Press

Energy transition startup node.energy raises 7 million euros in Series A financing

July 27, 2022

A total of four new investors are joining the company, while existing investors such as High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and renowned business angels are once again contributing fresh capital.

The four new Series A investors were selected consciously. The financing round is led by Cologne-based VC BitStone Capital, the leading PropTech fund with strong expertise in the real estate industry. As co-investors, the 10x Founders contributes extensive experience in the software-as-a-service sector and the impact investor BonVenture the clear sustainability focus. As an international investor from the energy industry, Helen Ventures from Finland is also participating in the financing round.

The software “opti.node” developed by node.energy simplifies the management of wind and solar plants. As the “digital lubricant of the energy transition”, opti.node takes over the fulfillment of numerous bureaucratic requirements in particular: Billing, tax forms and notifications to the authorities can be easily created automatically with opti.node. The software is already being used to manage around 10,000 wind and solar power plants, making node.energy the market leader in Germany.

The future energy supply will be based on millions of renewable energy plants and every larger building will also be a power plant. Many new providers such as real estate managers and citizens’ energy cooperatives are driving the change with new business models. In doing so, they are regularly confronted with the complicated rules and bureaucratic requirements of the energy market. This results in enormous market potential and further growth opportunities for us.

Matthias Karger, founder and CEO of node.energy

Rising energy and CO2 prices and the desire for security of supply make renewable energy plants for real estate more attractive than ever. node.energy makes it easy for professional owners to evaluate this potential and to operate the plants successfully and in a legally secure manner. I am pleased to support the team in this socially important task.

Marc Stilke, Venture Partner at BitStone Capital and future Chairman of the Advisory Board at node.energy

node.energy will therefore invest the seven million euros received in the Series A in the further development of the software. The goal is to build a comprehensive software platform that enables professional plant operators in the commercial and real estate sectors to easily implement new business models such as direct solar power supply (e.g. tenant power or power purchase agreements/PPAs) and self-supply. For this purpose, the software will be supplemented with additional functions and expanded into an end-to-end solution platform.

node.energy team ©node.energy

About node.energy
Based in Frankfurt am Main, node.energy GmbH is a fast-growing company working towards a sustainable energy future. node.energy was founded in 2016 by Matthias Karger and Lars Rinn and develops and distributes the SaaS solution “opti.node” for professional operators of renewable energy plants. More than 9,500 wind turbines in over 2,500 wind and solar farms as well as more than 400 commercial and industrial properties are already using opti.node. In 2020, node.energy was honored with the Handelsblatt Energy Awards. Currently, node.energy employs about 50 people.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
HighTech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. With the start of HTGF IV, more than EUR 400 million in fund volume will be added in the fall of 2022. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 160 companies.

Fund Investors in the public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and many companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Contact Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Principal
T.: +49 228 82300147
u.schmitt@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
Variolytics Team
7. December 2022

Variolytics receives seven-figure seed funding for climate-neutral wastewater treatment plants

Proprietary measurement technology and AI-based process control to avoid greenhouse gases in wastewater treatment. Seven-figure seed funding for patented measurement technology and AI-based process optimisation. High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF and Dr Jörg Gebhardt as well as other angel investors are participating in the financing round. Key technology for wastewater treatment plants to meet their climate targets. Variolytics system (EmiCo - Emission Control) already imple
 
Press
5. December 2022

Successful end to the year 2022: NewSpace satellite manufacturer Reflex Aerospace receives seven million euros in seed financing round

Seed financing: First closing includes investments of approx. EUR 7 million. Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures): “The number of satellites in space will skyrocket from 5,500 to 100,000 by 2030: this is Reflex Aerospace's demand environment.” Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): “50% market growth to come from broadband satellites. Catch-up demand especially in Europe. Reflex Aerospace is perfectly positioned to leverage this market potential.” Walter
 
Press
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs closes a seven-figure seed investment round to build energy efficient lights designed for horticulture

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Crocus Labs' vision is to spark life into spaces. The team achieves this by producing the most energy-efficient full-light spectrum lighting solutions that enable a sustainable future for vertical farms and greenhouses. With the seven-figure investment round led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Brandenburg Kapital, the company will focus on R&D and bring the next generation of luminaires to the market. The round is also supported by BACB Bet. GmbH, the invest

Presse

Energiewende-Startup node.energy erhält 7 Mio. Euro in Series-A-Finanzierung

27. Juli 2022

Insgesamt vier neue Investoren steigen in das Unternehmen ein und auch Bestandsinvestoren wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und renommierte Business Angels bringen erneut frisches Kapital ein.

Die Auswahl der vier neuen Investoren der Series-A erfolgte dabei ganz bewusst. So wird die Finanzierungsrunde angeführt vom Kölner VC BitStone Capital, dem führenden PropTech Fund mit starker Expertise in der Immobilienbranche. Als Co-Investoren bringen die 10x Founders umfassende Erfahrung im Software-as-a-Service Bereich sowie der Impact Investor BonVenture den klaren Nachhaltigkeitsfokus mit. Als internationaler Investor aus der Energiebranche beteiligt sich zudem Helen Ventures aus Finnland an der Finanzierungsrunde.

