A European champion for fusion: Proxima Fusion spins out of the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics

May 30, 2023

Munich, May 30th 2023 – Proxima Fusion, a fusion start-up that is designing fusion power plants based on the stellarator concept, completed its pre-seed fundraising of €7m. The fundraising is co-led by Plural and UVC Partners, and joined by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and the Wilbe Group.

Proxima Fusion is the first spin-out from the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP). The startup was founded by former scientists and engineers from the Max Planck IPP, MIT, and Google-X. The group aims to deploy a new high-performance stellarator over the coming years. Its roadmap targets a first-of-a-kind fusion power plant within the 2030s.

Fusion is the process that powers the stars. To make it possible on Earth, one can confine high-energy ionized matter, called “plasma”, via magnetic fields. Tokamaks and stellarators are two approaches that do so by creating a magnetic “cage” in doughnut-shaped devices. Stellarators use a complex set of electromagnets outside of the plasma, whereas tokamaks combine external electromagnets with a large current within the plasma, which simplifies the overall design but incurs significant control challenges. Modern magnetic confinement devices can already routinely reach plasmas at more than 100 million degrees – 10 times the temperature at the center of the Sun. The opportunity to leverage fusion as a safe, clean, and abundant energy source has motivated academic research in this domain for decades.

The Proxima Fusion project stands on the shoulders of IPP’s Wendelstein 7-X (W7-X), which is by far the most advanced stellarator in the world. Although more complex in design than tokamaks, stellarators present compelling features for a fusion power plant: they can operate in a steady state, with smaller operational challenges, and present an attractive solution to manage excessive heat loads on material surfaces. However, stellarators have long been affected by major drawbacks: poor plasma confinement at high temperatures, high losses of fusion products, challenging construction tolerances, etc.. Many of these challenges have been solved in recent years:

Experimental progress from W7-X and recent advances in stellarator modeling have radically changed the picture. Stellarators can now remedy the key problems of tokamaks and truly scale up, radically improving the stability of the plasma and reaching high performance in steady state.

Francesco Sciortino, co-founder and CEO of Proxima Fusion

The performance of fusion devices has historically been quantified with the “triple product” of density, temperature, and confinement time. Since the start of its operations in 2015, W7-X has been rapidly catching up over the most advanced tokamaks, which have collectively received vastly more funding so far. However, the triple product says little of the engineering and economic viability of a fusion concept for power plants. W7-X excels in these respects: its February 2023 record of energy turnaround [1], i.e. the total heating power multiplied by the duration of the experiment, is only the latest demonstration of how stellarators like W7-X are superior in a number of important ways.

Figure: triple product of ion density, ion temperature and energy confinement time as a function of the time the triple product was sustained. Adapted from Refs. [2] and [3].

Proxima Fusion is based in Munich, Germany’s most active deep-tech hub. Its proximity to one of IPP’s research centers aims to maximize opportunities for collaboration with the Institute.

We are building on decades of visionary investment by the German government in stellarator technology. It is this investment that created the opportunity for Proxima to be a European champion for fusion. Now, it is up to us to bring fusion energy to the grid.

Jorrit Lion, a co-founder and expert in the modeling of stellarator power plants

Martin Kubie, joining his co-founders after a decade of work in the McLaren Formula-1 team, Google-X and its spin-off Wing, acknowledges the hard work ahead:

Fusion is the challenge of our time. Our task will be to make it a commercial reality. Over the next 12 months, in collaboration with its academic and industry partners, Proxima will focus on completing its initial fusion power plant design.

Martin Kubie, a co-founder of Proxima Fusion

Stellarators offer the most robust and clearest path to fusion energy. The Proxima team has the energy and the speed that we need. They are ecosystem players, with a thrilling sense of ambition building on top of the Wendelstein 7-X stellarator – a masterpiece of German leadership. Europe needs the audacity of this team and their willpower to take on the fusion challenge.

Ian Hogarth of Plural Platform

In the coming years, the energy issue will be one of our most existential ones. We already know today that we need a clever mix of different energy sources. Proxima’s efforts for fusion leverage the massive investment made on stellarators in Germany. We are convinced that the team is ready to change the picture – for the world, and particularly for Germany and Europe, which are in urgent need of reliable sources beyond wind and solar.

Benjamin Erhart, General Partner at UVC Partners.

