hema.to raises €3.6M to bring precision diagnostics to immune medicine using AI-assisted analysis of single-cell blood data

June 26, 2023

Making clinical analysis of blood data automated & personalized

hema.to’s mission is to make the clinical analysis of blood data — called cytometry — automated and fully objective to enable personalization of treatment to every person’s unique immune system. Currently, even for skilled laboratory personnel, cytometry analysis is a laborious process that has a large degree of subjectivity. hema.to’s mission is now backed by Elaia Partners, Heal Capital and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), with completion of their €3.6M seed round. hema.to will use this financing to scale its AI software for blood cancer decision support across European laboratories and provide a first demonstration of marked improvement of diagnostic quality.

Today, diagnostics of blood cancer and other immune diseases from cytometry involves trained analysts and doctors assessing abstract, high-dimensional point clouds using their experience and training. This costs a lot of valuable time (anywhere from minutes to hours per sample, roughly 20 minutes on average), which is a real issue given the immense and increasing shortage of trained laboratory personnel. Besides this increasing pressure on laboratory staff, this process is known to be subjective, with a typical 30% analysis variability between operators. Because of these hurdles, the known and documented capability to guide more personalized treatment using cytometry data is severely underleveraged. hema.to aims to dramatically improve this process using its modern cloud-based Machine Learning platform, helping labs to process their case load, laboratory personnel to cope with increasing demand, give every patient an objective second opinion and empower doctors with new insights to personalize treatment to their patient’s unique immune system.

On a mission to helps labs globally with their clinical cytometry workflows

Europe’s largest leukemia lab had the real need to speed-up their internal analysis workflows and worked with us to build a world-first AI prototype. After the success of demonstration of AI-assisted clinical cytometry, we noticed that all labs have the same manual workflows and pain points. We founded hema.to two years ago to help labs across the world with their clinical cytometry workflows.

Karsten Miermans, co-founder and CEO of hema.to

Using their large and growing proprietary database of diverse sources of cytometry data, hema.to has built algorithms that can predict biomarkers of disease directly from the raw data returned by the blood measurement device. This is a to-date unsolved challenge, since the lack of standardized measurement protocols introduces complex data variability that have so far hindered automation. hema.to specializes in combining data from diverse sources to learn predictive biomarkers of disease. The team has already deployed this technology into the clinical routine for decision support at two laboratories — the Institute for Hematopathology, Hamburg, and Result Laboratorium Dordrecht, and will next expand the number of users, number of diseases supported as well as as improve the quality of their AI models.

Hema To Team
Team of hema.to

hema.to is headquartered in Munich and led by a team of data science experts that have been working together for years already, prior to starting hema.to. Since founding almost two years ago, they acquired CE-IVD conformity of their product, performed a four-center clinical study and brought it into clinical routine in two laboratories. With this second financing round, they will substantially grow the team with a focus on AI and software engineers for product development, but also immunologists/cytometrists and business development and partnerships.

We have been convinced by the founding team, composed of three former entrepreneurs from the same company, with three PhD profiles, at a stage where they are going to scale their go to market, which is coherent with our deep tech seed investment thesis. I rejoice because hema.to is Elaia’s first investment in Germany.

Anne-Sophie Carrese, Managing Partner at Elaia Partners

The unique A.I.-based approach developed by hema.to has a transformative potential in cytometry, filling a high unmet need for this method that provides key health and biological metrics in many indications. We are proud and thrilled to join hema.to’s team in this endeavor.

David Sourdive, Venture Partner at Elaia Partners

We look for investments that meet a critical market need and founders on a mission to make healthcare sustainable and future-proof. hema.to has the potential to accelerate precision diagnostics in immune medicine: improving diagnostic quality at scale and at the same time supporting laboratory personnel to optimize their valuable time.

Christian Lautner, Managing Partner at Heal Capital, concluded

We are very impressed with the speed and quality of the hema.to team’s AI development so far. We look forward to all further steps to improve leukaemia diagnostics in this great consortium!

Nik Raupp, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

We started hema.to not realizing how much our skillset in AI could help to advance immune medicine. With the very complex immune system increasingly a target of therapies, we believe that there will be a sharply growing demand for AI models trained on large databases for precision diagnostics of the immune system. We’re thrilled to have the support of Elaia, Heal Capital and HTGF in addressing one of the greatest challenges of modern medicine.

