Press

Educate machines to read: Deep-Tech Startup Natif.ai secures seed financing

September 10, 2020

The Saarbrücken-based Deep-Tech Startup Natif.ai announces the successful closing of a seven-digit financing round with the lead investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF). Thanks to revolutionary AI models and a self-developed Deep-OCR, various documents can be analyzed extremely quickly, accurately and relevant data can be extracted. Natif.ai thus enables a fast and efficient way to productively bring artificial intelligence into the economy. With this financing, the founding team is investing in personnel and infrastructure to meet the strong market demand.

Artificial intelligence and the automation of business processes is an exciting field for investors, large companies and software providers, especially in times of crisis. Natif.ai has developed revolutionary AI models that help companies and business software providers to significantly optimize document-based processes and reduce costs.

The experienced team of founders in combination with a superior technology that delivers significantly better capturing rates than all competing products convinced us. We are pleased to be able to accompany and support natif.ai in its further expansion.

Christian Arndt, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

 It has never been more important to map processes in a lean, cost-efficient and digital way. No company can afford to give away resources. By analyzing invoices with unprecedented speed and accuracy and extracting relevant data, our customers can reduce the associated costs by up to 90% – even compared to previous solutions on the market.

co-founder Johannes Korves

This is particularly important for banks, retailers as well as insurance companies and opens up completely new ways of using data.

The experienced team of founders had already proven before that they can successfully build up start-ups and lead them to an exit. The serial entrepreneur Christophe Hocquet and Johannes Korves were significantly responsible for the sale of Brille24 as managing directors and most recently led the digital online business in Germany at the listed company Essilor-Luxottica. Their co-founder, Manuel Zapp, was in charge of the research and development department and consistently focused on the use of artificial intelligence, having previously worked at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI). There he accompanied machine learning projects for DAX companies. The founding team is completed by Berenger Laurent, the former CTO for the international business of Brille24 and in a leading position at the technology department of BNP Paribas.

The start-up was founded in Saarbrücken and is an official spin-off of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), which is also known beyond Germany for its expertise in the field of artificial intelligence.

The German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) and Saarland University offer excellent opportunities to be successful in a highly complex market, to access the latest developments from research and the academic world and to attract talented people in the field of machine learning to the company at an early stage.

co-founder Manuel Zapp

The funds from the financing round will be used both to scale up the development team at the Saarbrücken site and to expand the market.

About Natif.ai
Natif.ai is a deep-tech start-up in the field of intelligent document process automation (IDP). Thanks to high-performance AI models and a self-developed Deep-OCR, a wide variety of documents can be analyzed extremely quick, accurate and relevant data is extracted. Natif.ai provides a fast and efficient way to productively bring artificial intelligence into the economy. It was founded by a German-French team and is an official spin-off of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI).

Contact
Natif.ai GmbH
Campus A1 1
66123, Saarbrücken
Johannes Korves
T.: + 49 172 153 13 76
Johannes.korves@natif.ai

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge almost 600 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected over EUR 2.6 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,600 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 100 companies.

Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and 32 companies. Our Fund Investors
www.htgf.de/en

Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Arndt, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 171
c.arndt@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Team GlassDollar
31. May 2023

GlassDollar connects leading corporations to cutting-edge startups to build the world of tomorrow

GlassDollar raises €2M (led by HTGF) to match startup solutions to corporate challenges and design the world of tomorrow. Through data, software and operational support, GlassDollar provides a Venture Clienting OS that helps corporate innovators use startup solutions to achieve tangible impact — on their organization and the world. Customers include leading innovation units at Bosch Siemens home-appliances, Volkswagen, A2A, LG, MTU and Infineon. In March, GlassDollar closed a
 
Press
30. May 2023

A European champion for fusion: Proxima Fusion spins out of the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics

Munich, May 30th 2023 - Proxima Fusion, a fusion start-up that is designing fusion power plants based on the stellarator concept, completed its pre-seed fundraising of €7m. The fundraising is co-led by Plural and UVC Partners, and joined by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and the Wilbe Group. Proxima Fusion is the first spin-out from the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP). The startup was founded by former scientists and engineers from the Max Planck IPP, MIT, and Google-X. Th
 
Press
23. May 2023

smartbax Announces Seed Financing of €1.2 Million to Develop Next-generation Antibiotics

Munich, Germany, May 23, 2023 – smartbax, a biotech company developing next-generation antibiotics against multi-drug resistant bacteria, today announced the close of its seed financing round of €1.2 million from Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) and High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bringing smartbax’s total capital raised to €1.9 million. The funds will be used to advance smartbax’s small molecule antibiotics through preclinical studies, expand the company’s scientific tea

Presse

Computern das Lesen beibringen: Deep-Tech Startup Natif.ai sichert sich Seed-Finanzierung

10. September 2020

Das Saarbrücker Deep-Tech Startup Natif.ai gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer siebenstelligen Finanzierungsrunde mit dem Lead-Investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Dank revolutionärer KI-Modelle und einer selbst entwickelten Deep-OCR können verschiedenste Dokumente extrem schnell und genau analysiert sowie relevante Daten extrahiert werden. Natif.ai ermöglicht somit einen schnellen und effizienten Weg, um künstliche Intelligenz produktiv in die Wirtschaft zu bringen.  Mit der Finanzierung investiert das Gründer-Team in Personal und Infrastruktur, um der starken Marktnachfrage gerecht werden zu können.

Künstliche Intelligenz und die Automatisierung von Geschäftsprozessen ist insbesondere in Krisenzeiten ein spannendes Feld für Investoren, Großunternehmen und Software-Anbieter. Natif.ai hat revolutionäre KI Modelle entwickelt, die Unternehmen, sowie Business Software Anbieter unterstützt, Dokumenten-basierte Prozesse signifikant zu optimieren und Kosten zu senken.

