MedTech startup HBOX Therapies receives €2.3m in seed funding for protective lung support

February 22, 2023

  • The medtech start-up develops innovative treatment method for patients with lung failure.
  • HBOX Therapies receives €2.3 million in seed funding from TechVision Fonds (TVF), High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and business angel Prof. Dr. Peter Borges.
  • The fresh capital will be used to develop and test a first prototype, marking an important step towards clinical trials.

Aachen, 22 February 2023 – HBOX Therapies raises €2.3m in seed funding. The round is led by TVF, with participation from HTGF and business angel Professor Borges. The medtech startup has developed a technology that facilitates lung-protective treatment of respiratory patients.

The fresh capital will be used to develop a prototype and thus take a big step towards clinical testing. This is a prerequisite for CE certification to make the technology available to patients with lung failure as quickly as possible.

Our process offers many advantages over existing methods. It ensures that physicians do not have to switch to invasive ventilation at all, or at a later time. This potentially reduces the patient’s length of stay, weaning time and risk of death.

Dr. Peter Schlanstein, co-founder of HBOX Therapies

First alternative to invasive ventilation

For a less invasive treatment option compared to established treatment methods, the Aachen researchers developed the patented platform technology HBOX (Hyperbaric Blood Oxygenation): As in conventional ECMO therapies, oxygen is administered directly into the blood, thereby relieving the lungs. What makes HBOX unique is the fact that the exchange of carbon dioxide and oxygen requires much smaller volumes of blood due to the increased pressure level. This makes the treatment less invasive and allows patients to be awake and breathing spontaneously during treatment. Additionally, the HBOX technology can be combined with established non-invasive or invasive mechanical ventilation (NIV or IMV) and used earlier than current ECMO procedures.

Prospectively, this technology not only protects patients from the many secondary damages of invasive ventilation, it can also relieve the healthcare system by reducing prolonged periods of disease and even deaths.

Bernhard Kugel, Managing Director of TVF

We are convinced that HBOX Therapies’ technology will bring great benefits to patients by preventing invasive ventilation as long as possible. The professional founding team pursues its goals with strong commitment and combines the best prerequisites for an efficient realisation.

Dr. Caroline Fichtner, Principal at HTGF

HBOX Founding team
Founding team of HBOX Therapies: from left to right Dr. Peter Schlanstein, Niklas Steuer and Dr. Matthias Menne

About HBOX Therapies
HBOX Therapies has developed a technology that facilitates lung-protective treatment of respiratory patients, the patented platform technology HBOX (Hyperbaric Blood Oxygenation). The management team of HBOX Therapies consists of the founders and shareholders Dr. Peter Schlanstein, Dr. Matthias Menne and Niklas Steuer. Before founding the company, they worked together for many years at the Institute for Applied Medical Technology (AME) at RWTH Aachen University and are highly specialized in their fields.

Contact: info@hbox-therapies.com

About TVF
TechVision Fund (TVF) is the leading early-stage VC fund in the western Rhineland area in Germany. TVF is the third venture fund managed by the S-UBG Group team and invests regionally in technology startups with a fund volume of € 55 million. As one of the most experienced investors, TVF supports founders with proximity, network, expertise and paves the way to becoming the next international category leader. In addition, TVF offers unique access to the “old economy” via the S-UBG Group, giving young startups access to their first potential customers in the crucial early phase. The network includes over 150 successful portfolio companies resulting from 30 years of investment experience.

TVF – Brain | Cash | Proximity

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 690 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
s.grueter@htgf.de
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

MedTech Startup HBOX Therapies erhält 2,3 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für schonende Lungenunterstützung

22. Februar 2023

  • Das MedTech Startup entwickelt innovative Behandlungsmethode für Patienten mit Lungenversagen.
  • HBOX Therapies erhält 2,3. Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung vom TechVision Fonds (TVF), High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Business Angel Prof. Dr. Peter Borges.
  • Mit dem neuen Kapital wird ein Prototyp entwickelt und getestet, ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung klinische Prüfung.

Aachen, 22. Februar 2023HBOX Therapies erhält eine Seed-Finanzierung in Höhe von 2,3 Mio. €. Angeführt wird die Runde vom TVF, unter Beteiligung des HTGF und Business Angel Professor Borges. Das MedTech Startup hat eine Technologie entwickelt, die eine lungenschonende Behandlung von Beatmungspatienten ermöglicht.

