Press

Almost 500 million for investments in start-ups: Final closing exceeds expectations for HTGF

February 28, 2023

  • High-Tech Gründerfonds’ fourth fund (HTGF IV) reaches a final volume of 493.8 million euros.
  • This makes it the biggest fund generation in the seed investor’s history.
  • Alexa Gorman, Senior Vice President SAP.iO at SAP SE, is to become deputy chair of the investor advisory board.
  • Alongside the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) and KfW Capital, 45 private companies have invested in HTGF IV.

Bonn, 28 February 2023 – High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) has attracted a total volume of 493.8 million euros for its fourth fund generation at final closing. This makes HTGF IV its biggest ever fund.

The seed investor, which invests in technology start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences and chemistry, has supported more than 690 start-ups since its foundation. The volume of the fourth fund generation is more than 50 percent larger than the previous fund generation (319.5 million euros).
HTGF has also seen a considerable increase in the number of private investors compared with HTGF III. Alongside the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) and KfW Capital, 45 private companies have invested in the fund. The majority of the private investors are either market-leading medium-sized companies or hidden champions. A number of corporations and family offices are also among the investors.
Overview of the fund investors

Alexa Gorman will represent the private investors in the new fund. As Senior Vice President and Global Head of SAP.iO, Gorman is responsible for all start-up activities at SAP SE. She is a proven expert in the field of corporate venture capital.

The first investments of the fund have already been made, including in Reflex Aerospace (individual and high-performance satellites), Phialogics (biologics that rebalance the immune response in acute and chronic inflammation) and VisioLab (AI-based check-out solutions).

With its new fund generation, HTGF will be able to make even quicker and more flexible investments, while investment criteria have now also been simplified. Start-ups need only to have been founded in the last three years and they must either be headquartered in Germany or, if they are based elsewhere in Europe, have business premises in Germany.
The fund will also be able to make more capital available for each start-up in future. Up to one million euros can be invested in the seed round. In total, HTGF will thus be able to invest up to four million euros in a start-up across all financing rounds.

We are very proud to significantly increase the number of private investors in HTGF IV despite an extremely challenging environment. In addition to the very good financial performance of the first three funds, the significant value add for private investors made the difference in the very successful fundraising. HTGF IV’s investor base reflects the strengths of the German economy: Alongside a majority of hidden champions, the investors in HTGF IV include several large corporates, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and, for the first time, five family offices.

Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director of HTGF

The very successful fundraising allows us to carry on financing a large number of start-ups with pioneering innovations. Thanks to our fund investors, we are able to provide more capital per investment. This is a crucial change in this market phase.

Guido Schlitzer, Managing Director of HTGF

from left to right Guido Schlitzer and Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Directors at HTGF (Picture: High-Tech Gründerfonds)

About High-Tech Gründerfonds  
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported almost 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

www.htgf.de/en

Contact Media
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Contact Investors
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Managing Director
a.frankenberg@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
27. February 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: Valispace Joins Forces with Altium in a Strategic Acquisition 

Altium and Valispace are joining forces to accelerate the execution of a shared vision for empowering engineers.  HTGF was the first institutional investor and led the seed round in 2018 and has closely supported Valispace throughout all phases of their growth journey. As part of the deal HTGF will sell its shares.  Louise Lindblad, co-founder of Valispace: “We’re now excited to, together with Altium, continue our mission of empowering engineers to build great products,
 
Press
toolify founders
22. February 2024

€1.6 million investment for XITO: Seed funding for easily accessible robotics

With the completed seed financing, XITO now has €1.6 million to expand sales and product development. Toolify Robotics GmbH enables companies to implement robots independently with its XITO solution platform. Thanks to their product XITO, especially SMEs can get started with automation at low cost – without programming knowledge and without external specialists. Ulm, 22. February 2024 – The start-up Toolify Robotics, founded by the three robotics experts Dr. Dennis S
 
Press
21. February 2024

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, includin

Rund 500 Millionen für Investitionen in Start-ups: Final Closing beim HTGF übertrifft Erwartungen

28. Februar 2023

  • Der vierte Fonds des High-Tech Gründerfonds erreicht ein finales Fondsvolumen von 493,8 Millionen Euro.
  • Damit ist es die größte Fondsgeneration seit Bestehen des Seed-Investors.
  • Alexa Gorman, Senior Vice President SAP.iO von SAP SE, wird stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Investorenbeirats.
  • 45 private Investoren beteiligen sich neben dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) und KfW Capital am HTGF IV.

