Mosanna Therapeutics Announces a Seed Extension Financing Round to Complete Preparations to Enter the Clinic with MOS-118 in Metabolic Obstructive Sleep Apnea

April 11, 2023

  • Company pursuing a highly differentiated small molecule MOS-118 in Metabolic Obstructive Sleep Apnea.
  • New investors, Supermoon Capital and HTGF, join founding investor Forty51 Ventures to complete the Seed syndicate.
  • Company will use the funds to file an IND in preparation for a proof of mechanism and proof of concept in the clinic.

Basel, Switzerland, April 11, 2023Mosanna Therapeutics AG, a Swiss Biotech company today announced that Supermoon Capital, a US based venture capital fund specializing in sleep, and the German investment firm, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), have invested in a Seed Extension round. The duo joins founding investor Forty51 Ventures to complete the Seed stage investment syndicate.

Founded in 2022, Mosanna has quickly established a specialist core team and a reputable advisory Board and is on-track to submit an IND by the end of 2023. The company will utilize the funds for manufacturing and regulatory activities in preparation for a multi-study clinical development program.

We are extremely pleased with the data we are seeing in the lab and the technical performance of the product and this additional financing is testament to the potential the team sees for this to translate into significant clinical benefit for Sleep Apnea patients.

Jonathan Talbot, Co-Founder and CEO of Mosanna

Jonathan Talbot, Co-Founder and CEO of Mosanna

Sleep Apnea therapy has historically been limited to a small handful of products that many patients find uncomfortable and undesirable. Mosanna’s unique approach will expand the range of Sleep Apnea treatment options and provide therapy in a familiar, user-friendly modality.

Mike Masterson, Co-Founder of Supermoon

This is a new frontier for Sleep Apnea and we are absolutely confident Mosanna will successfully develop MOS-118 and redefine standard of care. We are incredibly excited for Mosanna’s truly novel therapeutic approach to enter the clinics early in 2024.

Laura Pedroza, Investment Manager at HTGF

Mosanna Therapeutics was co-founded by Forty51 Ventures, a Biotech Venture Capital fund focused on company formation in Biotech and its CEO, Jonathan Talbot. Forty51 Ventures led the Seed Financing.

VISCHER advises Mosanna Therapeutics AG since its incorporation on all Swiss legal matters. The VISCHER team includes Matthias Staehelin (Partner) and Timothy Woodtli (Associate), both Corporate/M&A.

About Metabolic Obstructive Sleep Apnea

MOSA is characterized by obstruction of the upper airway during sleep that occurs when the muscles that support the soft tissues in the throat temporarily relax. Breathing is impaired or completely prevented causing blood oxygen levels to drop below the normal range. Low oxygen levels increase cardiac load and stress the nervous system which if left untreated increases significantly the risk for cardiovascular mortality. MOSA can also result in excessive daytime sleepiness and memory or concentration problems. Hundreds of millions of people around the globe are affected by MOSA.

For further info please visit www.mosanna.com or email info@mosanna.com

Contact: Jonathan Talbot, info@mosanna.com, +41 61 311 05 38

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies. 

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Mosanna Therapeutics erweitert Finanzierungsrunde in Millionenhöhe für die Entwicklung von MOS-118 zur Behandlung der metabolischen obstruktiven Schlafapnoe bis zur Klinik

11. April 2023

  • Mosanna entwickelt MOS-118, ein hocheffizientes Small Molecule zur Behandlung der metabolischen obstruktiven Schlafapnoe.
  • Die Investoren Supermoon Capital und HTGF vervollständigen das Seed-Konsortium um den Company Builder Forty51 Ventures.
  • Die Finanzierungsrunde ermöglicht das Einreichen des IND-Antrages in Vorbereitung für den Nachweis des Wirkmechanismus und des Proof-of-Concepts in der Klinik.

Basel, Schweiz, 11. April 2023 – Mosanna Therapeutics AG, ein Schweizer Biotech-Unternehmen, gibt die Erweiterung der Seedrunde durch die Investoren Supermoon Capital, ein auf Schlaf spezialisierter Risikokapitalfonds mit Sitz in den USA, und den deutschen Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) bekannt. Das Duo schließt sich dem Leadinvestor Forty51 Ventures an und vervollständigt damit das Konsortium in der Seed-Phase.

In 2022 gegründet, ist es Mosanna in kurzer Zeit gelungen ein spezialisiertes Kernteam und einen angesehenen Beirat aufzubauen und plant bis Ende 2023 einen IND-Antrag zu stellen. Das Unternehmen wird die Finanzierung für Herstellungs- und Zulassungsaktivitäten zur Vorbereitung eines klinischen Entwicklungsprogrammes nutzen.

Wir sind sehr zufrieden mit den experimentellen Daten und mit der technischen Leistung des Produktes. Diese zusätzliche Finanzierung ist ein Beleg für den erheblichen klinischen Nutzen, den das Team für Schlafapnoe-Patienten sieht.

Jonathan Talbot, Mitbegründer und CEO von Mosanna

Jonathan Talbot, Mitbegründer und CEO von Mosanna

Die Therapie von Schlafapnoe war bisher auf eine Handvoll Produkte beschränkt, die viele Patienten als unangenehm und unerwünscht empfinden. Mosannas einzigartiger Ansatz wird das Spektrum der Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für Schlafapnoe erweitern und in einer vertrauten, benutzerfreundlichen Form anbieten.

Mike Masterson, Mitbegründer von Supermoon

Wir sind absolut zuversichtlich, dass Mosanna MOS-118 erfolgreich entwickeln und den Standard der Behandlung von Schlafapnoe neu definieren wird“, erläuterte. Wir freuen uns sehr darauf, dass Mosannas wirklich neuartiger therapeutischer Ansatz Anfang 2024 in die klinische Phase eintreten wird.

Laura Pedroza, Investment Managerin beim HTGF

Mosanna Therapeutics wurde von Forty51 Ventures, einem neuen Biotech-Venture-Capital-Fonds, der sich auf Unternehmensgründungen in der Biotechnologie konzentriert, und seinem CEO, Jonathan Talbot, mitbegründet. Forty51 Ventures führte die Seed-Finanzierung an.

Über Metabolisch Obstruktive Schlafapnoe

MOSA ist durch eine Obstruktion der oberen Atemwege während des Schlafs gekennzeichnet, die auftritt, wenn sich die Muskeln, welche die Weichteile im Rachen stützen, vorübergehend erschlaffen. Die Atmung wird beeinträchtigt oder verhindert, so dass der Sauerstoffgehalt im Blut unter den Normalbereich sinkt. Niedrige Sauerstoffwerte erhöhen die Herzbelastung und haben negative Auswirkungen auf das Nervensystem. Dies erhöht unbehandelt das Risiko für kardiovaskuläre Mortalität deutlich. MOSA kann auch zu übermäßiger Tagesmüdigkeit und Gedächtnis- oder Konzentrationsproblemen führen. Hunderte von Millionen Menschen auf der ganzen Welt sind von MOSA betroffen.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte www.mosanna.com oder per E-Mail info@mosanna.com
Kontakt: Jonathan Talbot, info@mosanna.com, +41 61 311 05 38

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de 

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
10. Juni 2024

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen. Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 i