News

Very successful exit for HTGF: AMCS to acquire Quentic – strong partners for a green future

May 12, 2022

  • With its modular SaaS solution, Quentic simplifies management and reporting in the fields of environmental, health, safety and quality (EHSQ) management and environment, social and governance (ESG).
  • The acquisition by AMCS will further strengthen Quentic GmbH’s position as one of the leading providers of integrated software solutions in EHSQ and ESG.
  • Together with a business angel, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) was the first investor in the company back in 2008 and has closely supported its development over the last 14 years.
  • Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director of HTGF: “The exit is a huge success for HTGF. It shows how the many years of perseverance on the part of the founders and the investors can really pay off. At first, the company was supported by a consortium of business angels and then – following their exit in 2016 – by One Peak and Morgan Stanley together with HTGF. Once again we are seeing that when innovations find the right market, we can also build large software companies in Germany.”

Bonn/Berlin, 12 May 2022 – AMCS and Quentic have today announced that AMCS has entered an agreement to acquire Quentic.* The acquisition is backed by AMCS’ investors, including Clearlake Capital Group who has joined forces with AMCS for the next stage of its growth. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) will sell its shares as part of the deal. It is one of the most profitable investments for HTGF. Through this transaction, the seed investor will achieve the third highest multiple in the fund’s history. The Bonn-based seed investor took up a stake in Quentic back in 2008, closely supported the start-up for 14 years and made a significant contribution to its development by maintaining a close dialogue. HTGF identified the significant market potential of EHSQ and ESG reporting at an early stage. Investing in sustainable start-ups has been an important focal point of the fund from the outset, with Quentic GmbH, now a market leader in the field of standardised software solutions for occupational safety, environmental management and sustainability.

AMCS is the leading global supplier of integrated software and vehicle technology for the environmental, recycling, and resource industries. As part of the AMCS Group, Quentic GmbH will be able to further expand its market position. AMCS is fully aligned with Quentic’s mission to digitally empower companies across the globe to manage people, business, and environmental processes sustainably at all levels.

The sale is a real milestone. The team of founders put things on the right track back in 2007/08 in terms of cloud technologies, the SaaS business model and what were visionary topics at the time such as EHSQ and ESG. I’m delighted for the three founders, who will all remain in an operational role, as well as for all Quentic employees that this has been such a great success and also that we have been able to experience this long and incredibly successful journey together.

Markus Kreßmann, Partner at HTGF

B2B software continues to be the growth market for German companies. The fantastic exit of Quentic serves to underline this. Here we have a clear opportunity to act as a global leader in innovation and technology. I congratulate the founders on this huge success and AMCS on this good investment

Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director of HTGF

HTGF supported us from a very early stage as an investor and strategic partner. For a software company such as ours, HTGF’s network and industry know-how is very important. We would like to thank them for their valuable collaboration and support.

Markus Becker, CEO and Co-Founder of Quentic

Quentic GmbH is a spin-off of a former project at the University of Applied Sciences Berlin and was supported in the early phase with an EXIST Business Start-up Grant from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs. HTGF remained on board across multiple financing rounds and supported the company in obtaining additional follow-up financing. 

The company currently has more than 250 employees and is represented at 14 different locations across Europe. It has more than 900 clients, which include medium-sized enterprises and major global corporations alike.

Quentic Founders Team
Founding team of Quentic: from left to right Hardy Menzel (CTO), Sebastian Mönnich (COO) and Markus Becker (CEO) – Picture: Quentic

*Financial terms of the transaction were not disclosed. The transaction is subject to regulatory approval and expected to close in the coming weeks. Following regulatory approval, Quentic will become part of the AMCS Group.

About Quentic

Quentic is one of the leading solution providers of Software as a Service (SaaS) for EHSQ and ESG management. The Quentic platform comprises ten individually combinable modules and offers an ideal way for companies to manage Health & Safety, Risks & Audits, Incidents & Observations, Hazardous Chemicals, Control of Work, Legal Compliance, Online Instructions, Processes, Environmental Management and Sustainability. The portfolio is complemented by the Quentic App for mobile reporting and by Quentic Analytics for powerful HSEQ data analysis using clear and daily updated dashboards. Over 900 companies rely on Quentic software solutions to strengthen their organization’s HSEQ management and responsibility-related areas in Environment, Social and Governance (ESG). The integrative software is also suited to supporting comprehensive management systems in compliance with ISO 14001, ISO 45001 and ISO 50001. 
The company is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and employs more than 250 people. Branch offices are located in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Spain and Italy. 

