Press

Training and Testing Autonomous Systems, at Scale:

AI start-up DeepScenario closes financing round to accelerate the deployment of autonomous systems

October 25, 2022

DeepScenario secures seven-digit funding from HTGF, MobilityFund, and business angels. The investment boosts DeepScenario’s mission to help customers deploy autonomous systems in less time and with less cost.

Munich, 25th October 2022– Self-driving cars and other autonomous systems are spreading rapidly across the world. Ensuring that these systems operate as intended, without posing risk to people and the world around them, is an increasingly critical need.

The physical world is complex and highly dynamic, with sudden changes and unforeseen anomalies. It is essential to establish a systematic way to prepare autonomous systems for safe operation in the physical world, giving access to this fast-growing, multi-billion-dollar market.

AI start-up DeepScenario tackles this need, building the essential link between the virtual and the physical world. DeepScenario’s revolutionary technology allows companies to train, test and validate their autonomous systems at scale, delivering high-fidelity autonomous products in dramatically less time, with dramatically less cost.

Scalability and Complexity of the Physical World

Training and testing autonomous systems solely in the physical world is not feasible as it requires too much time and resources to achieve the desired results. Simulation is the key to overcoming these limitations, but simulators today are based only on synthetic data, which doesn’t truly reflect the complexity and diversity of reality. Combining the physical world with simulation is the only way to deploy autonomous systems with the speed and cost profiles required by industry.

Dr. Michael Bolle, formerly CTO and CDO of Robert Bosch GmbH, and now business angel investor and DeepScenario advisory board member

DeepScenario’s AI Scenario Engine brings, for the first time, a one-stop solution to train, test, and validate autonomous systems at scale against the complex scenarios of the physical word.

Breaking New Ground

DeepScenario’s technology is best-in-class, and the new financing will enable us to bring our solution to key customers worldwide. What sets the AI Scenario Engine apart is our scenario mining process. We leverage our breakthrough computer vision algorithms to get access to representative real-world distributions at scale, and across all three spatial dimensions plus the time dimension.

Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Founder and CEO of DeepScenario

DeepScenario’s algorithms are highly scalable, cost-effective, flexible to deploy, and significantly more accurate than state-of-the-art 2D approaches. This is what autonomous system customers want, and the new financing will help DeepScenario bring it to them.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Cremers, business angel investor and DeepScenario advisory board member

DeepScenario’s product is used as a virtual test bench on which automotive OEMs, suppliers, tech companies, and certification bodies can validate autonomous systems. For example, thousands of driving variants through a challenging two-lane roundabout can be run and essential insights into system safety and performance are delivered.

Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

DeepScenario Founders
Founding team of DeepScenario: from left to right Nijanthan Berinpanathan, Dr. Holger Banzhaf and Dr. Jacques Kaiser (Picture: DeepScenario)

About the AI Scenario Engine
DeepScenario’s AI Scenario Engine is an end-to-end platform to prove the intelligence and safety of any autonomous system that must operate in the physical world. Core of the platform is a world-class computer vision software that extracts traffic scenarios from monocular cameras in a highly accurate and fully automated way. The AI Scenario Engine enables training, testing and validation of autonomous systems against real-world edge-case scenarios, staged against any location, and against any ambient conditions. This platform yields unique insights across each scenario run, enabling the release of new software functionalities quickly, cost-effectively, and with minimal environmental impact.
DeepScenario’s AI Scenario Engine has been used by the world’s most recognizable companies, like Audi, BMW, or Bosch, to solve the challenges of autonomous system deployment.

About DeepScenario
DeepScenario is an AI start-up that provides the world’s leading platform for training, testing, and validating autonomous systems of any kind, with a particular focus on the automotive industry. The company traces its roots to cutting-edge research in computer vision, autonomous systems, and artificial intelligence spanning multiple man-years. The team at DeepScenario combines scientific domain knowledge, industrial usage knowledge, and a passion for innovation and entrepreneurship to help customers efficiently build and deploy autonomous systems in their chosen market. DeepScenario was founded by Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Dr. Jacques Kaiser, and Nijanthan Berinpanathan who share the vision of bringing autonomous systems to the world at scale.

DeepScenario Contact
Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Managing Director
+49 176 47151211
holger@deepscenario.com
www.deepscenario.com

About MobilityFund
MobilityFund is an independent venture capital fund manager with the mission to accelerate the transition to sustainable mobility. The target sectors include connectivity, autonomy, shared mobility, electrification & logistics. The fund’s geographical target market is primarily Europe and occasionally other regions (such as Israel and the United States). MobilityFund initially invests in early-stage financing rounds, mostly seed or late-seed rounds. At this stage start-ups have typically started marketing their products or services, and are generating first revenues and seeking further capital to scale. MobilityFund creates value by supporting its portfolio companies with its capital, expertise, and network. MobilityFund is backed by numerous international investors from the mobility and energy sectors.

