Press

AWAKE Mobility secures €4 million in seed financing to drive greener, more efficient bus services

September 12, 2022

Smart technology to drive greener, more efficient bus services

  • €4 million in fresh capital for monitoring the condition of bus fleets with the aid of AI
  • AWAKE Mobility secures B&C Innovation Investments as lead investor as part of capital increase
  • Co-investors include HTGF, the founders of Flixbus, the former CEO of MAN Truck & Bus, the former President/CEO of General Motors Europe, Synapse Partners from Silicon Valley and additional angel investors
  • AWAKE Mobility technology already being used to support bus fleets in three countries

Munich/Vienna, 12.09.2022 – By harnessing real-time vehicle data, bus services can become a lot more reliable, punctual and greener. AWAKE Mobility has developed a hardware and software solution to facilitate this process. The technology, which has already been successfully launched on the market, is able to remotely monitor the condition of buses at all times and can determine when it’s time for a trip to the workshop. The start-up has just secured around €4 million in funding after concluding a seed financing round led by B&C Innovation Investments GmbH (BCII), which is part of Austria’s B&C Group.

AWAKE Mobility mainly has its sights set on public transport bus services. The live monitoring of the vehicles’ condition provides insights that feed into forward-looking recommendations for mechanics to consider when working on and maintaining the buses, in turn helping to reduce vehicle downtimes, repair costs, fuel consumption and emissions. The solutions devised by the Munich-based start-up, which was founded in 2020, also ensure that buses are more punctual, which increases customer satisfaction. This intelligent live monitoring technology is particularly important, not just for individual companies and AWAKE Mobility’s customers, but also for the overall economy and especially the environment. Coach trips and public transport are tipped to see strong growth across Europe in the coming years, with rail transport also being expanded to meet climate goals.

This capital increase supports the further technical development of our hardware and software platform, and will thus help us to launch new services for our customers. We are of course also looking to rapidly accelerate the further expansion of our company. In B&C Group, we have an experienced partner at our side as we navigate this important phase of development and growth, and we’ll benefit from their support in many different areas.

Daniel Tyoschitz, Co-Founder and CEO at AWAKE Mobility

For bus fleets and local public transport, we strongly believe that reliability, cost efficiency and eco-friendliness are highly relevant factors for Europe, both economically and structurally. Through our investment, we are looking to accelerate the digitalisation of the bus industry and local public transport services – a process that has only just begun. AWAKE Mobility’s technology and its strong team of founders are set to be a key driver of this positive industry transformation.

B&C Managing Director Thomas Zimpfer

Other investors in AWAKE Mobility include various industry heavyweights, such as High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), SEK Ventures (the investment firm of Flixbus’ founders), Joachim Drees (former CEO of MAN Truck & Bus), Carl-Peter Forster (former President/CEO of General Motors Europe, former CEO of Tata Motors, former member of the BMW Board of Management) and Synapse Partners from Silicon Valley.

With its predictive maintenance solution, AWAKE Mobility helps ensure lower downtimes and greater reliability for bus fleets. We are delighted to help the team boost the appeal of local public transport for the long term.

Jens Baumgärtner, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Artificial intelligence supports efficient bus maintenance and reliable passenger transport services

AWAKE Mobility’s customer base already includes a number of well-known bus companies and fleets in three European countries, including Autobus Oberbayern and VAG Nürnberg. The company’s technical platform, which can naturally also be used with modern electric and hydrogen-powered buses, not only accesses the data available via the conventional vehicle diagnostics interfaces, but can also read the data from various CAN systems. This data is transferred in real time and undergoes an automated evaluation process. The insights gained are then used to provide maintenance recommendations. Every link in the chain – workshop, control centre, driver, management – can detect at an early stage when a vehicle is in need of maintenance or when individual components are about to break, enabling action to be taken before any damage actually occurs (predictive maintenance). This helps to largely avoid vehicle downtimes on bus lines as well as the additional costs associated with towing and arranging replacement vehicles, for example. In addition, bus drivers can use an app developed by AWAKE Mobility to provide swift, structured information to the workshop when they become aware of any damage or problems.

AWAKE’s Mobility’s team of founders: from left to right Daniel Sattel (COO), Houssem Braham (CTO) and Daniel Tyoschitz (CEO). Photo credit: AWAKE Mobility GmbH; Photo: Madlen Krippendorf

About AWAKE Mobility
AWAKE Mobility (https://www.awakemobility.de/) is a Munich-based technology company focused on monitoring and analysing the condition of bus fleets. The company has developed diagnostics hardware that accesses relevant vehicle data remotely and then sends it to the AWAKE Mobility platform via mobile communications, where it undergoes an automated analysis process that leverages artificial intelligence. The insights gleaned from the overall data feed into maintenance recommendations that help all links in the chain – workshop, control centre, driver and management – to optimise maintenance activities and operational planning. Houssem Braham (CTO), Daniel Sattel (COO) and Daniel Tyoschitz (CEO) founded AWAKE Mobility in October 2020 with the goal of bolstering the reliability and appeal of public transport with the aid of digital solutions.

