Press

Successful exit for HTGF: adivo joins Zoetis to bring the benefits of species-specific antibody therapies to pet owners worldwide

September 15, 2023

  • adivo’s team and platform will strengthen Zoetis’ capabilities in therapeutic antibody drug discovery for companion animals.
  • High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) was among the first investors in a seed round in 2018 together with OCCIDENT and MorphoSys AG and closely supported the successful development of adivo.
  • Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Founder and CEO of adivo: “I look forward to seeing what our team can achieve as part of a leading organization with global reach while continuing to grow in one of the premier biopharmaceutical hubs in Europe.” 
  • Rob Polzer, Executive Vice President and President of Research and Development at Zoetis: “Adding adivo to our R&D organization brings in unique platforms that may accelerate our research and portfolio to potentially help us address our customers’ unmet needs in oncology, inflammatory diseases and other areas, and we are excited about the possibilities ahead.”
  • Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Partner at HTGF: “As an early backer of adivo it was impressive to accompany the fabulous development in the last years, and the acquisition by Zoetis is now the next logical step to bring the next-generation antibody therapeutics closer to the use in veterinary patients.”

Bonn, Germany and Puchheim/ Munich, Germany – Sep. 15, 2023 – adivo GmbH, a leader in discovering species-specific therapeutic antibodies for pets, announced that it is part of Zoetis, the world’s leading animal health company. HTGF and the existing investors OCCIDENT and MorphoSys AG sold their shares as part of the deal. HTGF was one of the first investors and has been a close supporter of the team since the seed investment in 2018.

adivo and Zoetis have collaborated since 2021 with respect to both canine and feline antibody discovery. In addition to successful research collaborations, adivo’s proprietary drug development activities led to a promising portfolio of antibody drug candidates in oncology and inflammatory diseases with a first-in-patient study to treat canine solid tumors initiated earlier in 2023. adivo will act as one of Zoetis’ innovation hubs for antibody drug discovery with its more than 1,000 m2 of lab space in Puchheim, Munich. 

“We founded adivo with the vision to bring the benefits of next-generation monoclonal antibody therapeutics to pet owners and their beloved companion animals worldwide. Joining Zoetis means together we have multiple approaches to delivering more gold standard species-specific therapeutic antibodies to companion animals,“ commented Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Founder and CEO of adivo. “I couldn’t be more proud of the adivo team’s accomplishments after only some five years of operations and with a minimal seed financing to start our journey. I look forward to seeing what our team can achieve as part of a leading organization with global reach while continuing to grow in one of the premier biopharmaceutical hubs in Europe.”

“As the world leader in animal health, we are always exploring business development and external innovation activities that can complement our internal research and development capabilities,” commented Rob Polzer, Executive Vice President and President of Research and Development at Zoetis. “Adding adivo to our R&D organization brings in unique platforms that may accelerate our research and portfolio to potentially help us address our customers’ unmet needs in oncology, inflammatory diseases and other areas, and we are excited about the possibilities ahead.”

Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Partner at HTGF, comments: “We are thrilled to see that adivo with its excellent and powerful technology was acquired by Zoetis. As an early backer of adivo it was impressive to accompany the fabulous development in the last years, and the acquisition by Zoetis is now the next logical step to bring the next-generation antibody therapeutics closer to the use in veterinary patients.”

Since its foundation in 2018, adivo has established two leading technology platforms for the de-novo identification of species-specific antibody drug candidates with optimal functionality, developability and low risk of immunogenicity. Both technologies, CEASAR and FELIX, represent the first phage display antibody libraries for selecting drug candidates against a broad range of diseases affecting dogs and cats, respectively. The founding team, Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs and Dr. Markus Waldhuber, attracted seed investments by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT and MorphoSys AG and managed adivo’s growth to the roughly 25 people team of today.

adivo team
Management team of adivo: from left to right Markus Waldhuber, Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs and Philipp Baer (Picture: adivo)

About adivo
adivo is forging a new era for companion animal health. Our proprietary phage display antibody libraries deliver species-specific drugs for a growing market need. We apply our extensive drug discovery and protein engineering know-how to address cancer, chronic inflammatory diseases, and other serious conditions in pets. Together with our partners, we create the best possible
therapeutics for our beloved furry friends. For further information, please visit: www.adivo.vet.

adivo
Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs
Phone +49 89 58 8088 471
E-mail: info@adivo.vet

For media
Mario Brkulj
Valency Communications
Phone: +49 160 9352 9951
E-mail: mbrkulj@valencycomms.eu

About Zoetis
As the world’s leading animal health company, Zoetis is driven by a singular purpose: to nurture our world and humankind by advancing care for animals. After innovating ways to predict, prevent, detect, and treat animal illness for more than 70 years, Zoetis continues to stand by those raising and caring for animals worldwide – from veterinarians and pet owners to livestock farmers and ranchers. The company’s leading portfolio and pipeline of medicines, vaccines, diagnostics and technologies make a difference in over 100 countries. A Fortune 500 company, Zoetis generated revenue of $8.1 billion in 2022 with approximately 13,800 employees. For more information, visit www.zoetis.com.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de   

