News

ESy-Labs receives seed funding to advance its automated and AI-powered platform for sustainable electrosynthesis processes

November 17, 2022

Regensburg, November 17th 2022 –In a seed financing round, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invests EUR 600,000 in ESy-Labs’ proprietary platform technology. The fresh capital raised will be used to expand the technical equipment and employ additional staff to further advance the ESy screening technology.


Through the electrosynthesis of organic fine chemicals and electrolytic recycling processes it is possible to develop significantly more efficient and also new processes to make better use of resources. Therefore, ESy-Screening provides access to this more sustainable alternative compared to the conventional chemical processes used to date.

ESy-Screening comprises high-throughput screening and artificial intelligence to develop or optimise electrosynthesis processes in a cost- and time-saving manner. As a result, the time to technical application is reduced significantly.

Electrosynthesis is one of the technologies that will transform chemical synthesis in the coming years, especially given the current geopolitical circumstances and shortage of raw materials. We are taking a huge step forward in coupling the chemical industry and the energy sector.

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel, founder and CTO of ESy-Labs

Thanks to the start-up financing from HTGF and public funding programmes, ESy screening with the planned automation will be fully available in three years. Already today, interested parties can get an impression of electrosynthesis with the existing screening technology. Electrosynthesis uses electric current for substrate activation instead of stoichiometric reagents.

In the short to medium term, we expect a market volume for ESy screening and licensing revenue from proprietary developments in the mid-double-digit millions. We are very pleased to have HTGF as a partner to support our growth.

Dr. Tobias Gärtner, CEO and founder of ESy-Labs

The electrochemical synthesis developed by ESy-Labs offers a more sustainable alternative to many industrially established reactions. I look forward to working with the strong team led by Dr. Gärtner and Prof. Waldvogel to lead new sustainable chemical and recycling processes to market maturity.

Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

ESy-Labs Gründer
Founding team of ESy-Labs: from left to right Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel and Dr. Tobias Gärtner


About ESy-Labs GmbH
ESy-Labs GmbH, based in Regensburg, was founded in 2018 and operates at the interface between the energy and chemical industries. With electrosynthesis as its central technology, ESy-Labs is working towards playing a decisive role in shaping the energy transition for the German industry. With the new investment and the funding already obtained, the current team of 6 employees is planned to be expanded to up to 15. More information can be found on our website www.esy-labs.de   

Press contact
ESy-Labs GmbH
Dr. Tobias Gärtner, CEO
+49 941 94686700
info@esy-labs.de
www.esy-labs.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager
n.raupp@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More News posts

Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest
 
Blog
17. November 2022

FundaMental Pharma launches with EUR 10 million in Seed financing led by BGV and Thuja Capital to advance a First-in-Class neuroprotectant

Heidelberg, Germany – 17 November 2022 – FundaMental Pharma GmbH (“FundaMental”), a preclinical neuroscience company spun out of Heidelberg University, today announces that it has launched with EUR 10 million in seed financing led by BioGeneration Ventures (BGV) and Thuja Capital, with participation from other investors, including coparion and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Built on the pioneering research of Professor Hilmar Bading and Dr. Jing Yan published in Science[1],
 
Blog
16. November 2022

How do you sell solutions to the public sector as a start-up?

Large parts of our school system are stuck in the 20th century. It’s a reality that we’ve certainly come to understand since the pandemic, if not before. Many schools found it really tough to make the switch to remote teaching, often due to a lack of digital infrastructure. HTGF portfolio company Sdui has a solution to overcome this issue, as it also targets the public sector – and mainly the bodies funding schools – in its sales. Sdui is our guest in this episode of the HTGF Start-u

News

ESy-Labs erhält Seed-Finanzierung, um seine automatisierte und KI-gestützte Plattform für nachhaltige Elektrosyntheseprozesse voranzutreiben

17. November 2022

Regensburg, 17. November 2022 –In einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde investiert der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) 600 Tsd. Euro in die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Plattformtechnologie. Das frische Kapital wird für den Ausbau der technischen Ausstattung und die Einstellung zusätzlicher Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die ESy-Screening-Technologie weiter voranzutreiben.


Durch die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Elektrosynthese von organischen Feinchemikalien und elektrolytischen Recyclingmethoden können deutlich effizientere und neue Prozesse erarbeitet werden, um Ressourcen besser auszunutzen. ESy-Screening ermöglicht den Zugang zu dieser nachhaltigeren Alternative zu den bisher verwendeten klassischen chemischen Verfahren.