Contact details
Daniel TyoschitzT
+49 152 56 30 15 88
dt@awakemobility.de

About B&C Group
The B&C Private Foundation (www.bcprivatstiftung.at) is an independent foundation. Since its inception in December 2000, its goal has been to promote Austrian entrepreneurship and strengthen Austria’s position as a business hub. Through its holding companies (www.bcindustrieholding.at), B&C acts as a stable core shareholder in Austrian industrial companies. It exercises its shareholder rights in line with the interests of the respective company, providing it with long-term planning security and a stable ownership structure. B&C Group currently holds stakes in Lenzing AG (50% plus two shares), Semperit AG Holding (54.2%) and AMAG Austria Metall AG (52.7 %). In 2021, these publicly listed companies had a total of approximately 16,000 employees and consolidated revenues of €4,636 million. B&C also holds minority interests in VAMED AG (10%) and Scope Ratings AG, the sole European rating agency. Through B&C Innovation Investments, B&C Group has been investing in tech-driven growth companies since 2016. It currently holds stakes in the companies TTTech, Frequentis, Flightkeys, contextflow, TriLite, Kinexon, Citrine, klarx, Kreatize and AWAKE Mobility, while also investing in an Austrian start-up fund. The B&C Private Foundation promotes Austria’s position as a business hub by engaging in numerous projects and initiatives, including the Houska Prize (www.houskapreis.at), endowed professorships, the “Wiener Unternehmensrechtstag” corporate law event, the eXplore! initiative for innovation and nationwide research, and the MEGA Bildungsstiftung educational foundation (www.megabildung.at).

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
HighTech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. With the start of HTGF IV, more than EUR 400 million in fund volume will be added in the fall of 2022. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 160 companies.

Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and many companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Jens Baumgärtner, Principal
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 138
j.baumgaertner@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter appointed partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter to become partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds effective 1 October 2022Dr. Angelika Vlachou to further expand her duties within the Life Sciences unit at HTGF’s Berlin office in her new role as partnerStefanie Grüter to assume responsibility for marketing, communications and relationship management in her new position Bonn/Berlin, 29 September 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds, leading seed investor in Germany, has appointed Stefanie Grüter
 
Press
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria closes seven-figure seed round for scaling tungsten particles as sustainable additive in composites

GS Bavaria aims to support the composites industry on its way to sustainability. The startup enables users to dramatically improve mechanical properties and resource use through biologically produced tungsten-based additives. With the seven-figure financing round, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and with the participation of renowned business angels, GS Bavaria is setting up industrial production of the nanomaterials and investing in sales and R&D. Nürnberg, 27.09.2022- GS
 
Press
26. September 2022

Kupando raises €13 million in Series A funding round

Financing led by Remiges Ventures, co-led by LifeCare Partners, with additional investments by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.Proceeds to be used to complete IND-enabling work and initiate clinical development. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases, anno

Presse

AWAKE Mobility erhält 4 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung für effizienteren und umweltfreundlicheren Busverkehr

12. September 2022

Smarte Technologie für effizienteren und umweltfreundlicheren Busverkehr

  • Insgesamt vier Millionen frisches Kapital für KI-gestützte Zustandsüberwachung von Busflotten
  • AWAKE Mobility gewinnt B&C Innovation Investments als Lead-Investor bei Kapitalerhöhung
  • HTGF, Flixbus-Gründer, Ex-CEO MAN Truck & Bus, Ex-President/CEO General Motors Europe, Synapse Partners aus dem Silicon Valley sowie weitere Angel Investoren co-investieren
  • AWAKE Mobility-Technologie unterstützt bereits Busflotten in drei Ländern

München/Wien, 12.09.22 – Mittels Echtzeit-Fahrzeugdatenerfassung von Bussen lassen sich deren Zuverlässigkeit, Pünktlichkeit und Umweltfreundlichkeit signifikant steigern. AWAKE Mobility hat dazu eine Hard- und Softwarelösung entwickelt und bereits erfolgreich in den Markt eingeführt, die zu jeder Zeit aus der Ferne weiß, wie es dem jeweiligen Bus geht und wann es Zeit für einen Werkstattbesuch wird. Angeführt von der B&C Innovation Investments GmbH (BCII), einem Unternehmen der österreichischen B&C-Gruppe, schloss das junge Unternehmen jetzt eine Finanzierungsrunde (Series Seed) in Höhe von rund vier Millionen Euro ab.