Proxima Fusion Team

About Proxima Fusion
Fusion will be one of the greatest breakthroughs of this century. Proxima Fusion is working to develop power plants via optimized stellarators, devices that form magnetic cages for high-energy matter. Proxima is the first-ever spin-out company from the Max Planck Society Institute for Plasma Physics, which built and operates the most advanced stellarator on the planet, W7-X. Research over the past decade has now set the stage for Proxima to leverage modern optimization tools and design capabilities, and accelerate fusion. With W7-X reaching high-performance in continuous operation, uniquely among fusion concepts, Proxima Fusion is catalyzing the creation of a new fusion ecosystem in Europe. Connecting partners from industry and academia, the Proxima Fusion founding team, coming together from the Max Planck Society, MIT and Google, is now entering the race for fusion energy to turn stellarators into economically viable fusion power plants.
For further questions, contact: press@proximafusion.com

About Plural
Set up by founders for founders, Plural is an investment platform focusing on providing early stage venture capital to exceptional European tech companies & founders addressing opportunity gap and tackling systemic risks. Its investors with scar tissue support founders to build tech companies that can make a GDP impact.

About UVC Partners
UVC Partners is a Munich- and Berlin-based early-stage venture capital firm that invests in European start-ups, from pre-seed to series A, across deep tech, climate tech, hard- and software, and mobility. As an independent partner of UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s most extensive innovation center, UVC Partners has access to proprietary deal flow, an industrial network of more than 1,000 corporates, and access to talent from the leading European technical university.

About Wilbe
Wilbe is a venture group that supports entrepreneurial scientists from leading academic institutions in developing disruptive and high impact science companies through education, venture building, investment and operational support. Wilbe has worked alongside Proxima Fusion from its early stages.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) funds technology start-ups with growth potential and accompanied more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the start of its fourth fund, HTGF has about EUR 1.4 billion under management. The team consisting of experienced investment managers and start-up experts supports young companies with knowhow, entrepreneurial expertise, and passion. HTGF’s focus are high-tech incorporations in the areas digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business fields. To date, external investors invested more than EUR 4.5 billion over more than 2,000 follow-up financing rounds into the HTGF portfolio. Moreover, the fund successfully sold its shares on more than 170 companies.

The fund investors of this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer Society, as well as more than 40 companies from various fields.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de


[1] https://www.ipp.mpg.de/5322229/01_23
[2] Kikuchi and Azumi, Frontiers in Fusion Research II, Springer, Berlin, 2015
[3] Wolf et al., Physics of Plasmas 26, 082504, 2019.

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
28. May 2024

€1.3 Million for the Legal AI: Successful Funding for Legal Tech JUPUS

The startup JUPUS has successfully attracted new investors for its AI-powered secretary for lawyers which is the first to enable the legally trained and fully automated communication and processing in legal matters. Leading the funding is the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), along with Combination VC, consisting of business angels such as Refurbed founder Kilian Kaminski and Wandelbots CTO Georg Püschel. Among the existing investors returning for this round are well-known family offices, as
 
Press
16. May 2024

Caeli Wind, the digital platform for wind energy sites, secures €11 million in fresh capital in a Series A funding round.

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments and existing investors provide the digital wind energy pioneer with growth capital for deeper value creation and international expansion. Berlin, London, Madrid (16 May 2024) – Caeli Wind, the platform for analysing and marketing wind energy locations founded by Ben Schlemmermeier and Heiko Bartels in 2022, announced today that it has secured €11 million in growth capital from international investors. The round was led by re

Ein neuer EU-Vorreiter für Fusion: Proxima Fusion wird von ehemaligen Forschern des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik gegründet

30. Mai 2023

München, 30. Mai 2023 – Proxima Fusion, ein Start-up, das Fusionskraftwerke auf der Grundlage des Stellarator-Konzepts entwickelt, hat sein Pre-Seed-Fundraising in Höhe von 7 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. Das Fundraising wird gemeinsam von Plural und UVC Partners geleitet und vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Wilbe Gruppe unterstützt.

Proxima Fusion ist das erste Spin-out aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP): Das Start-up wurde von ehemaligen Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren aus dem Max-Planck-IPP, dem MIT und Google-X gegründet. Ziel der Gruppe ist es, in den kommenden Jahren einen neuen Hochleistungsstellarator zu entwickeln. Proxima Fusion plant, dass das erste Fusionskraftwerk auf Basis eines Stellarators in den 2030er Jahren entsteht.

