Press

Another successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds – Bosch Sensortec acquires Arioso Systems

April 28, 2022

  • Bosch enters the attractive market segment for micro speakers. Acquisition means broader diversification of Bosch Sensortec’s portfolio.
  • Arioso Systems is one of the world’s most innovative providers of MEMS micro speaker technology. Together with Bosch, it will leverage the full potential of its micro speakers.
  • Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director of High-Tech Gründerfonds: “Highly innovative start-ups provide a real business and technology boost to established companies. HTGF is a platform that enables fund investors to systematically cooperate and co-invest with high-tech start-ups from all kinds of sectors. Arioso is now the third HTGF portfolio company to be acquired by our fund investor Bosch – it’s a real win-win for both in terms of substance and strategy.”

Bonn, 28 April 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) has achieved another successful exit. HTGF and all other shareholders of Arioso Systems (AS) have sold their shares to Bosch Sensortec GmbH. The start-up team is to be retained and the company will continue to be based in Dresden and Cottbus.

This is not the first time that Bosch has acquired a HTGF portfolio company. Following on from KSK Diagnostics (sold to Bosch Healthcare Solutions in 2018) and E-HD (sold to Bosch Rexroth in 2021), this is the third portfolio company to be acquired by a subsidiary of the fund investor. Robert Bosch GmbH is an investor in all three HTGF funds.

Arioso Systems emerged from the Fraunhofer IPMS and research activities at the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg in 2019. In 2020, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invested in Arioso Systems together with Brandenburg Kapital, Technologiegründerfonds Sachsen and business angels during a seed financing round. AS develops and markets micro speakers made from 100% silicon (MEMS chips) for in-ear headphones. They are ten times smaller than conventional speakers, more energy-efficient – and quickly scalable. Its target customers include major smartphone manufacturers as well as manufacturers of headphones and hearing aid devices.

Hermann Schenk, CEO Arioso Systems

We are grateful to our seed investors for their support over the past years. Our technology wouldn’t be where it is today without them. The sale to Bosch Sensortec, which will enable us to leverage the full global potential of our MEMS micro speakers, is a joint success.

Hermann Schenk, CEO of Arioso Systems

The Arioso team has made groundbreaking progress in the recent years and developed a truly disruptive technology, that can now be commercialized in a perfectly fitting environment. I can hardly wait to see exciting new products using this new “made in Germany” technology in the shops!

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

The acquisition is subject to approval by the antitrust authorities. It has been agreed that any project details such as the purchase price will not be disclosed.

Press release from Bosch can be found here: www.bosch-press.com

Picture: Arioso Systems

About Arioso Systems
Arioso Systems is a Fraunhofer IPMS spin-off founded in 2019. Arioso develops and markets disruptive pure silicon micro speaker technology for smart in-ear devices, such as TWS earphones, hearables and modern hearing aids. The market demands increasingly small, light, efficient and scalable components to save room and battery for a growing number of functions. Arioso’s µSpeakers are ten times smaller than conventional solutions, more energy-efficient and easily scalable for the global consumer markets. For the first time, sound is generated inside a silicon chip (MEMS).

Arioso Systems is based in Dresden and Cottbus. In 2020, the firm received € 2.7 m in seed funding from Brandenburg Kapital, HTGF, TGFS and two business angels. More information: https://arioso-systems.com/

About Bosch Sensortec GmbH  
Bosch Sensortec GmbH, a fully owned subsidiary of Robert Bosch GmbH, develops and markets a wide portfolio of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) sensors and solutions tailored for smartphones, tablets, wearables and hearables, AR/VR devices, drones, robots, smart home and IoT (Internet of Things) applications. The product portfolio includes 3-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes and magnetometers, integrated 6- and 9-axis sensors, smart sensors, barometric pressure sensors, humidity sensors, gas sensors, optical microsystems and comprehensive software. Since its foundation in 2005, Bosch Sensortec has emerged as the MEMS technology leader in the markets it addresses. Bosch has been both a pioneer and a global market leader in the MEMS sensor segment since 1995 and has, to date, sold more than 15 billion MEMS sensors.