AWAKE Mobility hat dabei vor allem die Stadtbusse des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs (ÖPNV) im Blick: Live-Monitorings des Fahrzeugzustands und daraus abgeleitete, vorausschauende Handlungs- und Wartungsempfehlungen für die Werkstatt reduzieren Fahrzeugausfälle, Reparaturkosten, Kraftstoffverbrauch und Emissionen signifikant. Zudem verbessern die Lösungen des 2020 gegründeten Münchner Startups die Pünktlichkeit im Busverkehr und steigern so die Kundenzufriedenheit. Diese intelligente Live-Monitoring-Technologie ist sowohl für einzelne Unternehmen bzw. Kunden von AWAKE Mobility, als auch gesamtwirtschaftlich und ganz besonders für die Umwelt von besonderer Bedeutung. Schließlich ist für die kommenden Jahre europaweit – ergänzend zum Ausbau des Schienenverkehrs zur Erreichung der Klimaziele – ein großes Wachstum im Busreisen und im ÖPNV zu erwarten.

Die aktuelle Kapitalerhöhung unterstützt uns bei der technischen Weiterentwicklung unserer Hard- und Softwareplattform und der damit verbundenen Einführung neuer Services für unsere Kunden. Außerdem wollen wir natürlich die weitere Expansion unseres Unternehmens rasch vorantreiben. Mit der B&C-Gruppe steht uns in dieser wichtigen Entwicklungs- und Wachstumsphase ein erfahrener Partner zur Seite, von dem wir in vielen Bereichen profitieren werden.

Daniel Tyoschitz, Mitgründer und CEO von AWAKE Mobility

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Ausfallsicherheit, Kosteneffizienz sowie Umweltfreundlichkeit von Busflotten und im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr wirtschaftlich wie strukturell hoch relevant für Europa sind. Mit unserem Investment wollen wir die erst am Anfang stehende Digitalisierung der Bus-Branche und des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs beschleunigen. Die AWAKE Mobility-Technologie sowie das starke Gründerteam sollen ein wesentlicher Treiber für diese positive Veränderung der Branche sein.

B&C-Geschäftsführer Thomas Zimpfer

Zu den weiteren Kapitalgebern dieser Finanzierungsrunde gehören namhafte Branchengrößen, darunter High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), SEK Ventures (Investmentfirma der Flixbus-Gründer), Joachim Drees (Ex-CEO MAN Truck & Bus), Carl-Peter Forster (Ex-President/CEO General Motors Europe, Ex-CEO Tata Motors, Ex-Vorstand BMW) und Synapse Partners aus dem Silicon Valley.

Mit ihrer Predictive Maintenance-Lösung sorgt AWAKE Mobility für weniger Ausfälle und mehr Zuverlässigkeit von Busflotten. Es freut uns, das Team darin zu begleiten, die Attraktivität des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs nachhaltig zu erhöhen.

Jens Baumgärtner, Principal beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Künstliche Intelligenz für effiziente Wartung von Bussen und störungsfreien Personentransport

AWAKE Mobility zählt bereits heute mehrere renommierte Busunternehmen und Flotten in drei europäischen Ländern zu seinen Kunden, darunter Autobus Oberbayern oder VAG Nürnberg. Die technische Plattform des Unternehmens, die selbstverständlich auch für moderne Elektro- und Wasserstoff-Busse nutzbar ist, greift dabei nicht nur auf Daten zu, die über übliche Diagnose-Schnittstellen von Fahrzeugen auslesbar sind, sondern liest ebenso Daten aus verschiedenen CAN-Systemen aus. Diese Daten werden in Echtzeit übertragen, automatisiert ausgewertet und daraus Handlungsempfehlungen für die Instandhaltung abgeleitet. Alle Beteiligten – Werkstatt, Leitstelle, Fahrer, Management – erkennen so frühzeitig Wartungsbedarf oder einen bevorstehenden Ausfall einzelner Bauteile – bevor ein Schadensfall tatsächlich eintritt (vorausschauende Instandhaltung). Ausfälle der Fahrzeuge im Linienbetrieb sowie Zusatzkosten (Abschleppen, Ersatzfahrzeuge etc.) werden so weitgehend verhindert. Nicht zuletzt melden Busfahrer ihnen bekannte Schäden und Probleme rasch und strukturiert über eine von AWAKE Mobility entwickelte App an ihre Werkstatt.