Karsten Miermans, Co-founder and CEO of hema.to

Press contacts
Louisa Mesnard, Chief Marketing Officer at Elaia Partners lmesnard@elaia.com
Christian Lautner, Managing Partner Heal Capital christian.lautner@healcapital.com
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager at HTGF t.jacob@htgf.de

About hema.to
hema.to is an easy-to-use software for clinical decision support for blood cancer from cytometry data using AI. hema.to makes the diagnostic workflow both faster and better, helping both diagnosticians as well as patients. hema.to is a CE-IVD, FDA registered and already in routine use by leading hematology laboratories. Founded in 2021, hema.to’s mission is to make clinical analysis of cytometry data completely objective, to enable doctors to personalize treatment to their patient’s unique immune system.

To learn more about hema.to, visit hema.to or follow them on LinkedIn.

About Elaia Partners
Elaia is a European top-tier VC firm with a strong tech DNA. We back tech disruptors with global ambition from early stage to growth development. For the past 20 years, our commitment has been to deliver high performance with values.
We are proud to have been an active partner in over 100 startups including success stories such as Criteo (Nasdaq), Orchestra Networks (acquired by Tibco), Volterra (acquired by F5), Mirakl (valued $3.5B in Series E) and Shift Technology (valued $1B+ in Series D).

Learn more http://www.elaia.com • @Elaia_Partners

About Heal Capital
Heal Capital is a European venture capital firm investing in technology-enabled healthcare leaders at early until growth stage. The 100m Euros fund was initiated and financed by leading private healthcare insurers to actively drive innovation in healthcare.
Learn more http://www.healcapital.com • @heal_capitalLinkedin

About High-Tech Gründerfonds   
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
28. May 2024

€1.3 Million for the Legal AI: Successful Funding for Legal Tech JUPUS

The startup JUPUS has successfully attracted new investors for its AI-powered secretary for lawyers which is the first to enable the legally trained and fully automated communication and processing in legal matters. Leading the funding is the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), along with Combination VC, consisting of business angels such as Refurbed founder Kilian Kaminski and Wandelbots CTO Georg Püschel. Among the existing investors returning for this round are well-known family offices, as
 
Press
16. May 2024

Caeli Wind, the digital platform for wind energy sites, secures €11 million in fresh capital in a Series A funding round.

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments and existing investors provide the digital wind energy pioneer with growth capital for deeper value creation and international expansion. Berlin, London, Madrid (16 May 2024) – Caeli Wind, the platform for analysing and marketing wind energy locations founded by Ben Schlemmermeier and Heiko Bartels in 2022, announced today that it has secured €11 million in growth capital from international investors. The round was led by re

Presse

hema.to erhält 3,6 Mio. € für Präzisionsdiagnostik in der Immunmedizin durch KI-gestützte Analyse von Einzelzell-Blutdaten

26. Juni 2023

Automatisierung und Personalisierung der klinischen Analyse von Blutdaten

hema.to hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die klinische Analyse von Blutdaten – die sogenannte Zytometrie – zu automatisieren und vollständig zu objektivieren, um eine personalisierte Behandlung für das individuelle Immunsystem jedes Menschen zu ermöglichen. Elaia Partners, Heal Capital und der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) unterstützen die Mission von hema.to mit einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 3,6 Millionen Euro. hema.to wird die Mittel nutzen, um seine KI-Software zur Entscheidungsunterstützung bei Blutkrebs in europäischen Laboren zu skalieren und eine erste Demonstration der signifikanten Verbesserung der Diagnosequalität zu liefern.

