Press

Successful end to the year 2022: NewSpace satellite manufacturer Reflex Aerospace receives seven million euros in seed financing round

December 5, 2022

  • Seed financing: First closing includes investments of approx. EUR 7 million.
  • Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures): “The number of satellites in space will skyrocket from 5,500 to 100,000 by 2030: this is Reflex Aerospace’s demand environment.”
  • Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): “50% market growth to come from broadband satellites. Catch-up demand especially in Europe. Reflex Aerospace is perfectly positioned to leverage this market potential.”
  • Walter Ballheimer (CEO Reflex Aerospace): “Funding will go towards setting up production and doubling the workforce. Our goal: a demo in space by 2024. Current commitments demonstrate confidence of high-class investors in our capabilities and give us tailwind.”
  • Alexander Genzel (COO Reflex Aerospace): “2022 was a sprint for Reflex: We now have mainstays in Berlin and Munich; leadership of the EU study for satellite constellation and joint project with Bavarian State Chancellery on ‘Rapid Response’ demonstrate our strong positioning in key future fields.”

Berlin/Munich, 5 December 2022 – The Berlin and Munich-based space start-up Reflex Aerospace successfully closes the year 2022: Already in the first round (First Closing) of the two-part seed financing, the satellite manufacturer raised an investment volume of approximately 7 million euros. In the second round (Second Closing) – which already saw several firm commitments as well as further expressions of interest – this amount is projected to increase to 12 million euros by the end of the first quarter of 2023.

Current investors include the investment fund Alpine Space Ventures from Munich, which specialises in space technologies, and the Bonn and Berlin-based High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), a public-private partnership that ranks among Europe’s leading venture capital investors for innovative technologies and business models. A further investor is an equally aerospace-affine family office from Bavaria.

Picture: Reflex Aerospace

Bulent Altan, Investment Partner at Alpine Space Ventures and CEO of Mynaric, a partner company of Reflex Aerospace in the joint venture UNIO, explained the background to this investment:

From communication and navigation to Earth observation and climate protection. In almost all areas of our economy and society, we are experiencing profound changes due to space technologies. This is why the number of satellites will skyrocket, from the current 5,500 to an estimated 100,000 by the end of the decade. With its approach to cut the development and production time of satellites from several years to only nine months, Reflex Aerospace is ideally positioned to meet this rapidly growing demand environment.

Christian Ziach, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds, added:

By 2040, the global space market volume is forecast to almost triple to one trillion euros. Half of this growth alone is expected to come from satellites for broadband connectivity, a field in which Europe in particular has a lot of catching up to do. Thanks to its experienced team and strong partners, Reflex Aerospace is uniquely positioned to leverage this market potential.

Walter Ballheimer, CEO of Reflex Aerospace, outlined the start-up’s ambitions:

With the newly raised capital, we will set-up our first production capacities in Munich and almost double our workforce in the coming year – to more than 50 employees across all sites. With this, we are right on track to launch our demonstrator into space by 2024. With the successful financing round, we are putting an exclamation mark on this goal: The commitments of such high-class investors attest to their confidence in our capabilities. This gives us the tailwind to continue our growth path despite the strained global market environment.

Alexander Genzel, COO of Reflex Aerospace, placed the financing round in the context of the company’s development:

Following our founding in 2021, Reflex Aerospace performed a real sprint this year: With a rapidly growing workforce,
we now have mainstays in Munich and Berlin, the two most important locations for German space start-ups. By leading a feasibility study for the EU Commission, we have proven that we are ready to play a leading role in the construction of a European constellation of communication satellites. Together with the Bavarian State Chancellery, we are also working on a concept for ‘Rapid Response’ – i.e., the ability to quickly replace satellites that fail in the event of a crisis or war and thus protect critical infrastructures. With this, we have positioned ourselves strongly in two future fields in 2022 and are ready to face the challenges in the next year.

Founders of Reflex Aerospace: from left to right Alexander Genzel and Walter Ballheimer (Photo by Alexander Klebe)

About Reflex Aerospace
Reflex Aerospace was founded in 2021. The Berlin and Munich-based NewSpace start-up aims to modernise the market with high-performance satellites tailored to individual needs. Through software-based operations and service-oriented offers, the company meets the needs of its customers faster, at a significantly lower cost and more flexibly than established NewSpace manufacturers today. Together with its partner companies Mynaric, Isar Aerospace and SES, Reflex Aerospace is a shareholder in the joint venture UNIO, which aims to build a European satellite constellation for broadband internet.
www.reflexaerospace.com

Contact
Philipp Lehmann
+49 152 57 61 92 39 
plehmann@b2p-communications.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Ziach, Principal / Authorized Signatory
T.: +49 – (0) 228 – 82300 – 162
c.ziach@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
1. February 2023

Edtech startup Sdui extends Series A funding round to €25 million

2023-02-01, Koblenz (Germany) - German startup Sdui secures follow-on funding to invest in scaling the business. Sdui builds the operating system foreveryday digital education and facilitates communication and organisation in schools and daycare centres with functions such as chat, digital class book or cloud. By focusing on internationalization and the extension of its product, Sdui will position itself more broadly as a reliable and innovative digitalisation partner for educational institu
 
