News

Aachen based semiconductor start-up InCirT closes seed round with High-Tech Gründerfonds

October 24, 2022

Aachen, 24.10.2022 – InCirT develops microchips for the next generation of mobile wireless communication such as 5G-Advanced and 6G. Their groundbreaking microchip achieves an up-to 100x higher data rate than current state-of-the-art. It is at the same time up to 10x more energy efficient and implemented in low-priced standard semiconductor technology. The investment of HTGF will be used to finance the ongoing product development and market entry.

Mobile applications of the future such as VR/AR, machine-to-machine (industry 4.0) communication or autonomous cars require mobile networks which are highly reliable, which can provide extremely high data rate and very low latency. To realize these networks highly performing microchip technology is required. Historically, microchip performance has been improved via miniaturization of transistors. This approach, however, is getting exponentially more expensive and will soon hit physical barriers. The patented solution of InCirT is instead based on a change of the microchip’s architecture. This allows for magnitude improved performance without the requirement to use the latest semiconductor technology. This approach further avoids negative side effects of competing approaches to boost microchip performance such as high energy consumption or the reliance on expensive materials.

We are very happy that with HTGF we are able to take a highly experienced deep-tech investor on board with whom we will be working on enabling the future of high-speed mobile communication.

Dr. Oner Hanay, Co-Founder InCirT

The InCirT team has developed a disruptive technology, which paves the way for new high-speed mobile applications. I am looking forward to supporting the highly competent and coachable team to achieve their vision over the next years!

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

InCirT’s technology allows customers to develop products for high-speed wireless communication at low cost and implement them in widely available low-cost semiconductor technology.

Team Incirt
Team of InCirT (Picture: InCirT)

About InCirT
InCirT is a deep-tech start-up which provides semiconductor IP solutions for high-speed wireless networks. The core product of the company is a digital-analog / analog-digital converter (a so called “transceiver”), which in its final version will enable data transmission of up to 1 Tbps. The company was started at RWTH Aachen. It was founded in the beginning of 2022 while participating in the EXIST technology transfer program. The InCirT founder team consists of Dr. Oner Hanay, Dr. Erkan Bayram, Dr. Mohamed Saeed Elsayed, Sebastian Waters und Univ.-Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Renato Negra.

Contact
Sebastian Waters, Co-Founder
InCirT GmbH
sebastian@incirt.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More News posts

Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest
 
Press
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs receives seed funding to advance its automated and AI-powered platform for sustainable electrosynthesis processes

Regensburg, November 17th 2022 –In a seed financing round, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invests EUR 600,000 in ESy-Labs' proprietary platform technology. The fresh capital raised will be used to expand the technical equipment and employ additional staff to further advance the ESy screening technology. Through the electrosynthesis of organic fine chemicals and electrolytic recycling processes it is possible to develop significantly more efficient and also new processes to make bett
 
Blog
17. November 2022

FundaMental Pharma launches with EUR 10 million in Seed financing led by BGV and Thuja Capital to advance a First-in-Class neuroprotectant

Heidelberg, Germany – 17 November 2022 – FundaMental Pharma GmbH (“FundaMental”), a preclinical neuroscience company spun out of Heidelberg University, today announces that it has launched with EUR 10 million in seed financing led by BioGeneration Ventures (BGV) and Thuja Capital, with participation from other investors, including coparion and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Built on the pioneering research of Professor Hilmar Bading and Dr. Jing Yan published in Science[1],

News

Aachener Halbleiter Start-up InCirT schließt Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit dem High-Tech Gründerfonds ab

24. Oktober 2022

Aachen, 24.10.2022 – InCirT entwickelt Mikrochips für den Einsatz im Mobilfunk der nächsten Generation wie 5G-Advanced und 6G. Die bahnbrechende Innovation des Unternehmens ermöglicht eine bis zu 100-mal höhere Datenübertragungsrate als der aktuelle Stand der Technik. Dabei sind die Mikrochips von InCirT bis zu 10-mal energieeffizienter und in günstiger Standardhalbleitertechnologie implementierbar. Mit dem Investment des HTGF soll die weitere Produktentwicklung und der Markteintritt finanziert werden. 

