Portfolio Finder

Aignostics

Aignostics, a spin-off from Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin and the Berlin Institute of Health, is pioneering computational pathology for pharmaceutical research and diagnostics. Its proprietary "Explainable AI" platform draws on research from Fraunhofer Society, Charité, and TU Berlin to overcome the typical "black-box" problem of AI in pathology. Aignostics' focus lies on developing bespoke AI models for clinical trials and CDx development.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Niels Sharman
Added to portfolio 24. Aug 2020

Belyntic

Modern therapeutic approaches face the challenge to combine efficacy, low undesired side effects and reasonable pricing. Therefore, drug substances become more and more complex, therapies become more personalized while overall life-cycle costs from drug discovery up to the manufacturing of the final therapeutic are on trial.
Peptides – or short proteins - represent a promising therapeutic class, and Belyntic’s PEC technology offers an innovative solution for their manufacturing. The linker-based approach enables parallel, efficient and highly selective purification and modification of chemically synthesized peptides. Belyntic offers kit products as well as cooperation projects and custom services for research institutions, custom peptide manufacturers as well as biotech and pharma companies.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
Added to portfolio 08. Apr 2019

ChromoTek Exit

ChromoTek focuses on the discovery and development of innovative fluorescent nanoprobes derived from single-chain antibodies from Camelidae (Chromobodies) for applications in research and high-content screening.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Bernd Goergen
In portfolio 27. Apr 2010 – 09. Oct 2020

Cytena Exit

cytena's single-cell printer is a unique device for separating, sorting and handling of single biological cells. For the first time this method enables an automated, separation of single cells with high viability and proof of clonality without cross-contamination risks.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
In portfolio 13. Apr 2015 – 05. Aug 2019

denovoMATRIX

denovoMATRIX develops and manufactures biomimetic coatings for the cultivation of human stem cells. Our focus is on enabling culture conditions for stem and primary cells closer to the natural conditions found in the body. Our products offer a biologically relevant solution, which is both chemically defined, and modular for adapting to specific applications. Our vision is to enable human biology in vitro, beginning with Life Science research and onwards to cell therapies of the future.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Katharina Severin
Added to portfolio 15. Oct 2018

DyNAbind

DyNAbind is offering innovative drug discovery products and services based on its proprietary Dynamic DNA-Encoded Library (D-DEL) technology platform. With D-DEL, DyNAbind can simultaneously screen hundreds of millions of compounds against a target protein. Follow-up hit triage is also rapid, thanks to the Binding Profiler system for hit validation. Altogether, DyNAbind’s platform delivers higher-quality, more relevant medicinal chemistry starting points at about 10 times the speed of conventional approaches.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Laura Pedroza
Added to portfolio 17. Apr 2019

faCellitate

faCellitate develops patented polymeric surface coatings for plastic and glassware enabling 3-dimensional cell culture, amongst other uses. Initially, the technology was developed at the BASF research department for polymers. The company and team were formed at Chemovator during a nearly three year incubation period and spun-off end of 2021. During the period at Chemovator from BASF, the company turned the technology platform into a pipeline of high-tech applications and start building an international digital marketing platform.
faCellitate is also advancing its platform technology into other areas. Under the brand BIOINSTRUCT™, the company is applying its technology to modify polymer coated surfaces with peptides to create biospecific lab material surfaces for customers.
faCellitate has its offices in Mannheim in a startup incubator environment and its labs in Heidelberg.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Angelika Vlachou
Added to portfolio 14. Mar 2022

KINAXO Exit

KINAXO supports pharmaceutical companies in the development of targeted drugs and predictive biomarkers for personalized healthcare.

Exit since Feb. 2011. Purchaser: Evotec AG

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
In portfolio 21. Jul 2006 – 09. Feb 2011

Lino Biotech

lino Biotech AG was incorporated as a ETH Zurich spin-out in Zürich, Switzerland, in March 2020, and is venture backed by Roche Venture Fund, High-Tech Gründerfonds and several lifescience family offices. lino offers industry partners and researchers a unique way to study molecular interactions in living cells and crude biosystems.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Martin Pfister
Added to portfolio 03. Mar 2020

Lipocalyx Exit

Lipocalyx develops transfection reagents. Our Viromers® are polymers emulating a viral mechanism for cell entry. The company provides reagents and currently establishes services for pharmaceutical applications.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
In portfolio 14. Jul 2011 – 07. Apr 2021

