Press

agriportance secures seed funding to replace fossil natural gas with biomethane

December 15, 2022

Münster, 15.12.2022 – Biomethane start-up agriportance raises a seven-figure sum in a seed round from seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and business angels. The founding team will use the fresh money to accelerate the product’s digitalisation and its launch on the European market.


The current energy supply crisis affects the political and ecological climate. More and more people are calling for reforms and innovations because of the skyrocketing oil and gas prices. Thanks to biogas, climate protection and security of supply can be addressed at the same time.

A genuine alternative to natural gas with enormous potential
There are about 9,500 biogas plants in Germany, distributed among various farms, which contribute about 6 % to electricity generation. After 20 years, these plants lose their fixed EEG compensation and now have to find new distribution channels. Processing the biogas and feeding it into the natural gas grid are attractive options. However, key aspects such as the greenhouse gas balance and the commercialisation are still largely unaddressed and are major challenges for the producers. Henning Dicks, Co-founder of agriportance and a farmer himself with close ties to the industry, recognised this situation very early. Together with software engineer Thorsten Rohling, he founded the Münster-based start-up in June 2021. agriportance’s product provides the digital infrastructure that enables biogas plants to produce biomethane, a green natural gas alternative.

Biogas producers always approached us with the same two problems: firstly, the complex greenhouse gas balance and secondly, there were many questions about marketing to customers in the energy industry, who often have offices in London, Amsterdam or Paris.

Henning Dicks, Co-founder of agriportance

Funding opens up scaling potential
agriportance aims to automate the processes surrounding the complex certification of biomethane. The company is pursuing the vision of a flourishing European biomethane market. To make this possible and to gain the necessary momentum, the young company has secured seven-digit fresh capital in a seed round from HTGF and business angels. Among the investors is once again the business angel Ingo Hoff from the Münster region

Biomethane is an important pillar for the energy transition. agriportance convinced us with a quickly achieved product-market fit and a strong revenue growth in 2021 and 2022. Moreover, the team stands out with relevant industry experience and meets the current ‘zeitgeist’ with their solution.

Christian Arndt, Senior Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

With the financing, agriportance aims to further develop the product and to expand internationally. From currently 11 employees, the team wants to grow to 20 in the next months. In its recruitment efforts, the young company pays particular attention to industry expertise and strong IT skills.

With the fresh capital, we can strengthen our mission to replace a significant share of fossil natural gas in Europe with biomethane and thereby accelerate the decarbonisation of the energy sector.

Henning Dicks, Co-founder of agriportance

Founding team of agriportance: from left to right Henning Dicks and Thorsten Rohling

About agriportance
agriportance is a Münster-based biomethane start-up that specialises in monitoring sustainability certification and buying and selling biomethane. Using greenhouse gas software, producers can create their carbon footprint on a monthly basis according to the strict requirements of the Renewable Energy Directive (RED). In addition, the software provides mass balances and enables secure and easy document storage and preparation. In a fair and efficient matchmaking process, agriportance brings producers and buyers of biomethane together, usually for a period of 7 years. The founding team around Henning Dicks and Thorsten Rohling, together with currently 10 employees and a large number of customers, has been pursuing its vision of displacing heavy oil, diesel and natural gas from shipping and heavy goods transport with the green alternative biomethane since 2021.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Arndt, Senior Investment Manager
T.: +49 – (0) 228 – 82300 – 171
c.arndt@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
26. January 2023

Refined Laser Systems Raises €2.7m to Diagnose Cancer in Minutes

Refined Laser Systems has developed an innovative microscopy procedure to support pathology in diagnosing cancer within minutes and avoid revision surgeries. The investment was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and APEX Ventures alongside Onsight Ventures, NRW.BANK, and Papst Venture Capital. The Seed funding will be used to develop an intraoperative microscope prototype that identifies tumor margins directly in the surgery room and will offer a diagnosis within minutes by a remote patho
 
Press
16. January 2023

Fintech Cerchia closes CHF 1.3 million financing round with HTGF and other investors to finance and hedge climate damages through a novel, decentralized marketplace