Bei der Diagnose von Blutkrebs und anderen Immunerkrankungen mittels Zytometrie müssen heute spezialisierte Analytiker:innen und Ärzt:innen abstrakte, hochdimensionale Punktwolken auf Basis ihrer Erfahrung und Ausbildung auswerten. Dies kostet viel wertvolle Zeit (zwischen einigen Minuten und Stunden pro Probe, im Durchschnitt etwa 20 Minuten), was angesichts des enormen und zunehmenden Mangels an qualifiziertem Laborpersonal ein Problem darstellt. Abgesehen von diesem zunehmenden Druck auf die Labormitarbeiter:innen ist dieser Prozess bekanntermaßen subjektiv, da die Analysen der einzelnen Mitarbeiter:innen in der Regel um 30 % voneinander abweichen.hema.to will diesen Prozess mit seiner hochmodernen, cloudbasierten Machine-Learning-Plattform drastisch verbessern und Labore dabei unterstützen, ihre Fallzahlen zu bewältigen, Laborpersonal bei der Bewältigung der steigenden Nachfrage zu unterstützen, jeder erkrankten Person eine objektive Zweitmeinung zu ermöglichen und Ärztinnen und Ärzten neue Erkenntnisse zu liefern, um die Behandlung auf das individuelle Immunsystem der Patientinnen und Patienten abzustimmen.

Auf der Mission, Labore weltweit bei ihren klinischen Zytometrie-Workflows zu unterstützen

Europas größtes Leukämie-Labor hatte das dringende Bedürfnis, seine internen Analyse-Workflows zu beschleunigen und arbeitete mit uns zusammen, um den weltweit ersten KI-Prototypen zu entwickeln. Nach der erfolgreichen Demonstration der KI-gestützten klinischen Zytometrie stellten wir fest, dass alle Labore die gleichen manuellen Arbeitsabläufe und Pain Points gemeinsam hatten. Wir haben hema.to vor zwei Jahren gegründet, um Labore weltweit bei ihren Arbeitsabläufen in der klinischen Zytometrie zu unterstützen.

Karsten Miermans, Mitgründer und CEO von hema.to

Basierend auf einer großen und ständig wachsenden Datenbank mit Zytometriedaten aus verschiedenen Quellen hat hema.to Algorithmen entwickelt, die Biomarker für Krankheiten direkt aus den Rohdaten des Blutmessgeräts vorhersagen können. Dies stellt eine bisher ungelöste Herausforderung dar, da das Fehlen standardisierter Messprotokolle zu komplexen Datenvariationen führt, die eine Automatisierung verhindern. hema.to ist darauf spezialisiert, Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen zu kombinieren, um prädiktive Biomarker für Krankheiten zu ermitteln. Das Team hat diese Technologie bereits in der klinischen Routine zur Entscheidungsunterstützung in zwei Laboren – dem Institut für Hämatopathologie in Hamburg und dem Result Laboratorium Dordrecht – eingesetzt und plant nun, die Anzahl der Nutzer:innen und der unterstützten Krankheitsbilder zu erhöhen sowie die Qualität der KI-Modelle weiter zu verbessern.

Hema To Team
Team von hema.to

hema.to hat seinen Sitz in München und wird von einem Team von Data-Science-Experten geleitet, die bereits vor der Gründung von hema.to jahrelang eng zusammengearbeitet haben. Seit der Gründung vor rund zwei Jahren haben sie ihr Produkt CE-IVD-konform gemacht, eine klinische Studie mit vier Zentren durchgeführt und das Produkt in zwei Laboren in der klinischen Praxis eingeführt. Mit der nun eingeworbenen zweiten Finanzierungsrunde wird das Team deutlich erweitert, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf KI- und Software-Ingenieur:innen für die Produktentwicklung, aber auch auf Immunologie- und Zytometrie-Spezialist:innen, Business Development und Partnerschaften liegen wird.

Das Gründerteam, bestehend aus drei ehemaligen Entrepreneuren desselben Unternehmens mit drei PhD-Profilen, hat uns überzeugt und befindet sich nun in der Skalierungsphase. Ich freue mich, dass hema.to das erste Investment von Elaia in Deutschland ist.

Anne-Sophie Carrese, Managing Partner bei Elaia Partners

Der einzigartige, auf künstlicher Intelligenz basierende Ansatz von hema.to hat das Potenzial, die Zytometrie zu transformieren und den großen ungedeckten Bedarf für diese Methode zu decken, die wichtige gesundheitliche und biologische Indikatoren für eine Vielzahl von Indikationen liefert. Wir sind stolz und freuen uns, das Team von hema.to dabei zu unterstützen.

