Press

With AI-based document verification against counterfeiters and fraudsters: ICO-LUX receives seed financing

December 11, 2020

High-Tech Gründerfonds invests in the Jena based InsurTech start-up ICO-LUX. The company pursues an innovative approach to detect insurance fraud automatically. With its self-learning software ICO-LUX can detect manipulation and forgery of digitized paper documents using computer vision and artificial intelligence. This benefits not only major customers in the insurance and financial sector, but also honest end customers.

According to the Association of German Insurers, the insurance industry loses almost 5 billion euros annually due to insurance fraud. The insurers see the automated processing of documents as a driver of fraud, which has been a focus of attention for several years now. To check the authenticity of the documents has often been neglected so far. Due to this automation, however, document forgeries found by chance became more common as a sign of a major trend. Thus, in the recent past, fraud has become a more prominent issue for insurance companies.

Initiated by a large private health insurance company, the founding team developed the prototype for an AI-based document verification software as part of a research project at the University of Ilmenau. This software is now already in use at various large companies and has been able to prevent fraud of over 1 million euros.

The unique selling point of our software is that fraud can be detected not only retrospectively, when the insurance company has already paid out the invoice amounts, but preventatively. This way, we protect our customers from high fraud damages and expensive lawsuits.

Dr. Stefan Brechtken, Co-Founder and CTO of ICO-LUX

The investment will primarily be used to further develop the technology so that it can check a wide variety of document types for counterfeiting and can then be expanded as a customer segment for other industries such as banks, tax authorities or customs authorities.

ICO-LUX’s software is a great example of a Deep Tech B2B solution that can prove its customer benefits in a very short time. As substantial cases of fraud can already be uncovered in the first testing period. This has not only convinced major customers, but also the HTGF.

Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager at HTGF

About ICO-LUX GmbH
ICO-LUX was founded in 2018 as a spin-off of the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena and the TU Ilmenau and is specialized in software for automated document forensics. With ICO.Fraud for private health insurance companies, the start-up is the only provider of a software solution for fully automatic detection of forged documents to date. Customers are currently mainly private health insurance companies. ICO-LUX has seven employees at its Jena site, including mathematicians, physicists and computer scientists with doctorates.

For press photos and further information please contact us:

Contact:
ICO-LUX GmbH
Jan Franke
Hans-Knöll-Str. 6, 07745 Jena
T.: +49 3641 9290988
presse@ico-lux.de
www.ico-lux.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge almost 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected over EUR 2.7 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,600 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 100 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies.  The Fund Investors
www.htgf.de/en

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 182
d.lohle@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter appointed partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter to become partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds effective 1 October 2022Dr. Angelika Vlachou to further expand her duties within the Life Sciences unit at HTGF’s Berlin office in her new role as partnerStefanie Grüter to assume responsibility for marketing, communications and relationship management in her new position Bonn/Berlin, 29 September 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds, leading seed investor in Germany, has appointed Stefanie Grüter
 
Press
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria closes seven-figure seed round for scaling tungsten particles as sustainable additive in composites

GS Bavaria aims to support the composites industry on its way to sustainability. The startup enables users to dramatically improve mechanical properties and resource use through biologically produced tungsten-based additives. With the seven-figure financing round, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and with the participation of renowned business angels, GS Bavaria is setting up industrial production of the nanomaterials and investing in sales and R&D. Nürnberg, 27.09.2022- GS
 
Press
26. September 2022

Kupando raises €13 million in Series A funding round

Financing led by Remiges Ventures, co-led by LifeCare Partners, with additional investments by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.Proceeds to be used to complete IND-enabling work and initiate clinical development. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases, anno

Mit KI-basierter Dokumentenprüfung gegen Fälscher und Betrüger: ICO-LUX erhält Seed-Finanzierung

11. Dezember 2020

Der High-Tech Gründerfonds investiert in das InsurTech Start-up ICO-LUX aus Jena. ICO-LUX verfolgt einen innovativen Ansatz bei der Aufdeckung von Versicherungsbetrug, indem es Belegdokumente vollautomatisch mittels Computer Vision-Technologie analysiert und so Manipulationen und Fälschungen erkennt. Davon profitieren neben Großkunden aus dem Versicherungs- und Finanzwesen nicht zuletzt die ehrlichen Versicherten und Endkunden.

Nach Angaben des Gesamtverbandes Deutscher Versicherer verliert die Versicherungsbranche jährlich knapp 5 Mrd. Euro durch Versicherungsbetrug. Einen Treiber des Betrugs sehen die Versicherer in der, seit einigen Jahren forcierten automatisierten Erfassung der Belegdokumente, die die Prüfung der Echtheit der Dokumente bisher vernachlässigte. Aufgrund dieser Automatisierung häuften sich jedoch zufällig gefundene Belegfälschungen als Anzeichen für einen größeren Trend. So rückte in jüngerer Vergangenheit das Thema Betrug stärker in das Blickfeld der Versicherer.

Auf Initiative einer großen privaten Krankenversicherung entwickelte das Gründerteam im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes an der Universität Ilmenau den Prototypen für eine KI-basierte Dokumentenprüfungssoftware, die schon heute bei verschiedenen großen Unternehmen im Einsatz ist und Betrug von über 1 Mio. Euro verhindern konnte.

Das große Alleinstellungsmerkmal unserer Software ist, dass sich Betrug damit nicht erst im Nachhinein aufdecken lässt, wenn die Versicherung das Geld längst ausgezahlt hat, sondern präventiv. So ersparen wir unseren Kunden hohe Betrugsschäden und teure Gerichtsprozesse.

Dr. Stefan Brechtken, Co-Founder und CTO von ICO-LUX

Das Investment wird in erster Linie genutzt, um die Technologie weiterzuentwickeln, damit mit dieser in Zukunft unterschiedlichste Dokumentenarten auf Fälschungen geprüft werden und dann für weitere Branchen z.B. Banken, Finanzbehörden oder den Zoll erweitert werden können. 

Die Software von ICO-LUX ist ein sehr schönes Beispiel für eine Deep Tech B2B-Lösung, die ihren Kundennutzen bereits nach kürzester Zeit unter Beweis stellen kann. Da bereits in der ersten Testphase signifikante Betrugsfälle aufgedeckt werden. Das hat nicht nur große Kunden, sondern auch den HTGF überzeugt.

Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Über die ICO-LUX GmbH
ICO-LUX wurde 2018 als Ausgründung der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und der TU Ilmenau gegründet und hat sich auf Software für Automatisierte Dokumentenforensik spezialisiert. Mit ICO.Fraud für Private Krankenversicherungen ist das Start-Up der bislang einzige Anbieter einer Softwarelösung zur vollautomatischen Erkennung von Dokumentfälschungen. Kunden sind momentan überwiegend Private Krankenversicherungen. ICO-LUX beschäftigt am Standort in Jena aktuell sieben Mitarbeiter, darunter promovierte Mathematiker, Physiker und Informatiker.

Kontakt
ICO-LUX GmbH
Jan Franke
Hans-Knöll-Str. 6, 07745 Jena
T.: 0 3641 9290988
E-Mail: presse@ico-lux.de
www.ico-lux.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 fast 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Über 2,7 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.600 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 100 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die 32 Unternehmen. Die Fondsinvestoren
https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 182
d.lohle@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
10. Juni 2024

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen. Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 i