News

Next-generation laser technology: Midel Photonics secures EUR 1 million in seed funding

December 19, 2023

  • Targeted shaping of laser beams is an increasingly important topic in manufacturing. Many processing steps rely on lasers and are reaching their limits.
  • Bonn-based startup Midel Photonics solves this problem with an innovative laser beam shaping solution.
  • Midel Photonics successfully closes EUR 1 million seed financing round led by HTGF.
  • The financing round is strengthened by angel investments from several industry experts, including Thomas Merk and Dr. Markus Dilger.
  • With the new capital, the founders will further position their innovative beam shaping technology in the market and expand their application portfolio.

19 December 2023, Bonn, Germany – Bonn-based laser start-up Midel Photonics is ending the year with a bang: Its seed financing round has been closed, with investors including High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and renowned industry experts Thomas Merk and Dr. Markus Dilger.

We are thrilled to have such strong and technology-savvy partners supporting our vision and work.

Dr. David Dung, co-founder and CEO of Midel Photonics

Founded in 2022, high-tech start-up Midel Photonics is revolutionizing laser materials processing. In key areas such as cutting microchips, welding engines and batteries for electromobility and display manufacturing, current laser technologies are reaching their limits, leading to inefficient production processes and wasted resources. Midel Photonics’ innovation is a novel technology that shapes laser beams to significantly enhance the efficiency of existing processes while paving the way for new manufacturing processes. The company is working towards a more sustainable and intelligent manufacturing future.
This seed financing marks another milestone for the young company.

With this investment we can now realize our growth plans and establish our breakthrough technology even more broadly in the market. Midel Photonics is ready to actively shape the future of the laser industry.

Frederik Wolf, co-founder and CEO of Midel Photonics

Midel Photonics has developed a ground-breaking beam shaping solution that can propel laser applications to the next level. I am excited to support the team in the market adoption phase and take the next steps together!

Dr. Nils Lang, Investment Manager at HTGF

I am looking forward to the future cooperation with the team of Midel Photonics. Most important and deciding topic of laser processes is the application result. The technology of Midel Photonics enlarges the process window significantly and provides a more sustainable quality of laser applications. Midel Photonics is able to provide these stabilizing optics specific for their customers applications on short delivery.

Thomas Merk, former president and CEO of Rofin Sinar, Executive Vice President Coherent

Laser technology is a key technology for many future applications. Midel Photonics will help to shape these emerging applications with its technology. There are many exciting applications for the products, particularly in micro- and nanoelectronics. I am confident that Midel Photonics’ founding team and proprietary technology will be key to the success of the company.

Dr. Markus Dilger, former managing director of Carl Zeiss NTS, Senior VP Corporate Research Infineon

from left Christian Wahl, David Dung, Christopher Grossert, Frederik Wolf (Picture: Midel Photonics GmbH)

About Midel Photonics GmbH 
Midel Photonics GmbH was founded in May 2022 and emerged from research in the “ML4Q” Cluster of Excellence at the University of Bonn. With its innovative laser beam shaping technology, the company solves highly topical problems in laser material processing and enables highly efficient laser systems. The founders were supported by EXIST research transfer funding from the BMWK, NRW.BANK, the High-Tech.NRW network, the enaCom transfer center at the University of Bonn and the RWTH Aachen incubation program. The founding team consists of David Dung, Frederik Wolf, Christian Wahl, Christopher Grossert.
www.midel-photonics.de 

Kontakt 
Dr. David Dung, Co-Founder and Managing Director 
T.: +49 228 – 28679711 
david.dung@midel-photonics.de  

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies. 
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de     

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More News posts

Press
27. February 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: Valispace Joins Forces with Altium in a Strategic Acquisition 

Altium and Valispace are joining forces to accelerate the execution of a shared vision for empowering engineers.  HTGF was the first institutional investor and led the seed round in 2018 and has closely supported Valispace throughout all phases of their growth journey. As part of the deal HTGF will sell its shares.  Louise Lindblad, co-founder of Valispace: “We’re now excited to, together with Altium, continue our mission of empowering engineers to build great products,
 
