing led by BGV and Thuja Capital to advance a First-in-Class neuroprotectant

Heidelberg, Germany – 17 November 2022 – FundaMental Pharma GmbH (“FundaMental”), a preclinical neuroscience company spun out of Heidelberg University, today announces that it has launched with EUR 10 million in seed financing led by BioGeneration Ventures (BGV) and Thuja Capital, with participation from other investors, including coparion and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Built on the pioneering research of Professor Hilmar Bading and Dr. Jing Yan published in Science[1],

Presse

Kupando erhält €13 Millionen aus einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde

26. September 2022

  • Finanzierung mit Lead-Investor Remiges Ventures, Co-Lead-Investor LifeCare Partners und unter Mitwirkung von Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors und ungenannten Family Offices abgeschlossen.
  • Die Erlöse werden für den Abschluss der IND relevanten Zulassungsarbeiten und den Beginn der klinischen Entwicklung verwendet.

Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, ein biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das TLR 4/7-Agonisten zur Stimulierung der angeborenen Immunität für den Einsatz in der Onkologie und bei Infektionskrankheiten entwickelt, gibt heute den Abschluss seiner Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde bekannt, die 13 Millionen Euro einbrachte.

Die Mittel werden für den Abschluss der IND-vorbereitenden Arbeiten und den Beginn der klinischen Entwicklung von Kupandos Lead-Kandidaten KUP101 in der Indikation “solide Tumoren” verwendet. KUP101 ist der einzige TLR 4/7-Agonist in der Entwicklung und besteht aus zwei kleinen Molekülen, einem TLR 4-Agonisten und einem TLR 7-Agonisten, die gemeinsam in einer liposomalen Formulierung verkapselt sind. Die Substanzen lösen eine breite Immunantwort aus, was ihre Entwicklung als Anti-Tumor-Wirkstoff, als eigenständiges Produkt, in Kombination mit anderen Anti-Tumor-Therapien oder als prophylaktischer Impfstoff gegen Infektionskrankheiten ermöglicht. Die Induktion kreuzreaktiver Antikörper und eine breite zelluläre Immunantwort sind vielversprechende Eigenschaften für ein breites Spektrum von Indikationen, insbesondere dort, wo unterschiedliche Stämme und Antigene eine Rolle spielen, wie z. B. bei Influenza, HPV und anderen. Eine hohe Target-Spezifität und das Fehlen relevanter Off-Targets sind Indikatoren für ein vielversprechendes Sicherheitsprofil.

Das Investment wurde von Remiges Ventures geleitet. Life Care Partners fungierte als Co-Lead-Investor. Weitere Investoren waren Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors und ungenannte Family Offices.

Wir sind beeindruckt von den enormen Fortschritten, die Kupando seit seiner Gründung gemacht hat. Kupando ist ein echter Pionier in der Entwicklung eines neuartigen Stimulators der angeborenen Immunität, und wir freuen uns darauf, mit dem Team zusammenzuarbeiten und das Voranschreiten von KUP101 in die klinische Entwicklung zu unterstützen.

Kazuhiko Nonomura, PhD Principal bei Remiges Ventures, dem Lead-Investor

Wir begrüßen alle unsere neuen Investoren dieser Runde. Wir danken ihnen für ihr Vertrauen in diesen wirklich bahnbrechenden Ansatz, der das Potenzial hat, neue therapeutische und prophylaktische Optionen in den Bereichen Onkologie und Infektionskrankheiten zu bieten. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass das sehr erfahrene Managementteam das Unternehmen in die Lage versetzen wird, die nächste Entwicklungsstufe zu erreichen.

