Press

Operaize receives €1.5 million in seed capital to increase production efficiency and sustainability by leveraging AI

November 18, 2021

Cologne, November, 18th 2021 – Cologne-based start-up Operaize has successfully closed a seed financing round with three investors: High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) and NRW.BANK invest a total of 1.5 million euros in Operaize to accelerate the development of the AI-based product, drive the product market fit and to acquire new customers.

Operaize provides AI-based production planning that enables manufacturers to better manage the increasing complexity in their production and improve their overall planning quality significantly.

Many manufacturers are faced with the increasing complexity and uncertainty of global production networks, which is becoming more and more difficult to manage. AI powered production planning and control methods are able to deal much better with this challenge than conventional production planning software.

Franz Felsmann, Co-founder and CEO of Operaize

Operaize Cognitive Operations© significantly increases effectiveness and sustainability for manufacturers with Operaize’s next generation AI-powered production planning and scheduling solution. The solution is shaped by combining AI-based production planning knowledge representation, analytics and optimization methods enabling high quality planning and decision making in real time.

With Operaize, we address the core challenges of manufacturing companies to increase effectiveness and sustainability in production and thus strengthen business success while also addressing climate change.”

Franz Felsmann, Co-founder and CEO of Operaize

HTGF and FTTF are leading investors specialized in financing and supporting high-tech start-ups. As the state bank of North Rhine-Westphalia, NRW.BANK supports innovative and technology-driven start-ups that have a specific connection to North Rhine-Westphalia.

Operaize is the company that eliminates the remaining manual planning in the area of complex production planning. Complex production planning can now be optimized 100% software and AI based for the first time. We are therefore very pleased to be part of this success story.

Andreas Olmes, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds

We were involved as pre-seed investor from the very beginning and have worked very closely with the team since then. Therefore, we are now very pleased that Operaize has developed in such a positive way to attract seed venture capital.

Johann Siemes, Managing Director at FTTF

Production processes are becoming increasingly complex. The right software solution can help companies maintain an overview and thus increase productivity as well as sustainability. This is precisely the market need that Operaize addresses, which is why we are happy to support the start-up with seed capital.

Michael Stölting, Member of the Managing Board of NRW.BANK

About Operaize
Operaize is a Cologne-based AI startup specialized on AI-powered optimization of production planning & control. Operaize was founded in January 2020 by experienced industry managers with background in software & consulting businesses. Operaize develops together with leading Fraunhofer-institutes groundbreaking AI-technologies based on scientific breakthroughs and could already demonstrate in the chemical and food industries significant increases in effectiveness und in improved sustainability. Operaize currently employs 13 software developers and marketing experts and plans to grow with new customers and partners.

www.operaize.com

Contact
Alexander Kouril, Co-founder and CEO
Gürzenichstraße 27
50667 Köln
0151-55143222
Alexander.kouril@operaize.com

About Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF)
The Fraunhofer Technology Transfer Fund (FTTF) is an independent venture capital investor for young deep tech companies of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the first technology transfer fund in Germany. With a fund volume of EUR 60 million, FTTF finances start-ups in very early phases and is able to invest up to EUR 5 million per company. FTTF’s investors are Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the European Investment Fund (EIF). Since its launch in 2019, FTTF has invested in 24 start-ups pursuing innovative business models in a wide range of technology areas.

www.fttf.eu

Contact
Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF)
Kaufingerstr. 24
80331 München
Johann Siemes, Managing Director
johann.siemes@fttf.eu

About NRW.BANK
NRW.BANK is the promotional bank of North Rhine-Westphalia. Its mission is to support its owner – the state of North Rhine-Westphalia – in the completion of its structural and economic policy tasks. In its three fields of promotion “Economic Development”, “Housing Promotion” and “Infrastructure/Municipal Promotion”, NRW.BANK uses a wide range of promotion tools – from low-interest promotion loans to equity finance to advisory services. It cooperates with all banks and savings banks based in NRW on a competition-neutral basis. NRW.BANK takes into account the existing offers by the Federal Government, the North Rhine-Westphalian government and the European Union in the arrangement of its promotion.

www.nrwbank.de

Contact
Caroline Gesatzki
Kavalleriestraße 22
40213 Düsseldorf
Tel.: + 49 211 91741-1847
Mobil: + 49 151 15179261
caroline.gesatzki@nrwbank.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds

High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 140 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry For Economic Affairs and Energy, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

www.htgf.de/en

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Andreas Olmes, Principal
T. +49 160 90 370 779
a.olmes@htgf.de

More Press posts

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY raises €40m in a new funding round

Paris, France, 26 November 2021 - Less than two years after its creation and following the completion of a first seed round of funding worth €5.2M, ZE ENERGY, a French independent renewable energy producer operating hybrid solar power plants (photovoltaic and storage), announces the completion of a €40M Series B round of funding that will help bring the company to new heights. Backed by its initial investors, DEMETER, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), EverWatt and Ze Way Invest, the co
 
