Press

Very successful Exit for HTGF: Enscape to Merge with Chaos, Backed by TA Associates and LEA Partners

January 11, 2022

  • The Karlsruhe-based start-up Enscape has quickly grown, establishing its position as a leading SaaS provider for real-time rendering and design workflow technology to the architecture, engineering and construction (AEC) industry
  • High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) has been an investor in the company since it was spun off in 2017 from Inreal Technologies – a HTGF portfolio start-up since 2013
  • The merger will create a global leader in 3D visualization and design workflow technology

Bonn, January 11, 2022 – TA Associates, a global growth private equity firm, and LEA Partners, a technology focused private equity firm, announced today an agreement to merge Enscape, a developer of real-time rendering and design workflow technology for the AEC industries, and Chaos, a world leader in photorealistic rendering technology.In this context HTGF will sell its shares in Enscape after accompanying the company closely since the spin off from Inreal Technologies in 2017. 

Enscape offers solutions that connect directly into modeling software for the AEC industry, integrating design and visualization workflows seamlessly into one. This allows the company to support its customers through the entire design process with unprecedented ease-of-use, enabling faster concept iteration, real-time collaboration and feedback. Chaos, founded in 1997, is widely known as a world leader in visualization and computer graphics, offering an ecosystem of 3D rendering, real-time visualization and simulation software.

The merger will establish a global leader in the 3D visualization and design workflow software sectors, with a focus on the AEC, visual effects (VFX) and product design verticals. The newly-combined company aims to develop and strengthen its product portfolio to create a comprehensive end-to-end visualization ecosystem, designed to meet the evolving needs of its customers.

Enscape has seen a period of extraordinary growth, outpacing an already fast-growing market. We are thrilled to join forces with Chaos as we seek to further our scale, recognizing that our companies are highly complementary and share an end-to-end product vision. With the support of LEA and TA, we will significantly increase our investment in growth, technology and people.

Christian Lang, CEO of Enscape

Enscape is one of the most profitable investments for HTGF. Through this transaction, we have achieved the highest multiple in the fund’s history. As a seed investor, it was fascinating for us to support the company in its various development phases. Shortly after its formation, Thomas Willberger and Moritz Luck established Enscape’s technology as the global standard for real-time rendering in architecture and laid the foundation for the company’s rapid growth. With LEA coming on board, Enscape’s growth continued and the management team was successfully expanded with the addition of Christian Lang. It has been a privilege to be involved with Enscape as an investor since its foundation and to be part of the company’s successful development.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Enscape is an incredible success story for HTGF and another milestone for our SaaS portfolio. We are convinced that the merger is the next logical step in the company’s successful journey.

Markus Kreßmann, Partner at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Since our initial investment, we have worked closely with the Enscape management team to grow the company into a leading provider for the AEC industry, and this is only the beginning.

Christian Roth, Managing Partner at LEA Partners

We have been impressed by the growth, high-quality product offerings and loyal customer base of both Chaos and Enscape. Together, we believe the company can build on its strong momentum to create a global leader in the 3D visualization and design workflowspace.

Stefan Dandl, Principal at TA

The transaction is subject to customary regulatory approvals and is expected to be completed during the first quarter of 2022. Financial terms of the transaction were not disclosed.

About Enscape
Enscape develops high-quality real-time rendering and virtual reality software for the global AEC industry. Enscape integrates design and visualization workflows into one and gives designers the power to create realistic renderings based on their existing planning data and easily produce videos, panoramic images, and VR simulations. Enscape software is used by renowned architecture firms in over 150 countries, with more than 24,000 customers and 240,000 active monthly users worldwide. The company operates from offices in Karlsruhe (Germany) and New York (USA).
Learn more at www.enscape3d.com.

About Chaos
Chaos is a world leader in computer graphics technology, empowering artists and designers to create photorealistic imagery and animation across all creative industries. Chaos develops 3D rendering and simulation software that is used daily by top design studios, architectural firms, advertising agencies, and visual effects companies around the globe. The firm’s physically based renderer, V-Ray, has been honored with both an Academy Award and an Engineering Emmy for its role in the widespread adoption of ray-traced rendering in motion pictures and television. Today, the company’s advancements in ray tracing, cloud rendering, and real-time visualization are shaping the future of design communication and storytelling. Founded in 1997, Chaos operates with offices in Sofia, Prague, Seoul, Tokyo, and Los Angeles.
For more information visit www.chaos.com.

About TA Associates
TA is a leading global growth private equity firm. Focused on targeted sectors within five industries – technology, healthcare, financial services, consumer and business services – the firm invests in profitable, growing companies with opportunities for sustained growth, and has invested in more than 550 companies around the world. Investing as either a majority or minority investor, TA employs a long-term approach, utilizing its strategic resources to help management teams build lasting value in high quality growth companies. TA has raised $47.5 billion in capital since its founding in 1968. The firm’s more than 100 investment professionals are based in Boston, Menlo Park, London, Mumbai and Hong Kong.
More information about TA can be found at www.ta.com.

About LEA Partners
LEA Partners is an entrepreneurial-minded multi-stage private equity firm investing in growth technology companies that are driving transformative change in their industries. Operating out of Karlsruhe, one of Europe’s largest technology clusters, its mission is to fund and support ambitious founders and executives by leveraging them with practical, hands-on growth expertise to achieve market leadership.
Learn more at www.leapartners.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Klaus Lehmann, Partner
T.: +49 228 82300 115
k.lehmann@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
29. September 2022

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter appointed partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Dr. Angelika Vlachou and Stefanie Grüter to become partners at High-Tech Gründerfonds effective 1 October 2022Dr. Angelika Vlachou to further expand her duties within the Life Sciences unit at HTGF’s Berlin office in her new role as partnerStefanie Grüter to assume responsibility for marketing, communications and relationship management in her new position Bonn/Berlin, 29 September 2022 – High-Tech Gründerfonds, leading seed investor in Germany, has appointed Stefanie Grüter
 
Press
28. September 2022

GS Bavaria closes seven-figure seed round for scaling tungsten particles as sustainable additive in composites

GS Bavaria aims to support the composites industry on its way to sustainability. The startup enables users to dramatically improve mechanical properties and resource use through biologically produced tungsten-based additives. With the seven-figure financing round, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds and with the participation of renowned business angels, GS Bavaria is setting up industrial production of the nanomaterials and investing in sales and R&D. Nürnberg, 27.09.2022- GS
 
Press
26. September 2022

Kupando raises €13 million in Series A funding round

Financing led by Remiges Ventures, co-led by LifeCare Partners, with additional investments by Brandenburg Kapital, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Ventura Biomed Investors and undisclosed family offices.Proceeds to be used to complete IND-enabling work and initiate clinical development. Schönefeld/Berlin, 26. September 2022 – Kupando, a pioneering biopharmaceutical company developing TLR 4/7 agonists that stimulate innate immunity for use in oncology and infectious diseases, anno

Presse

Erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: Enscape fusioniert mit Chaos, unterstützt von LEA Partners und TA Associates

11. Januar 2022

  • Das Karlsruher Start-up Enscape ist seit seinem Markteintritt schnell gewachsen und hat seine Position als führender Anbieter in der Architektur-, Ingenieur- und Bauindustrie (AEC) gefestigt
  • Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) ist seit 2017 Investor des Start-ups, das als Spin-off aus Inreal Technologies hervorgegangen ist, einem HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen seit 2013
  • Durch den Zusammenschluss entsteht ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen in den Bereichen 3D-Visualisierung und Design-Workflow-Software

Bonn, 11. Januar 2022 – Der deutsche Technologieinvestor LEA Partners und TA Associates, ein weltweit führendes Private-Equity-Unternehmen, gaben heute den Zusammenschluss von Enscape, einem Entwickler von Echtzeit-Rendering- und Design-Workflow-Technologie für die Architektur-, Ingenieur- und Bauindustrie (AEC), und Chaos, einem weltweit führenden Unternehmen für fotorealistische Rendering-Technologie, bekannt. In diesem Kontext wird der HTGF seine Anteile an dem Start-up, das er seit dem Spin-off von Inreal Technologies im Jahr 2017 eng begleitet hat, veräußern.

Enscape liefert eine Technologie, die direkt mit CAD-Software in der AEC-Branche verbunden ist und Design- und Visualisierungs-Workflows nahtlos integriert. Dadurch unterstützt Enscape seine Kunden während des gesamten Designprozesses mit beispielloser Benutzerfreundlichkeit, schnelleren Konzept-Iterationen, Echtzeit-Zusammenarbeit und Prozess-Feedback. Chaos wurde 1997 in Sofia gegründet und ist als ein weltweiter Marktführer im Bereich Visualisierung und Computer Graphics (CG) bekannt. Das Unternehmen bietet ein Ökosystem von 3D-Rendering-, Echtzeit-Visualisierungs- und Simulationssoftware.