David Sourdive, Venture Partner bei Elaia Partners

Wir suchen nach Investments, die einen kritischen Marktbedarf adressieren und nach Gründern, die das Gesundheitswesen nachhaltig und zukunftsfähig machen wollen. hema.to hat das Potenzial, die Präzisionsdiagnostik in der Immunmedizin zu beschleunigen: Es verbessert die diagnostische Qualität im großen Maßstab und hilft gleichzeitig dem Laborpersonal, wertvolle Zeit zu optimieren.

Christian Lautner, Managing Partner bei Heal Capital

Wir sind sehr beeindruckt von der Geschwindigkeit und Qualität der bisherigen KI-Entwicklung des hema.to-Teams. Wir freuen uns auf die nächsten Schritte zur Verbesserung der Leukämiediagnostik in diesem großartigen Konsortium.

Nik Raupp, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

Als wir hema.to gründeten, ahnten wir nicht, wie sehr unsere KI-Fähigkeiten die Immunmedizin voranbringen würden. Da das hochkomplexe Immunsystem immer mehr zum Ziel von Therapien wird, glauben wir, dass es eine stark wachsende Nachfrage nach KI-Modellen geben wird, die auf großen Datenbanken trainiert sind, um eine Präzisionsdiagnostik des Immunsystems zu ermöglichen. Wir freuen uns über die Unterstützung von Elaia, Heal Capital und dem HTGF bei der Bewältigung einer der größten Herausforderungen der modernen Medizin.

Karsten Miermans, Mitgründer und CEO von hema.to

Presse-Kontakte
Louisa Mesnard
Chief Marketing Officer
Elaia Partners
lmesnard@elaia.com

Christian Lautner
Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter
Heal Capital
christian.lautner@healcapital.com

Tobias Jacob
Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
HTGF
t.jacob@htgf.de

Über hema.to
hema.to ist eine einfach zu bedienende Software zur klinischen Entscheidungsunterstützung bei Blutkrebserkrankungen, die auf Zytometriedaten basiert und KI nutzt. hema.to beschleunigt und verbessert den diagnostischen Workflow und hilft damit sowohl den Diagnostiker:innen als auch den Patient:innen. hema.to ist CE-IVD und FDA-registriert und wird bereits von führenden Hämatologielaboren routinemäßig eingesetzt. Das 2021 gegründete Unternehmen hema.to hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die klinische Analyse von Zytometriedaten vollständig zu objektivieren, damit Ärztinnen und Ärzte die Behandlung auf das individuelle Immunsystem ihrer Patientinnen und Patienten abstimmen können.

Um mehr über hema.to zu erfahren, besuchen Sie https://www.hema.to/ oder folgen Sie auf LinkedIn.

Über Elaia Partners
Elaia ist eine europäische Top-Tier VC-Gesellschaft mit einer starken Technologie-DNA. Wir unterstützen Tech-Disruptoren mit globalen Ambitionen von der Frühphase bis zum Wachstum. In den letzten 20 Jahren haben wir uns dazu verpflichtet, hohe Leistung mit Werten zu verbinden.
Wir sind stolz darauf, ein aktiver Partner von über 100 Start-ups zu sein, darunter Erfolgsgeschichten wie Criteo (Nasdaq), Orchestra Networks (von Tibco übernommen), Volterra (von F5 übernommen), Mirakl (mit 3,5 Mrd. USD in Serie E bewertet) und Shift Technology (mit über 1 Mrd. USD in Serie D bewertet).

Mehr unter http://www.elaia.com

Über Heal Capital
Heal Capital ist eine europäische Risikokapitalgesellschaft, die in technologiebasierte Unternehmen im Gesundheitswesen in der Früh- und Wachstumsphase investiert. Der 100 Millionen Euro schwere Fonds wurde von führenden privaten Krankenversicherern initiiert und finanziert, um Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen aktiv voranzutreiben.

Weitere Informationen http://www.healcapital.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
22. April 2024

Successful exit for HTGF: Novo Nordisk to acquire Cardior Pharmaceuticals

Novo Nordisk will acquire Cardior for up to 1.025 billion Euros in upfront and potential milestone payments. Cardior is a leader in the discovery and development of therapies that target RNA as a means to prevent, repair and reverse diseases of the heart. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of Europe’s leading seed investors, participated in the first financing round in 2017. Bonn, Germany, 25 March 2024 – Novo Nordisk and Cardior Pharmaceuticals today announced that N
 
Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F