Press
toolify founders
22. February 2024

€1.6 million investment for XITO: Seed funding for easily accessible robotics

With the completed seed financing, XITO now has €1.6 million to expand sales and product development. Toolify Robotics GmbH enables companies to implement robots independently with its XITO solution platform. Thanks to their product XITO, especially SMEs can get started with automation at low cost – without programming knowledge and without external specialists. Ulm, 22. February 2024 – The start-up Toolify Robotics, founded by the three robotics experts Dr. Dennis S
 
Press
21. February 2024

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, includin

News

Lasertechnologie der nächsten Generation: Midel Photonics erhält 1 Mio. Euro Seed-Finanzierung 

19. Dezember 2023

  • Die gezielte Formung von Laserstrahlen ist in der Industrie ein zunehmend wichtiges Thema, da viele Bearbeitungsschritte auf Laser angewiesen sind und an Grenzen stoßen.  
  • Das Bonner Start-up Midel Photonics löst dieses Problem mit einer neuartigen Lösung zur Laserstrahlformung. 
  • Midel Photonics schließt Seed-Finanzierung in Höhe von 1 Mio. Euro erfolgreich ab, angeführt vom HTGF. 
  • Verstärkt wird die Finanzierungsrunde durch Angel-Investments mehrerer Industrieexperten, unter anderem Thomas Merk und Dr. Markus Dilger. 
  • Mit dem Kapital werden die Gründer ihre innovative Technologie zur Strahlformung breiter am Markt positionieren und ihr Anwendungsportfolio erweitern.  

19.12.2023, Bonn – Für das Bonner Laser-Start-up Midel Photonics geht das Jahr mit einem großen Erfolg zu Ende: Die Seed-Finanzierung konnte abgeschlossen werden. Zu den Investoren gehören der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) sowie die renommierten Industrieexperten Thomas Merk und Dr. Markus Dilger. 

Wir freuen uns, dass wir für unsere Vision und unsere Arbeit so starke und technologieaffine Partner an unserer Seite wissen.

Dr. David Dung, Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer von Midel Photonics

Das 2022 gegründete Hightech-Start-up Midel Photonics revolutioniert die Materialbearbeitung mit Lasern. In Schlüsselbereichen wie dem Schneiden von Mikrochips, dem Schweißen von Motoren und Akkus für die Elektromobilität sowie der Displayherstellung stoßen heutige Lasertechnologien an ihre Grenzen, was nicht nur zu ineffizienten Produktionsprozessen, sondern auch zu Ressourcenverschwendung durch Ausschuss führt. Die Innovation von Midel Photonics besteht in einer neuartigen Technologie, die Laserstrahlen gezielt formt, um bestehende Prozesse deutlich effizienter zu gestalten und gleichzeitig den Weg für neue Herstellungsverfahren zu ebnen. Das Unternehmen strebt damit eine nachhaltigere und intelligentere Produktion der Zukunft an. 
Die nun abgeschlossene Seed-Finanzierung ist ein weiterer Meilenstein für das junge Unternehmen

„Mit diesem Investment können wir nun unsere Wachstumspläne realisieren und unsere wegweisende Technologie noch breiter im Markt etablieren. Midel Photonics ist bereit, die Zukunft der Laserindustrie aktiv mitzugestalten.“ 

Frederik Wolf, Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer von Midel Photonics

Midel Photonics hat eine bahnbrechende Beam-Shaping-Lösung entwickelt, die Laseranwendungen auf ein neues Niveau heben kann. Ich freue mich darauf, das Team in der Markteinführungsphase zu unterstützen und gemeinsam die nächsten Schritte zu gehen!

Dr. Nils Lang, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Ich freue mich auf die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Team von Midel Photonics. Das wesentliche und ausschlaggebende Ziel bei Laserprozessen ist das Applikationsergebnis. Die Technologie von Midel Photonics erweitert das Prozessfenster deutlich und sorgt so für eine stabile Qualität des Applikationsergebnisses. Midel Photonics ist in der Lage diese stabilisierenden Optiken in kürzester Zeit prozessspezifisch zu erstellen.

