RAYDIAX secures €3.5 million in fresh capital to develop its therapy assistance computed tomography system in the fight against cancer

October 26, 2023

  • RAYDIAX, a Magdeburg spin-off of the STIMULATE research campus, secures a total of €3.5 million in seed funding and grants
  • The capital will be used to advance the development of RAYDIAX’s assistance system for image-guided, minimally invasive cancer interventions up to the pre-clinical prototype and to accelerate market development in Europe and the US
  • Investors in the seed round include High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bmp Ventures with the IBG funds and experienced business angels. In addition, RAYDIAX receives public funding from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK)
  • RAYDIAX is aiming to significantly expand the use of minimally invasive therapies with the launch of the therapy assistance CT “TACT”, addressing demographically driven challenges in healthcare
  • Minimally invasive therapies in many cases offer the potential to deliver cancer treatments on an outpatient basis rather than an inpatient setting; with this increase in the number of outpatient cases the burden on hospital structures is relieved.

Magdeburg, October 26, 2023 – RAYDIAX, a spin-off of the STIMULATE research campus/ Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, is developing an image assistance system based on the principles of computed tomography for use in minimally invasive cancer treatments. The company secures €3.5 million in fresh capital to advance the development of the preclinical prototype and prepare for market entry in Europe and the USA. A seed round of €2.4 million is led by HTGF and bmp Ventures with IBG funds. In addition, RAYDIAX will receive €1.1 million in funding through a top-up of an “EXIST: transfer of research” grant from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK).

We pursue the goal of sustainably strengthening cancer therapy through high-tech medical technology. Minimally invasive image-guided interventions offer numerous advantages for patients. With our targeted image-assistance system TACT, we are unleashing a completely new potential that will significantly expand the range of applications of these very gentle interventions, benefiting in particular patients for whom surgical cancer treatment appears to be too risky. With the closing of this financing round, we are in an optimal position to further develop our system in close.

Dr. Thomas Hoffmann, CEO and co-founder of RAYDIAX

Minimally invasive therapies in cancer care

Cancer is among the leading causes of death worldwide, and even number one in wealthy countries. Open-surgical therapies are often too risky and thus unsuitable for treating very old patients in poor general health conditions. Minimally invasive therapies are a promising form of treatment for this patient group. In this type of therapy, millimeter-thin surgical instruments are inserted through the skin into the tumor under image guidance. A local application of energy leads to the death of the malignant cells. Due to the low degree of injury, patients can recover more quickly, hospital stay times are significantly shortened, thus saving costs, and additional treatment capacity is created.

Establishment of a new product category: therapy assistance computed tomography

The particular challenge with this form of therapy is to place the instruments with sub-millimeter accuracy in a pre-planned surgical area so that the energy input can be targeted in the tumor. With the TACT, RAYDIAX is developing an imaging device which for the first time provides assistance with therapy planning, execution and monitoring within a dedicated overall system. The requirements for the system were defined by numerous physicians in Germany and Europe. The imaging itself centres on the principle of X-ray-based computed tomography. The RAYDIAX system is characterized by a minimized use of X-rays, resulting in patient-friendly care and safer work conditions for clinical staff.

RAYDIAX’s development of the TACT is a clear look into the future of minimally invasive cancer surgery. It takes courage and a great deal of expertise to develop a highly complex large-scale medical product. These are precisely the qualities that RAYDIAX’s founding team combines, and we see clear potential.

Dr. Jan Engels, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

As a deep-tech investor, we were particularly impressed by the profound scientific basis of RAYDIAX’s approach and the outstanding technical expertise of the founding team. We see a clear medical need in interventional radiology, which the company addresses with its TACT system.

Philipp Kopp, Investment Manager at bmp ventures

Science transfer through long-term research funding

RAYDIAX is a spin-off of the Magdeburg STIMULATE research campus. The renowned research center for minimally invasive image-guided therapies provides the ideal environment for device and company development.