Bonn, 28. Februar 2023 – Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) schließt seine vierte Fondsgeneration mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 493,8 Millionen Euro. Damit ist der HTGF IV der bisher größte Fonds des HTGF.

Der Seed-Investor, der in Technologie-Start-ups aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial Tech, Life Sciences und Chemie investiert, hat seit Bestehen über 690 Start-ups begleitet. Das Volumen der dritten Fondgeneration von 319,5 Millionen Euro wurde in der vierten Fondsgeneration um mehr als 50 Prozent übertroffen.
Auch die Anzahl der privaten Investoren hat der HTGF im Vergleich zur Fondsgeneration drei erneut deutlich steigern können. Neben dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) und der KfW Capital beteiligen sich 45 private Unternehmen an dem Fonds. Die Mehrheit der privaten Investoren sind marktführende Mittelständler oder Hidden Champions. Auch zahlreiche Großunternehmen und Family Offices sind unter den Investoren.
zur Übersicht der Fondsinvestoren

Vertreterin der privaten Investoren im neuen Fonds ist Alexa Gorman. Gorman leitet als Senior Vice President von SAP.iO weltweit alle Start-up-Aktivitäten der SAP SE; sie gilt als ausgewiesene Expertin für Corporate Venture Capital.

Erste Investments wurden bereits getätigt, unter anderem in Reflex Aerospace (individuelle und hochleistungsfähige Satelliten), Phialogics (Biologika, die die Immunantwort bei akuten und chronischen Entzündungen ins Gleichgewicht bringen) und VisioLab (KI basierte Check-out-Lösungen).

Mit der neuen Fondsgeneration kann der HTGF noch flexibler und schneller investieren und vereinfacht gleichzeitig die Investmentkriterien. Start-ups müssen lediglich jünger als drei Jahre alt sein und müssen ihren Hauptsitz in Deutschland haben oder eine deutsche Betriebstätte besitzen, wenn das Unternehmen im europäischen Ausland ansässig ist.
Zusätzlich kann der Fonds zukünftig mehr Kapital pro Start-up bereitstellen: Möglich sind bis zu einer Million Euro in der Seed-Runde. Insgesamt kann der HTGF so über alle Finanzierungsrunden hinweg bis zu vier Millionen Euro in ein Start-up investieren.

Wir sind stolz trotz eines zum Teil äußerst schwierigen Umfelds die Zahl der privaten Investoren beim HTGF IV deutlich erweitert zu haben. Neben der sehr guten wirtschaftlichen Performance der ersten drei Fonds sind die vielfältigen Mehrwerte für die privaten Investoren ausschlaggebend. Die Investorenbasis des HTGF IV spiegelt die Stärken der deutschen Wirtschaft wider: Neben mehrheitlich Hidden Champions sind ausgewählte Großkonzerne, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und erstmalig fünf Family Offices als Investoren im HTGF IV dabei.

Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF

Das sehr erfolgreiche Fundraising ermöglicht uns weiterhin in großer Anzahl Start-ups mit zukunftsweisenden Innovationen zu finanzieren. Dabei können wir dank unserer Fondsinvestoren mehr Kapital pro Invest einsetzen. Dies ist eine bedeutende Veränderung in dieser Marktphase.

Guido Schlitzer, Geschäftsführer des HTGF

v. l. n. r. Guido Schlitzer und Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer des HTGF (Bild: High-Tech Gründerfonds)

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 fast 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 

Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. 

https://www.htgf.de/de/

Kontakt Medien
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 82300 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investoren
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Alex von Frankenberg, Geschäftsführer
a.frankenberg@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
28. Mai 2024

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zähl
 
Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v