The Swiss startup AICA closes CHF 1.2 million financing round, to give robots a sense of touch and enable autonomous learning

March 8, 2023

  • AICA SA receives CHF 1.2 million in Seed round from Spicehaus Partners, High-Tech Gründerfonds, and Schaeffler Group.
  • The Swiss startup uses Artificial Intelligence to automate manufacturing processes that are complex and hard for people to accomplish.
  • The raised funds will allow the EPFL spin-off to expand its library of applications and deploy its solutions internationally.

Lausanne, Switzerland, 8 March 2023 – The Lausanne-based EPFL-Spin Off from the LASA, which aims to make robotics accessible to companies of all sizes, announces the completion of its financing round this February 2023. Currently active in Switzerland and Germany, with its main customers from the automotive industries, the startup is expanding to other countries and market segments (medtech, food processing). The CHF 1.2 million round will allow the company to bring its robotics software into production during 2023 and expand its activities internationally. The investment, led by Spicehaus Partners with the support of High-Tech Gründerfonds and Schaeffler Group, confirms the company’s growth potential, as well as the sustainability of its technology and strategic vision.

AICA combines reinforcement learning and close-loop force control, giving robots a sense of touch and the ability to learn and adapt autonomously to changes. This state-of-the-art approach makes robot programming for complex applications affordable and efficient. It also offers manufacturers the flexibility to automate “dirty, dull & dangerous” processes that are currently still performed manually. To illustrate, it can be activities such as the manipulation of heavy material, or the handling of chemicals, or other tasks where human physical and mental health is at risk.

AICA is thrilled with the support and confidence shown by our investors, which enables us to deploy our technology in Europe and beyond. We aim to empower a greater number of companies by making robotics more accessible and intelligent.

Baptiste Busch, Co-founder & CEO of AICA

The AICA team is enthusiastic about the new challenges and the chance to focus on their objective of offering flexible and cost-effective robotized solutions to SMEs. Currently, many companies are unable to afford robotized solutions because of the high implementation costs and the requirement for advanced robotics expertise to operate them. Due to the high costs of local production, the outsourcing of some processes is still widespread. However, with the solutions provided by the startup, SMEs can automate redundant, dangerous, and non-value-adding parts of their manufacturing lines, allowing human labor to focus on productive activities. This will also enable manufacturers to relocate parts of their production in-house, for better control over their value chain. As the Swiss firm expands its operations, it intends to establish local offices and hire local staff in its clients’ countries.

After two promising PoCs, we are now excited to be actively invested in AICA’s success story. We have come to know AICA as a very agile and innovative company and are convinced that these characteristics will contribute significantly to the company’s success. Together, we will redefine robotic assembly and thereby create new value for our customers.

Thomas Krämer (SVP Advanced Production Technology, Schaeffler AG)

We are deeply impressed by AICA’s strong team and deep robotics expertise. The industry 4.0 revolution has only started and increasingly also highly complex processes can be automated. We strongly believe that AICA can play an important role with its manufacturer-independent robotics software.

Dr. Teddy Amberg, Founding Partner at Spicehaus

We are very excited to support the AICA team on their journey to push the accessibility of industrial robots even further. We see a strong tailwind in our robotics portfolio and the current market as robotic automation is not a choice anymore but a necessity for many customers. AICA’s approach to achieve accuracy and precision through self-learning robots is a very promising paradigm shift in robotic programming.

Gregor Haidl, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

This investment will help the startup expand its library of applications, tackling many of the challenges that companies have been facing for a long time. It is an important step for AICA in its vision to make automation accessible to everyone. AICA’s unique technology places the company in a perfect position to meet the growing demand for robotic solutions.