Auch Sterne erzeugen Energie durch Fusion. Die am besten erforschte Methode, Fusion auf der Erde zu ermöglichen, ist das Einschließen hochenergetischer, ionisierter Materie, sogenanntes Plasma, in Magnetfeldern. Große Maschinen wie Tokamaks und Stellaratoren nutzen dazu einen donutförmigen, magnetischen “Käfig”. Dazu verwenden Stellaratoren eine Vielzahl komplexer Elektromagneten außerhalb des Plasmas, während Tokamaks einfache, externe Elektromagneten mit einem großen Strom innerhalb des Plasmas kombinieren. Dadurch ist das Design eines Tokamaks zwar einfacher, aber der große Strom führt zu Schwierigkeiten bei der Stabilitätskontrolle des Plasmas, die beim Stellarator nicht auftreten. Moderne Anlagen mit magnetischem Einschluss können bereits routinemäßig Plasmen mit mehr als 100 Millionen Grad erreichen – das ist in etwa zehnmal so heiß wie das Zentrum unserer Sonne. Die Chance, die Fusion als sichere, saubere und höchst effiziente Energiequelle zu nutzen, motiviert die akademische Forschung seit vielen Jahrzehnten.

Die Arbeiten von Proxima Fusion bauen auf dem Wendelstein 7-X (W7-X) des IPP’s auf, dem mit Abstand fortschrittlichsten Stellarator der Welt. Das Design von Stellaratoren ist zwar deutlich komplexer als von Tokamaks, aber sie bieten entscheidende Vorteile für ein Fusionskraftwerk: Sie können mit weniger operativem Aufwand im stationären Zustand betrieben werden und bieten eine attraktive Lösung für die Bewältigung der Wärmebelastung der Materialoberflächen.

Die ersten Stellaratoren waren noch mit großen Nachteilen behaftet: u.a. schlechter Plasmaeinschluss bei hohen Temperaturen, hohe Verluste an Fusionsprodukten und schwer einhaltbare Konstruktionstoleranzen. Viele dieser Probleme konnten in den letzten Jahren jedoch gelöst werden:

Die experimentellen Fortschritte von W7-X und die jüngsten Fortschritte bei der Modellierung von Stellaratoren haben das Bild radikal verändert. Stellaratoren können inzwischen die Hauptprobleme von Tokamaks überwinden und signifikant weiterentwickelt werden, wodurch die Stabilität des Plasmas verbessert und stationäre Spitzenleistungen erreicht werden.

Francesco Sciortino, Mitbegründer und CEO von Proxima Fusion

Die Leistung von Fusionsanlagen wurde in der Vergangenheit mit dem „Tripelprodukt“ aus Dichte, Temperatur und Einschlusszeit quantifiziert. Seit der Inbetriebnahme im Jahr 2015 hat W7-X schnell zu den fortschrittlichsten Tokamaks aufgeholt, die bisher zusammengenommen weitaus mehr Mittel erhalten haben. Allerdings sagt das Tripelprodukt wenig über die technische und wirtschaftliche Tragfähigkeit eines Fusionskonzepts als Grundlage für ein Kraftwerk aus. W7-X kann auch hier überzeugen: Sein im Februar 2023 erzielter Rekord beim Energieumsatz, d. h. der gesamten Heizleistung multipliziert mit der Dauer des Experiments, ist nur der jüngste Beweis dafür, dass Stellaratoren wie W7-X in einer Reihe wichtiger Aspekte überlegen sind.

Darstellung: Tripelprodukt aus Ionendichte, Ionentemperatur und Energieeinschlusszeit als Funktion der Zeit, über die das Tripelprodukt aufrechterhalten wurde. Adaptiert aus Quellen [1] und [2].

Proxima Fusion hat seinen Sitz in München, Deutschlands aktivstem Deep-Tech-Gründungszentrum. Die Nähe zu einem der Forschungszentren des IPP soll die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut erleichtern.

Die deutsche Regierung hat über Jahrzehnte mit visionären Investitionen die Stellaratortechnologie in Deutschland bis zur Weltspitze vorangebracht. Auf dem dadurch geschaffenen Know-how in Instituten und Unternehmen können wir nun als Startup aufbauen. Wir bündeln jetzt diese Expertise um Fusionsenergie aus Stellaratoren ans Netz zu bringen.