Pierre Morgon, PharmD, LL.M, MBA, Vorsitzender von Kupando

Die Entscheidung neuer Investoren, uns zu finanzieren, ist eine großartige Bestätigung unserer Unternehmensstrategie und unseres innovativen Ansatzes. Wir freuen uns darauf, unseren Lead-Kandidaten dank ihrer Unterstützung in Richtung klinische Entwicklung voranzubringen. Es ist wirklich schön, dass wir jetzt die Möglichkeit haben, Wirkstoffe zu entwickeln, die bei der Behandlung von soliden Tumoren und der Vorbeugung von Infektionskrankheiten einen Unterschied in Bezug auf Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit und finanzielle Erschwinglichkeit machen können.

Johanna Holldack, CEO von Kupando


Über Kupando
Kupando ist ein biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das bahnbrechende TLR 4/7-Agonisten entwickelt, die die angeborene Immunität für den Einsatz in der Onkologie und Infektionskrankheiten stimulieren.
Das Unternehmen nutzt seine auf niedermolekularen Verbindungen basierenden Wirkstoffkandidaten zum Aufbau einer Pipeline in verschiedenen Indikationen, intern oder über strategische Partnerschaften, als Einzelsubstanz oder in Kombination mit Checkpoint-Inhibitoren, anderen Medikamenten oder Antigenen. Der Medikamentenkandidat KUP101 ist der einzige TLR 4/7-Agonist in der Entwicklung und besteht aus zwei niedermolekularen Verbindungen, einem TLR4-Agonisten und einem TLR7-Agonisten, die gemeinsam verkapselt sind. Die Arbeiten, die für die Beantragung der Genehmigung von klinischen Studien in der Indikation “solide Tumoren” und für die Prophylaxe von Infektionskrankheiten notwendige sind, sind initiiert.
Kupando ist ein privates Unternehmen, das von seiner Geschäftsführerin Dr. med. Johanna Holldack seed-finanziert wurde und auf einer Technologie basiert, die im Labor von Prof. Dennis Carson an der University of California San Diego entwickelt wurde.
Das Managementteam des Unternehmens verfügt über einen einzigartigen Erfahrungsschatz in den Bereichen Business und Arzneimittelentwicklung, den es in den USA und Europa erworben hat.
Der Hauptsitz von Kupando befindet sich in Schönefeld, Deutschland.

Für weitere Information, kontaktieren Sie bitte:
Dr. med. Johanna Holldack
CEO/Geschäftsführerin
jholldack@kupando.com
+49 30 5200586020
kupando.com

Über Remiges Ventures
Remiges Ventures mit Sitz in Seattle und Tokio ist eine US-amerikanisch-japanische Risikokapitalgesellschaft, die sich auf Investments im Bereich Arzneimittelentwicklung konzentriert. Remiges Ventures übernimmt eine führende Position bei der Syndizierung von Investitionsrunden der Serie A oder späterer Stadien weltweit und gründet aktiv neue Unternehmen auf der Grundlage innovativer Vermögenswerte, die an akademischen Einrichtungen entdeckt wurden. Das Team von Remiges Ventures steht in Verbindung mit Serial Entrepreneuren, KOLs in verschiedenen therapeutischen Bereichen, wichtigen Beratern und großen Pharmaunternehmen auf der ganzen Welt. Das Team beteiligt sich aktiv an der Wertschöpfung seiner Portfoliounternehmen.
remigesventures.com

Über LifeCare Partners
LifeCare Partners ist ein unabhängiges Investitionsberatungsunternehmen, das Finanzierungen für private und börsennotierte Life-Science-Unternehmen bereitstellt. LifeCare Partners richtet sich an die gesamte Life-Science-Branche mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf Medizintechnik, Diagnostik, Biopharmazie, Lebensmittel und Ernährung, industrielle Biotechnologie, Biomaterialien, E-Health und Bioenergie. Das in Basel ansässige Team von LifeCare Partners hat in den letzten Jahren erfolgreich in mehr als 50 Life-Science-Unternehmen investiert, von denen eine große Anzahl bereits an der Börse notiert ist oder von führenden Unternehmen der Life-Science-Branche übernommen wurde. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte unsere Website:
life.partners.de