ESy-Screening setzt sich aus Hochdurchsatzscreening und Künstlicher Intelligenz zusammen, um Elektrosyntheseprozesse kosten- und zeitsparend zu entwickeln bzw. zu optimieren. Somit verkürzt sich die Zeit bis zur technischen Anwendung deutlich.

Die Elektrosynthese zählt zu den Technologien, die vor allem unter den aktuellen geopolitischen Umständen und Rohstoffknappheit in den kommenden Jahren als Gamechanger in der chemischen Synthese fungieren wird. Wir machen bei der Sektorenkopplung zwischen der chemischen Industrie und dem Energiesektor einen großen Schritt nach vorne.

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel, Gründer und CTO von ESy-Labs

Mit der Seed-Finanzierung durch den HTGF und öffentliche Förderprojekte wird ESy-Screening mit der geplanten Automation in drei Jahren vollumfänglich zur Verfügung stehen. Bereits heute können sich Interessierte mit der bestehenden Screening-Technologie einen Eindruck von der Elektrosynthese verschaffen. Diese verwendet elektrischen Strom zur Substrataktivierung anstatt stöchiometrischer Reagenzien.

Wir erwarten kurz- bis mittelfristig ein Marktvolumen für ESy-Screening und Lizenzeinnahmen aus Eigenentwicklungen im mittleren zweistelligen Millionenbereich. Um dies zu erreichen, freuen wir uns sehr, dass der HTGF als Partner an unserer Seite steht und unser Wachstum unterstützt.

Dr. Tobias Gärtner, Geschäftsführer und Gründer von ESy-Labs

Die von ESy-Labs entwickelte elektrochemische Synthese bietet eine nachhaltigere Alternative zu vielen bisher industriell etablierten Reaktionen. Ich freue mich auf den gemeinsamen Weg mit dem starken Team um Dr. Gärtner und Prof. Waldvogel, um neue nachhaltige Chemie- und Recycling-Prozesse zur Marktreife zu führen.

Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

ESy-Labs Gründer
Gründerteam von ESy-Labs: v. l. n. r. Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel und Dr. Tobias Gärtner


Über die ESy-Labs GmbH
Die ESy-Labs GmbH mit Sitz in Regensburg wurde 2018 gegründet und agiert seither in der Schnittstelle zwischen Energie- und Chemiebranche. Mit der Elektrosynthese als zentrale Technologie arbeitet ESy-Labs darauf hin, die Energiewende für den Industriestandort Deutschland entscheidend mitzugestalten. Die Mitarbeiterzahl von aktuell 6 soll mit dem Invest und bereits eingeworbenen Fördermitteln auf bis zu 15 Mitarbeiter erweitert werden.
Weitere Infos erhalten Sie auf unserer Webseite www.esy-labs.de  

Pressekontakt
ESy-Labs GmbH
Dr. Tobias Gärtner, Geschäftsführer
+49 941 94686700
info@esy-labs.de
www.esy-labs.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager
n.raupp@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de
 
Blog
16. November 2022

Wie verkauft man als Start-up an den öffentlichen Sektor?

Spätestens seit der Pandemie ist uns klar geworden: Unser Schulsystem ist in weiten Teilen noch nicht im aktuellen Jahrhundert angekommen. Für viele Schulen war die Umstellung auf Fernunterricht eine große Herausforderung, auch weil oftmals die digitale Infrastruktur fehlte. Hierfür bietet das HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen Sdui eine Lösung und konzentriert sich in seinem Vertrieb dabei auch auf den öffentlichen Sektor – meistens die Träger der Schulen. Sdui ist dieses Mal zu Gast in den
 
Presse
IPlytics Team
9. November 2022

Successful exit for HTGF: LexisNexis expands its Intellectual Property Solutions suite with the acquisition of IPlytics

November 9th 2022 - LexisNexis Legal & Professional, part of RELX, today announced that it has acquired IPlytics, a leading IP intelligence company that enables the analysis of technology landscapes and competition for industries where standards and patents matter by providing access to multiple databases connecting patents, Standard Essential Patents (SEPs), standards, and technical standards contributions. The acquisition extends the vision of LexisNexis Intellectual Property Solutions