For more information, please visit www.boschsensortec.com, twitter.com/boschMEMS, community.bosch-sensortec.com, linkedin.com/company/bosch-sensortec/, youtube.com/user/BoschSensortec

Media Contact
Constantin Schmauder                             
Telefon: +49 7121 35-31058
Twitter: @BoschMEMS          

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investors Contact
Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 157
o.joeressen@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
7. July 2022

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the
 
Press
28. June 2022

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes becomes part of the team.blue family

Bonn, 28 June 2022 - team.blue, a leading digital enabler for companies and entrepreneurs, announced that the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) portfolio company Raidboxes, a leading WordPress hosting provider, is joining its growing group of companies. HTGF is selling its stake after having closely supported the team led by Johannes Benz and Torben Simon Meier since 2016. team.blue supports local entrepreneurs and small businesses, enabling them to build, grow, and scale online. As a ma
 
Press
22. June 2022

TechVision Fonds I and High-Tech Gründerfonds invest in textile recycling startup EEDEN

Textile recycling rethought: Innovative process enables upcycling of old clothing Aachen, 22 June 2022 - TechVision Fonds I, together with High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and a business angel, are the first investors to invest in EEDEN. The startup from Moenchengladbach, Germany has developed an innovative process for the sustainable and environmentally friendly recycling of clothing and other textile products. With the financing, EEDEN plans to further expand their R&D-activities and

Presse

Weiterer erfolgreicher Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds – Bosch Sensortec übernimmt Arioso Systems

28. April 2022

  • Bosch Sensortec steigt in das attraktive Marktsegment Mikrolautsprecher ein. Die Übernahme erhöht die Diversifikation des Portfolios.
  • Arioso Systems ist einer der weltweit innovativsten Anbieter von MEMS Mikrolautsprechern. Gemeinsam mit Bosch werden sie das volle Potenzial ihrer Mikrolautsprecher ausschöpfen.
  • Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF: „Hochinnovative Startups sind der Technologie- und Businessturbo für etablierte Unternehmen. Der HTGF stellt eine Plattform dar, auf der Fondsinvestoren systematisch mit High-Tech-Startups aus allen Bereichen kooperieren und co-investieren können. Arioso ist nun das dritte HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen, das von unserem Fondsinvestor Bosch übernommen wird – ein inhaltlicher und strategischer Volltreffer für beide.“

Bonn, 28.04.2022 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) kann einen weiteren sehr erfolgreichen Exit verzeichnen. Der HTGF und alle anderen Anteilseigner der Arioso Systems (AS) haben ihre Anteile an die Bosch Sensortec GmbH veräußert. Das Team des Start-ups bleibt an Bord. Die Standorte sind weiterhin Dresden und Cottbus.

Für Bosch ist es nicht die erste Übernahme eines HTGF-Portfoliounternehmens. Arioso Systems ist nach KSK Diagnostics (2018 Bosch Healthcare Solutions) und E-HD (2021 an Bosch Rexroth) bereits das dritte Portfoliounternehmen, das von einem Tochterunternehmen des Fondsinvestors übernommen wurde. Die Robert Bosch GmbH ist in allen drei Fonds des HTGF investiert.

Arioso Systems ist 2019 aus dem Fraunhofer IPMS und Forschungsarbeiten der BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg hervorgegangen. 2020 beteiligten sich der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) gemeinsam mit Brandenburg Kapital, dem Technologiegründerfonds Sachsen und Business Angels im Rahmen einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde an der Arioso Systems. AS entwickelt und vermarktet Mikrolautsprecher aus 100 % Silizium (MEMS-Chips) für In-Ear-Kopfhörer. Sie sind zehnmal kleiner als herkömmliche Lautsprecher, energieeffizienter – und schnell skalierbar. Zu den Zielkunden zählen die großen Smartphone-Hersteller sowie Hersteller von Kopfhörern und Hörgeräten.

Hermann Schenk, CEO Arioso Systems

Wir danken unseren Startkapitalgebern für ihre Unterstützung in den vergangenen Jahren. Ohne sie wäre unsere Technologie nicht da, wo sie heute ist. Der Verkauf an Bosch Sensortec ist ein gemeinsamer Erfolg. Er ermöglicht uns, das volle globale Potenzial unserer MEMS-Mikrolautsprecher auszuschöpfen.

Hermann Schenk, CEO von Arioso Systems

Das Team der Arioso Systems hat in den letzten Jahren großartige Arbeit geleistet und eine disruptive Technologie entwickelt, die es jetzt im perfekten neuen Umfeld kommerzialisieren wird. Ich kann es kaum erwarten spannende Produkte mit dieser neuen Technologie „Made in Germany“ in den Läden zu sehen!

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

Die Übernahme steht unter dem Vorbehalt der Zustimmung der Kartellbehörden. Über Projektdetails wie den Kaufpreis wurde Stillschweigen vereinbart.