Über Brandenburg Kapital/ILB
Die Brandenburg Kapital GmbH ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg (ILB). Seit 1993 unterstützt sie als Venture Capital-Arm der ILB Brandenburger Unternehmen durch die Übernahme von Beteiligungen und beteiligungsähnlichen Investitionen. Als öffentliche Venture Capital Gesellschaft, erfahrener Lead-Investor und aktiver Partner sorgt die Brandenburg Kapital auf Basis eines stabilen Konzernumfelds für eine starke Eigenkapitalbasis von Startups sowie kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen im Land Brandenburg. Dafür steht der Frühphasen- und Wachstumsfonds in Höhe von aktuell rund 100 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Die Fondsmittel für den im Auftrag des Brandenburger Wirtschaftsministeriums errichteten Fonds der Brandenburg Kapital werden aktuell aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung und aus Eigenmitteln der ILB bereitgestellt. Durch die Beteiligungsaktivitäten der ILB wurden bisher 244 Unternehmen mit rund 275 Millionen Euro auf ihrem Wachstumskurs begleitet. Zusätzlich investierten Privat-Investoren bisher mehr als 600 Millionen Euro in die Unternehmen. Weitere Informationen unter:
www.brandenburg-kapital.de

Über Ventura Biomed Investors
Ventura BioMed Investors investiert in Life-Science-Unternehmen im Frühstadium, die bahnbrechende Technologien und innovative Therapien entwickeln. Als Serial Entrepreneure mit langjähriger Erfahrung tragen wir zur langfristigen Entwicklung unserer Portfoliounternehmen bei und verschaffen ihnen Zugang zu unserem breiten Investoren- und Geschäftsnetzwerk. Ventura unterstützt außergewöhnliche Unternehmer mit ihrer Vision, medizinische Durchbrüche zu beschleunigen, die zur besseren Versorgung von Patienten beitragen.
www.ventura-biomed.com

Über High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) ist ein Seed-Investor, der vielversprechende, technologieorientierte Start-ups finanziert. Mit einem Gesamtinvestitionsvolumen von rund 900 Millionen Euro in drei Fonds und einem internationalen Partnernetzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 bereits mehr als 670 Start-ups gefördert. Mit dem Start des HTGF IV wird im Herbst 2022 ein Fondsvolumen von mehr als 400 Millionen Euro hinzukommen. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investmentmanagern und Startup-Experten begleitet mit Expertise, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft die Entwicklung junger Unternehmen. Der HTGF fokussiert sich auf Hightech-Start-ups aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial Technology, Life Sciences, Chemie und verwandten Geschäftsfeldern. Bis heute haben externe Investoren in über 1.900 Anschlussfinanzierungsrunden mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro in das HTGF-Portfolio investiert. Außerdem hat der HTGF-Beteiligungen an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich veräußert.

HTGF Pressekontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de

HTGF Investor Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Principal/Prokuristin
a.vlachou@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de
 
Presse
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs erhält Seed-Finanzierung, um seine automatisierte und KI-gestützte Plattform für nachhaltige Elektrosyntheseprozesse voranzutreiben

Regensburg, 17. November 2022 –In einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde investiert der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) 600 Tsd. Euro in die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Plattformtechnologie. Das frische Kapital wird für den Ausbau der technischen Ausstattung und die Einstellung zusätzlicher Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die ESy-Screening-Technologie weiter voranzutreiben. Durch die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Elektrosynthese von organischen Feinchemikalien und elektrolytischen Recyclingmethoden könn
 
Presse
IPlytics Team
9. November 2022

Successful exit for HTGF: LexisNexis expands its Intellectual Property Solutions suite with the acquisition of IPlytics

November 9th 2022 - LexisNexis Legal & Professional, part of RELX, today announced that it has acquired IPlytics, a leading IP intelligence company that enables the analysis of technology landscapes and competition for industries where standards and patents matter by providing access to multiple databases connecting patents, Standard Essential Patents (SEPs), standards, and technical standards contributions. The acquisition extends the vision of LexisNexis Intellectual Property Solutions