AICA Team
Team of AICA: from left to right Alexia Léchot, Dr. Enrico Eberhard, Dominic Reber, Dr. Baptiste Busch, Prof. Aude Billard and Fabien Antonatos

About AICA
Spinning-off from the LASA (Learning Algorithms & Systems Laboratory) of EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), the company aims to make robotics accessible to all companies. Its technology combines reinforcement learning and closed-loop force control, giving robots a sense of touch and the ability to learn and adapt autonomously to changes. Among other things, this gives manufacturers more flexibility and autonomy, allowing them to automate their manufacturing process in an affordable way. In addition, on-site production employees can now operate the robots without the need for advanced robotic expertise.

contact@aica.tech

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported almost 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Presse

Schweizer Startup AICA schließt Finanzierungsrunde über 1,2 Millionen CHF ab, um Robotern Tastsinn zu verleihen und autonomes Lernen zu ermöglichen

8. März 2023

  • AICA SA erhält CHF 1,2 Millionen in einer Seed-Runde von Spicehaus Partners, High-Tech Gründerfonds und der Schaeffler Gruppe.
  • Das Schweizer Startup setzt Künstliche Intelligenz ein, um komplexe und für Menschen schwer zu bewältigende Fertigungsprozesse zu automatisieren.
  • Die Investitionsgelder werden es dem EPFL-Spin-off ermöglichen, seine Bibliothek von Anwendungen zu erweitern und seine Lösungen international einzusetzen.

Lausanne, Schweiz, 8. März 2023 – Das in Lausanne ansässige EPFL-Spin-off des LASA, hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Robotik für Unternehmen jeder Größe zugänglich zu machen. Nun gibt das Startup den Abschluss seiner Finanzierungsrunde aus Februar 2023 bekannt. AICA ist derzeit in der Schweiz und Deutschland aktiv und hat seine Hauptkunden in der Automobilindustrie. Das Unternehmen expandiert jedoch auch in andere Länder und Marktsegmente wie die Medizintechnik und Lebensmittelverarbeitung. Die Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,2 Mio. CHF ermöglicht dem Unternehmen, seine Robotersoftware dieses Jahr in die Produktion zu bringen und seine Aktivitäten international auszuweiten. Die Investition von Spicehaus Partners, unter Beteiligung des High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Schaeffler Gruppe, unterstreicht das Wachstumspotenzial des Unternehmens sowie die Nachhaltigkeit seiner Technologie und seiner strategischen Vision.

AICA kombiniert Bestärkendes Lernen (Reinforcement Learning) und geschlossene Kraftregelung (close-loop force control), um Robotern einen Tastsinn und die Fähigkeit zu geben, autonom zu lernen sowie sich an Veränderungen anzupassen. Diese fortschrittliche Methode macht die Roboterprogrammierung für komplexe Anwendungen erschwinglich und effizient. Sie bietet Herstellern auch die Flexibilität, „schmutzige, monotone und gefährliche“ Prozesse zu automatisieren, die derzeit noch manuell durchgeführt werden müssen. Einige Beispiele dafür sind die Handhabung von schwerem Material, der Umgang mit Chemikalien oder andere Aufgaben, bei denen die körperliche und geistige Gesundheit des Menschen gefährdet ist.

Wir bei AICA sind begeistert über die Unterstützung und das Vertrauen unserer Investoren, die es uns ermöglichen, unsere Technologie nicht nur in Europa, sondern auch weltweit einzusetzen. Unser Ziel ist es, mehr Unternehmen zu unterstützen, indem wir die Robotik zugänglicher und intelligenter machen.

Baptiste Busch, Co-founder & CEO von AICA

Das AICA-Team ist begeistert von den neuen Herausforderungen und der Möglichkeit, sich auf sein Ziel zu konzentrieren, flexible und kostengünstige Roboterlösungen für KMU anzubieten. Derzeit können sich viele Unternehmen keine robotisierten Lösungen leisten, da die Implementierungskosten hoch sind und fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse im Bereich Robotik erforderlich sind. Aufgrund der hohen Kosten für die lokale Produktion ist die Auslagerung einiger Prozesse weit verbreitet. Mit den Lösungen des Start-ups können KMU jedoch redundante, gefährliche und nicht wertschöpfende Teile ihrer Produktionslinien automatisieren, so dass sich die Arbeitskräfte auf produktive Tätigkeiten konzentrieren können. Dies ermöglicht es den Herstellern auch, Teile ihrer Produktion in-house zu verlagern und ihre Wertschöpfungskette besser zu kontrollieren. Im Zuge der geplanten Expansion des Schweizer Unternehmens wird AICA lokale Niederlassungen in den Ländern seiner Kunden eröffnen und Mitarbeitende einstellen.