PEPperPRINT

PEPperPRINT produces customized ultra-high density peptide microarrays and uses individualized peptide libraries for drug development, antibody characterization, and protein biomarker discovery.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Bernd Goergen
Added to portfolio 26. Feb 2010

PreComb

PreComb Therapeutics AG is a privately held Swiss biotech company founded in 2018 by Jens M. Kelm, Peter Steiner and Olivier Mauti with the aim of developing technologies that bring precision medicine benefits to all cancer patients. PreComb is pioneering breakthrough technologies to directly test the drug response of individual cancer patients, based on patient-derived 3D microtumors. For the first time, a fully automated point-of-care solution for determining drug sensitivity or resistance directly in the clinic is being developed. This offers the unique ability to routinely test entire portfolios of cancer drugs and drug combinations in large-scale, making the technology a universal tool from drug discovery to guiding therapies.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Anke Caßing
Added to portfolio 01. Dec 2014

PreOmics Exit

PreOmics develops and provides innovative technologies for customers around the world for mass spectrometry (MS) - based proteomics using cutting-edge technologies to support researchers in their protein analysis needs.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Fabian Mohr
In portfolio 06. Feb 2017 – 18. Jan 2022

Resolve Biosciences

Resolve Biosciences is creating solutions which offer the power of Molecular Cartography enabling scientists to gain valuable insights at subcellular resolution, across vast numbers of biomolecules (RNA, DNA, proteins) to create three-dimensional maps of molecular activity in living cells.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
Added to portfolio 27. Nov 2020

SeNostic

Senostic is a diagnostics company developing a differential diagnostic test to detect multiple neurodegenerative diseases in a single test based on its proprietary SeedCylcer platform technology.

Sector: R&D Tools
Added to portfolio 18. Dec 2015

Signatope

Signatope develops the next generation of protein biomarker assays using a novel type of mass spectrometry-based immunoassays.

SIGNATOPE (SIGNAture epiTOPE) immunoassays are capable of detecting and quantifying protein biomarkers in humans and all pharmacologically relevant model species. Antibodies comprising epitopes of 4 amino acids are the key reagents of SIGNATOPE's immunoassays. The short epitope allows us to establish quantitative assays for the same protein in different species and for isoforms of protein families. Even immunoassays for notoriously difficult proteins like drug transporters can be established while providing the speed and the sensitivity of an antibody-based method.

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
Added to portfolio 14. Nov 2016

SIRION Biotech Exit

SIRION BIOTECH produces genetically modified cells and is technology provider in the area of viral vector systems. The specialist in RNAi technology distributes more than 100 products and services. A goal is to develop optimized cell systems for the optimized vaccine, antibody or protein production

Sector: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Marco Winzer
In portfolio 04. Sep 2007 – 22. Jun 2021

Portfolio-Finder

Aignostics

Aignostics, eine Ausgründung der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und des Berlin Institute of Health, entwickelt KI-basierte Lösungen für die Pathologie. Das Unternehmen setzt dabei auf seine proprietäre “Explainable AI”-Plattform, welche auf Forschung der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, der Charité und der TU Berlin basiert, um das oftmals kritisierte “Black-Box”-Problem von KI in der Pathologie zu überwinden. Der Fokus von Aignostics liegt auf der Entwicklung von maßgeschneiderten Algorithmen für Forschung und Diagnostik.

Branche: R&D Tools
Im Portfolio seit 24. Aug 2020

Belyntic

Moderne Therapieansätze stehen vor der Herausforderung, Wirksamkeit, geringe Nebenwirkungen und bezahlbare Kosten zu vereinen. Daher werden die Wirkstoffe immer komplexer und Therapien sind zunehmend individuell auf den Patienten zugeschnitten. Die Kosten und Erfolgsraten der Entwicklung bis zur Herstellung des zugelassenen Medikaments sind dabei die wesentlichen kritischen Faktoren.
Moderne Peptidwirkstoffe – das sind kurze Proteine – stellen hierbei eine vielversprechende Medikamentenklasse dar. Belyntic bietet mit der patentierten PEC-Technologie eine innovative Lösung für ihre effiziente Herstellung. Der Ansatz basiert auf neuartigen Linkermolekülen und ermöglicht eine parallele und chemo-selektive Reinigung und Modifikation von chemisch synthetisierten Peptiden. Belyntic bietet Kit-Produkte sowie Kooperationsprojekte und Serviceleistungen für Forschungseinrichtungen, Peptidhersteller sowie Biotech- und Pharmaunternehmen an.
„Auch die beste Innovation oder das smarteste Geschäftsmodell braucht eins zum Überleben: ein starkes Team!“