Media Contact
Juliane Röhner, Communications Manager
juliane.roehner@quentic.com

About AMCS
AMCS is headquartered in Limerick, Ireland with offices in North America, Europe, and Australia employing over 800 people across 12 countries. AMCS is a global leader of integrated software and vehicle technology for the environmental, utility, waste, recycling, and resource industries and offers optimization solutions to the broader transport and logistics market. AMCS helps over 3,000 customers in 22 countries to reduce their operating costs, increase asset utilization, optimize margins, and improve customer service. Their enterprise software and SaaS solutions deliver digital innovation to the emerging circular economy around the world.

Media Contact
Mark Abbas
Chief Marketing Officer
PR@amcsgroup.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investors Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Markus Kreßmann, Partner
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 132
m.kressmann@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More News posts

Press
18. May 2022

Ventech, HTGF and Renown Business Angels Invest More than €4 Million in the Retail Tech Startup 7Learnings

7Learnings has secured more than €4 Million from Ventech (lead investor), HTGF and Celonis managers in its latest funding roundSince 2019, 7Learnings offers retailers a SaaS solution for machine learning-based pricing & marketing optimizationThe software increases profits for its clients by >10% on averageThe company targets to make its software the leading platform for retail optimization of tomorrow Berlin, May 18, 2022 - The start-up was founded in 2019 by Martin Nowak, Ei
 
Press
3. May 2022

Tubulis Closes €60 Million Series B Financing to Accelerate its ADC Pipeline and Expand its Breadth of Platform Technologies

MUNICH, GERMANY, May 3, 2022 – Tubulis today announced the successful completion of a €60 million (USD $63 million) Series B financing led by Andera Partners with participation from new investors Evotec and Fund+. All existing investors also participated in the round, including Bayern Kapital (with Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT and Seventure Partners. The new capital will be used to advance Tubulis’ proprietary pipeline of
 
Press
28. April 2022

Venly Raises 21 Million Euros in Series A to Bring More Users Into Web3

Venly, a blockchain wallet solution, surpasses 2M users to provide frictionless solutions for game publishers and ecommerce businesses worldwide. April 28th, Antwerp / Berlin—Venly, a major blockchain technology provider from Belgium, today announces it has secured over €21 million (USD$23 million) in Series A funding, led by Courtside Ventures with participation from Transcend Fund, Coinbase Ventures, Tioga Capital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Fortino, Plug and Play, Leadblock Partners,

News

Sehr erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: AMCS wird Quentic übernehmen – starke Partner für eine grüne Zukunft

12. Mai 2022

  • Quentic vereinfacht mit seiner modular aufgebauten Software-as-a-Service-Lösung das Management und Berichtswesen in den Bereichen EHSQ (Umweltmanagement, Gesundheitsschutz, Arbeitsschutz, und Qualitätsmanagement) und ESG (Environment, Social & Governance).
  • Mit der Übernahme durch AMCS wird die Position der Quentic GmbH als einer der führenden Anbieter für integrative Softwarelösungen für EHSQ und ESG weiter gestärkt.
  • Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) war 2008 der erste Investor, gemeinsam mit einem Business Angel, und hat das Unternehmen über die vergangenen 14 Jahre intensiv begleitet.
  • Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF: „Der Exit ist für den HTGF ein sehr großer Erfolg. Er zeigt, wie sehr sich langjähriges Durchhaltevermögen sowohl seitens der Gründer als auch der Investoren auszahlt. Zunächst wurde das Unternehmen von einem Business Angel Konsortium begleitet und dann nach deren Ausstieg in 2016 von One Peak und Morgan Stanley gemeinsam mit dem HTGF. Wir sehen einmal mehr: Wenn Innovation auf den richtigen Markt trifft, können wir auch in Deutschland große Software-Unternehmen bauen.“