Durch den Zusammenschluss entsteht ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen in den Bereichen 3D-Visualisierung und Design-Workflow-Software mit Schwerpunkt auf den Branchen AEC, Visual Effects (VFX) und Produktdesign. Das neu fusionierte Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, sein Produktportfolio weiterzuentwickeln und zu stärken, um ein umfassendes End-to-End-Visualisierungs-Ökosystem zu schaffen, das auf die sich weiterentwickelnden Bedürfnisse seiner Kunden zugeschnitten ist.

Enscape ist in einer Periode außergewöhnlichen Wachstums. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir uns mit Chaos zusammenschließen, denn unsere Unternehmen ergänzen sich hervorragend und teilen die Vision einer voll integrierten End-to-End Lösung. Mit der Unterstützung von LEA und TA werden wir unsere Investitionen in Wachstum, Technologie und Mitarbeiter erheblich steigern.

Christian Lang, CEO von Enscape

Enscape ist eines der profitabelsten Investments für den HTGF. Mit dieser Transaktion haben wir den höchsten Multiple in der Geschichte des Fonds erzielt. Als Seedinvestor war es für uns faszinierend, das Unternehmen in seinen verschiedenen Entwicklungsphasen zu begleiten. Thomas Willberger and Moritz Luck haben Enscape schon kurz nach der Gründung als weltweiten Standard für Echtzeit-Rendering in der Architektur etabliert und die Weichen für das rasante Wachstum gestellt. Mit dem Einstieg von LEA setzte sich das Wachstum fort und mit Christian Lang wurde das Management-Team erfolgreich erweitert. Es war ein Privileg seit der Gründung als Investor dabei zu sein und die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von Enscape zu begleiten.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Enscape ist eine unglaubliche Erfolgsgeschichte für den HTGF und ein weiterer Meilenstein für unser SaaS-Portfolio. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Fusion der nächste logische Schritt auf dem erfolgreichen Weg des Unternehmens ist.

Markus Kreßmann, Partner beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Seit unserem Einstieg bei Enscape haben wir eng mit dem Managementteam zusammengearbeitet, um das Unternehmen zu einem führenden Anbieter für die AEC-Branche auszubauen, und wir stehen damit erst am Anfang.

Christian Roth, Managing Partner bei LEA Partners

Wir sind beeindruckt vom Wachstum, dem herausragenden Produktangebot und dem treuen Kundenstamm von Chaos und Enscape. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die neu formierte Gruppe auf seiner starken Dynamik aufbauen kann, um ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen im Bereich 3D-Visualisierung und Design-Workflow zu schaffen.

Stefan Dandl, Principal bei TA

Der Vollzug der Transaktion steht unter dem Vorbehalt der kartellrechtlichen Freigabe und wird voraussichtlich im ersten Quartal 2022 abgeschlossen sein. Über die finanziellen Bedingungen der Transaktion wurde Stillschweigen vereinbart.

Über Enscape
Enscape entwickelt hochwertige Echtzeit-Rendering- und Virtual-Reality-Software für die globale AEC-Industrie. Enscape integriert Design- und Visualisierungs-Workflows und gibt Designern die Möglichkeit, realistische Renderings auf Basis ihrer bestehenden Planungsdaten zu erstellen und Videos, Panoramabilder und VR-Simulationen einfach zu produzieren. Enscape-Software wird von renommierten Architekturbüros in über 150 Ländern eingesetzt, mit mehr als 24.000 Kunden und 240.000 aktiven monatlichen Nutzern weltweit. Das Unternehmen unterhält Büros in Karlsruhe (Deutschland) und New York (USA).
Erfahren Sie mehr unter www.enscape3d.com.

Kontakt
Darlene Batista Alvar
+49-1516 4678140
Email: d.alvar@enscape3d.com

Über Chaos
Chaos ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen im Bereich der Computergrafik-Technologie, das Künstlern und Designern die Möglichkeit gibt, fotorealistische Bilder und Animationen für alle kreativen Branchen zu erstellen. Chaos entwickelt 3D-Rendering- und Simulationssoftware, die täglich von führenden Designstudios, Architekturbüros, Werbeagenturen und Unternehmen für visuelle Effekte auf der ganzen Welt eingesetzt wird. Der physikalisch basierte Renderer des Unternehmens, V-Ray, wurde sowohl mit einem Academy Award als auch mit einem Engineering Emmy für seine Rolle bei der weit verbreiteten Einführung von Ray-Traced Rendering in Film und Fernsehen ausgezeichnet. Heute prägen die Fortschritte des Unternehmens in den Bereichen Raytracing, Cloud-Rendering und Echtzeitvisualisierung die Zukunft der Designkommunikation und des Storytellings. Chaos wurde 1997 gegründet und unterhält Büros in Sofia, Prag, Seoul, Tokio und Los Angeles.
Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie www.chaos.com.