Branche: R&D Tools
Webseite: belyntic.com
HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
Im Portfolio seit 08. Apr 2019

ChromoTek Exit

ChromoTek erforscht und entwickelt innovative fluoreszierende Nanosonden, welche sich von einzelkettigen Antikörpern der Camelidae ableiten (Chromobodies), für Forschungsanwendungen und High-Content-Screening.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Bernd Goergen
Im Portfolio 27. Apr 2010 – 09. Okt 2020

Cytena Exit

cytena stellt mit dem Einzelzelldrucker ein einzigartiges Gerät zur Vereinzelung, Sortierung und Handhabung von einzelnen biologischen Zellen her. Mit diesem Verfahren können Einzelzellen erstmals nachweisbar, automatisiert, schonend und ohne Querkontaminationsrisiken separiert werden.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
Im Portfolio 13. Apr 2015 – 05. Aug 2019

denovoMATRIX

denovoMATRIX entwickelt und produziert biomimetische Beschichtungen für die Kultivierung menschlicher Stammzellen. Unser Fokus liegt auf der Bereitstellung von Kulturbedingungen für Stamm- und Primärzellen, die eine natürliche Umgebung des menschlichen Körpers imitieren. Unsere chemisch definierten Produkte bieten eine biologisch relevante Lösung, die modular auf spezifische Anwendungen angepasst werden kann. Unserer Vision „enabling human biology in vitro“ folgend entwickeln wir Lösungen für die Forschung in den Lebenswissenschaften und für die Zelltherapien der Zukunft.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Katharina Severin
Im Portfolio seit 15. Okt 2018

faCellitate

faCellitate entwickelt polymere Oberflächenbeschichtungen für Laborartikel aus Kunststoff und Glas die unter Anderem 3D-Zellkultur ermöglichen. Der Ursprung der Technologie geht zurück auf die Polymerforschung der BASF SE. faCellitate als Startup wurde Ende 2021 ausgegründet, nachdem das Projekt das Venture Building Programm der Chemovator GmbH erfolgreich abgeschlossen hatte. Während der Inkubationsphase im Chemovator entwickelte das Projekt eine Pipeline aus High-Tech Anwendungen basierend auf seiner Technologieplattform und baute eine digitale Marketingplattform mit internationaler Reichweite auf.
faCellitate dringt mit ihrer proprietären Technologieplattform in neue Anwendungsfelder vor. Unter dem Handelsnamen BIOINSTRUCT™ wird die Beschichtungstechnologie eingesetzt, um polymerbeschichtete Oberflächen mit Peptiden zu modifizieren um Kunden biospezifische Oberflächen für Laboranwendungen zur Verfügung zu stellen.
faCellitate hat seinen Hauptsitz in Mannheim und Entwicklungslabore am Standort Heidelberg.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Angelika Vlachou
Im Portfolio seit 14. Mrz 2022

KINAXO Exit

KINAXO unterstützt Pharmafirmen bei der Entwicklung zielgerichteter Medikamente und prädiktiver Biomarker für die personalisierte Medizin.

Erfolgreicher Exit seit Februar 2011. Käufer: Evotec AG

Branche: R&D Tools
Webseite: www.kinaxo.de
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
Im Portfolio 21. Jul 2006 – 09. Feb 2011

Lino Biotech

lino Biotech AG wurde im März 2020 als ETH Zürich Spin-off gegründet und durch Venture Capital des Roche Venture Funds, des High-Tech Gründerfonds und mehrerer LifeScience Family Offices finanziert. lino bietet Industriepartnern und Forschern einzigartige Möglichkeiten der Untersuchung molekularer Wechselwirkungen in lebenden Zellen.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Martin Pfister
Im Portfolio seit 03. Mrz 2020

Lipocalyx Exit

Lipocalyx entwickelt Transfektionsreagenzien. Unsere Viromere® sind künstliche Viren, allerdings ohne biologische Bestandteile. Die Lipocalyx verkauft eigene Reagenzien und bietet Services für die pharmazeutische Industrie.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
Im Portfolio 14. Jul 2011 – 07. Apr 2021

