Soluterials’ innovative and sustainable aluminium material revolutionises the industry – Seed investment from HTGF and business angels

October 9, 2023

Beelitz, 9 October 2023 – German start-up Soluterials has raised a seven-figure sum in the first closing of its seed round to accelerate the market launch of its innovative and sustainable high performance pure aluminium material »SoluteriAL«. SoluteriAL reduces the carbon footprint and offers superior properties compared to conventional aluminium metal or alloys, opening new opportunities for a wide range of industries. Backed by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and three business angels, the company will scale up production and expand its team. 


Led by founders Dr Alla Kasakewitsch, Christina Walch and Uwe Arlic, the company has developed SoluteriAL, a high-performance material based on pure aluminium. SoluteriAL not only improves the efficiency of production processes, but also of components, whose functionality can be increased while maintaining or even reducing their size. Customers benefit from improved production and management processes, optimised procurement procedures and reduced recycling costs. SoluteriAL integrates seamlessly into existing production processes, setting new standards in efficiency and sustainability. 

Unlocking new opportunities through superior properties 
SoluteriAL extends the properties of pure aluminium, such as high electrical conductivity, high thermal conductivity, corrosion resistance and low weight, with high mechanical strength and high creep resistance. SoluteriAL thus offers a unique portfolio of properties and is not only superior to conventional aluminium alloys, but also makes it possible for the first time to use a pure aluminium-based material in applications in the automotive, aerospace, healthcare and other sectors. Innovations that were previously unthinkable are now becoming possible. From electrical wiring to radiator housings and electric motors, applications are more diverse and efficient than ever before. SoluteriAL offers significant economic benefits, including the elimination of energy-intensive and costly post-treatment. 

Our material is creating innovations that are revolutionising the metals industry, making Europe less dependent on raw material imports and drastically reducing the industry’s energy needs. We are thrilled by the positive response we continue to receive from industry and research.

Dr. Alla Kasakewitsch, founder of Soluterials

SoluteriAL not only offers a unique property profile that enables different applications, but is also produced in a very efficient and sustainable manufacturing process. This makes Soluterials a pioneer in materials technology, enabling innovations that were previously unthinkable

Dr. Anne Umbach, Investment Manager at HTGF

The capital from the seed round with HTGF and the business angels will be used to expand production and build the team to enable rapid scaling. 

Sustainable transformation of the industry and positive impact on the environment 
SoluteriAL is made from recycled aluminium in an automated, simple and environmentally friendly production process. No melting process or post-treatment (e.g. heat treatment) is required to achieve the properties. SoluteriAL is also fully recyclable, closing the recycling loop – SoluteriAL becomes SoluteriAL

With this breakthrough material, Soluterials is contributing to the transformation of industry while strengthening the environment and the economy. SoluteriAL is the key to a more sustainable future. 

Founding team of Soluterials: Uwe Arlic, Dr. Alla Kasakewitsch and Christina Walch und (Picture: Soluterials)

About Soluterials 
True innovation: Soluterials is an emerging start-up that transforms pure aluminium scrap (secondary aluminium) into a revolutionary nanostructured high-performance aluminium material called SoluteriAL. Soluterials focuses on sustainability and responsibility – SoluteriAL requires no alloying elements, rare earths, nanoparticles or other critical resources. The patented process is extremely low energy and creates a unique nanostructure that combines previously unimagined material properties. At the same time, the material remains pure, allowing unlimited recycling. 

As a pioneer in materials manufacturing, Soluterials strives to enable strong and lightweight designs for demanding technical applications. Its expertise extends in particular to the electronics, e-mobility and aerospace sectors. With SoluteriAL, Soluterials is shaping the future of materials science and contributing to innovation in many industries. 
For more information, visit www.soluterials.de 

Contact 
Christina Walch, Co-Founder and Managing Partner 
cw@soluterials.de  

About High-Tech Gründerfonds 

The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies. 

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.  

Media contact  
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

Soluterials‘ innovativer und nachhaltiger Aluminiumwerkstoff revolutioniert Industrie – Seed Investment von HTGF und Business Angels

9. Oktober 2023

Beelitz, 9. Oktober 2023 – Das deutsche Start-up Soluterials hat im First Closing seiner Seed-Runde eine siebenstellige Summe eingesammelt, um die Markteinführung seines innovativen und nachhaltigen Hochleistungs-Reinaluminiumwerkstoff »SoluteriAL« weiter voranzutreiben. SoluteriAL reduziert den CO2-Fußabdruck und bietet überlegene Eigenschaften im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Aluminiummetall oder -legierungen und eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten für zahlreiche Branchen. Mit Unterstützung des High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und drei Business Angels wird das Unternehmen seine Produktion ausbauen und das Team erweitern.  


Das von den Gründern Dr. Alla Kasakewitsch, Christina Walch und Uwe Arlic geführte Unternehmen hat den auf Reinaluminium basierenden Hochleistungswerkstoff SoluteriAL entwickelt. SoluteriAL verbessert nicht nur die Effizienz von Produktionsprozessen, sondern auch die von Bauteilen, deren Funktionalität bei gleichbleibender oder sogar Verringerung der Größe gesteigert werden kann. Dabei profitieren Kunden von verbesserten Produktions- und Managementprozessen, von optimierten Beschaffungsabläufen und einem geringeren Aufwand im Recyclingprozess. SoluteriAL integriert sich nahtlos in bestehende Produktionsabläufe und setzt neue Maßstäbe in Sachen Effizienz und Nachhaltigkeit. 

