GlassFlow raises $1.1m in pre-seed funding to democratize the data streaming market

November 3, 2023

  • Data streaming is one of the biggest growing markets benefiting from the adoption of new technologies.  
  • Big data, IoT, and AI generate continuous data, but organizations lack the infrastructure expertise to harness it.  
  • The Berlin-based startup GlassFlow secured $1,1m in a pre-seed round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) for their streaming infrastructure solution to democratize data streaming.    
  • Further investors include TinyVC, Roosh Ventures, Robin Capital and several expert Business Angels like GitHub’s CEO and Aiven’s CTO. 
  • The company works closely with Python developers who want to become more self-sufficient when creating their use cases. 

Berlin, 3. November 2023 -GlassFlow announced the close of a $1.1 million pre-seed round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds, TinyVC, Roosh Ventures, Robin Capital, and industry experts such as Heikki Nousiannen, CTO of Aiven, Thomas Dohmke, CEO of GitHub and Prof. Dr.-Ing Roland Fassauer (Co-founder of Intershop). 

When it comes to data streaming, organizations are using complex tech systems to meet user expectations. The challenges of constructing and managing event-driven data pipelines often require substantial data engineering efforts, hindering the adaptability of applications. 

The founders of GlassFlow, Ashish Bagri and Armend Avdijaj, are building a platform that enables Python developers in those companies to build and transform their streaming data pipelines within minutes. The platform includes an easy-to-use setup that scales automatically with the performance needs of the pipelines and a serverless transformation engine that allows users to define applications as functions and events. 

GlassFlow’s mission is to democratize real-time data processing, helping organizations of all sizes and Python engineers from diverse backgrounds unlock the full potential of streaming data. This mission is well positioned in a market worth $15.4bn and is predicted to grow to >$50bn in the following years. 

One of the growth drivers of the market is the adoption of AI. A relevant factor that the CEO of GitHub and Angel Investor of GlassFlow, Thomas Dohmke, confirms.

We are on the cusp of a new industrial revolution spearheaded by artificial intelligence, and at its heart lies one crucial element: data. What makes GlassFlow’s product exciting is that modern companies, across all sectors, are rapidly recognizing that data is not just an asset but a fundamental building block to their success. It’s through this vital resource that systems and teams learn, adapt, innovate, and provide unprecedented value, driving efficiencies and creating new opportunities. GlassFlow offers the tools to harness this data, so I am excited to be part of GlassFlow’s journey, building the best data streaming pipeline.

Thomas Dohmke, CEO of GitHub and Angel Investor of GlassFlow

The GlassFlow team collaborates closely with Python developers to build their product along the user needs. This is an approach that Heikki Nousiainen, CTO/co-founder of aiven.io and Angel Investor at GlassFlow is sharing with them.

Business success is measured through the ability to understand and make sense of the market and the speed in adjusting and adapting to the customer requirements. At the heart of the successful and modern business is the ability to collect, process and distill data into insights and information. I’m excited to be part of GlassFlow’s journey, for their efforts in helping companies to manage, control, extend, share, re-purpose and innovate on the data assets in an easily approachable form. 

Heikki Nousiainen, of aiven.io and Angel Investor at GlassFlow

Avdijaj and Bagri bring the relevant experience of building a solution to help data teams leverage their data sets. That’s one of the reasons why they attracted investors

With the ever-growing need to process data, the infrastructure to maintain such tasks must be commoditized. Armend and Ashish have built high-performing data streaming solutions and will create a new standard in terms of ease of usage and maintenance for data platforms

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager of High-Tech Gründerfonds

Founders of GlassFlow: Ashish Bagri and Armend Avdijaj (Picture: GlassFlow )

Media Kit


About GlassFlow 
GlassFlow is democratizing data streaming by allowing companies to shift focus from infrastructure setup to creating new use cases. With its platform, the Berlin-based startup helps data engineers effortlessly build and transform data streams while unlocking the full potential of event processing for organizations of all sizes. With a few minutes of work, Python data engineers can ingest, observe and transform data streams at scale with one technology. 

Contact for Inquiries
Armend Avdijaj 
armend@glassflow.dev
www.glassflow.dev

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

 
Media contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121  
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

News

GlassFlow erhält 1,1 Mio. $ Pre-Seed-Finanzierung zur Demokratisierung des Data-Streaming-Marktes

3. November 2023

  • Data-Streaming ist einer der größten Wachstumsmärkte, der von der Einführung neuer Technologien profitiert. 
  • Big Data, IoT und KI generieren kontinuierlich Daten, aber vielen Unternehmen fehlt die Infrastrukturkompetenz, um diese zu nutzen. 
  • Das Berliner Startup GlassFlow hat in einer Pre-Seed Runde angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds 1,1 Millionen USD für seine Streaming-Infrastrukturlösung erhalten, um das Data-Streaming zu demokratisieren.  
  • TinyVC, Roosh Ventures, Robin Capital und verschiedene Business Angels mit Branchenexpertise wie der CEO von GitHub und der CTO von Aiven beteiligten sich ebenfalls. 
  • Das Unternehmen arbeitet eng mit Python-Entwickler:innen zusammen, die bei der Erstellung ihrer Anwendungsfälle autarker werden wollen. 

Berlin, 3. November 2023 – GlassFlow hat eine Pre-Seed-Finanzierung in Höhe von 1,1 Millionen USD abgeschlossen. Angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds investierten TinyVC, Roosh Ventures, Robin Capital und führende Branchenexperten wie Thomas Dohmke (CEO von GitHub), Heikki Nousiannen (CTO von Aiven), Sergei Sokolenko (ehemaliger Head of Streaming Analytics bei Google) und Prof. Dr.-Ing Roland Fassauer (Mitgründer von Intershop).