We are very proud that with RAYDIAX another high-tech medical technology company could be established in Magdeburg. The basis for such developments is the constant research support in the field of image-guided medicine at the STIMULATE research campus over the past 10 years. I am particularly pleased that the team of five former scientists and research group leaders is now taking the opportunity to transfer the results of the recent years into clinical application. We are very pleased that the long-term commitment of the Otto-von-Guericke-University, the city of Magdeburg, the state of Saxony-Anhalt, and the Federal Government makes such economic developments possible.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Georg Rose, Chairman of the Board of “STIMULATE research campus”

RAYDIAX_Founders
Team of RAYDIAX (Picture: RAYDIAX)

Image content: LINK

About RAYDIAX
The company was founded in 2022 and is headquartered at the STIMULATE research campus in Magdeburg’s “science-harbour”. The scientific company is a spin-off by scientists from the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg. The foundation of the company was based on a 3-year EXIST research transfer grant from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK), which was approved in 2021. The focus of technical development is on both the hardware and software areas of computed tomography scanners.

Press contact
Dr. Thomas Hoffmann, CEO RAYDIAX
+49 391 67 57027
pr@raydiax.com

About bmp ventures/IBG Funds
bmp Ventures is a Berlin-based technology investor with 25 years of active investment experience and one of the most experienced VCs in Germany. The track record includes ten managed VC funds and more than 260 investments. bmp currently manages the IBG funds, the venture capital funds of the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt. IBG provides venture capital to innovative companies with sustainable, high growth potential and headquarters in Saxony-Anhalt.

Contact
Philipp Kopp, Investment Manager
pkopp@bmp.com
https://www.bmp.com/

About EXIST “Transfer of Research”
EXIST “Transfer of Research” is a funding line of the EXIST programme of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) to support business start-ups from academia. EXIST is supervised by “Projektträger Jülich” (PtJ). The aim of EXIST research transfer is to support founders at universities and research institutions in preparing for start-ups and implementing technically particularly risky and complex development work, the results of which form the basis for an economically viable start-up. Funding in the EXIST research transfer is open to topics and technologies. In 2022, approx. €33 million were approved as part of the EXIST Transfer of Research (Phase I) funding line.

Media contact
ptj-exist-forschungstransfer@fz-juelich.de
+49 30 20199 411

About the STIMULATE research campus
At the STIMULATE research campus, interdisciplinary teams from hospitals, companies and scientific institutions work hand in hand to research and develop solutions and technologies for highly innovative therapy and diagnostic procedures in image-guided minimally invasive medicine. The innovative medical technology is designed specifically for the improved treatment of cancer and vascular diseases. STIMULATE is a public-private partnership between the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Siemens Healthcare and the STIMULATE Association. STIMULATE is funded as part of the “Research Campus” initiative of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, supplemented by funding from the European Regional Development Fund (EFRE) in Saxony-Anhalt.

Media contact
STIMULATE research campus
Dr. Jasmin Lother
+49 391 67 57276
Jasmin.Lother@ovgu.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
+49 228 82300 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
10. July 2024

HepaRegeniX raises €15 million Series C round to advance clinical development of HRX-215 for liver regeneration

Funds to support Phase Ib clinical trial of HRX-215 in the US and an international multicenter Phase IIa clinical trial in liver regeneration Elias Papatheodorou moves from Chair of the Board to CEO of HepaRegeniX Dr. Linda Greenbaum joins HepaRegeniX as CMO Tuebingen (Germany), July 10, 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, a clinical stage company developing novel regenerative therapies for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases, today announced the closing of a Series C rou
 
Press
9. July 2024

SciRhom Secures EUR 63 Million Series A Financing Round to Accelerate iRhom2-targeting Therapies in Autoimmune Diseases.