Bonn / Berlin, 12. Mai 2022 – AMCS und Quentic gaben heute bekannt, dass die Unternehmen eine Vereinbarung zum Kauf der Quentic GmbH durch AMCS getroffen haben.* Die Übernahme wird von den Investoren von AMCS unterstützt, darunter die Clearlake Capital Group, die mit AMCS ihre Kräfte für die nächste Wachstumsphase bündelt. Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) wird seine Anteile im Rahmen des Deals veräußern. Für den HTGF ist es eine der profitabelsten Investitionen. Der Seed-Investor wird durch die Transaktion den dritthöchsten Multiple seiner Fondsgeschichte erzielen. Der Seed-Investor aus Bonn hatte bereits 2008 in Quentic investiert, über 14 Jahre intensiv begleitet und konnte im engen Austausch wesentlich zur Entwicklung des Start-ups beitragen. Der HTGF hat früh das große Marktpotenzial von EHSQ- und ESG-Reportings erkannt. Die Investition in nachhaltige Start-ups ist seit Beginn ein wichtiger Fokuspunkt des Fonds: Quentic ist ein führender Anbieter im Bereich standardisierter Softwarelösungen für Arbeitssicherheit, Umweltmanagement und Nachhaltigkeit.

AMCS ist ein führender globaler Anbieter von integrierter Software und Fahrzeugtechnologie für die Bereiche Umwelt, Recycling und Ressourcen. Als Teil von AMCS, soll die Marktposition von Quentic weiter ausgebaut werden.  AMCS ist voll und ganz auf einer Linie mit der Mission von Quentic, Unternehmen auf der ganzen Welt zu befähigen, ihre Mitarbeiter-, Geschäfts- und Umweltprozesse auf allen Ebenen nachhaltig zu managen.

Der Verkauf ist ein Meilenstein. Das Gründerteam hat bereits 2007/2008 die Weichen mit Blick auf Cloud-Technologien, das SaaS-Geschäftsmodell und damals visionäre Themen wie EHSQ und ESG richtiggestellt. Ich freue mich sehr für die drei Gründer, die alle noch in operativer Funktion sind, sowie alle Quentic-Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter über diesen großen Erfolg und natürlich diese lange, wie auch überaus erfolgreiche Reise gemeinsam erlebt zu haben.

Markus Kreßmann, Partner beim HTGF

B2B-Software ist für deutsche Unternehmen weiterhin der Wachstumsmarkt. Der großartige Exit von Quentic unterstreicht dies deutlich. Wir haben hier eine klare Chance, als weltweiter Innovations- und Technikführer zu agieren. Ich gratuliere den Gründern zu dem großen Erfolg und AMCS zu dem guten Invest!

Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF

Der HTGF hat uns bereits in einer sehr frühen Phase als Investor und strategischer Partner begleitet. Für ein Softwareunternehmen wie uns sind das Netzwerk und das Branchenwissen des HTGF sehr wichtig. Wir bedanken uns für die wertvolle Zusammenarbeit und die Unterstützung!

Markus Becker, CEO und Mitgründer von Quentic

Die Quentic GmbH ist eine Ausgründung der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin und wurde in der frühen Phase durch ein EXIST-Gründerstipendium des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums unterstützt. Der HTGF blieb über mehrere Finanzierungsphasen an Board und begleitete das Unternehmen bei weiteren Anschlussfinanzierungen. 

Heute ist das Unternehmen mit 250 Mitarbeitern an über 14 Standorten europaweit tätig. Zu den Kunden zählen über 900 Unternehmen aus Mittelstand, genauso wie global tätige Großkonzerne.

Quentic Gründerteam: v. l. n. r. Hardy Menzel (CTO), Sebastian Mönnich (COO) und Markus Becker (CEO) – Bildrechte: Quentic

*Zu den finanziellen Konditionen der Transaktion wurde Stillschweigen vereinbart. Die Transaktion steht unter dem Vorbehalt der behördlichen Genehmigung und soll in den kommenden Wochen abgeschlossen werden. Nach der behördlichen Genehmigung wird Quentic Teil von AMCS.