Press
1. February 2023

German startup Maya Climate closes €1.2M pre-seed round to their global natural capital project financing platform to market

Funding round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds, alongside Antler and high profile business angels Maya Climate’s platform will provide project financing for natural capital projects - an investment market set to grow to $100bn per annum by 2030 Pre-seed funding will be used to launch Maya Climate into the market and accelerate product development Berlin, Germany: 1st February 2023: Maya Climate, a global project financing platform for natural capital projects, has today announ
 
Press
26. January 2023

Refined Laser Systems Raises €2.7m to Diagnose Cancer in Minutes

Refined Laser Systems has developed an innovative microscopy procedure to support pathology in diagnosing cancer within minutes and avoid revision surgeries. The investment was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and APEX Ventures alongside Onsight Ventures, NRW.BANK, and Papst Venture Capital. The Seed funding will be used to develop an intraoperative microscope prototype that identifies tumor margins directly in the surgery room and will offer a diagnosis within minutes by a remote patho

Presse

Erfolgreicher Jahresabschluss 2022: NewSpace Satelliten-Hersteller Reflex Aerospace erhält 7 Millionen Euro in Seed-Finanzierungsrunde

5. Dezember 2022

  • Seed-Finanzierung: First Closing umfasst Investitionen über rund EUR 7 Mio.
  • Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures):Bis 2030 Wachstum von 5.500 auf 100.000 Satelliten im All: Das ist das Nachfrageumfeld von Reflex Aerospace.“
  • Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): „50% Marktwachstum aus Breitbandsatelliten. Nachholbedarf gerade in Europa. Reflex Aerospace hervorragend positioniert, um dieses Marktpotential zu heben.“
  • Walter Ballheimer (CEO Reflex Aerospace):Finanzmittel dienen Aufbau der Produktion und Verdoppelung der Belegschaft. Unser Ziel: Demo im All bis 2024. Aktuelle Zusagen belegen Vertrauen hochklassiger Investoren in unsere Fähigkeiten und geben uns Rückenwind.“
  • Alexander Genzel (COO Reflex Aerospace): „2022 war Sprint für Reflex: Wir haben nun Standbeine in Berlin und München; Leitung der EU-Studie für Satelliten-Konstellation sowie Projekt mit Bayerischer Staatskanzlei über `Rapid Response´ zeigen unsere Positionierung in zentralen Zukunftsfeldern.“

Berlin/München, 5. Dezember 2022 – Das in Berlin und München ansässige Raumfahrt-Start-Up Reflex Aerospace schließt das Jahr 2022 erfolgreich ab: Schon in der ersten Runde (First Closing) der zweigeteilten Seed-Finanzierung erzielte der Satelliten-Herstellers ein Investitionsvolumen von rund 7 Millionen Euro. In der zweiten Runde (Second Closing) – für die bereits mehrere feste Zusagen sowie weitere Interessensbekundungen vorliegen – ist bis Ende des ersten Quartals 2023 eine Erhöhung dieses Betrags auf 12 Millionen Euro geplant.

Zu den aktuellen Investoren zählen der auf Raumfahrt spezialisierte Investment-fonds Alpine Space Ventures aus München sowie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) aus Bonn und Berlin, der als Public-Private-Partnership zu Europas führenden Venture Capital Investoren für innovative Technologien und Geschäftsmodelle zählt. Ein weiterer Investor ist ein ebenfalls Luft- und Raumfahrt-affines Family Office aus Bayern.

Bild: Reflex Aerospace

Bulent Altan, Investment Partner bei Alpine Space Ventures und CEO von Mynaric, einem Partnerunternehmen von Reflex Aerospace im Joint Venture UNIO, begründete das Investment:

Von Kommunikation und Navigation bis zu Erdbeobachtung und Klimaschutz. In nahezu allen Bereichen unserer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sehen wir tiefgreifende Veränderungen durch Technologien aus dem All. Daher wird die Zahl der Satelliten sprunghaft ansteigen, von aktuell 5.500 auf schätzungsweise über 100.000 bis Ende des Jahrzehnts. Mit dem Ansatz, die Entwicklungs- und Produktionszeit von Satelliten von mehreren Jahren auf nur noch neun Monate zu verkürzen, ist Reflex Aerospace für dieses rasant wachsende Nachfrageumfeld bestens aufgestellt.

Christian Ziach, Principal beim High-Tech Gründerfonds, ergänzte:

Bis 2040 wird fast eine Verdreifachung des weltweiten Raumfahrt-Marktvolumens auf eine Billion Euro prognostiziert. Allein die Hälfte dieses Wachstums soll auf Satelliten für Breitband-Konnektivität zurückgehen, ein Feld, in dem gerade Europa großen Nachholbedarf hat. Reflex Aerospace ist mit seinem erfahrenen Team und sehr starken Partnern hervorragend positioniert, um dieses Marktpotential zu heben.

