Caeli Wind, the digital platform for wind energy sites, secures €11 million in fresh capital in a Series A funding round.

May 16, 2024

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments and existing investors provide the digital wind energy pioneer with growth capital for deeper value creation and international expansion.


Berlin, London, Madrid (16 May 2024) – Caeli Wind, the platform for analysing and marketing wind energy locations founded by Ben Schlemmermeier and Heiko Bartels in 2022, announced today that it has secured €11 million in growth capital from international investors.

The round was led by renowned UK venture capital fund Notion Capital with the participation of Santander Alternative Investments and existing investors such as HTGF.

Caeli has developed an advanced AI-based analysis system and a marketplace to accelerate the expansion of wind turbines. In 2023, the company was able to identify 173 new locations for wind turbines in Germany and allocate them to project developers and energy suppliers. On average, the AI company accelerates the realisation of wind farms by 18 months thanks to its digital analysis and awarding platform.

The company has now attracted the attention of international investors thanks to its successful market development in its home market.

The newly acquired capital will be used for international expansion, deepening the value chain and further developing Caeli’s advanced technologies. “There is an urgent need for digital transformation in the energy market. Bringing landowners and project developers for wind farms together on an equal footing is not just a German issue, but a global one,” explains Heiko Bartels. “Our technology has shown that complex planning and approval processes can be shortened by 18 months. With the newly raised capital, we will help project developers even more to conserve their human resources and accelerate their business,” emphasises Ben Schlemmermeier.

Caeli Wind’s platform represents a significant leap forward in modernising a crucial segment of the wind energy value chain, one that has been largely untouched by software innovation so far. The founders’ deep domain expertise puts them in a unique position to build a global category leader in the wind energy market, thereby accelerating the renewable energy transition. We are looking forward to the journey together.

Stephen Chandler, Managing Partner Notion Capital (Lead Investor)

Santander is one of the world´s largest financiers of renewables[1]. Our ambition is to accompany companies that make a significant contribution to decarbonisation and have immense growth potential on this journey. We are pleased to support Caeli Wind in its steps abroad with capital and expertise.

Santiago Gil, Lead of Santander InnoEnergy Climate Fund

We invested in Caeli in 2023 because we recognised that the company could become a game changer in the energy market. Caeli’s development since then has been truly impressive and is reason enough to further increase our investment in this German flagship company.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner HTGF and existing investor

Schlemmermeier and Bartels added: “We are delighted with the new financing round. Caeli is developing into a real catalyst for the energy transition. This has always been our goal. We are happy and proud to have found two partners in Notion Capital and Santander who will support our vision in the best possible way with their respective networks and expertise.”

Caeli Wind Founders Heiko Bartels and Ben Schlemmermeier and CTO Andreas Rieckhoff (from left to right, Caeli Wind)

[1] 3rd position according to Infralogic league tables as Loan provider by number of deals in Q1 2024


About Caeli Wind
Caeli Wind is a digital marketplace that identifies wind potential locations for landowners and enables professional AI-supported analysis and marketing. We want to drastically increase the likelihood and speed of realisation in the wind industry – that’s why we bring project developers and landowners together on our marketplace and create land liquidity.
https://www.caeli-wind.de/home

About Notion Capital
Notion Capital is a European B2B SaaS and Cloud VC with over $1bn assets under management and with more than 100 investments to date. The Notion team founded, built and exited two highly successful SaaS businesses – Star and MessageLabs – and invests exclusively in exceptional founders with the ambition to build global category leaders. The Notion portfolio includes GoCardless, Mews, Paddle, Unbabel and YuLife. Notion is also the founder of Included VC, the venture capital fellowship for individuals from diverse and overlooked communities from around the world.
https://www.notion.vc/

About Santander Alternative Investments
Santander Alternative Investments (“SAI”) is the specialized division of Santander Asset Management that focuses on alternative investment opportunities SAI was created in 2023, with the objective of providing solutions to investors pivoting their portfolios into private markets. As part of Santander Group, we have the strength and backing of a leading financial group, enabling us to give our clients access to extensive capabilities for distribution in ten major markets and for origination in those activities in which the bank is an expert.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 750 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

16. Mai 2024

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit.


Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital von internationalen Investoren gesichert hat.

An der Finanzierungsrunde, die von dem renommierten britischen Risikokapitalfonds Notion Capital angeführt wurde, beteiligten sich Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren wie HTGF.

Caeli hat ein KI-basiertes Analysesystem und einen digitalen Marktplatz entwickelt, um den Ausbau von Windenergiestandorten zu beschleunigen. Im Jahr 2023 konnte das Unternehmen 173 neue Standorte für Windkraftanlagen in Deutschland identifizieren und an Projektentwickler und Energieversorger vergeben. Im Durchschnitt beschleunigt Caeli mit seiner digitalen Analyse- und Vergabeplattform die Realisierung von Windparks um 18 Monate.

Durch die erfolgreiche Marktentwicklung im Heimatmarkt hat das Unternehmen nun die Aufmerksamkeit internationaler Investoren auf sich gezogen.