Überlegene Eigenschaften eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten 
SoluteriAL erweitert die Eigenschaften von Reinaluminium wie hohe elektrische Leitfähigkeit, hohe Wärmeleitfähigkeit, Korrosionsbeständigkeit und geringes Gewicht mit einer hohen mechanischen Festigkeit und einer hohen Kriechstabilität. Damit bietet SoluteriAL ein einzigartiges Eigenschaftsportfolio und ist nicht nur herkömmlichen Aluminiumlegierungen überlegen, sondern ermöglicht erstmals den Einsatz eines reinaluminiumbasierten Werkstoffs in Anwendungen der Automobilindustrie, Luftfahrt, Gesundheitstechnik und anderen Branchen. Bisher undenkbare Innovationen werden damit nachhaltig möglich. Von elektrischen Drähten bis zu Kühlgehäusen und Elektromotoren – die Anwendungen sind vielfältig und effizienter denn je. SoluteriAL bietet dabei erhebliche wirtschaftliche Vorteile, da unter anderem energie- und damit kostenintensive Nachbehandlungen entfallen.  

Unser Werkstoff schafft Innovationen, um die Metallindustrie zu revolutionieren, Europa unabhängiger von Rohstoff-Importen zu machen und den Energiebedarf der Industrie drastisch zu senken. Wir sind begeistert von den positiven Reaktionen, die wir aus Industrie und Forschung immer wieder erhalten.

Dr. Alla Kasakewitsch, Gründerin von Soluterials

SoluteriAL bietet nicht nur ein einzigartiges Eigenschaftsprofil, welches unterschiedliche Anwendungen ermöglicht, sondern wird zudem in einem sehr effizienten und nachhaltigen Produktionsprozess hergestellt. Das macht Soluterials zu einem Pionier in der Werkstofftechnologie und ermöglicht Innovationen, die bisher undenkbar waren

Dr. Anne Umbach, Investmentmanagerin beim HTGF

Das Kapital aus der Seed-Runde mit dem HTGF und den Business Angels wird für die Erweiterung der Produktion und den Teamaufbau verwendet, um eine schnelle Skalierung voranzutreiben. 

Nachhaltige Transformation der Industrie und positive Umwelteffekte 
SoluteriAL wird aus Sekundäraluminium in einem automatisierten, einfachen und umweltfreundlichen Produktionsprozess hergestellt. Ein Schmelzprozess oder Nachbehandlungen (z.B. Wärmebehandlungen) sind zur Eigenschaftserreichung nicht notwendig. SoluteriAL kann zudem uneingeschränkt recycelt werden und schließt den Recyclingkreislauf – aus SoluteriAL wird SoluteriAL

Mit diesem bahnbrechenden Werkstoff trägt Soluterials zur Transformation der Industrie bei und stärkt gleichzeitig die Umwelt und die Wirtschaft. SoluteriAL ist der Schlüssel zu einer nachhaltigeren Zukunft. 

Gründungsteam von Soluterials: Uwe Arlic, Dr. Alla Kasakewitsch und Christina Walch (Bild: Soluterials)

Über Soluterials 
Innovation Pur: Soluterials ist ein aufstrebendes Start-up, das reinen Aluminiumschrott (Sekundäraluminium) in einen revolutionären nanostrukturierten Hochleistungsaluminiumwerkstoff namens »SoluteriAL« umwandelt. Dabei setzt Soluterials ganz auf Nachhaltigkeit und Verantwortung – »SoluteriAL« benötigt weder Legierungselemente, Seltene Erden, noch Nanopartikel oder andere kritische Ressourcen. Der patentierte Prozess ist äußerst energiearm und schafft eine einzigartige Nanostruktur, die bisher unvorstellbare Materialeigenschaften vereint. Dabei bleibt das Material rein und ermöglicht so einen uneingeschränkten Recyclingkreislauf. 

Als Vorreiter in der Werkstoffproduktion strebt Soluterials danach, stabile und leichte Designs für anspruchsvolle technische Anwendungen zu ermöglichen. Die Expertise erstreckt sich insbesondere auf die Bereiche Elektronik, E-Mobilität und Luft- und Raumfahrt. Mit »SoluteriAL« gestaltet Soluterials die Zukunft der Materialwissenschaften und trägt zur Innovation in zahlreichen Branchen bei.  

Mehr Informationen unter: www.soluterials.de  

Kontakt 
Christina Walch, Geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin 
cw@soluterials.de  

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds 
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de 

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v
 
Presse
7. Mai 2024

Automatisierte Beratung für erneuerbare Energien: Greentech-Startup everyone energy schließt Seed-Finanzierung ab

Berlin, 7. Mai 2024 – Das Berliner Greentech-Startup everyone energy gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss seiner siebenstelligen Seed-Finanzierung bekannt. Die Runde wurde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), einem der führenden Seed-Investoren in Europa und dem Kölner Frühphasen-VC neoteq ventures angeführt. Gegründet im August 2021 von Céline Göhlich, Fabian Reetz und Florian Gmeiner, hat sich everyone energy schnell als führender Anbieter von White-Label-Software für maßgeschnei