Mobile Anwendungen der Zukunft wie VR/AR, Maschine-zu-Maschine (Industrie 4.0) Kommunikation oder autonome Autos benötigen Mobilfunknetze, die hochverlässlich sind, sehr niedrige Latenzen aufweisen und enorm hohe Datenraten ermöglichen. Um diese Eigenschaften zu erreichen, werden immer leistungsstärkere Mikrochips benötigt. In der Vergangenheit wurden Leistungssteigerungen vornehmlich durch die Verkleinerung der Transistorgröße der Mikrochips erreicht. Dieser Ansatz stößt mittlerweile jedoch an physikalische Grenzen bei gleichzeitig exponentiell wachsenden Kosten. InCirT löst dieses Problem durch die Verwendung einer innovativen und patentierten Chiparchitektur und erreicht damit weit überlegene Leistungsparameter, ohne auf die Nutzung der neuesten Halbleitertechnologien angewiesen zu sein. Gleichzeitig vermeidet die Technologie von InCirT übliche negative Nebeneffekte alternativer Technologieansätze wie einen sehr hohen Stromverbrauch oder die Verwendung teurer Materialen.

Wir freuen uns mit dem HTGF einen sehr erfahrenen Deep-tech Investor an Bord zu nehmen und mit ihm gemeinsam die Zukunft des Hochgeschwindigkeitsmobilfunks zu ermöglichen.

Dr. Oner Hanay, Co-Founder InCirT

Das Team von InCirT hat eine disruptive Technologie entwickelt, die den Weg zu neuen high-speed Mobilfunkanwendungen ebnet. Ich freue mich darauf, das extrem kompetente und lernfähige Team in den nächsten Jahren auf seinem Weg zu unterstützen!

Dr. Olaf Joeressen, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

Mithilfe der Technologie von InCirT können Kunden Produkte für hochleistungsfähige kabellose 5G/6G-Kommunikation sehr kostengünstig entwickeln und in preiswerten, breit verfügbaren Halbleitertechnologien implementieren.

Team Incirt
Team von InCirT (Bild: InCirT)

Über InCirT
InCirT ist ein Deep-tech Start-up mit Fokus auf Halbleiter-IP Lösungen für den Einsatz in hochleistungsfähigen kabellosen Kommunikationssystemen. Das Kernprodukt des Unternehmens ist ein Digital-Analog / Analog-Digital Wandler (ein sog. „Transceiver“), der in seiner finalen Version eine Datenübertragungsrate von bis zu 1 Tbps ermöglichen wird. Das Unternehmen entstand an der RWTH Aachen und wurde im Zuge des EXIST Technologietransfer Programms Anfang 2022 gegründet. Das InCirT Gründerteam besteht aus Dr. Oner Hanay, Dr. Erkan Bayram, Dr. Mohamed Saeed Elsayed, Sebastian Waters und Univ.-Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Renato Negra.

Kontakt
Sebastian Waters, Co-Founder
InCirT GmbH
sebastian@incirt.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de
 
Presse
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs erhält Seed-Finanzierung, um seine automatisierte und KI-gestützte Plattform für nachhaltige Elektrosyntheseprozesse voranzutreiben

Regensburg, 17. November 2022 –In einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde investiert der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) 600 Tsd. Euro in die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Plattformtechnologie. Das frische Kapital wird für den Ausbau der technischen Ausstattung und die Einstellung zusätzlicher Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die ESy-Screening-Technologie weiter voranzutreiben. Durch die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Elektrosynthese von organischen Feinchemikalien und elektrolytischen Recyclingmethoden könn
 
Blog
16. November 2022

Wie verkauft man als Start-up an den öffentlichen Sektor?

Spätestens seit der Pandemie ist uns klar geworden: Unser Schulsystem ist in weiten Teilen noch nicht im aktuellen Jahrhundert angekommen. Für viele Schulen war die Umstellung auf Fernunterricht eine große Herausforderung, auch weil oftmals die digitale Infrastruktur fehlte. Hierfür bietet das HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen Sdui eine Lösung und konzentriert sich in seinem Vertrieb dabei auch auf den öffentlichen Sektor – meistens die Träger der Schulen. Sdui ist dieses Mal zu Gast in den