Das Gründerteam von AWAKE Mobility: v.l. Daniel Sattel (COO), Houssem Braham (CTO) und Daniel Tyoschitz (CEO). Bildnachweis: AWAKE Mobility GmbH, Foto: Madlen Krippendorf
 

Über AWAKE Mobility
AWAKE Mobility (https://www.awakemobility.de/) ist ein Münchner Technologie-Unternehmen, das sich auf die Zustandsüberwachung und -analyse von Busflotten fokussiert. Eine selbst entwickelte Diagnose-Hardware liest aus der Ferne relevante Fahrzeugdaten aus und überträgt diese per Mobilfunk an die AWAKE Mobility Plattform, wo eine automatisierte Datenanalyse durch künstliche Intelligenz stattfindet. Die aus den Gesamtdaten abgeleiteten Instandhaltungsempfehlungen unterstützen alle Beteiligten – Werkstatt, Leitstelle, Fahrer und Management – bei der Optimierung von Wartung und Einsatzplanung. Houssem Braham (CTO), Daniel Sattel (COO) und Daniel Tyoschitz (CEO) haben AWAKE Mobility im Oktober 2020 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Zuverlässigkeit und Attraktivität des öffentlichen Verkehrs durch digitale Lösungen zu stärken.

Kontakt:
Daniel Tyoschitz,
T: +49 152 56 30 15 88
dt@awakemobility.de

Über die B&C-Gruppe
Die B&C Privatstiftung (www.bcprivatstiftung.at) ist eine unabhängige Stiftung, die seit ihrer Gründung im Dezember 2000 das Ziel der Förderung des österreichischen Unternehmertums und des Wirtschaftsstandortes Österreich verfolgt. Über ihre Holdinggesellschaften (www.bcindustrieholding.at) nimmt die B&C die Aufgaben einer stabilen Kernaktionärin in österreichischen Industrieunternehmen wahr. Sie übt ihre Aktionärsrechte im Interesse des jeweiligen Unternehmens aus und gibt den Unternehmen damit langfristige Planungssicherheit und eine stabile Eigentümerstruktur. Die B&C-Gruppe hält derzeit 50 % plus 2 Aktien an der Lenzing AG, 54,2 % an der Semperit AG Holding und 52,7 % an der AMAG Austria Metall AG. Im Jahr 2021 erzielten diese börsennotierten Unternehmen mit insgesamt rund 16.000 Beschäftigten einen konsolidierten Umsatz von 4.636 Mio. Euro. Weiters hält die B&C eine Minderheitsbeteiligung an der VAMED AG in Höhe von 10 % und an Scope Ratings AG, der einzigen europäischen Ratingagentur. Mit der B&C Innovation Investments investiert die B&C-Gruppe seit 2016 in Technologie- Wachstumsunternehmen und hält in diesem Segment aktuell Beteiligungen an den Unternehmen TTTech, Frequentis, Flightkeys, contextflow, TriLite, Kinexon, Citrine, klarx, Kreatize und AWAKE Mobility sowie an einem österreichischen Start-up-Fonds. Die B&C Privatstiftung fördert den Wirtschaftsstandort Österreich durch zahlreiche Projekte und Initiativen, dazu zählen u. a. der Houskapreis (www.houskapreis.at), Stiftungsprofessuren, der Wiener Unternehmensrechtstag, die Initiative für Innovations- und Standortforschung eXplore! und die MEGA Bildungsstiftung (www.megabildung.at).

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des HTGF IV kommen im Herbst 2022 mehr als 400 Mio. Euro Fondsvolumen hinzu. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Frauenhofer Gesellschaft sowie zahlreiche Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Jens Baumgärtner, Principal
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 138
j.baumgaertner@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden neue Partnerinnen beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou und Stefanie Grüter werden zum 1. Oktober 2022 neue Partnerinnen des High-Tech Gründerfonds.Dr. Angelika Vlachou wird als Partnerin am Berliner Standort des HTGF ihre Tätigkeit im Bereich Life Sciences weiter ausbauen.Stefanie Grüter wird in dieser Position zukünftig die Bereiche Marketing, Kommunikation und Relationship-Management verantworten. Bonn/Berlin, 29. September 2022 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds, führender Seed-Investor in Deutschland, ernennt S
 
Presse
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde für die Skalierung von Wolframpartikeln als nachhaltiges Additiv in Verbundwerkstoffen ab

GS Bavaria hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Industrie der Kompositwerkstoffe auf ihrem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu unterstützen. Das Startup ermöglicht es Anwendern, insbesondere mechanische Eigenschaften und Ressourceneinsatz durch die Verwendung von biologisch erzeugten Wolfram-basierten Additiven drastisch zu verbessern. Mit der siebenstelligen Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und unter Beteiligung renommierter Business Angels, baut GS Bavaria die industrielle
 
Presse
26. September 2022

Kupando erhält €13 Millionen aus einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde

Finanzierung mit Lead-Investor Remiges Ventures, Co-Lead-Investor LifeCare Partners und unter Mitwirkung von Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors und ungenannten Family Offices abgeschlossen.Die Erlöse werden für den Abschluss der IND relevanten Zulassungsarbeiten und den Beginn der klinischen Entwicklung verwendet. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, ein biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das TLR 4/7-Agonisten zur Stimulierung