Press

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds – E.ON acquires majority stake in envelio GmbH

December 17, 2021

  • The Cologne-based startup envelio provides the Intelligent Grid Platform (IGP) to grid operators for the next phase of the energy transition
  • The acquisition of envelio is part of E.ON’s ambition to provide an open digital energy ecosystem
  • In 2018 High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Demeter invested in the seed round

Bonn, December 17, 2021 – High-Tech Gründerfonds sold its shares in envelio GmbH after accompanying the company for the past three years. The energy transition will only succeed through the smartification of power grids. Through envelio and its dedicated team E.ON is securing a key technology that will enable utilities to manage their grids more efficiently.

envelio is a specialist in digital grid planning and operation and has developed the “Intelligent Grid Platform” – a solution that enables power grid operators to set up a “digital-twin” of networks and optimize grid planning processes and decisions based on real time data. envelio has already been working with E.ON’s distribution system operators (DSOs) Westnetz and E.DIS for the past three years and is already serving more than 35 customers across Europe. The company was established in 2017 as a spin-off from RWTH Aachen and has a diverse and international team of more than 70 employees.

Our vision at envelio are intelligent grids for a sustainable future worldwide. We are thrilled to now continue our journey together with E.ON. This new strategic partnership will enable us to further scale our technology and deliver the new standard for digital grid management to utilities. We are especially thankful to all our employees and for the support of our investors.

Dr. Simon Koopmann, Co-Founder and CEO of envelio

Building a company from ideation to exit is a very special and intense journey. Anchored in common values the envelio founders have relentlessly built a high performing team with the shared vision to drive the energy transition forward. We have great respect for the outsized success you have achieved, and even more for the path you have taken, never compromising on integrity and trust. What a ride. We feel humbled and thankful to have been a little part of this journey.

Yann Fiebig, Principal at HTGF

The financial terms of the transactions were not disclosed.

About envelio
envelio is a spin-off from RWTH Aachen University and provides the Intelligent Grid Platform to distribution system operators for the next phase of the energy transition. Grid planning and operation processes are digitalized and automated by envelio’s IGP. This automation enables a faster and more cost-efficient integration of renewable generation and charging points for electric vehicles into the energy system. The core of envelio’s technology are algorithms based on the founders’ five PhD. envelio was founded in 2017 and now has more than 70 employees and serves more than 35 distribution system operators as customers worldwide.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Yann Fiebig, Principal
T.: +49 228 82300 144
y.fiebig@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
26. January 2023

Refined Laser Systems Raises €2.7m to Diagnose Cancer in Minutes

Refined Laser Systems has developed an innovative microscopy procedure to support pathology in diagnosing cancer within minutes and avoid revision surgeries. The investment was led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and APEX Ventures alongside Onsight Ventures, NRW.BANK, and Papst Venture Capital. The Seed funding will be used to develop an intraoperative microscope prototype that identifies tumor margins directly in the surgery room and will offer a diagnosis within minutes by a remote patho
 
Press
16. January 2023

Fintech Cerchia closes CHF 1.3 million financing round with HTGF and other investors to finance and hedge climate damages through a novel, decentralized marketplace

CHF 1.3 million seed financing round closed with lead investor HTGF and additional private investors. Cerchia AG ("Cerchia") has created the world's first marketplace for direct risk transfer on the Zilliqa Blockchain. The Swiss fintech is building a novel capital markets platform to create an efficient, transparent, and compliant solution for direct risk transfer between reinsurers and investors. The team consists of experienced capital markets and risk management executives, rein
 
Press
refuel.green
12. January 2023

refuel.green receives €1.2 million pre-seed financing for more cost-effective production of fuels from renewable electricity (e-fuels)

A total of €1.2 million in fresh capital for particularly innovative technology refuel.green wins HTGF as lead investor for pre-seed financing TGFS Technologiegründerfonds Sachsen and two business angels are co-investors Team buildup and first customer project planned for 2023 Dresden, January 12, 2023 – e-fuels can make a decisive contribution to making the global economy independent of fossil crude oil and at the same time CO2-neutral and renewable. The refuel.green

Presse

Erfolgreicher Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds – E.ON erwirbt Mehrheitsbeteiligung an der envelio GmbH

17. Dezember 2021

  • Das Kölner Start-up envelio bietet Verteilernetzbetreibern die „Intelligent Grid Platform“ (IGP) für die nächste Phase der Energiewende
  • envelio ist Teil der Ambition von E.ON, ein offenes digitales Energie-Ökosystem bereitzustellen
  • 2018 investierten der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Demeter in der Seedrunde

Bonn, 17. Dezember 2021 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds hat seine Anteile an der envelio GmbH verkauft. 3 Jahre hat der Seedinvestor das Unternehmen begleitet. Die Energiewende wird nur durch die Digitalisierung der Energiesysteme gelingen. Mit envelio und seinem spezialisierten Team sichert sich E.ON eine weitere Schlüsseltechnologie, die Energieunternehmen brauchen, um ihre Energienetze effizient zu managen.

envelio ist ein Spezialist für digitales Netzmanagement und hat die „Intelligent Grid Platform“ entwickelt. Diese Lösung ermöglicht es Netzbetreibern, einen so genannten „digitalen Zwilling“ des Energienetzes zu erstellen, um Netzplanung und -betriebsführung sowie Entscheidungen auf der Grundlage von Echtzeitnetzdaten zu optimieren. envelio arbeitet bereits seit drei Jahren mit den E.ON-Verteilnetzbetreibern (DSOs) Westnetz und E.DIS zusammen. Das Unternehmen wurde 2017 als Spin-off der RWTH Aachen gegründet und verfügt über ein diverses und internationales Team von mehr als 70 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern.

