Cybersecurity pioneer VMRay extends Series B investment to a total of $34 million USD to drive growth into new markets

December 19, 2022

VMRay, a global player in advanced threat detection and analysis that offers solutions for enterprises, governmental organizations, and MDRs to detect and analyze the most challenging malware and phishing threats, announces the closing of a Series B led by global alternative asset manager Tikehau Capital, through its subsidiary Tikehau Ace Capital and its European Cybersecurity Growth fund alongside new investors NRW.BANK and Gründerfonds Ruhr. Previous investors eCAPITAL and High-Tech Gründerfonds also participated in the round. The new investment will fuel further expansion of the product portfolio to target a broader set of market segments.


Bochum, December 19th, 2022– VMRay was founded to overcome a big vulnerability in cybersecurity: new, unknown, and sophisticated threats and targeted attacks. The company started its journey by developing a unique, hypervisor-based approach to sandboxing, and kept adding cutting-edge technologies, including its own Machine Learning models, to address emerging and evolving challenges. The solutions aim at improving the efficiency of SOC teams with accurate verdicts, noise-free output, and seamless integrations with major EDR, XDR, SOAR, and Threat Intelligence Platform vendors. The company is now working with 4 of the world’s top 5 technology companies, 37 leading financial institutions and 56 governmental organizations around the world.

The cyber threat landscape is going through a profound change, and with the increasing volume and complexity of new threats, our customers face new challenges. The latest investment has been a collaboration with a strategic scope, enabling VMRay to make its product suitable for a wider range of market segments and use cases including threat intelligence, security automation and MSSPs.

Dr. Carsten Willems, co-founder and CEO of VMRay

In our role as cybersecurity-focused experts, we were impressed with VMRay’s unique value proposition: building more effective detection tools integrated or interfaced with larger cybersecurity solutions. VMRay’s ability to automate detection is a clear differentiator, positioning it as the tip of the spear in the global effort to elevate cybersecurity standards globally. We firmly believe the company will sustain scalable, explosive growth in the coming years, driven by skilled leadership and powerful market tailwinds.

Augustin Blanchard, Executive Director at Tikehau Capital

VMRay has managed to uniquely position themselves in the market, complementing existing solutions as the extra layer of security that is needed to combat advanced and unknown threats. Having built a strong foundation for further international growth, the company is set to become the global leader in advanced threat detection, and we are excited to support the VMRay team in the years to come.

Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds

We’re delighted to be partnering with a syndicate of top investors to continue fueling VMRay’s success and support the company’s experienced management team in driving growth.

Willi Mannheims, Managing Partner at eCAPITAL

Founding team of VMRay: Dr. Ralf Hund and Dr. Carsten Willems (Photo: VMRay)

About VMRay
At VMRay, our purpose is to liberate the world from undetectable digital threats. Led by reputable cyber security pioneers, we develop best-of-breed technologies to detect and analyze unknown threats that others miss. Thus, we empower organizations to augment and automate security operations by providing the world’s best threat detection and analysis platform. We help organizations build and grow their products, services, operations, and relationships on secure ground that allows them to focus on what matters with ultimate peace of mind. This, for us, is the foundation stone of digital transformation.
www.vmray.com

Press Contact
Fatih Cam: fcam@vmray.com

About Tikehau Ace Capital
Tikehau Ace Capital, a subsidiary of Tikehau Capital, is a private equity firm specialised in strategic industries and technologies, with more than €1 billion in assets under management. Founded in 2000, Tikehau Ace Capital invests through sector-focused approaches such as strategic industries (Aerospace, Defense, etc.), cybersecurity, and digital trust. Tikehau Ace Capital has built its model on strategic partnerships with large corporates (including Airbus, Safran, Dassault Aviation, Thales, EDF, Naval Group, and Sopra Steria), which invest in its funds and maintain an ongoing dialogue with the firm, enabling Tikehau Ace Capital to take a differentiated approach to investing.