Das frische Kapital wird für die Entwicklung eines Prototyps verwendet, der einen wichtigen Baustein auf dem Weg zur klinischen Prüfung darstellt. Diese ist eine Voraussetzung für die CE-Zertifizierung, um die Technologie so schnell wie möglich für Patienten mit Lungenversagen zugänglich zu machen.

Unser Verfahren bietet im Vergleich zu den bisherigen Methoden viele Vorteile. Sie sorgt dafür, dass Ärzte gar nicht oder erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt auf die invasive Beatmung umstellen müssen. Das reduziert potenziell die Liegedauer, die Entwöhnungszeit und das Sterberisiko der Patienten.

Dr. Peter Schlanstein, Co-Gründer von HBOX Therapies

Erste Alternative zur invasiven Beatmung

Für eine schonendere Sauerstoffversorgung im Vergleich zu etablierten Behandlungsmethoden entwickelten die Aachener Forscher die patentierte Plattformtechnologie HBOX (Hyperbaric Blood Oxygenation): Wie bei herkömmlichen ECMO-Therapien wird Sauerstoff direkt ins Blut verabreicht und die Lunge dadurch entlastet. Einzigartig ist, dass der Austausch von Kohlenstoffdioxid und Sauerstoff durch das erhöhte Druckniveau wesentlich kleinere Blutvolumina erfordert. Dies macht die Behandlung weniger invasiv und ermöglicht, dass die Patienten während der Behandlung wach sind und spontan atmen können. Die HBOX-Technologie kann dadurch auch mit der etablierten nicht-invasiven oder invasiven mechanischen Ventilation (NIV oder IMV) kombiniert werden und zu früheren Zeitpunkten angewandt werden als bisherige ECMO-Verfahren.

Diese Technologie schützt perspektivisch nicht nur Patienten vor den vielen Begleitschäden der invasiven Beatmung – sie kann auch unser Gesundheitssystem entlasten, indem sie langwierige Krankheitsverläufe bis hin zu Sterbefällen reduziert.

Bernhard Kugel, Geschäftsführer des TVF

Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Technologie der HBOX Therapies einen großen Nutzen für die Patienten bringt, indem sie eine invasive Beatmung so lange wie möglich verhindert. Das professionelle Gründerteam verfolgt seine Ziele mit hohem Engagement und bringt die besten Voraussetzungen für die effiziente Umsetzung mit.

Dr. Caroline Fichtner, Principal beim HTGF

HBOX Founding team
Gründerteam von HBOX Therapies: v. l. n. r. Dr. Peter Schlanstein, Niklas Steuer und Dr. Matthias Menne

Über HBOX Therapies
Die HBOX Therapies GmbH entwickelt eine innovative Behandlungsmethode für Patienten mit Lungenversagen, die patentierte Plattformtechnologie HBOX (Hyperbaric Blood Oxygenation). Das Management-Team besteht aus den Gründern und Gesellschaftern Dr. Peter Schlanstein, Dr. Matthias Menne und Niklas Steuer. Vor der Gründung arbeiteten die Gründer viele Jahre am Institut für Angewandte Medizintechnik der RWTH Aachen zusammen und sind in ihren Bereichen hochspezialisiert.

Contact: info@hbox-therapies.com

Über TVF
Der TechVision Fonds (TVF) ist der führende Frühphasen-VC-Fonds im Rheinland. TVF ist der dritte vom Team der S-UBG Gruppe gemanagte Venture-Fonds und investiert mit einem Fondsvolumen von 55 Millionen Euro regional in Technologie-Startups. Als einer der erfahrensten Investoren unterstützt TVF-Gründer mit Nähe, Netzwerk und Expertise und ebnet ihnen den Weg zum nächsten internationalen Branchenführer. Darüber hinaus bietet TVF über die S-UBG Gruppe einen einzigartigen Zugang zur „Old Economy“, der jungen Startups in der entscheidenden Frühphase den Zugang zu ersten potenziellen Kunden ermöglicht. Das Netzwerk umfasst über 150 erfolgreiche Portfoliounternehmen aus 30 Jahren Investitionserfahrung.

TVF – Brain | Cash | Proximity

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 690 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech-Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
s.grueter@htgf.de
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
28. Mai 2024

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zähl
 
Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v