Press

Graswald closes €1.25 million seed round led by Lakestar and HTGF to develop highly realistic and scalable 3D worlds for the metaverse

June 9, 2022

Hanover, June 9th, 2022 – Graswald has raised €1.25 million funding to accelerate developments of its 3D content platform for the photorealistic virtualization of nature. The seed round was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) together with Lakestar and renowned business angels and affirms Graswald’s vision to provide photoreal 3D ecosystems to breathe life into the metaverse.


The Hanover-based start-up has been setting new standards in the creation of natural, digital 3D worlds for the entertainment industry since its first product launch in the summer of 2018. The digital nature developed by Graswald is used worldwide, especially for movies and series, video games, animations and visualizations (e.g. architecture, products). Both corporate clients and private users can use it to breathe life into their 3D scenes. In doing so, users can access a constantly growing library containing digital copies of real vegetation that are almost indistinguishable from their real-world counterparts. Graswald’s ecosystem tool allows users to create an entire forest from individual 3D plants in just a few minutes.

In 2016, founder Julius Harling started Graswald as a side project during his exchange semester in Canada. It quickly became the standard in nature creation in the 3D software Blender. With over 15,000 users and a globally active community, Graswald enables 3D studios and 3D artists to easily create photorealistic 3D worlds. The investment will be used to create more content and to transform Graswald into a platform.    

Graswald
Real or computer-generated? This question often cannot be answered for the 3D worlds created with Graswald – the digital forest seems so natural. (Image: Graswald)

We are convinced that 3D will be the next big medium due to its interactivity. However, creating 3D content, and three-dimensional worlds in particular, is still a very expensive, complex and time-consuming endeavour that is largely done by hand. Through our ecosystem approach and automated production pipeline, we enable the creation of 3D worlds in minutes instead of weeks.

Graswald Founder and CEO, Julius Harling

Graswald has taken a unique and powerful approach to 3D technology. They are in the perfect place to play a critical role in expanding 3D technologies from the entertainment sector into even larger markets and our daily lives.

Lakestar Managing Partner, Mika Salmi

In addition to the compelling technology in a dynamic market environment, we were particularly convinced by the young team’s ability to generate strong market interest and build a vibrant community with minimal resources. With the investment, we now want to further boost this great development.

Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

About Graswald GmbH
Graswald is digitalizing nature for the entertainment industry. Using digital ecosystems created by Graswald, 3D studios and individual users can create complete 3D worlds within minutes. The photorealistic 3D digital habitats have been used for visual effects in film & television, video games, product and architectural visualizations, commercials and animated films, and synthetic training data generation since 2018. Clients and partners include hobbyist designers and freelancers as well as large enterprise clients (including Amazon Games, NVIDIA, and Autodesk)
https://www.graswald3d.com/

Contact
Graswald GmbH
Julius Harling, Gründer und CEO
support@graswald3d.com

About Lakestar
Lakestar’s mission is to find, fund and grow disruptive businesses – enabled by technology – that are founded by exceptional entrepreneurs in Europe and beyond. Founded by Klaus Hommels, the team’s early investments include Skype, Spotify, Facebook and Airbnb. Since raising its first fund in 2012, Lakestar manages an aggregated volume of over €1.2bn across three early stage funds and a growth fund. 
The team actively advises and supports portfolio companies in marketing, recruitment, technology, product development and regulatory insight, accompanying founders from seed to early stage to growth stage or exit. Lakestar currently has the privilege of holding investments in Revolut, Blockchain.com, Opendoor, Oscar, GetYourGuide, sennder, Eigen, Public.com, SoFi, Solarisbank, Uncapped, Yapily, Terra Quantum, accuRx, Rhino, ZEBEDEE and Hometogo to name a few. Lakestar has presence in Berlin, Zurich and London.  Visit Lakestar on LinkedIn and their website www.lakestar.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager
d.lohle@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
7. July 2022

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the
 
Press
28. June 2022

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes becomes part of the team.blue family

Bonn, 28 June 2022 - team.blue, a leading digital enabler for companies and entrepreneurs, announced that the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) portfolio company Raidboxes, a leading WordPress hosting provider, is joining its growing group of companies. HTGF is selling its stake after having closely supported the team led by Johannes Benz and Torben Simon Meier since 2016. team.blue supports local entrepreneurs and small businesses, enabling them to build, grow, and scale online. As a ma
 
Press
22. June 2022

TechVision Fonds I and High-Tech Gründerfonds invest in textile recycling startup EEDEN

Textile recycling rethought: Innovative process enables upcycling of old clothing Aachen, 22 June 2022 - TechVision Fonds I, together with High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and a business angel, are the first investors to invest in EEDEN. The startup from Moenchengladbach, Germany has developed an innovative process for the sustainable and environmentally friendly recycling of clothing and other textile products. With the financing, EEDEN plans to further expand their R&D-activities and

Presse

Graswald erhält 1,25 Mio. € in einer von Lakestar und HTGF angeführten Seed-Runde, um hochrealistische und skalierbare 3D-Welten für das Metaverse zu entwickeln

9. Juni 2022

Hannover, 9. Juni 2022 – Graswald hat eine Finanzierung in Höhe von 1,25 Millionen Euro erhalten, um die Entwicklung seiner 3D-Content-Plattform für die fotorealistische Virtualisierung von Natur zu beschleunigen. Die Seed-Runde wurde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) zusammen mit Lakestar und renommierten Business Angels angeführt und bestärkt Graswalds Vision, fotorealistische 3D-Ökosysteme bereitzustellen, um dem Metaverse Leben einzuhauchen.


Das in Hannover ansässige Start-up setzt seit seinem ersten Produktlaunch im Sommer 2018 neue Maßstäbe bei der Erzeugung natürlicher, digitaler 3D-Welten für die Unterhaltungsindustrie. Die von Graswald entwickelte digitale Natur wird vor allem für Filme und Serien, Videospiele, Animationen und Visualisierungen (z.B. Architektur, Produkte) weltweit eingesetzt. Sowohl Unternehmenskunden als auch Einzelanwender können so ihren 3D-Szenen Leben einhauchen. Dabei können die Nutzer auf eine immer stärker wachsende Bibliothek digitaler Kopien echter Vegetation zugreifen, die von ihren realen Vorbildern kaum zu unterscheiden sind. Mit dem Ökosystem-Tool von Graswald können Nutzer in wenigen Minuten einen ganzen Wald aus einzelnen 3D-Pflanzen erstellen.

Graswald begann 2016 für den Gründer Julius Harling als Nebenprojekt zu seinem Austauschhalbjahr in Kanada. Es wurde schnell zum Standard bei der Naturerstellung in der 3D-Software Blender. Mit über 15.000 Nutzern und einer weltweit aktiven Community ermöglicht Graswald 3D-Studios und 3D-Artists die einfache Erzeugung fotorealistischer 3D-Welten. Mit dem Investment soll weiterer Content geschaffen und Graswald hin zu einer Plattform entwickelt werden. 

Graswald
Echt oder computergeneriert? Bei den mit Graswald erzeugten 3D-Welten lässt sich diese Frage oft nicht beantworten — so real wirkt der digitale Wald. (Bild: Graswald)

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass sich 3D aufgrund seiner Interaktivität zum nächsten großen Medium entwickelt. Jedoch ist die Erzeugung von 3D Content und insbesondere dreidimensionalen Welten immer noch eine sehr teure, komplexe und zeitaufwendige Angelegenheit, die bisher größtenteils händisch erledigt wird. Durch unseren Ökosystem-Ansatz und unsere automatisierte Produktionspipeline ermöglichen wir eine 3D Welt-Erzeugung binnen Minuten statt Wochen.

Julius Harling, Gründer von Graswald

Graswald hat einen einzigartigen und leistungsstarken Ansatz für die 3D-Technologie gewählt. Sie sind in der perfekten Position, um eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Ausweitung der 3D-Technologien vom Unterhaltungssektor auf noch größere Märkte und unser tägliches Leben zu spielen.

Mika Salmi, Managing Director von Lakestar

Neben der überzeugenden Technologie in einem dynamischen Marktumfeld hat uns insbesondere die Fähigkeit des jungen Teams überzeugt, mit geringen Mitteln ein starkes Marktinteresse zu erzeugen und eine lebhafte Community aufzubauen. Mit dem Investment wollen wir dieser großartigen Entwicklung nun weiteren Schub geben.

Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Über die Graswald GmbH
Graswald digitalisiert Natur für die Entertainment Branche. Mithilfe der von Graswald erzeugten digitalen Ökosysteme können 3D Studios und Einzelanwender komplette 3D Welten innerhalb von Minuten kreieren. Die fotorealistischen, digitalen 3D-Lebensräume werden seit 2018 für visuelle Effekte in Film & Fernsehen, Videospiele, Produkt- und Architekturvisualisierungen, Werbe- und Animationsfilme und die Erzeugung synthetischer Trainingsdaten genutzt. Kunden und Partner beinhalten sowohl Hobby-Designer und Selbstständige als auch große Enterprise Kunden (u. a. Amazon Games, NVIDIA und Autodesk)
https://www.graswald3d.com/

Kontakt
Graswald GmbH
Julius Harling, Gründer und CEO
support@graswald3d.com

Über Lakestar
Lakestar hat die Mission, bahnbrechende Technologie-Unternehmen, die von herausragenden Entrepreneuren in Europa und darüber hinaus gegründet worden sind –  zu entdecken, zu finanzieren und zu fördern. Zu den frühen Investitionen des Teams zählen Skype, Spotify, Facebook und Airbnb. Lakestar hat seinen ersten Fonds im Jahr 2013 aufgelegt; inzwischen verwaltet Lakestar ein Gesamtvolumen von über €1.2 Mrd. in drei Frühphasen- sowie einem Wachstumsfonds.
Lakestar unterstützt seine Portfoliounternehmen aktiv in den Bereichen Marketing, Recruiting, Technologie, Produktentwicklung und Regulatorik und begleitet Entrepreneure in allen Wachstumsphasen, vom Seed- und Growth-Stage bis hin zum Exit. Bemerkenswerte Investitionen umfassen unter anderem Revolut, Blockchain.com, Opendoor, Oscar, GetYourGuide, sennder, Eigen, Public.com, SoFi, Solarisbank, Uncapped, Yapily, Terra Quantum, accuRx, Rhino, ZEBEDEE und Hometogo. Lakestar hat seinen Sitz in Berlin, Zürich und London.
Mehr zu Lakestar auf LinkedIn und unter www.lakestar.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dominik Lohle, Senior Investment Manager
d.lohle@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
7. Juli 2022

Kölner EdTech-Start-up DeepSkill erhält siebenstellige Pre-Seed-Finanzierung, u. a. vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Kienbaum

DeepSkill ist die EdTech-Plattform für emotionale Skills und ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung. Das Startup nutzt ein smartes Content-Baukastensystem, intelligente Algorithmen und datenbasierte Wissensvermittlung, um Mitarbeitende zielgerichtet weiterzuentwickeln und nachhaltige Transformationserfolge zu erzielen.Das Kapital wird für die Plattformentwicklung sowie den Ausbau des Tech-, Sales- und Contentteams genutzt.In diesem Zuge wird auch Thomas Leidinger, der zuletzt über zehn Jahre m
 
Presse
28. Juni 2022

Erfolgreicher Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes wird Teil der team.blue Familie

Bonn, 28. Juni 2022 - team.blue, ein führender digitaler Enabler für Entrepreneure und Unternehmen, hat bekannt gegeben, dass das HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen Raidboxes, ein führender WordPress-Hosting-Anbieter, seiner wachsenden Unternehmensgruppe beitreten wird. Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) veräußert seine Anteile, nachdem er das von Johannes Benz und Torben Simon Meier geführte Team seit 2016 eng begleitet hat. team.blue unterstützt lokale Existenzgründer:innen und klein
 
Presse
22. Juni 2022

TechVision Fonds I und High-Tech Gründerfonds investieren in Textilrecycling-Startup EEDEN

Textilrecycling neu gedacht: Innovatives Verfahren ermöglicht Upcycling von Altkleidung Aachen, 22. Juni 2022 – Der TechVision Fonds I beteiligt sich gemeinsam mit dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und einem Business Angel als erste Investoren am Textilrecycling-Startup EEDEN. Das Startup aus Mönchengladbach hat ein innovatives Verfahren für das nachhaltige und umweltschonende Recycling von Kleidung und anderen textilen Produkten entwickelt. Mit der Finanzierung plant EEDEN den weit