24. November 2021

Capital for Quantum cooling – kiutra closes another financing round

Munich, November 24th 2021 - To calculate and solve complex problems faster than currently possible with supercomputers, to exchange information securely against eavesdropping and to determine physical quantities such as pressure, time, position, speed and magnetic fields with unprecedented accuracy: These promises and more combined with an immense economic potential are some of the possibilities of the second generation of quantum technologies. As extremely low temperatures, close to th
 
10. November 2021

Nebula Biocides receives millions in seed funding

Great success for Nebula Biocides GmbH: Three investors decide to invest in the Greifswald-based start-up company. This brings the business a major step closer to its goal of obtaining approval for the highly effective disinfectant Sporosan® and finally placing it on the market. Greifswald, 10.11.2021 – With a total investment of 1.6 million euros, the start-up Nebula Biocides, founded in 2019, can now really take off: The approval of the novel disinfection process Sporosan® is suppo

Presse

Operaize erhält 1,5 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung zur Steigerung der Produktionseffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit durch den Einsatz von KI

18. November 2021

Köln, 18. November 2021 – Das Kölner Start-up Operaize hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit drei Investoren abgeschlossen: Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), der Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF) und die NRW.BANK investieren insgesamt 1,5 Millionen Euro in Operaize, um die Entwicklung des KI-basierten Produkts zu beschleunigen, die Marktfähigkeit des Produkts voranzutreiben und neue Kunden zu gewinnen.

Operaize bietet eine KI-basierte Produktionsplanung an, die es Herstellern ermöglicht, die zunehmende Komplexität in ihrer Produktion besser zu bewältigen und ihre Planungsqualität insgesamt deutlich zu verbessern.

Viele Hersteller sind mit der zunehmenden Komplexität und Unsicherheit globaler Produktionsnetzwerke konfrontiert, die immer schwieriger zu managen sind. KI-gestützte Produktionsplanungs- und -steuerungsmethoden sind in der Lage, diese Herausforderungen viel besser zu bewältigen als herkömmliche Produktionsplanungssoftware.

Franz Felsmann, Mitgründer und CEO von Operaize

Operaize Cognitive Operations© steigert die Effektivität und Nachhaltigkeit von Produktionsbetrieben mit der von Operaize entwickelten KI-gestützten Produktionsplanungs- und Scheduling-Software der nächsten Generation. Die Software kombiniert KI-basierte Wissensrepräsentation, Data Analytics und Optimierungsmethoden, die eine qualitativ hochwertige Planung und Entscheidungsfindung in Echtzeit ermöglichen.

Mit Operaize adressieren wir die Kernherausforderungen produzierender Unternehmen und ermöglichen die Effektivität und Nachhaltigkeit in der Produktion deutlich zu verbessern und damit den Geschäftserfolg insgesamt zu stärken und gleichzeitig dem Klimawandel besser zu bewältigen.

Franz Felsmann, Mitgründer und CEO von Operaize

HTGF und FTTF sind führende Investoren, die sich auf die Finanzierung und Förderung von Hightech-Start-ups spezialisiert haben. Als Landesbank des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen unterstützt die NRW.BANK innovative und technologiegetriebene Gründungen, die einen besonderen Bezug zu Nordrhein-Westfalen haben.

Operaize elimiert die verbleibende manuelle Planung im Bereich der komplexen Produktionsplanung. So kann komplexe Produktionsplanung nun erstmals zu 100% Software- und KI-basiert optimiert werden. Wir freuen uns sehr, Teil dieser Erfolgsgeschichte zu sein.

Andreas Olmes, Principal beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Wir waren von Anfang an als Pre-Seed-Investor dabei und haben seither sehr eng mit dem Team zusammengearbeitet. Daher freuen wir uns nun sehr, dass sich Operaize so positiv entwickelt hat, um Seed-Venture-Kapital anzuziehen.

Johann Siemes, Managing Director beim FTTF

Produktionsprozesse werden immer komplexer. Die richtige Softwarelösung kann Unternehmen dabei helfen, den Überblick zu behalten und damit die Produktivität sowie die Nachhaltigkeit zu steigern. Genau dieses Marktbedürfnis adressiert Operaize, weshalb wir das Start-up gerne mit Startkapital unterstützen.