Das erfahrene Gründerteam in Kombination mit einer überlegenen Technologie, die signifikant bessere Capturing-Rates als alle Konkurrenzprodukte liefert, haben uns überzeugt. Wir freuen uns, natif.ai bei der weiteren Expansion begleiten und unterstützen zu können.

Christian Arndt, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Es war noch nie so wichtig, Prozesse schlank, kosteneffizient und digital abzubilden. Kein Unternehmen kann es sich leisten, Ressourcen zu verschenken. Indem wir Rechnungen in nicht dagewesener Geschwindigkeit und Genauigkeit analysieren und relevante Daten extrahieren, können unsere Kunden die damit verbundenen Kosten um bis zu 90% reduzieren – auch gegenüber bisheriger Lösungen am Markt.

Co-Gründer Johannes Korves

Dies ist vor allem für Banken, Handelsunternehmen aber auch für Versicherungen von großer Bedeutung und ermöglicht ganz neue Wege, Daten zu nutzen.

Das erfahrene Gründer-Team hatte schon zuvor bewiesen, dass sie Start-ups erfolgreich aufbauen und zum Exit führen können. Der Serial Entrepreneur Christophe Hocquet sowie Johannes Korves waren für den Verkauf von Brille24 als Geschäftsführer maßgeblich verantwortlich und führten zuletzt das digitale Online-Geschäft in Deutschland bei dem börsennotierten Unternehmen Essilor-Luxottica. Ihr Co-Gründer Manuel Zapp leitete dort die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung und setze dort konsequent auf den Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz, nachdem er zuvor beim Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) tätig war. Dort begleitete er Machine Learning Projekte bei DAX Unternehmen. Vervollständigt wird das Gründer-Team von Berenger Laurent, seines Zeichens der vorherige CTO für das internationale Geschäft von Brille24 und in leitender Position bei der Technologie-Abteilung von BNP Paribas.

Gegründet wurde das Startup in Saarbrücken und ist ein offizielles Spin-off des Deutschen Forschungsinstituts für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI). Dieses ist auch über Deutschland hinaus für seine Expertise im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz bekannt.

Das Deutsche Forschungsinstitut für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) und die Universität des Saarlandes bieten hervorragende Möglichkeiten, um in einem hochkomplexen Markt erfolgreich zu sein, auf die letzten Entwicklungen aus Forschung und akademischer Welt zuzugreifen und frühzeitig Talente im Bereich Machine Learning für das Unternehmen zu gewinnen.

Gründer Manuel Zapp

Die Mittel der Finanzierungsrunde werden sowohl für die Erweiterung des Entwicklungsteam am Standort Saarbrücken als auch für die weitere Marktexpansion genutzt.

Über Natif.ai
Natif.ai ist ein Deep-Tech Startup, im Bereich der intelligenten Dokumenten Prozessautomation (IDP). Dank hoch performanten KI-Modellen und einer selbst entwickelten Deep-OCR können verschiedenste Dokumente extrem schnell und genau analysiert sowie relevante Daten extrahiert werden. Natif.ai ermöglicht somit einen schnellen und effizienten Weg, um künstliche Intelligenz produktiv in die Wirtschaft zu bringen. Gründet wurde das Unternehmen von einem Deutsch-Französischen Team und ist ein offizielles Spin-Off des Deutschen Forschungsinstitut für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI).

Kontakt
Natif.ai GmbH
Campus A1 1
66123, Saarbrücken
Johannes Korves
T.: + 49 172 153 13 76
Johannes.korves@natif.ai

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 fast 600 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Über 2,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.600 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 100 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die 32 Unternehmen. Unsere Fondsinvestoren
https://www.htgf.de/de/

Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Christian Arndt, Investment Manager
T.: +49 (0) 228 82300 – 171
c.arndt@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
9. August 2022

Mobile Learning Start-up doinstruct erhält siebenstellige Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Born2Grow

Mitarbeiterschulung, Integration und Kommunikation neu gedacht: doinstruct entwickelt eine niedrigschwellige, mehrsprachige, mobile Schulungslösung für Frontlineworker. Die Software ermöglicht es Unternehmen, ihre Mitarbeitenden sowie Dienstleister lieferkettenübergreifend und ortsunabhängig auf dem Smartphone zu schulen. Mit den neuen, starken Partnern möchte doinstruct die Mitarbeiterschulung in Unternehmen revolutionieren und die Produktentwicklung sowie die Expansion des Unternehme
 
Presse
27. Juli 2022

Energiewende-Startup node.energy erhält 7 Mio. Euro in Series-A-Finanzierung

Insgesamt vier neue Investoren steigen in das Unternehmen ein und auch Bestandsinvestoren wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und renommierte Business Angels bringen erneut frisches Kapital ein. Die Auswahl der vier neuen Investoren der Series-A erfolgte dabei ganz bewusst. So wird die Finanzierungsrunde angeführt vom Kölner VC BitStone Capital, dem führenden PropTech Fund mit starker Expertise in der Immobilienbranche. Als Co-Investoren bringen die 10x Founders umfassende Erfahrung
 
Presse
12. Juli 2022

Embedded-Security-Startup Emproof sichert sich 2 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung von europäischem Investorenkonsortium

Eindhoven/Bochum, 12. Juni 2022 – Emproof B.V. hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde über 2 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen, die es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht, seine Produktpalette weiter auszubauen und Kunden in Europa und den USA zu bedienen. Angeführt wird die Finanzierungsrunde von der niederländischen Investmentgesellschaft TIIN Capital über ihren Dutch Security TechFund, zusammen mit dem deutschen High-Tech Gründerfonds und dem französischen Venture-Capital-Fonds Cyber Imp