The data platform for the consumer goods industry 

Covalo raises fresh capital to further drive sustainability and transparency in the consumer goods industry

March 17, 2023

  • Covalo is currently one of the world’s largest Personal Care ingredients platforms with over 70,000 listings from more than 1,000 suppliers.
  • Covalo is already used by formulators from more than 5,000 brands such as Lush, L’Oréal or Drunk Elephant across 140 countries.
  • Covalo has established strong ties with key industry associations such as COSMED in France, SKW in Switzerland, the leading fair organizer (Reed Exhibitions), as well as some of the major PLM (product life-cycle management) tools, regulatory and formulation software providers. 
  • Covalo secures High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) as lead investor as part of its capital increase to accelerate its expansion to food.
  • Co-investors include seed + speed Ventures, the Gekko Group, the former Deloitte Germany Chemicals & Sustainability Lead, a former Coty executive, and other influential angel investors.

Zürich, 17/03/2023 – Covalo welcomes fresh capital to further drive its mission to make the $3 trillion consumer goods industry more sustainable and transparent by helping brands across the world discover, connect, and transact with the best ingredient, services, and packaging suppliers.

Covalo aggregates, structures and distributes all data brands need to make better decisions in the product development process and lifecycle management. By doing so our solution accelerates the transition to a more sustainable consumer goods industry.

Timo von Bargen, Co-Founder & CEO of Covalo

Today, bringing a new product to market can take anything between 6 months and 5 years involving up to 15 different parties. High market fragmentation, unstructured and often unreliable data, paired with growing regulatory pressure and consumer demand for more sustainable, socially responsible, and transparent products has emphasized the need for better digital solutions to support the industry in its transformation.

The past years saw the launch of many digital offerings either targeting very specific steps of the product development process or focusing on achieving economies of scale across multiple industry segments by providing more generic marketplace offerings. These offer targeted value to buyers and suppliers, but further increase the fragmentation of the solution landscape in the industry, leading to huge inefficiencies. 

With the growing complexity, Covalo believes in an ecosystem of solutions targeting specific needs and aims at becoming the industry’s data orchestrator facilitating a seamless exchange of accurate, up-to-date, and standardized data.

The industry is in dire need of more transparency and easier access to product, supplier, formulation, regulatory, and other critical data. This starts by establishing a common industry standard, on which further collaboration and transaction offerings can be built. We strongly believe in an open and collaborative approach with all key industry stakeholders on that matter; That’s why we put so much emphasis on our partner network.

Yann Chilvers, Co-Founder & COO von Covalo

With a strong European footprint, Covalo is today one of the largest ingredient platforms in the industry with over 70,000 listings from more 1,000 suppliers worldwide. The platform is trusted by formulators from over 5,000 brands across more than 140 countries, who rely on the platform to find ingredient data and easily engage and collaborate with suppliers. To extend its reach and drive its open-platform strategy, Covalo has recently established strategic partnerships with Reed Exhibitions, the largest fair organizer, as well as with major regulatory, formulation, and PLM software providers.

Covalo provides a vital solution for transforming the development of new FMCG products to comply with the demands of a more sustainability-driven world. The ease of use and the variety of available ingredient information with direct data integration is a game-changer for FMCG manufacturers.

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Founders Yann and Timo have created a unique search platform for the cosmetics industry with their great complementary team. Thanks to their extensive network for suppliers and developers, development processes are now finally being simplified and product life cycles extended. Covalo is revolutionizing the consumer goods industry with its distribution expertise. We are delighted to be part of this exciting success journey with seed+speed Ventures.

Carsten Maschmeyer, seed + speed Ventures

Photo: Timo von Bargen, Yann Chilvers | covalo

Recent years also saw a growing convergence of the Personal Care and Food industries toward a more holistic approach to wellbeing. Building on its strong presence in Personal Care, Covalo now sets its sights on the food industry for 2023. 

To achieve this ambitious vision of making the consumer goods industry more sustainable and transparent, Covalo can now count on the support of leading tech and food tech investors such as HTGF, seed + speed Ventures, and the Gekko Group.


About Covalo
Covalo™ makes consumer goods product development faster and easier. It is a comprehensive B2B platform that helps consumer good brands discover, connect and transact with the best ingredient, services, and packaging suppliers. Covalo is committed to making formulation-based consumer goods industries more transparent and sustainable by making it easier for suppliers to disclose, and for buyers to search and manage up-to-date sustainability-related details. Covalo launched in 2021 and is based in Switzerland.
www.covalo.com

Contact
Timo von Bargen, Co-Founder & CEO
info@covalo.com

About seed+speed Ventures
seed + speed Ventures is a pre-seed and seed VC focusing on B2B and enterprise software startups in Germany, Switzerland and Austria. As a lead- or co-investor, the firm initially invests up to €500k in promising young startups and supports the development of sustainable, successful sales structures through tailored sales coaching by its in-house sales trainers. Thus seed + speed actively adds value to the operational business of its portfolio companies to enable faster growth.