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
19. April 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: DocuWare Announces Acquisition of natif.ai 

With AI at the forefront of DocuWare’s product strategy, natif.ai’s technology further increases the competitive edge of the DocuWare platform. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) led the pre-seed round in 2020 as the first institutional investor of natif.ai and has actively supported the start-up on its path to becoming a leading provider in the field of intelligent document processing. Christian Arndt, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF: “The team of natif.ai has shown a great perfo
 
Press
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI secures €1.1m pre-seed funding for data-driven decision making 

The AI start-up helps companies to use their data to make the best possible decision under any circumstances.  Scavenger AI receives € 1.1 million from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix and the B4i Investment Fund.  The new capital will be used to launch the first version of the software on the market and serve customers on the waiting list.   Frankfurt, 8 April 2024 – The German data analytics & AI start-up
 
Press
10. April 2024

Proxima Fusion Raises €20M Seed to Accelerate Timeline to Fusion Power

Less than one year from its €7.5M pre-seed round, the first Max Planck fusion spin-out has delivered on its vision of simulation-enabled stellarator design. New funding supports expansion of the world-class team in Munich and its public-private partnerships in Europe to build on existing momentum. Proxima Fusion directly builds on €1.3B of public investment in the ground-breaking W7-X experiment in Germany. Munich, Germany, April 10, 2024 – Proxima Fusion, the first spi

Erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: adivo wird Teil von Zoetis, um Haustierhalter:innen weltweit die Vorteile speziesspezifischer Antikörpertherapien zugänglich zu machen

15. September 2023

  • Das Team und die Plattform von adivo stärken Zoetis und ihre Fähigkeiten in der Entwicklung therapeutischer Antikörper-Therapien für Haustiere.
  • Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) gehörte 2018 gemeinsam mit OCCIDENT und der MorphoSys AG zu den ersten Investoren einer Seed-Runde und hat die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von adivo eng begleitet.
  • Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Gründerin und CEO von adivo: „Ich freue mich darauf zu sehen, was unser Team als Teil einer führenden Organisation mit globaler Reichweite erreichen kann und dass wir gleichzeitig an einem der führenden biopharmazeutischen Standorte Europas weiter wachsen werden.“
  • Rob Polzer, Executive Vice President und President of Research and Development von Zoetis: „Mit dem Kauf von adivo fügen wir unserer F&E-Organisation einzigartige Plattformen hinzu, die unsere Forschung und unser Portfolio beschleunigen können, um uns möglicherweise dabei zu unterstützen, die ungedeckten Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden in der Onkologie, bei entzündlichen Erkrankungen und in anderen Bereichen zu erfüllen. Wir freuen uns auf die bevorstehenden Möglichkeiten.“
  • Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Partnerin beim HTGF: „Als einer der ersten Investoren der adivo war es beeindruckend, die großartige Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren zu begleiten. Die Übernahme durch Zoetis ist nun der nächste logische Schritt, um die Antikörpertherapeutika der nächsten Generation dem Einsatz bei Tierpatienten näher zu bringen.“

Bonn, Deutschland und Puchheim/München, Deutschland – 15. September 2023 – adivo GmbH, ein führendes Unternehmen in der Entdeckung speziesspezifischer therapeutischer Antikörper für Haustiere, wird Teil von Zoetis, einem weltweit führenden Unternehmen im Bereich Tiergesundheit. Der HTGF und die bisherigen Investoren OCCIDENT und MorphoSys AG haben im Rahmen der Transaktion ihre Anteile verkauft. Der HTGF war einer der ersten Investoren und hat das Team seit dem Seed-Investment im Jahr 2018 eng unterstützt.

adivo und Zoetis arbeiten bei der Erforschung von Antikörpern für Hunde und Katzen seit 2021 zusammen. Zusätzlich zu erfolgreichen Forschungskooperationen führten die eigenen Aktivitäten der adivo zu einem vielversprechenden Portfolio von Antikörper-Medikamentenkandidaten in der Onkologie und bei entzündlichen Erkrankungen, wobei Anfang 2023 eine erste Studie an Patienten zur Behandlung solider Tumore bei Hunden gestartet wurde. adivo wird mit mehr als 1.000 m² Laborfläche in Puchheim bei München als eines der Innovationszentren von Zoetis für die Erforschung von Antikörper-Medikamenten fungieren.