CHF 1.3 million seed financing round closed with lead investor HTGF and additional private investors. Cerchia AG ("Cerchia") has created the world's first marketplace for direct risk transfer on the Zilliqa Blockchain. The Swiss fintech is building a novel capital markets platform to create an efficient, transparent, and compliant solution for direct risk transfer between reinsurers and investors. The team consists of experienced capital markets and risk management executives, rein
 
Press
refuel.green
12. January 2023

refuel.green receives €1.2 million pre-seed financing for more cost-effective production of fuels from renewable electricity (e-fuels)

A total of €1.2 million in fresh capital for particularly innovative technology refuel.green wins HTGF as lead investor for pre-seed financing TGFS Technologiegründerfonds Sachsen and two business angels are co-investors Team buildup and first customer project planned for 2023 Dresden, January 12, 2023 – e-fuels can make a decisive contribution to making the global economy independent of fossil crude oil and at the same time CO2-neutral and renewable. The refuel.green

Presse

agriportance sichert sich Seed-Finanzierung, um fossiles Erdgas durch Biomethan zu ersetzen 

15. Dezember 2022

Münster, 15.12.2022 – Das Biomethan-Start-up agriportance erhält in einer Seed-Finanzierungrunde eine siebenstellige Finanzierungssumme vom Seed-Investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) sowie weiteren Business-Angels. Das Gründerteam möchte mit dem frischen Geld vor allem die Digitalisierung des Produktes sowie den europäischen Markteintritt vorantreiben. 


Die aktuelle Krise in der Energieversorgung belastet das politische und ökologische Klima. Wegen der explodierenden Öl- und Gaspreise wünschen sich immer mehr Menschen Reformen und Innovationen. Mit Biogas können Klimaschutz und Versorgungssicherheit gleichzeitig gewährleistet werden.

Eine wirkliche Alternative zum Erdgas mit enormem Potential
In Deutschland gibt es rund 9.500 Biogasanlagen, die knapp 6% zur Stromerzeugung beitragen und die auf diversen Betrieben verteilt sind, die ihre feste EEG-Vergütung nach 20 Jahren verlieren und nun neue Vertriebswege finden müssen. Die Reinigung des Biogases und die Einspeisung in das Erdgasnetz bieten attraktive Möglichkeiten für die Betriebe. Allerdings sind dabei wichtige Punkte wie die Treibhausgasbilanz und Vermarktung bisher auf der Strecke geblieben, die die Biogasproduzenten vor große Herausforderungen stellen. Das hat auch agriportance-Mitgründer Henning Dicks früh erkannt, der als Landwirt selbst einen engen Bezug zur Branche hat. Zusammen mit dem Software-Entwickler Thorsten Rohling hat er das Münsteraner Start-up im Juni 2021 gegründet. Das Produkt von agriportance schafft die digitale Infrastruktur, mit der Biogasanlagen die grüne Erdgas-Alternative Biomethan erzeugen können.

Biogasproduzenten kamen immer mit denselben zwei Problemen auf uns zu: Auf der einen Seite die komplexe Treibhausgasbilanz und auf der anderen Seite viele Fragezeichen bei der Vermarktung an Abnehmer aus der Energiewirtschaft, die nicht selten ihre Büros in London, Amsterdam oder Paris haben.

Henning Dicks, Mitgründer von agriportance

Finanzierung schafft Möglichkeiten für die Skalierung 
agriportance hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Prozesse bei der komplexen Zertifizierung von Biomethan zu automatisieren. Dabei verfolgt es die Vision eines stark florierenden europäischen Biomethanmarkts. Um dieses Vorhaben sowie das notwendige Momentum zu ermöglichen, hat sich das junge Unternehmen in einer Seed-Runde frisches Kapital in Millionenhöhe vom HTGF sowie weiteren Business-Angels gesichert. Darunter auch der bestehende Business-Angel Ingo Hoff aus dem Münsterland.

Biomethan ist ein wichtiger Baustein in der Energiewende. agriportance überzeugte uns durch einen schnell erreichten Product-Market-Fit und eine starke Umsatzentwicklung in 2021 und 2022. Das Team punktet darüber hinaus mit entsprechender Branchenerfahrung und trifft mit der Lösung den aktuellen Zeitgeist.