Über Quentic
Quentic ist einer der führenden Lösungsanbieter von Software as a Service (SaaS) für HSEQ- und ESG-Management. Die Quentic Plattform umfasst zehn individuell kombinierbare Fachmodule und bietet somit beste Voraussetzungen für ein effizientes Management in den Bereichen Arbeitssicherheit, Risks & Audits, Ereignisse & Beobachtungen, Gefahrstoffe, Control of Work, Legal Compliance, Online-Unterweisungen, Prozesse, Umweltmanagement und Nachhaltigkeit. Ergänzt werden sie durch die Quentic App für mobiles Reporting und durch leistungsstarke Analysemöglichkeiten, sowie übersichtliche und tagesaktuelle Dashboards zu HSEQ-Kenndaten in Quentic Analytics. Über 900 Kunden haben ihre individuelle und leistungsstarke HSEQ-Management-Plattform mit den Quentic Software-Lösungen zusammengestellt und stärken so die nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen Verantwortungsbereiche Environment, Social und Governance (ESG) ihrer Organisation. Die integrative Software ist geeignet, komplette Managementsysteme gemäß ISO 14001, ISO 50001 und ISO 45001 zu unterstützen.
Das Unternehmen Quentic hat seinen Hauptsitz in Berlin, und beschäftigt mehr als 250 Mitarbeitende. Niederlassungen befinden sich in Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz, Finnland, Schweden, Dänemark, Belgien, den Niederlanden, Frankreich, Spanien und Italien.

Medienkontakt
Juliane Röhner, PR Manager
juliane.roehner@quentic.com

Über AMCS
AMCS hat seinen Hauptsitz in Limerick, Irland, und unterhält Niederlassungen in Nordamerika, Europa und Australien, wo über 800 Mitarbeitende in 12 Ländern beschäftigt sind. AMCS ist ein weltweit führender Anbieter von integrierter Software und Fahrzeugtechnologie für die Umwelt-, Recycling- und Ressourcenindustrie und bietet Optimierungslösungen für den breiteren Transport- und Logistikmarkt. AMCS hilft über 3.000 Kunden in 22 Ländern, ihre Betriebskosten zu senken, die Anlagenauslastung zu erhöhen, die Gewinnspannen zu optimieren und den Kundenservice zu verbessern. Die Unternehmenssoftware und SaaS-Lösungen von AMCS bieten digitale Innovationen für die aufkommende Kreislaufwirtschaft auf der ganzen Welt.

Medienkontakt
Mark Abbas
Chief Marketing Officer
PR@amcsgroup.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Markus Kreßmann, Partner
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 132
m.kressmann@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Blog
10. August 2022

Vom Sandkasten zum Product-Market-Fit: Instagrid in den HTGF Start-up Stories

Wie finde ich zum Product-Market-Fit? Wie findet man die richtige Idee für eine Gründung? Und warum ist es so wichtig, früh einen Prototyp zu designen? Diese und viele weitere Fragen beantwortet uns Andreas Sedlmayr, einer der Gründer von Instagrid. In unserer brandneuen Kurzvideoreihe Start-up Stories fragen wir die Gründer und Gründerinnen unserer Portfoliounternehmen nach wichtigen Tipps und Insights direkt aus der Praxis. Instagrid ist Spezialist für mobile Hochleistungsb
 
Presse
9. August 2022

Mobile Learning Start-up doinstruct erhält siebenstellige Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Born2Grow

Mitarbeiterschulung, Integration und Kommunikation neu gedacht: doinstruct entwickelt eine niedrigschwellige, mehrsprachige, mobile Schulungslösung für Frontlineworker. Die Software ermöglicht es Unternehmen, ihre Mitarbeitenden sowie Dienstleister lieferkettenübergreifend und ortsunabhängig auf dem Smartphone zu schulen. Mit den neuen, starken Partnern möchte doinstruct die Mitarbeiterschulung in Unternehmen revolutionieren und die Produktentwicklung sowie die Expansion des Unternehme
 
Presse
27. Juli 2022

Energiewende-Startup node.energy erhält 7 Mio. Euro in Series-A-Finanzierung

Insgesamt vier neue Investoren steigen in das Unternehmen ein und auch Bestandsinvestoren wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und renommierte Business Angels bringen erneut frisches Kapital ein. Die Auswahl der vier neuen Investoren der Series-A erfolgte dabei ganz bewusst. So wird die Finanzierungsrunde angeführt vom Kölner VC BitStone Capital, dem führenden PropTech Fund mit starker Expertise in der Immobilienbranche. Als Co-Investoren bringen die 10x Founders umfassende Erfahrung