Press

Fintech Cerchia closes CHF 1.3 million financing round with HTGF and other investors to finance and hedge climate damages through a novel, decentralized marketplace

January 16, 2023

  • CHF 1.3 million seed financing round closed with lead investor HTGF and additional private investors.
  • Cerchia AG (“Cerchia”) has created the world’s first marketplace for direct risk transfer on the Zilliqa Blockchain.
  • The Swiss fintech is building a novel capital markets platform to create an efficient, transparent, and compliant solution for direct risk transfer between reinsurers and investors.
  • The team consists of experienced capital markets and risk management executives, reinsurance specialists and digital asset experts.

Zug, January 16th, 2023 – Cerchia’s vision is to contribute to a more resilient world by linking capital markets and digital asset markets. The novel digital marketplace, DRTTM (Direct Risk Transfer) will help reduce the growing gap of over USD 1,860 billion between insured and uninsured economic risks (Protection Gap).

I am very pleased with our investors’ confidence in our mission. The investment will help us grow the team and invest in technical advancements to provide a comprehensive, direct risk transfer experience to our global clients.

Michael Rey, CEO, and co-founder of Cerchia

Investing in companies that address problems caused by climate change is not only a social concern, but also shows a lot of potential. Cerchia has found a unique and innovative solution to address the problem of growing climate risks with unprecedented efficiency using distributed ledger technology. We are excited to launch the solution to market with Cerchia.

Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

The first product will be launched in the spring and can be executed classically (off-chain) or innovatively (on-chain) depending on the needs of the customers.

With HTGF and other investors as partners at our side, we have reached an important milestone. As of now we start to launch a number of new products and invest in our DRTTM platform to create an efficient, transparent and compliant capital market solution.

Dr. Fabian Buchmann, COO, and co-founder of Cerchia

Photo: Cerchia

About Cerchia
Cerchia AG was founded in 2020 by two Swiss capital markets and risk management veterans, Michael Rey (CEO) and Dr. Fabian Buchmann (COO). With the vision to create a more resilient world by enabling direct risk transfer between investors and buyers of insurance coverage (e.g. reinsurers or corporates). Cerchia has developed a proprietary direct risk transfer platform (DRTTM) on the Zilliqa Blockchain. The team is going to launch the first product in spring 2023 to provide attractive uncorrelated returns and climate risks hedge. 
The team of seasoned experts in capital markets, risk management, blockchain and digital assets and has worked for firms such as UBS, SwissRe, Credit Suisse, Sygnum and 21.co. The Swiss fintech is backed by one of Germany’s leading VCs, High-Tech Gründerfonds, private investors and the Swiss innovation agency, Innosuisse, and is headquartered in the heart of Crypto Valley in Zug with a presence in Singapore.
www.cerchia.io

Press Contact
Paulo Germann, Cerchia
press@cerchia.io

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 690 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit, and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry, and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Press Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
1. February 2023

Edtech startup Sdui extends Series A funding round to €25 million

2023-02-01, Koblenz (Germany) - German startup Sdui secures follow-on funding to invest in scaling the business. Sdui builds the operating system foreveryday digital education and facilitates communication and organisation in schools and daycare centres with functions such as chat, digital class book or cloud. By focusing on internationalization and the extension of its product, Sdui will position itself more broadly as a reliable and innovative digitalisation partner for educational institu
 
Press
1. February 2023

German startup Maya Climate closes €1.2M pre-seed round to their global natural capital project financing platform to market

Funding round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds, alongside Antler and high profile business angels Maya Climate’s platform will provide project financing for natural capital projects - an investment market set to grow to $100bn per annum by 2030 Pre-seed funding will be used to launch Maya Climate into the market and accelerate product development Berlin, Germany: 1st February 2023: Maya Climate, a global project financing platform for natural capital projects, has today announ
 
Press
26. January 2023

Refined Laser Systems Raises €2.7m to Diagnose Cancer in Minutes

Refined Laser Systems has developed an innovative microscopy procedure to support pathology in diagnosing cancer within minutes and avoid revision surgeries. The investment was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and APEX Ventures alongside Onsight Ventures, NRW.BANK, and Papst Venture Capital. The Seed funding will be used to develop an intraoperative microscope prototype that identifies tumor margins directly in the surgery room and will offer a diagnosis within minutes by a remote patho

Presse

Fintech Cerchia schließt CHF 1,3 Mio. Finanzierungsrunde mit HTGF und weiteren Investoren ab, um Klimaschäden mittels eines neuartigen, dezentralen Marktplatzes zu finanzieren und abzusichern

16. Januar 2023

  • CHF 1,3 Mio. Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit dem Lead-Investor HTGF und weiteren privaten Investoren abgeschlossen.
  • Cerchia AG („Cerchia“) hat den weltweit ersten Marktplatz für direkten Risikotransfer auf der Zilliqa Blockchain geschaffen.
  • Das Schweizer Fintech baut eine neuartige Kapitalmarktplattform auf, um eine effiziente, transparente und gesetzeskonforme Lösung für den direkten Risikotransfer zwischen Rückversicherern und Investoren zu schaffen.
  • Das Team besteht aus erfahrenen Kapitalmarkt- und Risikomanagement-Führungskräften, Rückversicherungsspezialisten und Experten für digitale Vermögenswerte.

