Phialogics secures pre-seed financing for Next-Gen IgV Therapeutics to modulate immune responses in inflammatory diseases

April 19, 2023

  • Phialogics is a preclinical biotech company specialized in engineering next-generation biologics to rebalance the immune response in acute and chronic inflammation.
  • The startup closes a 600,000 € pre-seed financing round with High-Tech Gründerfonds.
  • The capital will be used to further develop Phialogics’ lead candidate in preclinical models in comparison to the current standard of care and other research approaches.
  • This is a step forward to continue developing Phialogics’ innovative technology and to bring new solutions to patients who are in need of better treatment options.

Basel, 19 April 2023 – Being able to rebalance the immune response in acute and chronic inflammation is key for many patients suffering from autoimmune diseases. Thanks to an innovative and patented technology, Phialogics brings a new answer to these unmet medical needs.

The concept is based on the targeted modification of immunoglobulin receptor domains (IgVs) to modulate immune response in inflammatory diseases. IgV mediated receptor-ligand interaction represents a significant source of novel biologics. Phialogics lead molecules replicate endogenous protein-protein interactions to efficiently modulate the function of their target receptor. So far, only this unique platform technology can achieve such a high level of precision.

Current lead candidates are genetically engineered monospecific IgVs with the potential to be expanded to bispecific therapeutics to achieve selectivity for inflamed tissue and/or disease-causing immune cells. This strategy has the potential to provide new solutions for patients with autoimmune diseases by rebalancing their overactive immune response in selected organs and tissue.

For 2023, our goals are to further develop our lead candidate, completing proof of concept in preclinical models and comparing our lead to the standard of care. In addition, as a part of our new discovery project, we will expand our portfolio to novel bi-specific immune checkpoint modulators. This becomes possible thanks to the HTGF financing round.

Dr. Andreas Ernst, Co-Founder & CEO of Phialogics

We are excited to invest in the strong team of Phialogics and their innovative approach to modulate the immune response in inflammatory diseases. Their unique platform based on naturally occurring receptor-ligand interactions combined with a first class protein engineering expertise and deep knowledge in immunology has the potential to provide novel solutions for patients. We are excited to see the progress they will make with this pre-seed funding.

Dr. Katharina Severin, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Team of Phialogics (Picture: Phialogics)

About Phialogics AG
Phialogics is an innovative start-up in the field of autoimmune diseases. Founded in 2021 by a team of widely recognized experts in protein engineering and immunology, the company based in Basel (CH) and Heidelberg (GER) is committed to making a decisive contribution to the autoimmune disease space.
The founding team is backed by strong Scientific Advisory and Supervisory Boards, which puts the company in a good position to move fast on the lead candidate and develop novel biologics.
https://www.phialogics.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
22. July 2024

Fitness App Reimagined: TRAIT Secures €1 Million Seed Funding for Empathetic AI Training Platform

TRAIT, the innovative training app, has raised around 1 million € in seed funding from HTGF, the angel club better ventures and other private investors. The funding will support the further development of its AI training platform, which aims to provide a more personalized and empathetic training experience for runners. The Berlin-based start-up’s mission is to help people achieve their individual training goals and lead a more sustainably active and fulfilling life. At the heart o
 
Press
17. July 2024

Sdui acquires FoxEducation and raises a further 21 million euros

The acquisition of FoxEducation strengthens Sdui’s position servicing over 22,000 schools and preschools in Europe. The company also raised a further 21 million euros from new and existing investors. New investor Summiteer and existing investor HV Capital leads the new financing round. Koblenz / Vienna, 17 July 2024 – Sdui Group (“Sdui”), one of the leading providers of education technology in Europe, today announced that it has acquired digital education solut

Phialogics sichert Pre-Seed-Finanzierung für IgV-Therapeutika der nächsten Generation zur Modulation von Immunantworten bei entzündlichen Immunerkrankungen

19. April 2023

  • Phialogics ist ein präklinisches Biotech-Unternehmen, das sich auf die Entwicklung von Biologics der nächsten Generation zur Wiederherstellung des Gleichgewichts der Immunantwort bei akuten und chronischen Entzündungen spezialisiert hat.
  • Das Startup hat eine Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 600.000 Euro mit dem High-Tech Gründerfonds abgeschlossen.
  • Das Kapital wird für die Weiterentwicklung der Leitsubstanz von Phialogics verwendet. Diese wird in präklinischen Modellen getestet und mit anderen in F&E befindlichen Molekülen und dem aktuellen Behandlungsstandard verglichen.
  • Dies ist ein wichtiger Schritt, um die innovative Technologie von Phialogics weiterzuentwickeln und neue Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für Patienten zu schaffen.