Tikehau Ace operates offices in Paris, Toulouse and Madrid and benefits from the worldwide presence of Tikehau Capital.
www.tikehau-ace.capital

Press Contact
Tikehau Ace Capital
Audrey Hood,
T.: +33 6 15 08 25 68,
ahood@tikehau-ace.capital

About eCAPITAL
Founded in 1999, eCAPITAL is an entrepreneur-led venture capital investor focusing on early- and growth-stage deep-tech companies with a positive impact on society. eCAPITAL is based in Germany and invests with its own funds with a total volume of over € 340 million in the areas of Sustainability, Enterprise Software, Cybersecurity, IoT and New Materials. In addition to financial resources, eCAPITAL offers its portfolio companies strategic support and access to an international network of entrepreneurs, scientists, investors and founders and was lead investor in various deep-tech companies such as sonnen, Novaled or Jedox, which were sold very successfully to international strategists or investors.
Learn more at www.ecapital.vc

About Gründerfonds Ruhr
Gründerfonds Ruhr is a private venture capital fund driving innovation in the Ruhr area by investing in new technologies impacting a broad range of industries. We deploy the capital, the business expertise and the industry access from leading international corporations who share our goal of building Ruhr-based start-ups with transforming ideas. Our objective is to be the institutional investor of choice for founders and become a trusted partner with the resources to catapult young companies to their next stage of development and commercial success. Our long-term vision is to thereby boost entrepreneurial spirit in our region.
https://gruenderfonds-ruhr.com/

About NRW.Venture
NRW.Venture is the venture fund of NRW.BANK. The promotional bank for North Rhine-Westphalia uses it to support innovative and technology-driven start-ups that have a specific connection to North Rhine-Westphalia in developing, marketing and swiftly expanding their business model. The aim is to make North Rhine-Westphalia the number one federal state for innovation. Having operated in the market for over 15 years, the fund – together with private-sector investors – invests up to ten million euros of equity over several financing rounds. The NRW.Venture team is composed of 16 experts, some of whom have more than 20 years of VC experience. NRW.Venture has a total volume of 250 million euros.
https://www.nrwbank.de/venture

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported over 680 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has over 1.3 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft along with over 40 companies from a wide range of industries.

Press Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Ulrich Schmitt
Principal / Authorized Signatory
T.: +49 – (0)228 – 82300 – 147
u.schmitt@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

Cybersecurity-Pionier VMRay erweitert Serie B-Investition auf insgesamt 34 Millionen US-Dollar, um das Wachstum in neuen Märkten weiter voranzutreiben

19. Dezember 2022

VMRay, ein weltweit erfolgreicher Anbieter von Lösungen zur Erkennung und Analyse von modernen Malware- und Phishing-Bedrohungen, gibt die Erweiterung seiner Serie B Finanzierungsrunde bekannt. Geleitet wurde die Erweiterungsrunde von dem globalen alternativen Vermögensverwalter Tikehau Capital über seine Tochtergesellschaft Tikehau Ace Capital und seinen European Cybersecurity Growth Fund. An der neuen Runde beteiligten sich außerdem die NRW.Bank und der Gründerfonds Ruhr sowie die früheren Investoren eCAPITAL und der High-Tech Gründerfonds. VMRay will die neue Finanzierung nutzen, um das vorhandene Produktportfolio auszubauen und weitere Marktsegmente anzusprechen.


Bochum, 19. Dezember 2022 – VMRay wurde gegründet, um eine der großen Schwachstellen in der Cybersicherheit zu beseitigen: unbekannte, erstmals auftretende und hochentwickelte Malware- und Phishing-Bedrohungen und zielgerichtete Angriffe.

Das Unternehmen startete seine Erfolgsgeschichte mit der Markteinführung einer einzigartigen, Hypervisor-basierten Malware-Sandboxing-Technologie, die kontinuierlich durch innovative Analyse- und Erkennungsmethoden ergänzt und weiterentwickelt wurde, einschließlich eines eigenen Machine-Learning-Ansatzes. Die Lösungen richten sich an Unternehmen und Organisationen des privaten und öffentlichen Sektors sowie MDR-Anbieter (Managed Detection & Response), mit dem Ziel, die Arbeit von Cybersecurity- und SOC-Teams zu unterstützen und effizienter zu gestalten. VMRay liefert präzise Analyse-Verdikte, detailliertes, rauschfreies Reporting zum Malware-Verhalten und kann nahtlos mit führenden EDR-, XDR-, SOAR- und Threat-Intelligence-Lösungen integriert werden. Zum VMRay Kundenkreis gehören vier der fünf größten Technologieunternehmen der Welt, 37 führenden Finanzinstituten und 56 Regierungsorganisationen in aller Welt.