Thomas Merk, ehemaliger President und CEO von Rofin Sinar, Executive Vice President Coherent

Der Lasertechnologie gehört in vielen Anwendungen die Zukunft und Midel Photonics wird diese Zukunft mit seiner Technologie mitgestalten. Gerade in der Mikro- und Nanoelektronik gibt es viele spannende Einsatzmöglichkeiten für die Produkte. Ich bin überzeugt, dass das Gründerteam und die proprietäre Technologie von Midel Photonics Garanten für den Erfolg sind.

Dr. Markus Dilger, ehemaliger Managing Director von Carl Zeiss NTS, Senior VP Corporate Research Infineon

v. l. n. r. Christian Wahl, David Dung, Christopher Grossert, Frederik Wolf (Bild: Midel Photonics GmbH)

Über die Midel Photonics GmbH 
Die Midel Photonics GmbH wurde im Mai 2022 gegründet und geht aus der Forschung im Exzellenzcluster „ML4Q“ an der Universität Bonn hervor. Mit Ihrer innovativen Technologie zur Laserstrahlformung löst sie hochaktuelle Probleme in der Lasermaterialbearbeitung und ermöglicht hocheffiziente Laseranlagen. Unterstützt wurden die Gründer dabei durch eine EXIST Forschungstransfer-Förderung des BMWK, die NRW.BANK, das High-Tech.NRW Netzwerk, das Transfercenter enaCom der Universität Bonn und das Incubation Programm der RWTH Aachen. Das Gründerteam: David Dung, Frederik Wolf, Christian Wahl, Christopher Grossert. 
www.midel-photonics.de 

Kontakt 
Dr. David Dung, Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer 
T.: +49 228 – 28679711 
david.dung@midel-photonics.de  

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds    
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.   
 Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt  
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de     

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
toolify founders
22. Februar 2024

1,6 Millionen Euro Investment für XITO: Seed-Finanzierung für leicht zugängliche Robotik

Für den Ausbau des Vertriebs und der Produktentwicklung stehen XITO mit der jetzt komplettierten Seed-Finanzierung 1,6 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Die Toolify Robotics GmbH ermöglicht Unternehmen mit ihrer Lösungs-Plattform XITO, Roboter eigenständig zu implementieren. Dank XITO gelingt insbesondere auch KMU der kostengünstige Einstieg in die Automatisierung – ohne Programmierkenntnisse und ohne Fachkräfte von außen. Ulm, 22. Februar 2024 – Das von den drei Robot
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

ClimateTech-Startup Cyclize erhält für revolutionäres Kunststoff-Recycling rund €5 Millionen Seed-Finanzierung

Stuttgart, 21.2.2024 – Cyclize, das ClimateTech-Startup aus Stuttgart, geht mit €4,75 Millionen Startkapital voran, um eine Revolution in der chemischen Industrie einzuleiten. Ziel: Die Ablösung fossiler Ressourcen durch das innovative Recycling von Kohlenstoff aus Kunststoffabfällen und CO2. Geleitet wird die Finanzierungsrunde von UVC Partners. Komplementiert wird die Kapitalerhöhung durch High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators und Busine
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

Industrieller 3D Spezialist Threedy sichert sich 10,4 Millionen Dollar in der jüngsten Serie A Investitionsrunde

Threedy ist ein Hightech-Start-up, das 2020 als Spin-off des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Graphische Datenverarbeitung (IGD) in Darmstadt gegründet wurde. Drei bemerkenswert erfolgreiche Jahre nach der Gründung hat sich Threedy eine Investition von 10,4 Millionen US-Dollar gesichert, um das Wachstum in verschiedenen Branchen und Regionen zu beschleunigen. Zu den neuen Investoren gehören die LBBW Venture Capital, TRUMPF VENTURE, Futury Capital und EquityPitcher Ventures. Die Investition unter