Basel, 19. April 2023 – Die Wiederherstellung des Gleichgewichts der Immunantwort ist für viele Patienten mit Autoimmunerkrankungen von zentraler Bedeutung. Dank einer innovativen und patentierten Technologie bietet Phialogics eine neue Antwort für diesen bestehenden medizinischen Bedarf.

Das Konzept basiert auf der gezielten Modifikation von Immunglobulin-Rezeptordomänen (IgVs), um die Immunantwort bei Entzündungserkrankungen zu modulieren. IgV-vermittelte Rezeptor-Ligand-Interaktionen stellen eine wertvolle Quelle für neue Biologics dar. Die von Phialogics bisher identifizierten Moleküle reproduzieren körpereigene Protein-Protein-Interaktionen, um die Funktion ihres Zielrezeptors effizient zu modulieren. Bisher kann nur Phialogics‘ einzigartige Plattformtechnologie ein derart hohes Maß an Präzision erreichen.

Bei den aktuellen Lead-Kandidaten handelt es sich um optimierte monospezifische Immunoglobulin-Domänen, die das Potenzial haben, zu bi-spezifischen Therapeutika erweitert zu werden. Dadurch kann eine Selektivität für entzündetes Gewebe und/oder krankheitsverursachende Immunzellen erreicht werden. Diese Strategie hat das Potenzial, neue Lösungen für Patienten zu bieten, die an Autoimmunerkrankungen leiden, indem die Immunantwort der Patienten bei den der Erkrankung zugrundeliegenden Entzündungsreaktionen wieder ins Gleichgewicht gebracht wird.

Für 2023 haben wir uns zum Ziel gesetzt, unsere Leitsubstanz weiterzuentwickeln, den Wirksamkeitsnachweis in präklinischen Modellen zu erbringen und sie mit der Standardtherapie zu vergleichen. Außerdem werden wir im Rahmen unseres neuen Entwicklungsprojektes unser Portfolio um neuartige, bi-spezifische Immun-Checkpoint-Modulatoren erweitern. Dies wird dank der HTGF-Finanzierungsrunde möglich sein.

Dr. Andreas Ernst, Mitgründer & CEO von Phialogics

Wir freuen uns, in das starke Team von Phialogics und ihren innovativen Ansatz zur Modulation der Immunantwort bei Entzündungskrankheiten zu investieren. Die einzigartige Plattform von Phialogics, die auf natürlich vorkommenden Rezeptor-Ligand-Interaktionen basiert, kombiniert mit einer erstklassigen Expertise in Protein-Engineering und tiefgreifenden Kenntnissen in der Immunologie, hat das Potenzial, neuartige Lösungen für Patienten zu bieten. Wir sind gespannt auf die Fortschritte, die das Unternehmen mit dieser Pre-Seed-Finanzierung machen wird.

Dr. Katharina Severin, Investment Managerin at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Team von Phialogics (Bild: Phialogics)

Über Phialogics
Phialogics ist ein innovatives Start-up im Bereich der Autoimmunerkrankungen. Die 2021 von weithin anerkannten Experten in Protein-Engineering und Immunologie gegründete Firma ist in Basel (CH) und Heidelberg (D) ansässig und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, einen entscheidenden Beitrag auf dem Gebiet der Autoimmunerkrankungen zu leisten. Das Gründerteam wird von einem starken wissenschaftlichen Beirat und Aufsichtsrat unterstützt.
https://www.phialogics.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de 

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
20. Juni 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane erhält 800.000€ in Pre-Seed-Finanzierung zur Revolutionierung von Software für klinische Studien

Carelane-Gründer Gustav Vella und Yannick Boerner (Foto: Carelane) Carelane sichert sich 800.000€: Carelane erhält 800.000€ als Pre-Seed Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, um ihre innovative Software für klinische Forschung in Europa und den USA an den Markt zu bringen. Innovative einheitliche Plattform: Um Ineffizienzen in klinischen Studien deutlich zu verringern, integriert Carelane viele Funktionen in einem System und setzt auf digitalisierte St
 
Presse
19. Juni 2024

Mehr als 5 Millionen Euro für die Zukunft der AI basierten B2B Video-Content-Creation: StoryBox sichert sich frisches Kapital mit „Video-first“ Ansatz

München, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, der Innovator im Bereich der KI-gestützten Video-Creation-Lösungen für Unternehmen, hat erfolgreich 5,5 Millionen Euro in einer Series A Runde eingesammelt. Angeführt wurde die Runde von Neuinvestor Wille Finance mit der Beteiligung der Bestandsinvestoren BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures und G8 Way Ventures. Das frische Kapital unterstützt StoryBox in seiner Mission, das Video-Creation-Management für Unternehmen zu revolutionieren.