PEPperPRINT

Ultradichte, individualisierbare und auf Aminosäuretonern basierende Peptid-Arrays für die Wirkstoffentwicklung, Epitop-Mapping und die Identifizierung neuer Proteinbiomarker.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Bernd Goergen
Im Portfolio seit 26. Feb 2010

PreComb

PreComb Therapeutics AG ist ein privates Schweizer Biotech-Unternehmen, das 2018 von Jens M. Kelm, Peter Steiner und Olivier Mauti mit dem Ziel gegründet wurde, Technologien zu entwickeln, um Präzisionsmedizin allen Krebspatienten zugänglich zu machen. PreComb leistet Pionierarbeit bei der Entwicklung bahnbrechender Technologien, basierend auf von Patienten abgeleiteten 3D-Mikrotumoren, um das individuelle Ansprechen auf Medikamente bei Krebspatienten direkt zu testen. Zum ersten Mal wird eine vollautomatische Point-of-Care-Lösung zur Bestimmung von Medikamentensensitivität oder -resistenz direkt in der Klinik entwickelt. Dies bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, ganze Portfolios von Krebsmedikamenten und Medikamentenkombinationen routinemäßig im großen Maßstab zu testen, was die Technologie zu einem universellen Werkzeug von der Medikamentenentdeckung bis hin zur Steuerung von Therapien macht.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Anke Caßing
Im Portfolio seit 01. Dez 2014

PreOmics Exit

PreOmics entwickelt und vertreibt innovative Technologien für die Massenspektrometrie (MS) - basierte Proteomik. PreOmics Produkte basieren auf modernsten Technologien, um weltweit Forscher bei der Proteinanalyse zu unterstützen.

Branche: R&D Tools
Webseite: preomics.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Fabian Mohr
Im Portfolio 06. Feb 2017 – 18. Jan 2022

Resolve Biosciences

Resolve Biosciences entwickelt Lösungen im Bereich der „Molekularen Kartographie“, die es Wissenschaftlern ermöglicht, wertvolle Erkenntnisse über einer Vielzahl von Biomolekülen (RNA, DNA und Proteine) in einer subzellulären Auflösung zu erhalten, um dreidimensionale Karten der molekularen Aktivität in lebenden Zellen zu gewinnen.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
Im Portfolio seit 27. Nov 2020

SeNostic

Senostic ist ein Diagnostikunternehmen, das eine Differentialdiagnostik zum Nachweis mehrerer neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen in einem einzigen Test auf Basis ihrer proprietären SeedCylcer Plattformtechnologie entwickelt.

Branche: R&D Tools
Im Portfolio seit 18. Dez 2015

Signatope

Die Signatope GmbH entwickelt hoch-spezifische Assays zur Analyse von Protein-Biomarkern in biologischen Flüssigkeiten unterschiedlichster Spezies mit dem Ziel der verbesserten Vorhersage der Toxizität von Wirkstoffen in der Medikamentenentwicklung. Trotz intensiver präklinischer Wirkstoffanalysen werden Medikamente aufgrund toxischer Nebenwirkungen auch noch nach Zulassung vom Markt genommen.

Aufgrund des Assay- und Antikörper-Designs können neue Tests wesentlich schneller und effizienter entwickelt werden und somit in kurzer Zeit die Vielfalt möglicher Analyten erhöht werden. Für verschiedene Tiermodelle können speziesübergreifend die gleichen Antikörper für translationale Biomarker verwendet werden, was eine Anwendung eines einzigen Tests für alle Entwicklungsphasen (von präklinischer Entwicklung bis hin zur klinische Studie) eines Wirkstoffs ermöglicht.

Anwendungsbereiche der Assays liegen daher sowohl in der präklinischen Entwicklung als auch in der Phase I klinischer Studien und ermöglichen Pharmaunternehmen eine gezieltere und effizientere Wirkstoffentwicklung.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
Im Portfolio seit 14. Nov 2016

SIRION Biotech Exit

SIRION BIOTECH produziert genetisch modifizierte Zellen und ist Technologieanbieter im Bereich virale Vektorsysteme. Das Leistungsspektrum des Spezialisten für RNAi-Technologien umfasst mehr als 100 Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Ziel ist es zudem, optimierte Zellsysteme für die Impfstoff-, Antikörper- und Proteinherstellung zu entwickeln.

Branche: R&D Tools
HTGF-Manager: Marco Winzer
Im Portfolio 04. Sep 2007 – 22. Jun 2021