The upsized and oversubscribed Series A financing round will be used to drive the lead development program toward clinical proof-of-concept and to broaden the therapeutic value of the proprietary iRhom2 strategy. Munich, Germany, July 9, 2024 – SciRhom GmbH, a biopharmaceutical company pioneering the development of first-in-class therapeutic iRhom2 antibodies, announced today the closing of a EUR 63 million (USD 70 million) Series A financing round. The round was co-led by Andera Pa

RAYDIAX sichert sich 3,5 Mio. Euro frisches Kapital zur Entwicklung eines Therapieassistenz-Computertomographen im Kampf gegen Krebs

26. Oktober 2023

  • RAYDIAX, ein Magdeburger Spin-off des Forschungscampus STIMULATE, sichert sich insgesamt 3,5 Millionen Euro Seed-Finanzierung und Fördermittel
  • Mit dem Kapital wird die Entwicklung des ganzheitlichen Assistenzsystems für bildgeführte, minimal-invasive Krebseingriffe „TACT“ bis zum präklinischen Prototypen vorangetrieben und die Markterschließung in Europa und den USA forciert
  • Zu den Investoren der Seed-Runde gehören der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), bmp Ventures mit den IBG-Fonds und branchenerfahrene Business Angels. Zudem erhält RAYDIAX eine Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK).
  • RAYDIAX strebt mit der Markteinführung des Therapieassistenz-CT „TACT“ eine erhebliche Ausweitung der Anwendung minimal-invasiver Therapien an und adressiert damit demographisch bedingte Herausforderungen in der Gesundheitsversorgung.
  • Minimal-invasive Therapien bieten in vielen Fällen das Potenzial Krebsbehandlungen ambulant und nicht mehr stationär durchzuführen; mit dieser Vergrößerung der ambulanten Fallzahlen erfolgt eine Entlastung der Krankenhausstrukturen.

Magdeburg, 26. Oktober 2023 – RAYDIAX, ein Spin-Off des Forschungscampus STIMULATE/ der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, entwickelt ein auf den Prinzipien der Computertomographie beruhendes Bildassistenzsystem zum Einsatz bei minimal-invasiven Krebsbehandlungen. Das Unternehmen sichert sich 3,5 Millionen Euro frisches Kapital, um die Entwicklung des präklinischen Prototyps voranzutreiben und den Markteintritt in Europa und den USA vorzubereiten. Eine Seed-Runde in Höhe von 2,4 Millionen Euro wird vom HTGF und bmp Ventures mit den IBG-Fonds angeführt. Zusätzlich erhält RAYDIAX 1,1 Millionen Euro Fördermittel durch eine Aufstockung einer EXIST-Forschungstransfer-Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK).

Wir verfolgen das Ziel durch High-Tech Medizintechnik die Krebstherapie nachhaltig zu stärken. Minimal-invasive bildgestützte Eingriffe bieten zahlreiche Vorteile für Patientinnen und Patienten. Mit unserem gezielten Bildassistenzsystem TACT legen wir ein völlig neues Potenzial frei, das die Anwendungsbreite dieser sehr schonenden Eingriffe signifikant erweitern wird, wovon insbesondere Patientinnen und Patienten profitieren, für die sich heutzutage eine Behandlung als zu risikoreich darstellt. Mit dem Abschluss der Finanzierungsrunde sind wir in einer optimalen Position, unser System in enger Abstimmung mit unseren klinischen Partnern weiterzuentwickeln, den Markteintritt zu forcieren und das Unternehmenswachstum voranzutreiben.

Dr. Thomas Hoffmann, CEO und Mitgründer von RAYDIAX

Minimal-invasive Therapien in der Krebsversorgung

Krebserkrankungen gehören weltweit zur häufigsten Todesursache, in wohlhabenden Ländern sind diese sogar die Nummer 1. Offen-chirurgische Therapien sind für die Behandlung sehr alter Patientinnen und Patienten mit schlechten Allgemeinzustand häufig zu risikoreich und damit ungeeignet. Minimal-invasive Therapien sind für diese Patientengruppe eine vielversprechende Therapieform. Bei dieser Art der Therapie werden millimeterdünne Operationsinstrumente unter Bildgebung durch die Haut in den Tumor geschoben. Ein lokaler Energieeintrag führt schlussendlich zu einem Absterben der bösartigen Zellen. Durch den geringen Verletzungsgrad können Patientinnen und Patienten schneller genesen, Liegezeiten werden deutlich verkürzt, damit einhergehend Kosten gespart, und zusätzliche Behandlungskapazitäten geschaffen.

