About Proxima Fusion

Fusion will be one of the greatest breakthroughs of this century. Proxima Fusion is working to develop power plants via optimized stellarators, devices that form magnetic cages for high-energy matter. Proxima is the first-ever spin-out company from the Max Planck Society Institute for Plasma Physics, which built and operates the most advanced stellarator on the planet, W7-X. Research over the past decade has now set the stage for Proxima to leverage modern optimization tools and design capabilities, and accelerate fusion. With W7-X reaching high-performance in continuous operation, uniquely among fusion concepts, Proxima Fusion is catalyzing the creation of a new fusion ecosystem in Europe. Connecting partners from industry and academia, the Proxima Fusion founding team, coming together from the Max Planck Society, MIT and Google, is now entering the race for fusion energy to turn stellarators into economically viable fusion power plants.

Press releases

Press
10. April 2024

Proxima Fusion Raises €20M Seed to Accelerate Timeline to Fusion Power

Less than one year from its €7.5M pre-seed round, the first Max Planck fusion spin-out has delivered on its vision of simulation-enabled stellarator design. New funding supports expansion of the world-class team in Munich and its public-private partnerships in Europe to build on existing momentum. Proxima Fusion directly builds on €1.3B of public investment in the ground-breaking W7-X experiment in Germany. Munich, Germany, April 10, 2024 – Proxima Fusion, the first spi
 
Press
30. May 2023

A European champion for fusion: Proxima Fusion spins out of the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics

Munich, May 30th 2023 – Proxima Fusion, a fusion start-up that is designing fusion power plants based on the stellarator concept, completed its pre-seed fundraising of €7m. The fundraising is co-led by Plural and UVC Partners, and joined by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and the Wilbe Group. Proxima Fusion is the first spin-out from the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP). The startup was founded by former scientists and engineers from the Max Planck IPP, MIT, and Google
 

Info & Contact

Address

Proxima Fusion GmbH
Ainmillerstrasse 27A
80801 München, Deutschland

In portfolio

17. Apr 2023

Johannes Weber

Senior Investment Manager

Proxima Fusion

Energiegewinn aus Fusion wird einer der größten Durchbrüche dieses Jahrhunderts sein. Proxima Fusion arbeitet an der Entwicklung von Fusions-Kraftwerken basierend auf optimierten Stellaratoren, d.h. Maschinen, die einen magnetischen Käfig für hochenergetische Materie bilden. Proxima Fusion ist die erste Ausgründung aus dem Institut für Plasmaphysik der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, das den modernsten Stellarator der Welt, W7-X, gebaut hat und betreibt. Der Fortschritt in der Forschung über das letzte Jahrzehnt ermöglicht Proxima jetzt, moderne Optimierungs- und Designtools zu nutzen, um den Zeitplan zur Fusionsenergie zu beschleunigen. Mit W7-X, das im kontinuierlichen Betrieb eine unter Fusionskonzepten einzigartige Leistung erreicht, ist Proxima Fusion der Katalysator für die Schaffung eines neuen Fusionsökosystems in Europa. Das Gründungsteam von Proxima Fusion kommt aus Industrie und Wissenschaft, darunter die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, das MIT und Google. Sie treten nun in den Wettlauf zur Realisierung von Fusionsenergie ein, um wirtschaftlich tragfähige Fusionskraftwerke auf Basis von Stellaratoren zu entwickeln.

Pressemeldungen

Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F
 
Presse
30. Mai 2023

Ein neuer EU-Vorreiter für Fusion: Proxima Fusion wird von ehemaligen Forschern des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik gegründet

München, 30. Mai 2023 – Proxima Fusion, ein Start-up, das Fusionskraftwerke auf der Grundlage des Stellarator-Konzepts entwickelt, hat sein Pre-Seed-Fundraising in Höhe von 7 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. Das Fundraising wird gemeinsam von Plural und UVC Partners geleitet und vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Wilbe Gruppe unterstützt. Proxima Fusion ist das erste Spin-out aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP): Das Start-up wurde von ehemaligen Wissenschaftlern
 

Info & Kontakt

Adresse

Proxima Fusion GmbH
Ainmillerstrasse 27A
80801 München, Deutschland

Im Portfolio

17. Apr 2023

HTGF Manager

 
Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager