News

C-mo Medical Solutions raises €4.1 million aiming to transform cough monitoring

September 1, 2022

C-mo Medical Solutions is an award-winning start-up that is unravelling the potential of assessing cough towards improved diagnosis, treatment courses and disease management. The company has now raised 4.1€Mn in a seed round led by Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund. This investment will allow the company to bring its innovative cough-monitoring technology to the market.

Lisbon, 1 September 2022 – C-mo Medical Solutions has announced today the closing of a 4.1€Mn seed investment round. The round was led by Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund with participation of Portugal Ventures and High-Tech Gründerfonds. This marks the first investment round of the company that was previously awarded by the European Institute of Innovation & Technology for Health and by the Portuguese Innovation Agency.

C-mo Medical Solutions is working to solve the pressing need to better assess chronic cough. Diogo Tecelão, co-founder and CEO of the company, explains: “Chronic cough is a highly prevalent symptom, being responsible for up to 40% of the pulmonologists’ workload. At the same time, cough is a symptom that hides extremely valuable information about the patient’s health, thus bringing tremendous clinical value. The European Respiratory Society stated in 2019 that there is an urgent need for suitable cough monitoring technologies – developing a solution has been our mission since!”

The company is unravelling the clinical value of cough through C-mo’s innovative product suite. C-mo’s unique technology analyses the subtle characteristics of the patient’s cough and translates them into actionable insights.

C-mo is the first and only solution that can monitor the patient’s cough seamlessly, over long periods of time, and while protecting the patient’s privacy. It is also the first tool providing a complete and holistic assessment of the patient’s cough traits, thus enabling its application in several key use-cases

Diogo Tecelão, co-founder and CEO of C-mo Medical Solutions

Overall, C-mo answers an urgent medical need and represents a powerful solution to speed-up diagnosis, optimise treatment courses, improve disease management, and support pharmaceutical research.

We are excited about the novel C-mo technology in analysing cough and think that it will provide great value by allowing for a more specific diagnosis, and by empowering patients to better understand and manage their disease

Dr. Alexander Ehlgen, Investment Manager at Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund

We’re proud to be investing in C-mo Medical Solutions. This round will enable the company to continue developing their product and meeting the medical needs related to the personalised management of chronic cough and doctor-patient interactions, alongside internationalisation to the European and US markets

Teresa Fiúza, Executive Vice President of Portugal Ventures

C-mo is addressing an unmet clinical need. Its solution has the potential to significantly improve how cough-related diseases are diagnosed, managed and treated. This seed round will enable the company to obtain key clinical evidence and to further develop its platform. We look forward to supporting the team on its journey

Niels Sharman, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

We are excited to bring onboard strategic and valuable investors that share our vision. We believe C-mo will cause a paradigm shift on how cough is addressed, respiratory diseases are monitored, and new drugs are launched to the market.

Diogo Tecelão, co-founder and CEO of C-mo Medical Solutions

Founding team of C-mo Medical Solutions. From left to right: Filipe Valadas, Alexandra Lopes, Diogo Tecelão, Sara Lobo and Miguel Andrade. © C-mo

About C-mo Medical Solutions
C-mo Medical Solutions is an award-winning Digital Health start-up that develops solutions for the diagnosis and management of cough-incident medical conditions. The company’s mission is to unravel the clinical potential of cough assessment and solve the major unmet medical needs associated with the management of chronic cough. The company was founded by Diogo Tecelão, Miguel Andrade, Filipe Valadas, Alexandra Lopes, Sara Lobo, and Nuno Neuparth, thus combining a wealth of knowledge on digital health, business development, and respiratory medicine.
www.c-mo.solutions

Contact
Diogo Tecelão – Co-founder and CEO
info@c-mo.solutions

About Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund
Created in 2010, the Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund GmbH (BIVF) invests in ground-breaking companies to drive innovation in biomedical research. BIVF is searching for significant enhancements in patient care through pioneering science and its clinical translation by building long-term relationships with scientists and entrepreneurs. BIVF’s focus is to target unprecedented concepts addressing high medical needs in immuno-oncology, regenerative medicine, infectious diseases and digital health. For more information, please visit: www.boehringer-ingelheim-venture.com.

About Portugal Ventures
Portugal Ventures, a venture capital firm that is part of the Banco Português de Fomento group, currently manages 254 million euros and has more than 140 portfolio companies. It invests in startups in the pre-seed and Series A stages that offer innovative solutions for the international market in the Digital & Technology, Manufacturing & Technology, Therapeutics & Health Tech and Tourism sectors. Since 2012, Portugal Ventures has invested 181 million euros in 190 new businesses. Learn more at www.portugalventures.pt.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds

HighTech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. With the start of HTGF IV, more than EUR 400 million in fund volume will be added in the fall of 2022. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 160 companies.

Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and many companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Contact Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Niels Sharman , Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300147
n.sharman@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More News posts

Press
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter appointed partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter to become partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds effective 1 October 2022Dr. Angelika Vlachou to further expand her duties within the Life Sciences unit at HTGF’s Berlin office in her new role as partnerStefanie Grüter to assume responsibility for marketing, communications and relationship management in her new position Bonn/Berlin, 29 September 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds, leading seed investor in Germany, has appointed Stefanie Grüter
 
Press
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria closes seven-figure seed round for scaling tungsten particles as sustainable additive in composites

GS Bavaria aims to support the composites industry on its way to sustainability. The startup enables users to dramatically improve mechanical properties and resource use through biologically produced tungsten-based additives. With the seven-figure financing round, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and with the participation of renowned business angels, GS Bavaria is setting up industrial production of the nanomaterials and investing in sales and R&D. Nürnberg, 27.09.2022- GS
 
Press
19. September 2022
The start-up syte raises 2.6 million euros in its latest round of financing. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and four other investors from the real estate industry invested. This brings the company closer to its ambitious goal of using AI to analyse the economic and ecological potential of land throughout Germany and make it accessible to users in a digital cadastre. Münster, 19. September 2022- Determining the development potential of land is a sought-after skill in Germany. With

News

C-mo Medical Solutions erhält 4,1 Mio. € für ihre bahnbrechende Neuentwicklung in der Diagnose von Atemwegserkrankungen mittels Hustenmonitoring

1. September 2022

C-mo Medical Solutions ist ein mehrfach ausgezeichnetes Start-up, das es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, das volle Potenzial der Analyse von Husten für eine bessere Diagnose, Behandlung und besseres Disease-Management zu heben. In einer vom Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund angeführten Seed-Runde hat das Unternehmen nun 4,1 Millionen Euro eingenommen. Mit der Finanzierung kann das Start-up seine innovative Hustenmonitoring-Plattform auf den Markt bringen.

Lissabon, 1. September 2022 – C-mo Medical Solutions gab heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 4,1 Millionen Euro bekannt. Angeführt wurde die Runde vom Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund, unter Beteiligung von Portugal Ventures und dem High-Tech Gründerfonds. Für das Unternehmen, das zuvor vom European Institute of Innovation & Technology for Health und der portugiesischen Innovationsagentur ausgezeichnet worden ist, ist dies die erste Finanzierungsrunde.

C-mo Medical Solutions arbeitet an einer Lösung des akuten Problems der Bewertung von chronischem Husten. Diogo Tecelão, Mitgründer und CEO des Unternehmens, erklärt: „Chronischer Husten ist ein weit verbreitetes Symptom, das für bis zu 40 % der Arbeitsbelastung von Pneumologen verantwortlich ist. Gleichzeitig ist Husten ein Symptom, das äußerst wichtige Informationen über den Gesundheitszustand des Patienten enthält und damit einen enormen klinischen Wert bietet. Die European Respiratory Society hat 2019 betont, dass es einen dringenden Bedarf für geeignete Technologien für das Monitoring von Husten gibt – seitdem haben wir es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, eine solche Lösung zu entwickeln!“

Mit der innovativen Produktlinie von C-mo erschließt das Unternehmen den klinischen Wert des Hustens. Die einzigartige Technologie von C-mo analysiert die feinen Charakteristika des Hustens eines Patienten detailliert und setzt sie in klinisch verwertbare Ergebnisse um.

C-mo ist die erste und einzige Lösung, die ein nahtloses und langfristiges und Monitoring des Hustens ermöglicht und dabei die Privatsphäre von Patienten schützt. Sie ist auch das erste Instrument, das eine vollständige und ganzheitliche Bewertung der Hustenmerkmale des Patienten erlaubt und somit in mehreren wichtigen Anwendungsbereichen zum Einsatz kommen kann.

Diogo Tecelão, Mitgründer und CEO von C-mo Medical Solutions

Damit erfüllt C-mo einen dringenden medizinischen Bedarf und ist eine leistungsstarke Lösung, um die Diagnose zu beschleunigen, den Behandlungsverlauf zu optimieren, das Disease Management zu verbessern und die pharmazeutische Forschung zu unterstützen.

Wir sind begeistert von der neuartigen C-mo-Technologie zur Analyse von Husten und glauben, dass sie einen großen Nutzen bringen wird, indem sie eine genauere Diagnose ermöglicht und Patienten in die Lage versetzt, ihre Krankheit besser zu verstehen und zu bewältigen.

Dr. Alexander Ehlgen, Investment Manager bei Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund

Wir sind stolz darauf, in C-mo Medical Solutions zu investieren. Diese Runde wird es dem Unternehmen ermöglichen, sein Produkt weiterzuentwickeln und den medizinischen Bedarf im Zusammenhang mit dem personalisierten Management von chronischem Husten und der Interaktion zwischen Arzt und Patient zu decken, sowie die Internationalisierung auf dem europäischen und US-amerikanischen Markt voranzutreiben.

Teresa Fiúza, Executive Vice President von Portugal Ventures

C-mo adressiert einen bislang ungedeckten medizinischen Bedarf. Die Lösung hat das Potenzial die Diagnose, das Management und die Behandlung von hustenbedingten Krankheiten signifikant zu verbessern.  Die Seed-Runde wird es dem Unternehmen ermöglichen, wichtige klinische Evidenz zu sammeln und seine Plattform weiterzuentwickeln. Wir freuen uns darauf, das Team auf seinem weiteren Weg zu unterstützen.

Niels Sharman, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Wir freuen uns, strategische sowie transaktionserfahrene Investoren an Bord zu haben, die unsere Vision teilen. Wir glauben, dass C-mo einen Paradigmenwechsel bei der Behandlung von Husten, dem Monitoring von Atemwegserkrankungen und der Markteinführung neuer Medikamente bewirken wird.

Diogo Tecelão, Mitgründer und CEO von C-mo Medical Solutions

Gründungsteam von C-mo Medical Solutions: v. l. n. r. Filipe Valadas, Alexandra Lopes, Diogo Tecelão, Sara Lobo und Miguel Andrade. © C-mo

Über C-mo Medical Solutions
C-mo Medical Solutions ist ein preisgekröntes Digital Health Start-up, das Lösungen für die Diagnose und das Management von Hustenerkrankungen entwickelt. Das Unternehmen hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, das klinische Potenzial der Hustenanalyse zu erschließen und den großen ungedeckten medizinischen Bedarf im Zusammenhang mit dem Management von chronischem Husten zu lösen. Das Unternehmen wurde von Diogo Tecelão, Miguel Andrade, Filipe Valadas, Alexandra Lopes, Sara Lobo und Nuno Neuparth gegründet und kombiniert damit eine Fülle von Erfahrungen in den Bereichen digitale Gesundheit, Unternehmensentwicklung und Atemwegsmedizin.
www.c-mo.solutions

Contact
Diogo Tecelão – Co-founder and CEO
info@c-mo.solutions

Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund GmbH
Der Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund (BIVF) fördert early-stage Forschung und Technologien durch strategische Investitionen. Der BIVF investiert in Biotech und Start-up Unternehmen, die das Potential haben bahnbrechende Technologien zu entwickeln. Überdies unterstützt der BIVF die Gründung neuer Unternehmen basierend auf vielversprechenden Forschungsprojekten an Universitäten oder akademischen Einrichtungen. Das Interesse des BIVF an jungen, Technologie orientierten Unternehmen ist Ausdruck seines Engagements zur Förderung innovativer Ideen und neuer wissenschaftlicher Ansätze mit einem Fokus auf den Bereichen Onkologie, Regenerative Medizin, Infektionserkrankungen und Digital Health.
www.boehringer-ingelheim-venture.com

Über Portugal Ventures
Portugal Ventures, eine zur Banco Português de Fomento-Gruppe gehörende Venture-Capital-Gesellschaft, verwaltet derzeit 254 Millionen Euro und zählt mehr als 140 Portfoliounternehmen. Portugal Ventures investiert in Start-ups in der Pre-Seed- und Series-A-Phase, die innovative Lösungen für den internationalen Markt in den Bereichen Digital & Technology, Manufacturing & Technology, Therapeutics & Health Tech und Tourismus bieten. Seit 2012 hat Portugal Ventures 181 Millionen Euro in 190 neue Unternehmen investiert. Weitere Informationen unter www.portugalventures.pt.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des HTGF IV kommen im Herbst 2022 mehr als 400 Mio. Euro Fondsvolumen hinzu. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie zahlreiche Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Contact Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Niels Sharman , Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300147
n.sharman@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden neue Partnerinnen beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden zum 1. Oktober 2022 neue Partnerinnen des High-Tech Gründerfonds.Dr. Angelika Vlachou wird als Partnerin am Berliner Standort des HTGF ihre Tätigkeit im Bereich Life Sciences weiter ausbauen.Stefanie Grüter wird in dieser Position zukünftig die Bereiche Marketing, Kommunikation und Relationship-Management verantworten. Bonn/Berlin, 29. September 2022 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds, führender Seed-Investor in Deutschland, ernennt S
 
Presse
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde für die Skalierung von Wolframpartikeln als nachhaltiges Additiv in Verbundwerkstoffen ab

GS Bavaria hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Industrie der Kompositwerkstoffe auf ihrem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu unterstützen. Das Startup ermöglicht es Anwendern, insbesondere mechanische Eigenschaften und Ressourceneinsatz durch die Verwendung von biologisch erzeugten Wolfram-basierten Additiven drastisch zu verbessern. Mit der siebenstelligen Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und unter Beteiligung renommierter Business Angels, baut GS Bavaria die industrielle
 
Presse
26. September 2022

Kupando erhält €13 Millionen aus einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde

Finanzierung mit Lead-Investor Remiges Ventures, Co-Lead-Investor LifeCare Partners und unter Mitwirkung von Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors und ungenannten Family Offices abgeschlossen.Die Erlöse werden für den Abschluss der IND relevanten Zulassungsarbeiten und den Beginn der klinischen Entwicklung verwendet. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, ein biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das TLR 4/7-Agonisten zur Stimulierung