Christian Arndt, Senior Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Mit der Finanzierung im Rücken plant die agriportance den weiteren Ausbau des Produkts sowie die internationale Expansion. Von aktuell 11 Mitarbeitenden möchte das Team in den kommenden Monaten auf 20 anwachsen. Beim Recruiting wird das junge Unternehmen besonderes Augenmerk auf Branchenerfahrung sowie starke IT-Expertise legen. 

Durch das frische Kapital können wir unsere Mission stärken durch Biomethan einen erheblichen Anteil fossilen Erdgases in Europa zu verdrängen und dadurch die Dekarbonisierung des Energiesektors voranzutreiben.

Henning Dicks, Mitgründer von agriportance 

Gründerteam von agriportance: v. l. n. r. Henning Dicks und Thorsten Rohling

Über agriportance 
agriportance ist ein Münsteraner Biomethan-Start-up, dass sich auf Begleitung der Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung und den Ein- und Verkauf von Biomethan spezialisiert hat. Mit einer Treibhausgas-Software können Produzenten monatlich ihren CO2-Fußabdruck nach den strikten Vorgaben der Renewable Energy Directive (RED) durchführen. Zudem erstellt die Software Massenbilanzen und ermöglicht die sichere und einfache Dokumentenablage und -aufbereitung. In einem fairen und effizienten Match-Making-Prozess verknüpft agriportance Produzenten und Abnehmer von Biomethan in der Regel über einen Zeitraum von 7 Jahren. Seit 2021 verfolgt das Gründerteam um Henning Dicks und Thorsten Rohling zusammen mit aktuell 10 Angestellten und einer Vielzahl von Kunden die Vision Schweröl, Diesel und Erdgas aus dem Schiffs- und Schwerlastverkehr durch die grüne Alternative Biomethan zu verdrängen. 

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 

Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de 

Investorkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Arndt, Senior Investment Manager
T.: +49 – (0) 228 – 82300 – 171
c.arndt@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Team GlassDollar
31. Mai 2023

GlassDollar bringt führende Unternehmen mit innovativen Start-ups zusammen, um die Welt von morgen zu gestalten

GlassDollar sammelt 2 Millionen Euro in einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde (angeführt vom HTGF) ein, um die Lösungen von Start-ups an die Herausforderungen von Unternehmen anzupassen und die Welt von morgen zu gestalten. Durch die Bereitstellung von Daten, Software und operativer Unterstützung bietet GlassDollar ein Venture-Clienting-Betriebssystem, das Innovatoren in Unternehmen dabei unterstützt mit Start-up-Lösungen einen messbaren Impact auf ihre Organisation und die Welt zu schaffen
 
Presse
30. Mai 2023

Ein neuer EU-Vorreiter für Fusion: Proxima Fusion wird von ehemaligen Forschern des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik gegründet

München, 30. Mai 2023 – Proxima Fusion, ein Start-up, das Fusionskraftwerke auf der Grundlage des Stellarator-Konzepts entwickelt, hat sein Pre-Seed-Fundraising in Höhe von 7 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. Das Fundraising wird gemeinsam von Plural und UVC Partners geleitet und vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Wilbe Gruppe unterstützt. Proxima Fusion ist das erste Spin-out aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP): Das Start-up wurde von ehemaligen Wissenschaftlern
 
Presse
23. Mai 2023

smartbax schließt Seed-Finanzierung über 1,2 Millionen Euro ab zur Entwicklung innovativer Antibiotika gegen multi-resistente Bakterien

München, 23. Mai 2023 – smartbax, ein Biotech-Unternehmen, das Antibiotika der nächsten Generation entwickelt, gab heute den Abschluss einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Millionen Euro mit dem Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Damit hat smartbax bisher insgesamt 1,9 Millionen Euro eingeworben. Mit dem neuen Kapital wird das Unternehmen seine präklinischen Studien zur Erforschung von niedermolekularen („small molecules