Über TA Associates
TA ist eine führende globale wachstumsorientierte Private-Equity-Gesellschaft. Das Unternehmen konzentriert sich auf bestimmte Sektoren innerhalb von fünf Branchen – Technologie, Gesundheitswesen, Finanzdienstleistungen, Konsumgüter und Unternehmensdienstleistungen – und investiert in profitable, wachsende Unternehmen mit Chancen auf nachhaltiges Wachstum. Als Mehrheits- oder Minderheitsinvestor verfolgt TA einen langfristigen Ansatz und setzt seine strategischen Ressourcen gezielt ein, um Managementteams dabei zu helfen, dauerhafte Werte in hochwertigen Wachstumsunternehmen zu schaffen. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1968 hat TA 47,5 Milliarden Dollar an Kapital aufgenommen. Die mehr als 100 Investmentexperten des Unternehmens sind in Boston, Menlo Park, London, Mumbai und Hongkong ansässig.
Weitere Informationen über TA finden Sie unter www.ta.com.

Über LEA Partners
LEA Partners ist eine unternehmerisch orientierte Private-Equity-Gesellschaft, die in wachstumsstarke Technologieunternehmen investiert, die in ihren Branchen den transformativen Wandel maßgeblich vorantreiben. LEA Partners hat seinen Sitz in Karlsruhe, einem der größten Technologiecluster Europas. Das Unternehmen hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, als unternehmerischer Eigenkapitalpartner mit starker Wachstumsexpertise, Gründer und Management-Teams in unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsphasen bei ihrem Wachstum und dem Erreichen einer führenden Marktposition zu unterstützen.
Erfahren Sie mehr unter www.leapartners.de.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungs-runden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investoren
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Klaus Lehmann, Partner
T.: +49 228 82300 115
k.lehmann@htgf.de

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

18. Januar 2022

PreOmics gibt den Ausstieg früher Investoren und den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung bekannt, um die Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die Vermarktung von Proteomik-Technologien zu beschleunigen

PreOmics bietet einzigartige Technologien, innovative Automatisierungslösungen und hochleistungsfähige Verbrauchsmaterialien für die Homogenisierung, Anreicherung und proteomische Probenvorbereitung von Biopsie-, Gewebe-, Zelllinien- und Plasmaproben an, um ein hocheffiziente proteomische Analyse in der pharmazeutischen und klinischen Forschung zu ermöglichen München, 18. Januar 2022 – PreOmics GmbH, ein in Martinsried ansässiger Entwickler innovativer Automatisierungs- und Pr
 
12. Januar 2022

Das Berliner Fintech Banxware sammelt 10 Millionen Euro für die Weiterentwicklung seiner voll integrierten Business-Lending-Lösung

Banxware ist ein Lending-as-a-Service-Anbieter für eingebettete Finanzdienstleistungen, der es digitalen Plattformen wie Marktplätzen, Zahlungsanbietern und anderen Aggregatoren ermöglicht, eingebettete Finanzierungsprodukte wie z. B. White Label Merchant Cash Advance anzubieten.Hinzugekommen als Investoren sind Element Ventures, D4 Ventures und FinVC sowie Banxwares strategischer Partner Varengold Bank AG. Sie gesellen sich zu den bereits bestehenden Investoren, darunter Force over Mass,
 
12. Januar 2022

CereGate, die Computer-Brain-Interface-Softwareplattform, treibt die klinische Entwicklung voran und sichert sich eine Finanzierung durch die führenden Deep-Tech- und Mental-Health-Investoren 468 Capital und re.Mind Capital

Im aufstrebenden Bereich der Neurowissenschaften ist CereGate in der Lage, die Behandlung neurologischer Erkrankungen zu revolutionieren, indem es mit dem menschlichen Gehirn durch einen einzigartigen Software-First-Ansatz interagiert. Nach Fortschritten in der klinischen Entwicklung, einschließlich der Erteilung des FDA-Durchbruchsstatus für die erste Anwendung in der Deep Brain Stimulation Freezing of Gait Therapie (FOG-LIGHTS) und dem Start einer klinischen Studie in den USA, erhält