Die Presseinformation von Bosch finden Sie hier: www.bosch-presse.de

Bild: Arioso Systems

Über Arioso Systems

Arioso Systems ist eine Ausgründung des Fraunhofer IPMS, gegründet 2019. Arioso entwickelt und vermarktet disruptive Mikrolautsprecher-Technologie aus 100 % Silizium für smarte In-Ear-Geräte, wie TWS (True Wireless)-Kopfhörer, Hearables und moderne Hörgeräte. Der Markt verlangt nach kleineren, leichteren, effizienteren und skalierbaren Komponenten, die Raum und Batterie für eine wachsende Zahl neuer Funktionen freigeben. Ariosos µSpeaker sind zehnmal kleiner als herkömmliche Lösungen, energieeffizienter und einfach für die globalen Konsumentenmärkte skalierbar. Zum ersten Mal wird Schall im Inneren eines Siliziumchips (MEMS) erzeugt.

Arioso Systems hat Büros in Dresden und Cottbus. 2020 erhielt das Unternehmen 2,7 Millionen EUR Seed Funding von HTGF, Brandenburg Kapital, TGFS und zwei Business Angels. Mehr Informationen: https://arioso-systems.com/

Über Bosch Sensortec GmbH  
Die Bosch Sensortec GmbH, eine hundertprozentige Tochtergesellschaft der Robert Bosch GmbH, entwickelt und vermarktet ein breites Spektrum mikroelektromechanischer (MEMS) Sensoren und Lösungen für Smartphones, Tablets, Wearables und Hearables, AR/VR, Drohnen, Roboter, Smart Home und Anwendungen für das Internet der Dinge (IoT). Das Produktportfolio umfasst 3-achsige-Beschleunigungs-, Drehraten- und Magnetsensoren, integrierte 6- und 9-achsige Sensoren, intelligente Sensoren, Drucksensoren, Feuchtigkeitssensoren, Gassensoren, optische Mikrosysteme sowie zugehörige Softwarelösungen. Bosch Sensortec hat sich seit seiner Gründung 2005 zum Technologieführer in den adressierten Märkten entwickelt. Seit 1995 ist Bosch ein Pionier und weltweiter Marktführer im Bereich der MEMS-Sensoren und hat bisher mehr als 15 Milliarden MEMS-Sensoren verkauft.

Mehr Informationen unter www.bosch-sensortec.com, twitter.com/boschMEMS, community.bosch-sensortec.com, linkedin.com/company/bosch-sensortec/, youtube.com/user/BoschSensortec

Medienkontakt
Constantin Schmauder                             
Telefon: +49 7121 35-31058
Twitter: @BoschMEMS                                                                                                   

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG. https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investorenkontakt
Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 157
o.joeressen@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
18. Mai 2022

Ventech, HTGF und Business Angels investieren mehr als 4 Mio. EUR in das Berliner Retail-Tech Unternehmen 7Learnings

Das Unternehmen hat mehr als 4 Mio. EUR an zusätzlichen Investitionen von Ventech (Lead Investor), HTGF und Celonis-Führungskräften erhaltenSeit 2019 bietet das Startup 7Learnings Händlern eine SaaS-Lösung für die auf Machine Learning basierende Preis- und MarketingoptimierungDie Lösung des Unternehmens steigert die Gewinne von Händlern im Durchschnitt um >10%.Das Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, seine Software zur führenden Plattform für Retail Optimization auszubauen
 
Presse
12. Mai 2022

Sehr erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: AMCS wird Quentic übernehmen – starke Partner für eine grüne Zukunft

Quentic vereinfacht mit seiner modular aufgebauten Software-as-a-Service-Lösung das Management und Berichtswesen in den Bereichen EHSQ (Umweltmanagement, Gesundheitsschutz, Arbeitsschutz, und Qualitätsmanagement) und ESG (Environment, Social & Governance).Mit der Übernahme durch AMCS wird die Position der Quentic GmbH als einer der führenden Anbieter für integrative Softwarelösungen für EHSQ und ESG weiter gestärkt.Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) war 2008 der erste Investor, g
 
Presse
3. Mai 2022

Tubulis schließt eine Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro ab, um seine ADC-Produktpipeline zu beschleunigen und das Spektrum der Plattformtechnologien zu erweitern

MÜNCHEN, 3. Mai 2022 - Tubulis gibt heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro (63 Millionen US-Dollar) unter der Führung von Andera Partners und mit Beteiligung der neuen Investoren Evotec und Fund+ bekannt. Alle bestehenden Investoren beteiligten sich ebenfalls an der Runde, darunter Bayern Kapital (mit Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT und Seventure Partners. Das neue Kapital nutz