Etablierung einer neuen Produktkategorie: Therapieassistenz-Computertomographen

Besondere Herausforderung bei dieser Art der Therapie ist es, die Instrumente mit Submillimetergenauigkeit in einem vorab geplanten Operationsareal zu platzieren, um den Energieeintrag zielgerichtet stattfinden zu lassen. RAYDIAX entwickelt mit dem TACT erstmalig ein Gerät, das sowohl eine Assistenz bei Therapieplanung, -durchführung und -kontrolle innerhalb eines integrierten Gesamtsystem ermöglicht. Die Anforderungen an das System wurden durch zahlreiche Gespräche mit Ärztinnen und Ärzten in Deutschland und dem weiteren Europa definiert. Die Bildgebung selbst basiert auf dem Prinzip der röntgenbasierten Computertomographie. Das RAYDIAX-System zeichnet sich zudem durch einen auf die Operation abgestimmten und minimierten Einsatz von Röntgenstrahlung aus, was dazu führt das Patientinnen und Patienten schonender behandelt und das klinische Personal sicherer arbeiten kann.

RAYDIAXs Entwicklung des TACT ist ein klarer Blick in die Zukunft der minimal-invasiven Krebschirurgie. Es erfordert Mut und große Expertise, ein hochkomplexes medizinisches Großprodukt zu entwickeln. Genau diese Eigenschaften vereint das Gründungsteam von RAYDIAX und wir sehen ein klares Potenzial.

Dr. Jan Engels, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Als Deeptech-Investor haben uns an RAYDIAX vor allem die fundierte wissenschaftliche Grundlage des Ansatzes sowie das herausragende technische Know-How des Gründerteams überzeugt. Wir sehen einen klaren medical need in der interventionellen Radiologie, den das Unternehmen mit seinem TACT-System adressiert.

Philipp Kopp, Investment Manager bei bmp ventures

Wissenschaftstransfer durch langfristige Forschungsförderung

RAYDIAX ist eine Ausgründung des Magdeburger Forschungscampus STIMULATE. Das weltweit renommierte Forschungszentrum für minimal-invasive-bildgeführte Therapien bietet die ideale Umgebung zur Geräte- und Unternehmensentwicklung.

Wir sind sehr stolz, dass sich mit RAYDIAX am Standort Magdeburg ein weiteres High-Tech Medizintechnikunternehmen ausgründen konnte. Grundlage solcher Entwicklungen bietet die stetige Forschungsförderung im Bereich der bildgestützten Medizin am Forschungscampus STIMULATE über die vergangenen 10 Jahre. Es freut mich besonders, dass das Team aus fünf ehemaligen Wissenschaftlern und Forschungsgruppenleitern nun die Chance nutzt, die Ergebnisse der letzten Jahre in die klinische Anwendung zu überführen. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass das langfristige Engagement der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität, der Stadt Magdeburg, des Landes Sachsen-Anhalts sowie des Bundes solche wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen ermöglicht.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Georg Rose, Vorstandsvorsitzender Forschungscampus STIMULATE

RAYDIAX_Founders
Team von RAYDIAX (Bild: RAYDIAX)

Bildmaterial zum Download: LINK

Über RAYDIAX
Das Unternehmen wurde 2022 gegründet und hat den Hauptsitz am Forschungscampus STIMULATE im Magdeburger Wissenschaftshafen. Das Wissenschafts-Spin-Off ist eine Ausgründung von Wissenschaftlern der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg. Grundlage der Unternehmens-gründung bildete eine im Jahr 2021 bewilligte 3-jährige EXIST-Forschungstransfer-Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK). Der Fokus der technischen Entwicklung liegt sowohl im Hardware- als auch im Softwarebereich von Computertomographen.