Unsere Vision bei envelio sind intelligente Netze für eine nachhaltige Zukunft weltweit. Wir freuen uns sehr, unsere Reise nun gemeinsam mit E.ON fortzuführen. Die neue strategische Partnerschaft mit E.ON, ermöglicht es uns, unsere Technologie weiter zu skalieren und gemeinsam den neuen Standard für digitales Netzmanagement zu entwickeln. Unser besonderer Dank gilt allen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern und den Investoren für ihre Unterstützung.

Dr. Simon Koopmann, Mitbegründer und CEO von envelio

Der Aufbau eines Unternehmens von der Idee bis zum Exit ist eine ganz besondere und intensive Reise. Verankert in gemeinsamen Werten haben die envelio-Gründer unermüdlich ein leistungsstarkes Team aufgebaut, mit der gemeinsamen Vision, die Energiewende voranzutreiben. Wir haben großen Respekt vor dem überragenden Erfolg, den Ihr erreicht habt und noch mehr vor dem Weg, den Ihr zurückgelegt habt, ohne jemals Kompromisse bei Integrität und Vertrauen einzugehen. Wir sind glücklich und dankbar, dass wir ein kleiner Teil dieser Reise sein durften.

Yann Fiebig, Principal beim HTGF

Die finanziellen Bedingungen der Transaktionen wurden nicht bekannt gegeben.

Über envelio
envelio ist ein Spin-Off der RWTH Aachen und bietet Energienetzbetreibern mit der Intelligent Grid Platform (IGP) eine Softwareplattform für die nächste Phase der Energiewende. Durch envelios IGP können zukunftsfähige Energienetze digital und automatisiert geplant und betrieben werden. Erneuerbare Energien und Ladepunkte für die Elektromobilität lassen sich dadurch schneller und kosteneffizienter in das Energiesystem integrieren. Die zentrale Grundlage der Softwareplattform sind Algorithmen aus den fünf Dissertationen der Gründer. envelio wurde 2017 gegründet und beschäftigt heute mehr als 70 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter und hat weltweit mehr als 35 Verteilernetzbetreiber als Kunden.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungs-runden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investoren Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Yann Fiebig, Principal
T.: +49 228 82300 144
y.fiebig@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
26. Januar 2023

Refined Laser Systems erhält 2,7 Millionen Euro für minutenschnelle Krebsdiagnose

Refined Laser Systems hat ein innovatives Mikroskopieverfahren entwickelt, um die Pathologie bei der Krebsdiagnose binnen Minuten zu unterstützen und Revisionsoperationen zu vermeiden. Angeführt wurde die Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und APEX Ventures unter Beteiligung von OnSight Ventures, NRW.BANK und Papst Venture Capital. Die Seedfinanzierung wird für die Entwicklung eines Prototyps eines intraoperativen Mikroskops verwendet, welches Tumorränder direkt im OP-Saal i
 
Presse
16. Januar 2023

Fintech Cerchia schließt CHF 1,3 Mio. Finanzierungsrunde mit HTGF und weiteren Investoren ab, um Klimaschäden mittels eines neuartigen, dezentralen Marktplatzes zu finanzieren und abzusichern

CHF 1,3 Mio. Seed-Finanzierungsrunde mit dem Lead-Investor HTGF und weiteren privaten Investoren abgeschlossen. Cerchia AG ("Cerchia") hat den weltweit ersten Marktplatz für direkten Risikotransfer auf der Zilliqa Blockchain geschaffen. Das Schweizer Fintech baut eine neuartige Kapitalmarktplattform auf, um eine effiziente, transparente und gesetzeskonforme Lösung für den direkten Risikotransfer zwischen Rückversicherern und Investoren zu schaffen. Das Team besteht aus erfahren
 
Presse
refuel.green
12. Januar 2023

refuel.green erhält 1,2 Mio. € Pre-Seed-Finanzierung für kostengünstigere Produktion von Kraftstoffen aus erneuerbarer Elektroenergie (e-fuels)

Insgesamt 1,2 Mio. € frisches Kapital für besonders innovative Technologie refuel.green gewinnt HTGF als Lead-Investor für Pre-Seed-Finanzierung TGFS Technologiegründerfonds Sachsen sowie zwei Business Angels sind Co-Investoren Teamaufbau sowie erstes Kundenprojekt für 2023 geplant Dresden, 12. Januar 2023 – e-fuels können entscheidend dazu beitragen, die Weltwirtschaft unabhängig von Erdöl sowie gleichzeitig CO2-neutral und erneuerbar zu machen. Das Team von ref