Um die Erwartungen der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer zu erfüllen, sind Unternehmen im Bereich Data Streaming gezwungen, auf komplexe technische Systeme zu setzen. Die Herausforderungen bei der Erstellung und Verwaltung ereignisgesteuerter Datenpipelines erfordern oft einen hohen Aufwand im Data-Engineering und erschweren die Anpassbarkeit der Anwendungen. 

Mit ihrer Plattform wollen Ashish Bagri und Armend Avdijaj, die Gründer von GlassFlow, Python-Entwickler:innen befähigen, Streaming-Daten-Pipelines innerhalb von Minuten zu erstellen und zu transformieren. Die Plattform bietet ein benutzerfreundliches Setup, das automatisch entsprechend den Leistungsanforderungen der Pipelines skaliert, sowie eine serverlose Transformationsengine, mit der die Nutzer:innen Anwendungen als Funktionen und Ereignisse definieren können. 

GlassFlow hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Echtzeit-Datenverarbeitung zu demokratisieren und Unternehmen jeder Größe sowie Python-Entwickler:innen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund dabei zu helfen, das Potenzial von Data-Streaming voll auszuschöpfen. Mit dieser Mission ist GlassFlow in einem Markt mit einem Volumen von 15,4 Mrd. USD gut positioniert, der in den nächsten Jahren voraussichtlich auf über 50 Mrd. USD anwachsen wird. 

Einer der Wachstumstreiber des Marktes ist der Einsatz von KI. Das bestätigt auch Thomas Dohmke, CEO von GitHub und Angel-Investor von GlassFlow.

Wir stehen an der Schwelle zu einer neuen industriellen Revolution, die von künstlicher Intelligenz getrieben wird und in deren Zentrum ein entscheidendes Element steht: Daten. Was das Produkt von GlassFlow so interessant macht, ist die Tatsache, dass moderne Unternehmen in allen Branchen schnell erkennen, dass Daten nicht nur ein Vermögenswert, sondern auch ein grundlegender Baustein für ihren Erfolg sind. Mit dieser zentralen Ressource können Systeme und Teams lernen, sich anpassen, innovativ sein und einen beispiellosen Wert schaffen, der die Effizienz steigert und neue Möglichkeiten eröffnet. GlassFlow bietet die Werkzeuge, um diese Daten nutzbar zu machen. Ich freue mich, Teil der Reise von GlassFlow zu sein und die beste Data Streaming Pipeline aufzubauen.

Thomas Dohmke, CEO von GitHub und Angel-Investor von GlassFlow

Um das Produkt an die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer:innen anzupassen, arbeitet das GlassFlow-Team eng mit Python-Entwicklern zusammen. Diesen Ansatz schätzt auch Heikki Nousiainen, CTO/Mitgründer von aiven.io und Angel-Investor von GlassFlow.

Der Erfolg eines Unternehmens wird daran gemessen, wie gut es den Markt versteht und wie schnell es sich an die Bedürfnisse seiner Kunden anpasst. Das Herzstück eines erfolgreichen und modernen Unternehmens ist die Fähigkeit, Daten zu sammeln, zu verarbeiten und in Wissen und Informationen umzuwandeln. Ich freue mich darauf, GlassFlow auf seinem Weg zu begleiten, um Organisationen dabei zu unterstützen, ihre Datenbestände auf einfach zugängliche Weise zu verwalten, zu kontrollieren, zu erweitern, zu teilen, wiederzuverwenden und innovativ zu nutzen. 

Heikki Nousiainen, CTO/Mitgründer von aiven.io und Angel-Investor von GlassFlow

Die Gründer Avdijaj und Bagri bringen die richtige Erfahrung mit, um eine Lösung zu entwickeln, die Data-Teams hilft, den Wert ihrer Datenbestände zu heben. Nicht zuletzt damit konnten sie die Investoren überzeugen.

Mit dem stetig wachsenden Bedarf Daten zu verarbeiten, muss auch die dafür notwendige Infrastruktur zugänglich gemacht werden. Armend und Ashish haben sehr leistungsfähige Data-Streaming-Lösungen entwickelt und werden damit neue Standards in der Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Wartbarkeit von Datenplattformen setzen. 

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Gründer von GlassFlow: Ashish Bagri und Armend Avdijaj (Bild: GlassFlow)

Media Kit


Über GlassFlow 
GlassFlow demokratisiert Data Streaming, indem es Unternehmen ermöglicht, den Fokus vom Aufbau der Infrastruktur auf die Entwicklung neuer Anwendungsfälle zu lenken. Mit ihrer Plattform hilft das Berliner Start-up Data Engineers, Data Streams einfach zu erstellen und zu transformieren und das volle Potenzial von Event Processing für Unternehmen jeder Größe zu erschließen. In nur wenigen Minuten können Python Data Engineers große Data Streamsmit einer einzigen Technologie erfassen, beobachten und transformieren. 

Kontakt
Armend Avdijaj 
armend@glassflow.dev 
www.glassflow.dev 

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds 
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt  
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121  
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
22. April 2024

Successful exit for HTGF: Novo Nordisk to acquire Cardior Pharmaceuticals

Novo Nordisk will acquire Cardior for up to 1.025 billion Euros in upfront and potential milestone payments. Cardior is a leader in the discovery and development of therapies that target RNA as a means to prevent, repair and reverse diseases of the heart. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of Europe’s leading seed investors, participated in the first financing round in 2017. Bonn, Germany, 25 March 2024 – Novo Nordisk and Cardior Pharmaceuticals today announced that N
 
Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F