Pressekontakt
Dr. Thomas Hoffmann, Geschäftsführer RAYDIAX GmbH
+49 391 67 57027
pr@raydiax.com

Über bmp ventures/IBG Fonds
bmp Ventures ist ein in Berlin ansässiger Technologieinvestor, der mit 25 Jahren aktiver Investmenttätigkeit zu den erfahrensten VCs in Deutschland gehört. Der Track Record umfasst zehn gemanagte VC-Fonds und über 260 Investments. Aktuell verwaltet bmp die IBG-Fonds, die Risikokapitalfonds des Bundeslandes Sachsen-Anhalt. Die IBG stellt innovativen Unternehmen mit nachhaltigem und überdurchschnittlichem Wachstumspotenzial und Sitz/Betriebsstätte in Sachsen-Anhalt Beteiligungskapital zur Verfügung.

Kontakt
Philipp Kopp, Investment Manager
pkopp@bmp.com
https://www.bmp.com/

Über EXIST-Forschungstransfer
EXIST-Forschungstransfer ist eine Förderlinie des EXIST-Programms des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) zur Förderung von Existenzgründungen aus der Wissenschaft. Betreut wird EXIST vom Projektträger Jülich (PtJ). Mit EXIST-Forschungstransfer sollen Gründerinnen und Gründer an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen bei der Gründungsvorbereitung und der Umsetzung technisch besonders risikoreicher und aufwändiger Entwicklungsarbeiten unterstützt werden, deren Ergebnisse die Basis für eine wirtschaftlich tragfähige Unternehmensgründung bilden.

Die Förderung im EXIST-Forschungstransfer erfolgt themen- und technologieoffen. 2022 wurden im Rahmen der Förderlinie EXIST-Forschungstransfer (Phase I) ca. 33 Mio. Euro bewilligt.
Medienkontakt
ptj-exist-forschungstransfer@fz-juelich.de
+49 30 20199-411

Über den Forschungscampus STIMULATE
Am Forschungscampus STIMULATE erforschen und entwickeln interdisziplinäre Teams aus Kliniken, Unternehmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen Hand in Hand Lösungen und Technologien für hochinnovative Therapie- und Diagnoseverfahren der bildgeführten minimal-invasive Medizin. Die innovative Medizintechnik wird anwendungsspezifisch zur verbesserten Behandlung von Krebs- und Gefäßerkrankungen konzipiert. STIMULATE ist eine öffentlich-private Partnerschaft zwischen der Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg, Siemens Healthcare sowie dem STIMULATE Verein. Gefördert wird STIMULATE im Rahmen der Initiative „Forschungscampus“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung, ergänzt durch Förderungen des Europäische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) in Sachsen-Anhalt.

Medienkontakt
Forschungscampus STIMULATE
Dr. Jasmin Lother
+49 391-67-57276
Jasmin.Lother@ovgu.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstums-potential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
+49 228 82300 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
20. Juni 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane erhält 800.000€ in Pre-Seed-Finanzierung zur Revolutionierung von Software für klinische Studien

Carelane-Gründer Gustav Vella und Yannick Boerner (Foto: Carelane) Carelane sichert sich 800.000€: Carelane erhält 800.000€ als Pre-Seed Finanzierungsrunde, angeführt vom High-Tech Gründerfonds, um ihre innovative Software für klinische Forschung in Europa und den USA an den Markt zu bringen. Innovative einheitliche Plattform: Um Ineffizienzen in klinischen Studien deutlich zu verringern, integriert Carelane viele Funktionen in einem System und setzt auf digitalisierte St
 
Presse
19. Juni 2024

Mehr als 5 Millionen Euro für die Zukunft der AI basierten B2B Video-Content-Creation: StoryBox sichert sich frisches Kapital mit „Video-first“ Ansatz

München, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, der Innovator im Bereich der KI-gestützten Video-Creation-Lösungen für Unternehmen, hat erfolgreich 5,5 Millionen Euro in einer Series A Runde eingesammelt. Angeführt wurde die Runde von Neuinvestor Wille Finance mit der Beteiligung der Bestandsinvestoren BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures und G8 Way Ventures. Das frische Kapital unterstützt StoryBox in seiner Mission, das Video-Creation-Management für Unternehmen zu revolutionieren.