Contact
seed + speed ventures GmbH
Dr. Stefan Ebner (Head of Communications)
Maximilianstr. 34
D-80799 München
stefan.ebner@maschmeyer-group.de    

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

Presse

Die Data Platform für die Konsumgüterindustrie   

Covalo sammelt frisches Kapital ein, um die Konsumgüterindustrie nachhaltiger und transparenter zu gestalten

17. März 2023

  • Covalo ist mit über 70.000 Produkten von mehr als 1.000 Anbietern eine der weltweit größten Plattformen für Inhaltsstoffe für Kosmetikprodukte.
  • Covalo wird bereits von Produktentwickler:innen von mehr als 5.000 Brands wie Lush, L’Oréal oder Drunk Elephant in 140 Ländern genutzt.
  • Covalo hat enge Beziehungen zu wichtigen Branchenverbänden wie COSMED in Frankreich, SKW in der Schweiz, dem führenden Messeveranstalter (Reed Exhibitions) sowie zu wichtigen Anbietern von PLM-Tools (Product Lifecycle Management), regulatorischer und Rezeptur-Software aufgebaut.
  • Covalo gewinnt den High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) als Lead-Investor für seine Finanzierungsrunde, um die Expansion in den Lebensmittelsektor zu forcieren.
  • Zu den Co-Investoren gehören seed + speed Ventures, die Gekko Group, der ehemalige Deloitte Germany Chemicals & Sustainability Lead, ein ehemaliger Coty-Manager und gut vernetzte Business Angels.

Zürich, 17/03/2023 – Mit dem frischen Kapital treibt Covalo seine Mission voran, die 3-Billionen-Dollar-Konsumgüterindustrie nachhaltiger und transparenter zu gestalten, indem es Brands weltweit dabei hilft, die besten Lieferanten für Inhaltsstoffe, Dienstleistungen und Verpackungen zu finden, mit ihnen in Kontakt zu treten und Geschäfte zu machen.

Covalo sammelt, strukturiert und verteilt sämtliche Daten, die Brands benötigen, um bessere Entscheidungen im Rahmen der Produktentwicklung und des Lifecycle-Managements zu treffen. So beschleunigen wir mit unserer Lösung die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigeren Konsumgüterindustrie.

Timo von Bargen, Co-Founder & CEO von Covalo

Bis ein neues Produkt auf den Markt kommt, können zwischen 6 Monaten und 5 Jahren vergehen, wobei bis zu 15 verschiedene Akteure involviert sind. Eine starke Marktfragmentierung, unstrukturierte und oft unzuverlässige Daten verbunden mit wachsendem regulatorischem Druck sowie die Kundennachfrage nach nachhaltigen, sozialverantwortlichen und transparenten Produkten unterstreichen den dringenden Bedarf nach besseren digitalen Lösungen, um die Transformation der Branche zu beschleunigen.

In den letzten Jahren wurden viele digitale Lösungen auf den Markt gebracht, die entweder auf sehr spezifische Schritte in der Produktentwicklung abzielen oder sich darauf konzentrieren, Skaleneffekte über mehrere Branchensegmente hinweg zu ermöglichen, indem sie eher generische Marktplatz-Angebote bereitstellen. Diese Lösungen bieten Käufern und Anbietern einen gezielten Mehrwert, tragen jedoch zu einer weiteren Fragmentierung der Lösungslandschaft in der Branche bei, was zu großen Ineffizienzen führt.

Angesichts der zunehmenden Komplexität glaubt Covalo an ein Ökosystem aus Lösungen, die spezifische Bedürfnisse adressieren, und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, zu einem Daten-Orchestrator für die Branche zu werden, indem der nahtlose Austausch von genauen, aktuellen und standardisierten Daten ermöglicht wird.

Die Branche benötigt dringend mehr Transparenz und einen einfacheren Zugriff auf Daten zu Produkten, Lieferanten, Rezepturen, Vorschriften und anderen kritischen Informationen. Ausgangspunkt dafür ist ein gemeinsamer Standard, auf dem weitere Kooperations- und Transaktionsangebote aufsetzen können. Wir glauben fest an einen offenen und kooperativen Ansatz mit den entscheidenden Stakeholdern; und genau aus diesem Grund legen wir so viel Wert auf unser Partnernetzwerk.