Jorrit Lion, Mitbegründer und Experte für die Modellierung von Stellarator-Kraftwerken

Martin Kubie, der nach einem Jahrzehnt Arbeit im Formel-1-Team von McLaren, bei Google-X und dessen Ausgründung Wing zu seinen Mitgründern dazugestoßen ist, ist sich der harten Arbeit bewusst, die vor dem Team liegt:

Die Fusion ist die Herausforderung unserer Zeit. Unsere Aufgabe wird es sein, sie zu einer kommerziellen Realität zu machen. In den nächsten 12 Monaten wird sich Proxima Fusion in Zusammenarbeit mit seinen akademischen und industriellen Partnern auf die Fertigstellung eines ersten Designs für ein Fusionskraftwerk konzentrieren.

Martin Kubie, Mitbegründer von Proxima Fusion

Stellaratoren bieten den zuverlässigsten Weg zur Fusionsenergie. Das Team von Proxima Fusion hat den Elan und die Dynamik, die wir brauchen. Sie sind Experten aus der Fusionsforschung, die mit Ehrgeiz auf dem Stellarator Wendelstein 7-X aufbauen – einem Meisterwerk deutscher Technologie. Europa braucht den Wagemut dieses Teams und seinen Willen, sich der Herausforderung der Fusion zu stellen.

Ian Hogarth, Plural Platform

In den kommenden Jahren wird die Energiewende eine unserer existenziellsten Herausforderungen sein. Wir wissen schon heute, dass wir einen klugen Mix aus verschiedenen Energiequellen brauchen. Die Bestrebungen von Proxima Fusion bauen auf Deutschlands massiven Investitionen in Stellaratoren auf. Wir sind überzeugt, dass das Team bereit ist, den Status Quo zu ändern – weltweit und insbesondere in Deutschland und Europa, wo verlässliche Energiequellen jenseits von Wind und Solar dringend benötigt werden.

Benjamin Erhart, General Partner bei UVC Partners

Proxima Fusion Team

Über Proxima Fusion
Energiegewinn aus Fusion wird einer der größten Durchbrüche dieses Jahrhunderts sein. Proxima Fusion arbeitet an der Entwicklung von Fusions-Kraftwerken basierend auf optimierten Stellaratoren, d.h. Maschinen, die einen magnetischen Käfig für hochenergetische Materie bilden. Proxima Fusion ist das erste Spin-out aus dem Institut für Plasmaphysik der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, das den modernsten Stellarator der Welt, W7-X, gebaut hat und betreibt. Der Fortschritt in der Forschung über das letzte Jahrzehnt ermöglicht Proxima jetzt, moderne Optimierungs- und Designtools zu nutzen, um den Zeitplan zur Fusionsenergie zu beschleunigen. Mit W7-X, das im kontinuierlichen Betrieb eine unter Fusionskonzepten einzigartige Leistung erreicht, ist Proxima Fusion der Katalysator für die Schaffung eines neuen Fusionsökosystems in Europa. Das Gründungsteam von Proxima Fusion kommt aus Industrie und Wissenschaft, darunter die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, das MIT und Google. Sie treten nun in den Wettlauf zur Realisierung von Fusionsenergie ein, um wirtschaftlich tragfähige Fusionskraftwerke auf Basis von Stellaratoren zu entwickeln.
Für weitere Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an: press@proximafusion.com

Über UVC Partners
UVC Partners ist eine führende Early-Stage-Venture-Capital-Gesellschaft mit Sitz in München und Berlin, die in europäische Start-ups in den Bereichen Deep Tech, Climate Tech, Hard- und Software sowie Mobiliy investiert, und zwar von der Pre-Seed- bis zur Serie A. Als unabhängiger Partner von UnternehmerTUM, Europas größtem Innovations- und Startup-Zentrum, hat UVC Partners Zugang zu proprietärem Dealflow, einem industriellen Netzwerk von mehr als 1.000 Unternehmen und Zugang zu Talenten von der führenden europäischen technischen Universität.

Über Wilbe
Wilbe ist eine Venture-Gruppe, die unternehmerisch denkende Wissenschaftler aus führenden akademischen Einrichtungen bei der Entwicklung bahnbrechender und wirkungsvoller Wissenschaftsunternehmen durch Ausbildung, Aufbau von Unternehmen, Investitionen und operative Begleitung unterstützt. Wilbe hat mit Proxima Fusion von Anfang an zusammengearbeitet.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech-Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzenden Geschäftsfeldern. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de


Quellen:
[1] Kikuchi and Azumi, Frontiers in Fusion Research II, Springer, Berlin, 2015
[2] Wolf et al., Physics of Plasmas 26, 082504, 2019.

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
28. Mai 2024

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zähl
 
Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v