Die Cyber-Bedrohungslandschaft befindet sich in einem tiefgreifenden Wandel, und mit der steigenden Zahl und Komplexität neuer Bedrohungen stehen unsere Kunden vor neuen Herausforderungen. Die jüngste Investitionsrunde war eine Zusammenarbeit mit strategischer Tragweite, die es VMRay ermöglicht, sein Produktangebot für den Einsatz in einem breiteren Spektrum von Marktsegmenten und Anwendungsfällen auszubauen, einschließlich Threat Intelligence, Security Automation und MSSPs.

Dr. Carsten Willems, Mitbegründer und CEO von VMRay

In unserer Rolle als Cybersecurity-Experten waren wir von VMRays einzigartigem Wertversprechen beeindruckt: die Entwicklung effektiverer Erkennungstools, die in größere Cybersecurity-Lösungen integriert werden. VMRays Fähigkeit, sich als Speerspitze der Cybersicherheit zu positionieren und zusätzlich Automatisierungsleistungen bei der Erkennung von Malware zu erbringen, ist ein klares Unterscheidungsmerkmal. Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass das Unternehmen in den kommenden Jahren ein skalierbares, explosives Wachstum erzielen wird, angetrieben durch eine kompetente Führungsmannschaft und starken Rückenwind seitens des Markts.

Augustin Blanchard, Executive Director bei Tikehau Capital

VMRay hat es geschafft, sich auf dem Markt einzigartig zu positionieren, indem sie vorhandene Sicherheitslösungen um die zusätzliche Sicherheitsebene ergänzen, die zur Bekämpfung fortgeschrittener und unbekannter Bedrohungen benötigt wird. Das Unternehmen hat ein starkes Fundament für weiteres internationales Wachstum gelegt und ist auf dem besten Weg, zum weltweiten Marktführer im Bereich Advanced Threat Detection zu werden.

Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Principal beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Wir freuen uns, mit einem Konsortium von Top-Investoren zusammenzuarbeiten, um den Erfolg von VMRay voranzutreiben und das erfahrene Management-Team des Unternehmens dabei zu unterstützen, das Wachstum weiterhin anzukurbeln.

Willi Mannheims, Managing Partner bei eCAPITAL

Gründerteam von VMRay: Dr. Ralf Hund und Dr. Carsten Willems  (Bild: VMRay)

Über VMRay
VMRay hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Welt von hochentwickelten digitalen Bedrohungen zu befreien. Die unter der Leitung von renommierten Cybersicherheitspionieren entwickelten Technologien versetzen Unternehmen in die Lage, neuartigen Bedrohungen entgegenzutreten, die anderen Erkennungs- und Analysemethoden entgehen. Die VMRay Plattform zur Erkennung und Analyse von Advanced Threats hilft Unternehmen, ihre Cybersicherheitsabläufe in wesentlichem Maße zu verbessern und zu automatisieren. So trägt VMRay zur Schaffung einer cybersicheren Grundlage bei, auf der das Unternehmen seine Geschäftsprozesse, Produkte und Services aufbauen kann. Das ist für VMRay der Grundstein der digitalen Transformation.
www.vmray.com

Presse Kontakt
Fatih Cam: fcam@vmray.com

Über Tikehau Ace Capital
Tikehau Ace Capital, eine Tochtergesellschaft von Tikehau Capital, ist ein auf strategische Industrien und Technologien spezialisiertes Private-Equity-Unternehmen mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von mehr als 1 Milliarde Euro. Tikehau Ace Capital wurde im Jahr 2000 gegründet und investiert über sektorbezogene Ansätze wie strategische Branchen (Luft- und Raumfahrt, Verteidigung usw.), Cybersicherheit und Digital Trust. Tikehau Ace Capital hat sein Modell auf strategischen Partnerschaften mit großen Unternehmen (darunter Airbus, Safran, Dassault Aviation, Thales, EDF, Naval Group und Sopra Steria) aufgebaut, die in die Fonds investieren, einen kontinuierlichen Dialog aufrechterhalten und Tikehau Ace Capital in die Lage versetzen, einen differenzierten Investitionsansatz zu verfolgen.