Walter Ballheimer, CEO von Reflex Aerospace, erläuterte die Pläne des Start-Ups:

Mit den frischen Finanzmitteln werden wir in München erste Produktionskapazitäten aufbauen und unsere Belegschaft schon im kommenden Jahr nahezu verdoppeln – auf standortübergreifend über 50 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Damit liegen wir voll im Plan, bis 2024 unseren Demonstrator im All zu haben. Mit der erfolgreichen Finanzierungsrunde setzen wir auf diesem Weg ein Ausrufezeichen: Die Zusagen solch hochklassiger Investoren belegen das Vertrauen in unsere Fähigkeiten. Das gibt uns Rückenwind, um unseren Wachstumskurs trotz des weltweit angespannten Kapitalumfelds fortzusetzen.

Alexander Genzel, COO von Reflex Aerospace, ordnete die Finanzierungsrunde in die bisherige Entwicklung des Unternehmens ein:

Nach unserer Gründung 2021 hat Reflex Aerospace dieses Jahr einen echten Sprint hingelegt: Mit schnell wachsender Belegschaft haben wir nun Standbeine in München und Berlin, den zwei wichtigsten Standorten für deutsche Raumfahrt-Start-Ups. Mit der Leitung einer Machbarkeits-studie für die EU-Kommission haben wir bewiesen, dass wir bereit sind, eine tragende Rolle beim Bau einer europäischen Konstellation von Kommunikations-Satelliten zu spielen. Zusammen mit der Bayerischen Staatskanzlei arbeiten wir zudem an einem Konzept für `Rapid Response´– also der Fähigkeit, in Krisen- oder Kriegsfällen ausfallenden Satelliten schnell zu ersetzen und so kritische Infrastrukturen zu schützen. Damit haben wir uns 2022 in zwei Zukunftsfeldern stark positioniert und sind bereit für die Herausforderung im nächsten Jahr.

Gründer von Reflex Aerospace: v. l. n. r. Alexander Genzel and Walter Ballheimer (Bild von Alexander Klebe)

Über Reflex Aerospace
Reflex Aerospace wurde 2021 gegründet. Das in Berlin und München ansässiges NewSpace Start-Up hat zum Ziel, mit leistungsstarken und auf individuelle Anforderungen zugeschnittenen Satelliten den Markt zu modernisieren. Durch Software-basierte und Sicherheits-optimierte Produkt-Architekturen sowie Kunden-orientierte Serviceangebote erfüllt das Unternehmen die Bedürfnisse seiner Kunden deutlich schneller, günstiger und flexibler als etablierte und andere NewSpace-Hersteller. Zusammen mit den Partnerfirmen Mynaric, Isar Aerospace und SES ist Reflex Aerospace zudem Anteilseigner an dem Joint Venture UNIO, das eine europäische Satellitenkonstellation für Breitband-Internet aufbauen will.
www.reflexaerospace.com

Kontakt
Philipp Lehmann
+49 152 57 61 92 39 
plehmann@b2p-communications.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Ziach, Principal/Prokurist
T.: +49 – (0) 228 – 82300 – 162
c.ziach@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
1. Februar 2023

Ed-Tech-Startup Sdui erweitert Series-A-Finanzierungsrunde auf 25 Millionen Euro

01.02.2023, Koblenz - Das deutsche Startup Sdui sichert sich weiteres Kapital, um in die Skalierung des Unternehmens zu investieren. Sdui entwickelt das Betriebssystem für den digitalen Bildungsalltag und erleichtert mit Funktionen wie Chat, digitalem Klassenbuch oder Cloud die Kommunikation und Organisation in Schulen und Kitas. Durch gezielte Internationalisierung und den Ausbau des Produkts will sich Sdui noch breiter als zuverlässiger und innovativer Digitalisierungspartner für Bildun
 
Presse
1. Februar 2023

Maya Climate schließt Pre-Seed-Runde über 1,2 Mio. € ab, um seine Finanzierungsplattform für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte auf den Markt zu bringen

Die Finanzierungsrunde wird angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, außerdem investieren Antler und eine Reihe von Business Angels und Industrieexperten. Über die Plattform von Maya Climate werden Finanzierungen für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte ermöglicht - ein Markt, der bis 2030 auf 100 Mrd. $ anwachsen soll. Berlin, 1. Februar 2023: Maya Climate, eine globale Finanzierungsplattform für naturbasierte Klimaschutzprojekte, hat eine Pre-Seed-Finanzierung in Höhe von 1,2
 
Presse
26. Januar 2023

Refined Laser Systems erhält 2,7 Millionen Euro für minutenschnelle Krebsdiagnose

Refined Laser Systems hat ein innovatives Mikroskopieverfahren entwickelt, um die Pathologie bei der Krebsdiagnose binnen Minuten zu unterstützen und Revisionsoperationen zu vermeiden. Angeführt wurde die Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und APEX Ventures unter Beteiligung von OnSight Ventures, NRW.BANK und Papst Venture Capital. Die Seedfinanzierung wird für die Entwicklung eines Prototyps eines intraoperativen Mikroskops verwendet, welches Tumorränder direkt im OP-Saal i