„Wir haben adivo mit der Vision gegründet, Tierhalter:innen und ihren geliebten Haustieren weltweit die Vorteile monoklonaler Antikörpertherapeutika der nächsten Generation zugänglich zu machen. Durch den Zusammenschluss mit Zoetis verfügen wir gemeinsam über mehrere Ansätze, um Haustieren mehr speziesspezifische therapeutische Antikörper nach Goldstandard bereitzustellen“, sagt Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs, Gründerin und CEO von adivo. „Ich bin sehr stolz auf die Erfolge des adivo-Teams nach gerade einmal fünf Jahren operativer Tätigkeit und einer minimalen Anschubfinanzierung, mit der wir unsere Reise beginnen konnten. Ich freue mich darauf zu sehen, was unser Team als Teil einer führenden Organisation mit globaler Reichweite erreichen und gleichzeitig in einem der führenden biopharmazeutischen Zentren Europas weiter wachsen kann.“

„Als weltweit führendes Unternehmen im Bereich Tiergesundheit sind wir ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Geschäftsentwicklungsmöglichkeiten und externen Innovationsaktivitäten, die unsere internen Forschungs- und Entwicklungskapazitäten ergänzen können“, erläutert Rob Polzer, Executive Vice President und President of Research and Development von Zoetis. „Die Aufnahme von adivo in unsere F&E-Organisation bringt einzigartige Plattformen, die unsere Forschung und unser Portfolio beschleunigen können, um uns möglicherweise dabei zu unterstützen, die ungedeckten Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden in der Onkologie, bei entzündlichen Erkrankungen und in anderen Bereichen zu erfüllen. Wir freuen uns auf die bevorstehenden Möglichkeiten.“

Dr. Angelika Vlachou, Partnerin beim HTGF, kommentiert: „Wir freuen uns sehr, dass adivo mit ihrer hervorragenden und leistungsstarken Technologie von Zoetis übernommen wurde. Als einer der ersten Investoren der adivo war es beeindruckend, die großartige Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren zu begleiten. Die Übernahme durch Zoetis ist nun der nächste logische Schritt, um die Antikörpertherapeutika der nächsten Generation dem Einsatz bei Tierpatienten näher zu bringen.“

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2018 hat adivo zwei führende Technologieplattformen für die de-novo-Identifizierung speziesspezifischer Antikörper-Wirkstoffkandidaten mit optimaler Funktionalität, Entwicklungsfähigkeit und geringem Immunogenitätsrisiko aufgebaut. Beide Technologien, CEASAR und FELIX, stellen die ersten Phage-Display-Antikörperbibliotheken zur Auswahl von Arzneimittelkandidaten gegen eine Vielzahl von Krankheiten bei Hunden bzw. Katzen dar. Das Gründer:innenteam, Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs und Dr. Markus Waldhuber, sicherte Seed-Investments vom HTGF, OCCIDENT und der MorphoSys AG und baute adivo zu einem Unternehmen mit heute rund 25 Mitarbeitenden aus.

adivo team
Management team von adivo: v. l. n. r. Markus Waldhuber, Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs und Philipp Baer (Bild: adivo)

Über adivo
adivo läutet eine neue Ära für die Gesundheit von Haustieren ein. Unsere firmeneigenen Phage-Display-Antikörperbibliotheken liefern speziesspezifische Medikamente für einen wachsenden Markt. Wir setzen unser umfassendes Know-how in der Arzneimittelforschung und im Protein-Engineering ein, um Krebs, chronische Entzündungen und andere schwere Krankheiten bei Haustieren zu bekämpfen. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern entwickeln wir Therapeutika für unsere geliebten pelzigen Freunde. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: www.adivo.vet therapeutics for our beloved furry friends. For further information, please visit: www.adivo.vet.

adivo
Dr. Kathrin Ladetzki-Baehs
Tel.: +49 89 58 8088 471
E-mail: info@adivo.vet

Medienkontakt
Mario Brkulj
Valency Communications
Tel.: +49 160 9352 9951
E-mail: mbrkulj@valencycomms.eu

Über Zoetis
Als weltweit führendes Unternehmen im Bereich der Tiergesundheit sehen wir es als unsere Aufgabe, Tiergesundheit zu fördern, um so unsere Welt für Mensch und Tier zu einem besseren Ort zu machen. Mit fast 70 Jahren Innovation in der Vorhersage, Vorbeugung, Erkennung und Behandlung von Tierkrankheiten stehen wir weiterhin an der Seite derjenigen, die Tiere auf der ganzen Welt halten und versorgen – von Landwirt*innen bis hin zu Tierärzt*innen und Haustierbesitzer*innen. Unser führendes Portfolio und die Pipeline von Medikamenten, Impfstoffen, Diagnostika und Technologien machen in über 100 Ländern einen Unterschied. Im Jahr 2022 erwirtschafteten wir mit ~13.800 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von 8,1 Mrd. $. Mehr Informationen unter: www.zoetis.com

ÜBer den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de   

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
28. Mai 2024

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zähl
 
Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v