Portfolio Finder

Abalos

Abalos Therapeutics has harnessed the unique immune stimulation of the arenavirus to develop a novel anti-cancer approach that provides the full breadth of the immune system’s power specifically against cancer cells. Through viral replication within cancer cells, Abalos’ arenavirus-based drug candidates are designed to awake precise innate and adaptive immune responses and activate all relevant immune cell types against primary tumors and metastases. Led by experienced biotech entrepreneurs and immunology pioneers, Abalos’ goal is to achieve a quantum leap in immuno-oncology.

HTGF-Manager: Dr. Frank Hensel
Added to portfolio 10. Jul 2019

Emergence Therapeutics

Development of antibody conjugate-based cancer therapeutics for solid tumors with high unmet needs that are otherwise difficult to treat
Problem: Solid cancers are still very difficult to treat. Most treatments increase life expectancy, but only a few lead to a complete cure. Antibody drug conjugates (ADCs) have proven to be a promising therapeutic approach, but still cause significant and toxic side effects.

The solution: Emergence Therapeutics has identified several areas where ADCs can be improved. These are the antibody itself, the toxin used to kill the cancer cell, and the linker that couples the toxin to the antibody.

Technology/ IP: The antibody-related IP is in-licensed from the University of Aix-Marseille (France) and the toxin-related IP is in-licensed from Heidelberg Pharma.
The IP and all results generated for the ADC in development will be out-licensed or sold by Emergence.

Website: emergencetx.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Anke Caßing
Added to portfolio 26. Nov 2019

Immunservice

Immunservice GmbH develops biomimetic immune hormones, in particular interleukin-2, for safer, more effective and potentially curative therapies, especially in cancer.

HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
Added to portfolio 20. Jul 2007

Tacalyx

Tacalyx researches and develops therapeutics targeting TACAs (tumor-associated carbohydrate antigens). These strongly tumor-specific structures are synthesized by cancer cells and contribute significantly to its virulence and metastasis. The recent possibility of synthesizing these complex structures allows the production of specific antibodies for the treatment of currently unsatisfactorily treatable cancers.

Website: tacalyx.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
Added to portfolio 02. Jul 2019

Thermosome

Thermosome develops novel drugs for locally-advanced solid tumors by using nanocarriers for heat-induced local drug delivery and thereby reaches up to 15 fold higher local drug concentrations.

HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
Added to portfolio 15. Oct 2015

Portfolio-Finder

Abalos

Abalos Therapeutics nutzt die einzigartige Immunstimulation der Arenaviren, um einen neuen Ansatz zur Bekämpfung von Krebs zu entwickeln. Dieser soll es ermöglichen, die volle Kraft des gesamten Immunsystems speziell gegen Krebszellen einzusetzen. Das Ziel von Abalos‘ Arenavirus-basierten Produktkandidaten ist es, durch die Vermehrung der Viren in Krebszellen, die körpereigene angeborene und adaptive Immunantwort zu aktivieren. Hierdurch greifen alle relevanten Immunzelltypen spezifisch den Primärtumor und auch entfernt gelegene Metastasen an. Unter der Leitung von erfahrenen Biotech-Unternehmern und Immunologie-Pionieren strebt Abalos einen Quantensprung in der Immunonkologie an.

Webseite: www.abalos-tx.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Frank Hensel
Im Portfolio seit 10. Jul 2019

Emergence Therapeutics

Entwicklung von auf Antikörperkonjugaten basierenden Krebstherapeutika für solide Tumore mit hohem ungedeckten Bedarf, die sonst nur schwer zu behandeln sind.
Problem: Solide Krebsarten sind nach wie vor sehr schwer zu behandeln. Die meisten Behandlungen erhöhen die Lebenserwartung, aber nur wenige führen zu einer vollständigen Heilung. Antikörpermedikamentenkonjugate (ADC) haben sich als vielversprechender therapeutischer Ansatz erwiesen, verursachen aber immer noch erhebliche und toxische Nebenwirkungen.

Die Lösung: Emergence Therapeutics hat mehrere Bereiche identifiziert, in denen ADC verbessert werden können. Dies sind der Antikörper selbst, das Toxin, das zur Abtötung der Krebszelle verwendet wird, und der Linker, der das Toxin an den Antikörper koppelt.

Technologie/ IP: Das antikörperbezogene IP wird von der Universität Aix-Marseille (Frankreich) einlizenziert und das toxinbezogene IP wird von Heidelberg Pharma einlizenziert.
Das IP und alle Ergebnisse, die für das in Entwicklung befindliche ADC generiert werden, werden von Emergence auslizenziert oder verkauft.

Webseite: emergencetx.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Anke Caßing
Im Portfolio seit 26. Nov 2019

Immunservice

Die Immunservice GmbH entwickelt biomimetische Immunhormone, insbesondere Interleukin-2, zu sichereren, effektiveren und potentiell kurativen Therapien vorwiegend für Krebserkrankungen.

HTGF-Manager: Ulrike Kalapis
Im Portfolio seit 20. Jul 2007

Tacalyx

Tacalyx erforscht und entwickelt Therapeutika, die gegen TACAs (Tumor-Assoziierte Carbohydrat-Antigene) gerichtet sind. Diese stark tumorspezifischen Strukturen werden von den Krebszellen synthetisiert und tragen wesentlich zu seiner Virulenz und Metastasierung bei. Die seit kurzem mögliche Synthese dieser komplexen Strukturen erlaubt die Herstellung spezifischer Antikörper, die zur Behandlung von derzeit nicht befriedigend therapierbaren Krebserkrankungen genutzt werden sollen.

Webseite: tacalyx.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Lena Krzyzak
Im Portfolio seit 02. Jul 2019

Thermosome

Thermosome entwickelt neuartige Medikamente zur Behandlung lokal fortgeschrittener solider Tumore. Hierbei kommen Nanocarrier zur lokalen Wirkstofffreisetzung zum Einsatz, die bis zu 15-fach höhere lokale Wirkstoffkonzentrationen ermöglichen.

Webseite: www.thermosome.com
HTGF-Manager: Dr. Caroline Fichtner
Im Portfolio seit 15. Okt 2015