Die von node.energy entwickelte Software „opti.node“ vereinfacht das Management von Wind- und Solaranlagen. Als „digitales Schmiermittel der Energiewende“ übernimmt opti.node insbesondere die Erfüllung der zahlreichen bürokratischen Anforderungen: Abrechnungen, Steuerformulare und Behördenmeldungen können Anlagenbetreiber mit opti.node ganz einfach automatisiert erstellen. Die Software wird bereits für die Verwaltung von rund 10.000 Windenergie- und Solaranlagen eingesetzt. node.energy ist damit der Marktführer in Deutschland.

Die zukünftige Energieversorgung wird auf Millionen Erneuerbare-Energien-Anlagen basieren und jedes größere Gebäude wird auch gleichzeitig ein Kraftwerk sein. Viele neue Anbieter wie Immobilienverwalter und Bürgerenergiegenossenschaften treiben den Wandel mit neuen Geschäftsmodellen. Dabei sind sie regelmäßig mit den komplizierten Regeln und bürokratischen Anforderungen des Energiemarkts konfrontiert. Daraus ergibt sich ein enormes Marktpotenzial und weitere Wachstumschancen für uns.

Matthias Karger, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von node.energy

Steigende Energie- und CO2-Preise und der Wunsch nach Versorgungssicherheit machen Erneuerbare-Energien-Anlagen für Immobilien so attraktiv wie noch nie. node.energy macht es professionellen Eigentümern leicht, dieses Potenzial zu bewerten und die Anlagen erfolgreich und rechtssicher zu betreiben. Ich freue mich, das Team bei dieser gesellschaftlich wichtigen Aufgabe zu unterstützen.

Marc Stilke, Venture Partner bei BitStone Capital und künftiger Vorsitzender des Beirats bei node.energy

Die in der Series-A erhaltenen sieben Millionen Euro wird node.energy daher in die Weiterentwicklung der Software investieren. Ziel ist der Aufbau einer umfassenden Software-Plattform, die es professionellen Anlagenbetreibern aus dem Gewerbe- und Immobilienbereich ermöglicht neue Geschäftsmodelle wie Solarstrom-Direktlieferungen (z.B. Mieterstrom oder Power Purchase Agreements/PPAs) und Eigenversorgung mühelos umzusetzen. Dazu wird die Software um weitere Funktionen ergänzt und zu einer durchgängigen Lösungsplattform ausgebaut.

node.energy Team ©node.energy GmbH

Über node.energy
Die node.energy GmbH mit Sitz in Frankfurt am Main ist ein stark wachsendes Unternehmen, das an einer nachhaltigen Energiezukunft arbeitet. node.energy wurde 2016 von Matthias Karger und Lars Rinn gegründet und entwickelt und vertreibt die SaaS-Lösung „opti.node“ für professionelle Betreiber von Erneuerbare-Energien-Anlagen. Über 9.500 Windenergieanlagen in über 2.500 Wind- und Solarparks sowie mehr als 400 Gewerbe- und Industrieliegenschaften nutzen bereits opti.node. 2020 wurde node.energy mit den Handelsblatt Energy Awards ausgezeichnet. Aktuell sind etwa 50 Mitarbeitende bei node.energy beschäftigt.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des HTGF IV kommen im Herbst 2022 mehr als 400 Mio. Euro Fondsvolumen hinzu. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.

Zu den Fondinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie zahlreiche Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300188
s.grueter@htgf.de
Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Ulrich Schmitt, Principal
T.: +49 228 82300147
u.schmitt@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
Variolytics Team
7. Dezember 2022

Variolytics erhält siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für klimaneutrale Kläranlagen

Patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozesssteuerung zur Vermeidung von Treibhausgasen in der Abwasseraufbereitung an Kläranlagen. Siebenstellige Seed-Finanzierung für patentierte Messtechnik und KI-basierte Prozessoptimierung High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), FTTF und Dr. Jörg Gebhardt, sowie weitere Angel Investoren sind Teil der Finanzierungsrunde Schlüsseltechnologie für Kläranlagen zur Erreichung ihrer Klimaziele Variolytics System (EmiCo - Emission Control) bereits
 
Presse
5. Dezember 2022

Erfolgreicher Jahresabschluss 2022: NewSpace Satelliten-Hersteller Reflex Aerospace erhält 7 Millionen Euro in Seed-Finanzierungsrunde

Seed-Finanzierung: First Closing umfasst Investitionen über rund EUR 7 Mio. Bulent Altan (Investment Partner Alpine Space Ventures): „Bis 2030 Wachstum von 5.500 auf 100.000 Satelliten im All: Das ist das Nachfrageumfeld von Reflex Aerospace.“ Christian Ziach (Principal HTGF): „50% Marktwachstum aus Breitbandsatelliten. Nachholbedarf gerade in Europa. Reflex Aerospace hervorragend positioniert, um dieses Marktpotential zu heben.“ Walter Ballheimer (CEO Reflex Aerospa
 
Presse
Crocus Labs Cofounders
23. November 2022

Crocus Labs schließt siebenstellige Seed-Runde ab, um energieeffiziente Leuchten für den Gartenbau zu entwickeln

Berlin, 23.11.2022 - Spark life into spaces lautet die Vision von Crocus Labs. Das Team erreicht dies, indem es höchst energieeffiziente Vollspektrum-Beleuchtungslösungen entwickelt, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für vertikale Farmen und Gewächshäuser eröffnen. Mit der vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Brandenburg Kapital angeführten Finanzierungsrunde kann sich das Unternehmen auf Forschung und Entwicklung konzentrieren und die nächste Generation von Beleuchtungslösungen auf de