Tikehau Ace unterhält Niederlassungen in Paris, Toulouse und Madrid und profitiert von der weltweiten Präsenz von Tikehau Capital.
www.tikehau-ace.capital

Presse Kontakt
Tikehau Ace Capital
Audrey Hood,
+33 6 15 08 25 68,
ahood@tikehau-ace.capital

Über eCAPITAL
eCAPITAL ist ein 1999 gegründeter, unternehmergeführter Venture Capital-Investor mit Fokus auf Deep-Tech-Unternehmen in der Früh- und Wachstumsphase mit einem positiven Impact auf die Gesellschaft. eCAPITAL hat seinen Sitz in Deutschland und investiert mit eigenen Fonds mit einem Gesamtvolumen von über 340 Millionen Euro in die Bereiche Sustainability, Enterprise Software, Cybersecurity, IoT und New Materials. eCAPITAL bietet seinen Portfoliounternehmen neben finanziellen Ressourcen strategische Unterstützung und Zugang zu einem internationalen Netzwerk von Unternehmern, Wissenschaftlern, Investoren und Gründern und war Leadinvestor bei verschiedenen Deep-Tech-Unternehmen wie sonnen, Novaled oder Jedox, die sehr erfolgreich an internationale Strategen bzw. Investoren verkauft wurden.
www.ecapital.vc

Über den Gründerfonds Ruhr
Der Gründerfonds Ruhr investiert als privater Risikokapital-Fonds in ein breites Spektrum an innovativen Technologien aus verschiedensten Branchen, um so die Innovationskraft des Ruhrgebiets zu stärken. Gemeinsam mit einem Netzwerk aus führenden internationalen Unternehmen arbeiten wir daran, Start-ups mit zukunftsweisenden Ideen im Ruhrgebiet zu fördern. Hierfür stellen wir nicht nur das notwendige Kapital, sondern auch die unternehmerische Expertise und den Branchenzugang zur Verfügung. Unser Ziel ist es, für Gründer die erste Wahl als institutionelle Investoren zu sein und als vertrauenswürdiger Partner zu agieren, der die passenden Ressourcen besitzt, um junge Unternehmen in ihrer Entwicklung zu unterstützen und zu kommerziellem Erfolg zu führen. Unsere langfristige Vision ist es, hierdurch den unternehmerischen Geist in unserer Region weiter auszubauen.
https://gruenderfonds-ruhr.com/

Über NRW.Venture
NRW.Venture ist der Venture Fonds der NRW.BANK. Damit unterstützt die Förderbank für Nordrhein-Westfalen innovative und technologiegetriebene Start-ups mit konkretem NRW-Bezug bei der Entwicklung und Vermarktung sowie dem schnellen Ausbau ihres Geschäftsmodells. Das Ziel: NRW zum Innovationsland Nummer eins zu machen. Der Fonds investiert über mehrere Finanzierungsrunden – gemeinsam mit privatwirtschaftlichen Investoren – bis zu zehn Millionen Euro Eigenkapital und ist seit mehr als 15 Jahren am Markt tätig. Das NRW.Venture-Team besteht aus 16 Experten mit teilweise mehr als 20-jähriger VC-Erfahrung. Das Gesamtvolumen von NRW.Venture umfasst 250 Millionen Euro.
https://www.nrwbank.de/venture

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 680 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF über 1,3 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. Zu den Fondsinvestoren dieser Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital und die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie über 40 Unternehmen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Presse Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Kontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Principal / Prokurist
T.: +49 – (0)228 – 82300 – 147
u.schmitt@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v
 
Presse
7. Mai 2024

Automatisierte Beratung für erneuerbare Energien: Greentech-Startup everyone energy schließt Seed-Finanzierung ab

Berlin, 7. Mai 2024 – Das Berliner Greentech-Startup everyone energy gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss seiner siebenstelligen Seed-Finanzierung bekannt. Die Runde wurde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), einem der führenden Seed-Investoren in Europa und dem Kölner Frühphasen-VC neoteq ventures angeführt. Gegründet im August 2021 von Céline Göhlich, Fabian Reetz und Florian Gmeiner, hat sich everyone energy schnell als führender Anbieter von White-Label-Software für maßgeschnei