Das neu gewonnene Kapital wird für die internationale Expansion, die Vertiefung der Wertschöpfungskette und die Weiterentwicklung der hauseigenen Technologie eingesetzt. „Es besteht ein dringender Bedarf an digitaler Transformation auf dem Energiemarkt. Landeigentümer und Projektentwickler für Windparks auf Augenhöhe zusammenzubringen, ist nicht nur ein deutsches, sondern ein globales Thema“, erklärt Heiko Bartels. „Unsere Plattform hat bewiesen, dass komplexe Planungs- und Genehmigungsprozesse um 18 Monate verkürzt werden können. Mit dem neu eingeworbenen Kapital möchten wir Projektentwicklern dabei helfen, ihre personellen Ressourcen zu schonen und ihr Geschäft zu beschleunigen“, betont Ben Schlemmermeier.

Die Plattform von Caeli Wind stellt einen bedeutenden Fortschritt bei der Modernisierung eines entscheidenden Segments in der Wertschöpfungskette für Windenergie dar, das bisher von Software-Innovationen weitgehend unberührt blieb. Die Gründer sind aufgrund ihrer umfassenden Expertise in der Lage, ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen auf dem Windenergiemarkt aufzubauen und damit die Energiewende zu beschleunigen. Wir freuen uns auf die gemeinsame Reise.

Stephen Chandler, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Notion Capital (Hauptinvestor)

Santander ist einer der weltweit größten Finanziers von erneuerbaren Energien[1]. Unser Ziel ist es, Unternehmen, die einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Dekarbonisierung leisten und über ein immenses Wachstumspotenzial verfügen, auf diesem Weg zu begleiten. Wir freuen uns, Caeli Wind bei seinen Schritten ins Ausland mit Kapital und Expertise zu unterstützen.

Santiago Gil, Leiter des Santander InnoEnergy Climate Fund

Wir haben 2023 in Caeli investiert, weil wir erkannt haben, dass das Unternehmen ein Game Changer im Energiemarkt werden kann. Die Entwicklung, die Caeli seitdem genommen hat, ist wirklich beeindruckend und Grund genug, unser Investment in dieses deutsche Vorzeigeunternehmen weiter zu erhöhen.

Klaus Lehmann, Partner HTGF und bestehender Investor

Mit dem frischen Kapital im Rücken blickt das Gründerteam Schlemmermeier und Bartels optimistisch in die Zukunft von Caeli Wind: „Wir freuen uns über die neue Finanzierungsrunde. Caeli entwickelt sich zu einem echten Katalysator für die Energiewende. Das war schon immer unser Ziel. Wir sind froh und stolz, mit Notion Capital und Santander zwei weitere Partner gefunden zu haben, die unsere Vision mit ihren Netzwerken und ihrer Expertise unterstützen werden.“

Caeli Wind Gründer Heiko Bartels und Ben Schlemmermeier mit CTO Andreas Rieckhoff (v.l.n.r., Caeli Wind)

[1] Platz 3 laut Infralogic-Rangliste als Darlehensgeber nach Anzahl der Abschlüsse in Q1 2024


Über Caeli Wind
Caeli Wind ist ein digitaler Marktplatz, der Windpotenzialflächen für Grundeigentümer identifiziert und eine professionelle KI-gestützte Analyse und Vermarktung ermöglicht. Wir möchten die Umsetzungswahrscheinlichkeit und Geschwindigkeit in der Windindustrie radikal erhöhen – darum bringen wir auf unserem Marktplatz Projektentwickler und Grundbesitzer zusammen und schaffen Flächen-Liquidität.
https://www.caeli-wind.de/

Über Notion Capital
Notion Capital ist ein europäischer B2B SaaS- und Cloud-VC mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von über 1 Milliarde US-Dollar und bisher mehr als 100 Investitionen. Das Notion-Team hat zwei sehr erfolgreiche SaaS-Unternehmen – Star und MessageLabs -gegründet, aufgebaut, ist dann ausgestiegen und investiert ausschließlich in außergewöhnliche Gründer mit dem Ziel der globalen Marktführerschaft. Zum Portfolio von Notion gehören GoCardless, Mews, Paddle, Unbabel und YuLife. Darüber hinaus ist Notion Gründer von Included VC, dem Venture-Capital-Stipendium für Personen aus vielfältigen und unbeachteten Gemeinschaften rund um die Welt.
https://www.notion.vc/

Über Santander Alternative Investments
Santander Alternative Investments („SAI“) ist der spezialisierte Geschäftsbereich von Santander Asset Management, der sich auf alternative Anlagemöglichkeiten konzentriert. SAI wurde 2023 mit dem Ziel gegründet, Anlegern, die ihre Portfolios auf private Märkte ausrichten, Lösungen anzubieten. Als Teil der Santander-Gruppe verfügen wir über die Stärke und den Rückhalt einer führenden Finanzgruppe, die es uns ermöglicht, unseren Kunden Zugang zu umfassenden Kapazitäten für den Vertrieb in zehn wichtigen Märkten und für die Akquisition in den Bereichen zu bieten, in denen die Bank Experte ist.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds

Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 

Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Pressekontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
10. Juni 2024

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen. Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 i