Yann Chilvers, Co-Founder & COO von Covalo

Mit einer starken Präsenz in Europa ist Covalo heute mit über 70.000 Einträgen von mehr als 1.000 Lieferanten weltweit eine der größten Plattformen für Inhaltsstoffe der Branche. Die Plattform wird von Produktentwicklern von über 5.000 Brands in mehr als 140 Ländern genutzt, um Daten über Inhaltsstoffe zu erhalten und mit Lieferanten in Kontakt zu treten und zusammenzuarbeiten. Um die Präsenz weiter auszubauen und die Open-Platform-Strategie voranzutreiben, hat Covalo kürzlich strategische Partnerschaften mit Reed Exhibitions, einem führenden Messeveranstalter, sowie mit wichtigen Anbietern von Regulierungs-, Rezeptur- und PLM-Software geschlossen.

Covalo bietet eine wichtige Lösung für den Wandel bei der Entwicklung neuer FMCG-Produkte, um den Anforderungen an mehr Nachhaltigkeit gerecht zu werden. Die Nutzerfreundlichkeit und die Bandbreite der verfügbaren Informationen über Inhaltsstoffe mit direkter Datenintegration sind ein entscheidender Vorteil für FMCG-Hersteller.

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Die Gründer Yann und Timo haben mit ihrem großartigen komplementären Team eine einzigartige Suchplattform für die Kosmetikindustrie geschaffen. Dank ihres umfassenden Netzwerkes für Anbieter und Entwickler werden jetzt endlich Entwicklungsprozesse vereinfacht und Produktlebenszyklen verlängert. Mit ihrer Vertriebserfahrung revolutioniert Covalo die Konsumgüterindustrie. Wir freuen uns sehr, mit seed+speed Ventures bei dieser spannenden Erfolgsreise dabei zu sein.

Carsten Maschmeyer, seed + speed Ventures

Foto: Timo von Bargen, Yann Chilvers | covalo

In den letzten Jahren haben sich die Kosmetik- und die Lebensmittelbranche zunehmend angenähert, mit dem Ziel eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes für das persönliche Wohlbefinden. Aufbauend auf der starken Präsenz im Bereich Kosmetik, setzt Covalo sein Augenmerk für 2023 verstärkt auf die Lebensmittelindustrie.

Um die Vision, die Konsumgüterindustrie nachhaltiger und transparenter zu gestalten, zu verwirklichen, kann Covalo nun auf die Unterstützung führender Tech- und Food-Tech-Investoren wie dem HTGF, seed + speed Ventures und der Gekko Group setzen.


Über Covalo
Covalo™ beschleunigt und vereinfacht die Produktentwicklung von Konsumgütern. Covalo ist eine umfassende B2B-Plattform, die Konsumgüterherstellern dabei hilft, die besten Lieferanten für Inhaltsstoffe, Dienstleistungen und Verpackungen zu finden und mit ihnen in Beziehung zu treten. Covalo hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit in der Konsumgüterindustrie zu erhöhen, indem es den Lieferanten die Offenlegung und den Käufern die Suche und das Management aktueller nachhaltigkeitsbezogener Informationen erleichtert. Covalo wurde im Jahr 2021 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz in der Schweiz.
www.covalo.com

Kontakt
Timo von Bargen, Co-Founder & CEO
info@covalo.com

Über seed+speed Ventures
seed+speed Ventures ist ein Pre-Seed und Seed-Investor mit Fokus auf B2B Software Startups im DACH-Raum. Das Unternehmen investiert in visionäre Gründerinnen und Gründer mit vielversprechenden Zukunftsideen. In den letzten Jahren ist das Portfolio auf über 50 Unternehmen gewachsen, u.a. aus den Bereichen FinTech, Supply Chain, Cybersecurity, EdTech und Mobility. Gründer ist Carsten Maschmeyer. Der Unternehmer, Investor, Bestsellerautor, Speaker und TV-Juror investiert über seine Investmentgesellschaften seed+speed Ventures, ALSTIN und Maschmeyer Group Ventures in Startups in Europa und Nordamerika.

Kontakt
seed + speed ventures GmbH
Dr. Stefan Ebner (Head of Communications)
Maximilianstr. 34
D-80799 München
stefan.ebner@maschmeyer-group.de    

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
22. April 2024

Successful exit for HTGF: Novo Nordisk to acquire Cardior Pharmaceuticals

Novo Nordisk will acquire Cardior for up to 1.025 billion Euros in upfront and potential milestone payments. Cardior is a leader in the discovery and development of therapies that target RNA as a means to prevent, repair and reverse diseases of the heart. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of Europe’s leading seed investors, participated in the first financing round in 2017. Bonn, Germany, 25 March 2024 – Novo Nordisk and Cardior Pharmaceuticals today announced that N
 
Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F