MobilityFund Contact
Dr. Jan-Christoph Rickers, Managing Director
jan@mobility.fund

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Press Contact
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
+49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Contact Investor
Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager
j.weber@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest
 
Press
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs receives seed funding to advance its automated and AI-powered platform for sustainable electrosynthesis processes

Regensburg, November 17th 2022 –In a seed financing round, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) invests EUR 600,000 in ESy-Labs' proprietary platform technology. The fresh capital raised will be used to expand the technical equipment and employ additional staff to further advance the ESy screening technology. Through the electrosynthesis of organic fine chemicals and electrolytic recycling processes it is possible to develop significantly more efficient and also new processes to make bett
 
Blog
17. November 2022

FundaMental Pharma launches with EUR 10 million in Seed financing led by BGV and Thuja Capital to advance a First-in-Class neuroprotectant

Heidelberg, Germany – 17 November 2022 – FundaMental Pharma GmbH (“FundaMental”), a preclinical neuroscience company spun out of Heidelberg University, today announces that it has launched with EUR 10 million in seed financing led by BioGeneration Ventures (BGV) and Thuja Capital, with participation from other investors, including coparion and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Built on the pioneering research of Professor Hilmar Bading and Dr. Jing Yan published in Science[1],

Presse

Trainieren und Testen autonomer Systeme, im großen Maßstab:

KI-Startup DeepScenario schließt Finanzierungsrunde ab, um die Einführung autonomer Systeme zu beschleunigen

25. Oktober 2022

DeepScenario sichert sich eine siebenstellige Finanzierung angeführt von HTGF, MobilityFund und Business Angels. Die Investition stärkt DeepScenarios Mission, Kunden dabei zu unterstützen, autonome Systeme in kürzerer Zeit und zu geringeren Kosten auf den Markt zu bringen.

München, 25. Oktober 2022– Selbstfahrende Autos und andere autonome Systeme verbreiten sich rasch auf der ganzen Welt. Dabei wird es immer wichtiger, sicherzustellen, dass diese Systeme wie vorgesehen funktionieren und die Menschen und ihre Umwelt nicht gefährden.

Die physische Welt ist komplex, hochdynamisch und voller plötzlicher Veränderungen sowie unvorhersehbarer Anomalien. Daher ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, autonome Systeme systematisch auf den sicheren Betrieb in der physischen Welt vorzubereiten und so Zugang zu diesem schnell wachsenden, milliardenschweren Markt zu erhalten.

Das KI-Startup DeepScenario packt diese Aufgabe an, indem es die notwendige Verbindung zwischen der virtuellen und physischen Welt schafft. Die revolutionäre Technologie von DeepScenario ermöglicht es Unternehmen, ihre autonomen Systeme im großen Maßstab zu trainieren, zu testen und zu validieren und so in wesentlich kürzerer Zeit und zu wesentlich geringeren Kosten autonome Produkte auf den Markt zu bringen.

Skalierbarkeit und Komplexität der physischen Welt

Autonome Systeme ausschließlich in der physischen Welt zu trainieren und zu testen ist nicht machbar, da zu viel Zeit und Ressourcen benötigt werden, um die gewünschten Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Simulation ist der Schlüssel um diese Einschränkungen zu überwinden, doch Simulatoren basieren heute ausschließlich auf synthetischen Daten, die die Komplexität und Vielfalt der Realität nicht wirklich widerspiegeln. Die Kombination der physischen Welt mit der Simulation ist die einzige Möglichkeit, autonome Systeme mit den von der Industrie geforderten Geschwindigkeits- und Kostenprofilen auf den Markt zu bringen.

Dr. Michael Bolle, ehemaliger CTO und CDO der Robert Bosch GmbH und jetzt Business Angel Investor und Beiratsmitglied von DeepScenario

Die AI Scenario Engine von DeepScenario bringt zum ersten Mal eine gesamtheitliche Lösung hervor, mit der autonome Systeme in komplexen Szenarien der physischen Welt im großen Maßstab trainiert, getestet und validiert werden können.

Neue Wege beschreiten

Die Technologie von DeepScenario ist branchenführend, und die neue Finanzierung wird es uns ermöglichen, unsere Lösung Kunden weltweit zugänglich zu machen. Was die AI Scenario Engine von anderen Lösungen unterscheidet, ist unser Prozess des Szenario-Minings. Dabei nutzen wir unsere bahnbrechenden Bildverarbeitungsalgorithmen um Zugang zu repräsentativen Verteilungen der realen Welt zu erhalten und das in allen drei räumlichen Dimensionen und der Zeitdimension.

Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Gründer und CEO von DeepScenario

Die Algorithmen von DeepScenario sind hoch skalierbar, kosteneffizient, flexibel einsetzbar und wesentlich genauer als aktuelle 2D-Ansätze. Genau das wollen Entwickler autonomer Systeme, und die neue Finanzierung wird DeepScenario dabei helfen, ihnen dies anzubieten.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Cremers, Business Angel Investor und Mitglied des DeepScenario-Beirats

Das Produkt von DeepScenario wird als virtueller Prüfstand eingesetzt, auf dem Automobilhersteller, Zulieferer, Technologieunternehmen und Zertifizierungsstellen autonome Systeme validieren können. So können beispielsweise Tausende von Fahrvarianten durch einen anspruchsvollen zweispurigen Kreisverkehr durchgeführt und wichtige Erkenntnisse über die Sicherheit und Leistungsfähigkeit des Systems gewonnen werden.

Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

DeepScenario Founders
Gründerteam von DeepScenario: v. l. n. r. Nijanthan Berinpanathan, Dr. Holger Banzhaf und Dr. Jacques Kaiser (Bild: DeepScenario)

Über die AI Scenario Engine
Die AI Scenario Engine von DeepScenario ist eine ganzheitliche Plattform zum Nachweis der Intelligenz und Sicherheit jeglicher autonomen Systeme, die in der physischen Welt zum Einsatz kommen. Das Herzstück der Plattform ist eine erstklassige Bildverarbeitungssoftware, die Verkehrsszenarien aus monokularen Kameras auf hochpräzise und vollautomatische Weise extrahiert. Die AI Scenario Engine ermöglicht das Trainieren, Testen und Validieren von autonomen Systemen anhand realer Szenarien, die an jedem beliebigen Ort und unter verschiedenen Umgebungsbedingungen abgespielt werden können. Die Plattform liefert bei jedem Szenariolauf einzigartige Erkenntnisse und ermöglicht die schnelle und kosteneffiziente Freigabe neuer Softwarefunktionen mit minimalen Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt.

Die AI Scenario Engine von DeepScenario wurde bereits von führenden Automobilherstellern, wie Audi, BMW oder Bosch, eingesetzt, um die Herausforderungen beim Einsatz autonomer Systeme zu lösen.

Über DeepScenario
DeepScenario ist ein KI-Startup, das die weltweit führende Plattform für das Trainieren, Testen und Validieren autonomer Systeme jeglicher Art anbietet, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der Automobilindustrie. Die Wurzeln des Unternehmens liegen in der mehrjährigen Spitzenforschung der Bildverarbeitung, autonomen Systeme und künstlichen Intelligenz. Das Team von DeepScenario kombiniert wissenschaftliche Expertise, Erfahrung aus der industriellen Anwendung und Leidenschaft für Innovation und Unternehmertum, um Kunden bei der effizienten Entwicklung und dem Einsatz autonomer Systeme in ihrem jeweiligen Markt zu unterstützen. DeepScenario wurde von Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Dr. Jacques Kaiser und Nijanthan Berinpanathan gegründet, die gemeinsam die Vision verfolgen, autonome Systeme in großem Maßstab auf der Welt zu etablieren.

DeepScenario Kontakt
Dr. Holger Banzhaf, Geschäftsführer
+49 176 47151211
holger@deepscenario.com
www.deepscenario.com

Über MobilityFund
MobilityFund ist ein unabhängiger Venture Capital Fondsmanager mit der Mission, die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Mobilität zu beschleunigen. Die Zielsektoren umfassen Konnektivität, autonomes Fahren, geteilte Mobilitätsdienste, Elektrifizierung und Logistik. Der geografische Fokus liegt auf Europa. Minderheiten werden in nicht-europäischen Ländern wie in Israel und in den USA investiert. MobilityFund beginnt seine Investitionen in frühen Unternehmensphasen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben die Start-ups typischerweise bereits begonnen, ihre Produkte oder Dienste zu vermarkten, und suchen weiteres Kapital zur Wachstumsfinanzierung. MobilityFund unterstützt seine Portfolio Firmen mit Kapital, Wissen und Netzwerk. Zu den Investoren des MobilityFunds gehören zahlreiche internationale Unternehmen aus dem Mobilitäts- und Energiesektor.

MobilityFund Kontakt
Dr. Jan-Christoph Rickers, Geschäftsführer
jan@mobility.fund

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro unter Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
+49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager
j.weber@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de
 
Presse
ESy-Labs Founders
17. November 2022

ESy-Labs erhält Seed-Finanzierung, um seine automatisierte und KI-gestützte Plattform für nachhaltige Elektrosyntheseprozesse voranzutreiben

Regensburg, 17. November 2022 –In einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde investiert der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) 600 Tsd. Euro in die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Plattformtechnologie. Das frische Kapital wird für den Ausbau der technischen Ausstattung und die Einstellung zusätzlicher Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die ESy-Screening-Technologie weiter voranzutreiben. Durch die von ESy-Labs entwickelte Elektrosynthese von organischen Feinchemikalien und elektrolytischen Recyclingmethoden könn
 
Presse
IPlytics Team
9. November 2022

Successful exit for HTGF: LexisNexis expands its Intellectual Property Solutions suite with the acquisition of IPlytics

November 9th 2022 - LexisNexis Legal & Professional, part of RELX, today announced that it has acquired IPlytics, a leading IP intelligence company that enables the analysis of technology landscapes and competition for industries where standards and patents matter by providing access to multiple databases connecting patents, Standard Essential Patents (SEPs), standards, and technical standards contributions. The acquisition extends the vision of LexisNexis Intellectual Property Solutions