Michael Stölting, Mitglied des Vorstandes der NRW.BANK

Über Operaize
Operaize ist ein KI-Startup mit Sitz in Köln, das sich auf die KI-gestützte Optimierung der Produktionsplanung und -steuerung spezialisiert hat. Operaize wurde im Januar 2020 von erfahrenen Managern aus der Industrie gegründet, die über Erfahrungen in der Software- und Beratungsbranche verfügen. Operaize entwickelt gemeinsam mit führenden Fraunhofer-Instituten bahnbrechende KI-Technologien auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und konnte bereits in der Chemie- und Lebensmittelindustrie signifikante Effektivitätssteigerungen und eine verbesserte Nachhaltigkeit erzielen und nachweisen. Operaize beschäftigt derzeit 13 Softwareentwickler und Marketingexperten und plant, mit neuen Kunden und Partnern deutlich  zu wachsen.

Kontakt
Alexander Kouril, Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer
Gürzenichstraße 27
50667 Köln
0151-55143222
E-Mail: Alexander.kouril@operaize.com
Web: www.operaize.com

Über den Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF)
Der Fraunhofer-Technologie-Transfer-Fonds (FTTF) ist ein unabhängiger Risikokapitalgeber für junge Deep-Tech-Unternehmen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der erste Technologietransferfonds in Deutschland. Mit einem Fondsvolumen von 60 Millionen Euro finanziert der FTTF Start-ups in sehr frühen Phasen und kann bis zu 5 Millionen Euro pro Unternehmen investieren. Die Investoren des FTTF sind die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der Europäische Investitionsfonds (EIF). Seit seinem Start im Jahr 2019 hat FTTF in 24 Start-ups investiert, die innovative Geschäftsmodelle in einer Vielzahl von Technologiebereichen verfolgen.

www.fttf.eu

Kontakt
Fraunhofer Technologie-Transfer Fonds (FTTF)
Kaufingerstr. 24
80331 München
Johann Siemes, Managing Director
johann.siemes@fttf.eu

Über die NRW.BANK
Die NRW.BANK ist die Förderbank des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen. Ihr Auftrag ist es, ihren Eigentümer – das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen – bei der Erfüllung seiner struktur- und wirtschaftspolitischen Aufgaben zu unterstützen. In ihren drei Förderbereichen “Wirtschaftsförderung”, “Wohnraumförderung” und “Infrastruktur-/Kommunalförderung” setzt die NRW.BANK ein breites Spektrum an Förderinstrumenten ein – von zinsgünstigen Förderkrediten über Beteiligungsfinanzierungen bis hin zu Beratungsleistungen. Sie kooperiert wettbewerbsneutral mit allen in NRW ansässigen Banken und Sparkassen. Die NRW.BANK berücksichtigt bei der Ausgestaltung ihrer Förderung die bestehenden Angebote des Bundes, des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Europäischen Union.

Kontakt
Caroline Gesatzki
Kavalleriestraße 22
40213 Düsseldorf
Tel.: + 49 211 91741-1847
Mobil: + 49 151 15179261
caroline.gesatzki@nrwbank.de
www.nrwbank.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 140 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investoren
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Andreas Olmes, Principal
T. +49 160 90 370 779
a.olmes@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

26. November 2021

ZE ENERGY sammelt 40 Millionen Euro in einer neuen Finanzierungsrunde ein

Paris, Frankreich, 26 November 2021 - Weniger als zwei Jahre nach ihrer Gründung und nach Abschluss einer ersten Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 5,2 Mio. Euro gibt ZE ENERGY, ein unabhängiger französischer Hersteller von erneuerbaren Energien, der hybride Solarkraftwerke (Photovoltaik und Speicherung) betreibt, den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 40 Mio. Euro bekannt. Neben den Altinvestoren DEMETER, HTGF, EverWatt und Ze Way Invest kann das Unternehmen nun
 
24. November 2021

Kapital für Quantenkühlung – kiutra schließt weitere Finanzierungsrunde ab

München, 24. November 2021 - Komplexe Probleme viel schneller zu berechnen als es heute mit den besten Supercomputern möglich ist, Information abhörsicher auszutauschen und physikalische Größen wie Druck, Zeit, Position, Geschwindigkeit und magnetische Felder mit nie dagewesener Genauigkeit zu bestimmen. Das und mehr versprechen Quantentechnologien der zweiten Generation – und bieten damit zugleich ein riesiges wirtschaftliches Potenzial. Weil für ihre technische Nutzung fast imm
 
10. November 2021

Nebula Biocides erhält Seed-Finanzierung in Millionenhöhe

Großer Erfolg für die Nebula Biocides GmbH: Gleich drei Investoren entscheiden sich für die Beteiligung an dem Greifswalder Jungunternehmen. Damit kommt das Start-up seinem Ziel, der Zulassung und Markteinführung des hochwirksamen Desinfektionsmittels Sporosan®, einen bedeutenden Schritt näher. Greifswald, 11.11.2021 – Mit einer Investition von insgesamt 1,6 Millionen Euro kann das 2019 gegründete Start-up Nebula Biocides nun so richtig durchstarten: Die Zulassung des neuartigen