Nach zwei vielversprechenden Proof-of-Concepts freuen wir uns nun darüber, aktiv in die Erfolgsgeschichte von AICA zu investieren. Wir haben AICA als sehr agiles und innovatives Unternehmen kennengelernt und sind überzeugt, dass diese Eigenschaften wesentlich zum Erfolg des Unternehmens beitragen werden. Gemeinsam werden wir die roboterbasierte Montage neu definieren und neue Werte für unsere Kunden schaffen.

Thomas Krämer (SVP Advanced Production Technology bei Schaeffler AG)

Wir sind sehr beeindruckt von AICAs starkem Team und tiefem Fachwissen im Bereich Robotik. Die Industrie 4.0 Revolution hat gerade erst begonnen und immer komplexere Prozesse können automatisiert werden. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass AICA mit seiner herstellerunabhängigen Robotik-Software eine wichtige Rolle spielen kann.

Dr. Teddy Amberg, Founding Partner von Spicehaus.

Wir freuen uns sehr, das AICA-Team auf ihrer Reise zu unterstützen, den Einsatz von Industrierobotern für Kunden weiter zu vereinfachen. Wir sehen einen starken Rückenwind in unserem Robotik-Portfolio und auf dem Markt, da roboterbasierte Automatisierung für viele Kunden nicht mehr eine Option, sondern eine Notwendigkeit darstellt. AICAs Ansatz, Genauigkeit und Präzision durch selbstlernende Roboter zu erreichen, ist ein vielversprechender Paradigmenwechsel in der Roboterprogrammierung.

Gregor Haidl, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

Die Investition wird dem Startup helfen, seine Anwendungsbibliothek zu erweitern und viele der Herausforderungen anzugehen, mit denen Unternehmen seit langem konfrontiert sind. Es ist ein wichtiger Schritt für AICA in seiner Vision, die Automatisierung für alle zugänglich zu machen. Die einzigartige Technologie von AICA versetzt das Unternehmen in eine starke Position, um der wachsenden Nachfrage nach Robotiklösungen gerecht zu werden.

AICA Team
Team von AICA: v. l. n. r. Alexia Léchot, Dr. Enrico Eberhard, Dominic Reber, Dr. Baptiste Busch, Prof. Aude Billard and Fabien Antonatos

Über AICA
Als Spin-off des LASA (Learning Algorithms & Systems Laboratory) der EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) hat sich das Unternehmen zum Ziel gesetzt, Robotik für alle Unternehmen zugänglich zu machen. Die Technologie kombiniert Bestärkendes Lernen (Reinforcement Learning) und geschlossene Kraftregelung (close-loop force control), um Robotern ein haptisches Gefühl zu verleihen und ihnen die Fähigkeit zu geben, autonom zu lernen und sich an Veränderungen anzupassen. Dies gibt Herstellern mehr Flexibilität und Autonomie und ermöglicht ihnen, ihre Fertigungsprozesse auf erschwingliche Weise zu automatisieren. Darüber hinaus können vor Ort tätige Mitarbeiter nun die Roboter ohne fortgeschrittene Robotikkenntnisse bedienen.

contact@aica.tech

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 fast 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de  

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
22. April 2024

Successful exit for HTGF: Novo Nordisk to acquire Cardior Pharmaceuticals

Novo Nordisk will acquire Cardior for up to 1.025 billion Euros in upfront and potential milestone payments. Cardior is a leader in the discovery and development of therapies that target RNA as a means to prevent, repair and reverse diseases of the heart. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of Europe’s leading seed investors, participated in the first financing round in 2017. Bonn, Germany, 25 March 2024 – Novo Nordisk and Cardior Pharmaceuticals today announced that N
 
Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F