Zug, 16. Januar, 2023 – Cerchia’s Vision ist es, durch die Verknüpfung von Kapitalmärkten und Märkten für digitale Vermögenswerte, einen Beitrag zu einer widerstandsfähigeren Welt zu leisten. Der neuartige, digitale Marktplatz, DRTTM (Direct Risk Transfer) wird dazu beitragen, die wachsende Lücke von über USD 1’860 Mia. zwischen versicherten und nicht versicherten Risiken (Protection Gap) zu reduzieren.

Ich freue mich sehr über das Vertrauen unserer Investoren in unsere Mission. Das Investment wird uns helfen, das Team auszubauen und in die technische Weiterentwicklung zu investieren, um unseren globalen Kunden eine umfassende, direkte Risikotransfer-Erfahrung zu bieten.

Michael Rey, CEO und Mitgründer von Cerchia

In Unternehmen zu investieren, die durch den Klimawandel hervorgerufene Probleme adressieren, ist nicht nur ein gesellschaftliches Anliegen, sondern weist ebenfalls viel Potenzial auf. Cerchia hat eine einzigartige und innovative Lösung gefunden, um das Problem der wachsenden Klimarisiken u.a. mithilfe der Distributed-Ledger-Technologie mit bisher unerreichter Effizienz anzugehen. Wir freuen uns, mit Cerchia nun diese Lösung auf den Markt zu bringen.

Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

Das erste Produkt wird im Frühjahr auf den Markt kommen und kann je nach den Bedürfnissen der Kunden klassisch (off-chain) oder innovativ (on-chain) abgewickelt werden.

Mit dem HTGF und weiteren Investoren als Partner an unserer Seite, haben wir einen wichtigen Meilenstein erreicht und können nun eine Reihe neuer Produkte entwickeln und in unsere DRTTM-Plattform investieren, um eine effiziente, transparente und konforme Kapitalmarktlösung zu schaffen.

Dr. Fabian Buchmann, COO und Mitgründer von Cerchia

Foto: Cerchia

Über Cerchia
Cerchia AG wurde 2020 von den zwei Schweizer Kapitalmarkt- und Risikomanagement-Veteranen, Michael Rey (CEO) und Dr. Fabian Buchmann (COO) gegründet: Mit der Vision eine widerstandsfähigere Welt zu schaffen, indem ein direkter Risikotransfer zwischen Investoren und Käufern von Versicherungsschutz (z.B. Rückversicherungen oder Unternehmen) ermöglicht wird. Cerchia hat eine proprietäre Plattform für den direkten Risikotransfer (DRTTM) auf der Zilliqa Blockchain entwickelt. Das Team hat im Januar 2023 das erste Produkt auf den Markt gebracht, einen Industry Loss Warrant (ILW), um attraktive, unkorrelierte Renditen zu erzielen. 

Das Team aus erfahrenen Experten in den Bereichen Kapitalmärkte, Risikomanagement, Blockchain und digitale Vermögenswerte und hat für Firmen wie UBS, SwissRe, Credit Suisse, Sygnum und 21.co gearbeitet. Das Schweizer Fintech wird von einem der führenden deutschen VCs, dem High-Tech Gründerfonds, privaten Investoren und der Schweizer Innovationsagentur, Innosuisse, unterstützt und hat seinen Hauptsitz im Herzen des Crypto Valley in Zug und eine Präsenz in Singapur.
www.cerchia.io

Pressekontakt
Paulo Germann, Cerchia
press@cerchia.io

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 690 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
1. Februar 2023

Ed-Tech-Startup Sdui erweitert Series-A-Finanzierungsrunde auf 25 Millionen Euro

01.02.2023, Koblenz - Das deutsche Startup Sdui sichert sich weiteres Kapital, um in die Skalierung des Unternehmens zu investieren. Sdui entwickelt das Betriebssystem für den digitalen Bildungsalltag und erleichtert mit Funktionen wie Chat, digitalem Klassenbuch oder Cloud die Kommunikation und Organisation in Schulen und Kitas. Durch gezielte Internationalisierung und den Ausbau des Produkts will sich Sdui noch breiter als zuverlässiger und innovativer Digitalisierungspartner für Bildun
 
Presse
1. Februar 2023

Maya Climate schließt Pre-Seed-Runde über 1,2 Mio. € ab, um seine Finanzierungsplattform für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte auf den Markt zu bringen

Die Finanzierungsrunde wird angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, außerdem investieren Antler und eine Reihe von Business Angels und Industrieexperten. Über die Plattform von Maya Climate werden Finanzierungen für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte ermöglicht - ein Markt, der bis 2030 auf 100 Mrd. $ anwachsen soll. Berlin, 1. Februar 2023: Maya Climate, eine globale Finanzierungsplattform für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte, hat eine Pre-Seed-Finanzierung in Höhe von 1,2
 
Presse
26. Januar 2023

Refined Laser Systems erhält 2,7 Millionen Euro für minutenschnelle Krebsdiagnose

Refined Laser Systems hat ein innovatives Mikroskopieverfahren entwickelt, um die Pathologie bei der Krebsdiagnose binnen Minuten zu unterstützen und Revisionsoperationen zu vermeiden. Angeführt wurde die Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und APEX Ventures unter Beteiligung von OnSight Ventures, NRW.BANK und Papst Venture Capital. Die Seedfinanzierung wird für die Entwicklung eines Prototyps eines intraoperativen Mikroskops verwendet, welches Tumorränder direkt im OP-Saal i