€1.3 Million for the Legal AI: Successful Funding for Legal Tech JUPUS

May 28, 2024

The startup JUPUS has successfully attracted new investors for its AI-powered secretary for lawyers which is the first to enable the legally trained and fully automated communication and processing in legal matters. Leading the funding is the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), along with Combination VC, consisting of business angels such as Refurbed founder Kilian Kaminski and Wandelbots CTO Georg Püschel. Among the existing investors returning for this round are well-known family offices, as well as notable figures such as Foodpanda founder Felix Plog and legal tech experts Philipp Hammerich (rightmart) and Stefan Schicker (SKW Schwarz). With the €1.3 million, the now 15-member JUPUS team can further develop its AI software, which is already in use by hundreds of lawyers across Germany.

As the first legal AI secretary in Europe, JUPUS automates the entire process from initial client contact to the complete file. Lawyers are supported by an AI-chatbot, an online appointment booking tool, and an AI platform that automatically collects and processes inquiries, information, and documents, facilitating automated communication with clients.

“The legal industry is facing its biggest transformation in the last 120 years,” explains JUPUS founder René Fergen. “We are a major driver in the practical application of AI, benefiting both the legal professionals and those seeking legal help.” Since its pre-seed funding in January 2023, the team has grown from two to 15 members. As of May 2023, hundreds of law firms across Germany are already using JUPUS, with the AI tool handling over 200 inquiries per day.

A total of €1.3 million has been raised for the further expansion of JUPUS in the second funding round, which was quickly oversubscribed. “VCs have shown great interest in the development in the LegalTech sector and our approach,” says Fergen. In addition to renowned business angels from the legal sector and successful players from the German startup scene, JUPUS has also caught the attention of the High-Tech Gründerfonds – Germany’s most active and largest early-stage investor. “We are thrilled to have HTGF as a great new partner,” Fergen adds.

Law firms today face significant operational challenges due to a shortage of skilled workers while the complexity of client intake and case processing increases.

The JUPUS team impressively addresses this challenge with their versatile AI solution, especially in mandate management. JUPUS has quickly built a significant customer base. As investors, we believe we can create a leading company in an under-digitalized market.

Max Bergmann, Investment Manager at HTGF

The approximately 50,000 law firms in Germany are struggling with a severe shortage of skilled workers and increased client expectations. “Time, personnel capacity, and lucrative mandates are being lost,” explains Fergen. With JUPUS, firms save 40 work hours per month and convert twice as many website visitors into inquiries. The pressure on the legal industry to digitize is growing. A recent survey by the Federal Bar Association shows that while the number of lawyers has nearly tripled since 1990, the number of new trainee legal assistants has dropped by 70% in the same period.

Everyone who doesn’t have a staffing problem in the legal secretary’s office now will have one in the next few years. But with JUPUS, we canmitigate this trend and provide lawyers with a powerful digital tool.

René Fergen, founder from JUPUS

JUPUS Founder René Fergen (left) with part of his team

About JUPUS
The Cologne-based company JUPUS is one of the leading providers of AI software for the legal sector in Germany and enables lawyers to fully automate the client intake process from initial contact to the complete file. Law firms are supported by an AI chatbot, an online appointment booking tool and an AI platform that automatically collects and processes inquiries, information and documents and enables automated communication with clients. The JUPUS team consists of 15 employees and since May 2023, hundreds of law firms throughout Germany have already been processing more than 200 inquiries per day via JUPUS. The company was founded in 2022 and is managed by the two founders René Fergen and Jannis Gebauer.
www.jupus.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 750 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

28. Mai 2024

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zählen hierzu Foodpanda-Gründer Felix Plog sowie die Rechtsanwälte und Legal Tech-Experten Philipp Hammerich (rightmart) und Stefan Schicker (SKW Schwarz). Mit den 1,3 Mio. Euro kann das mittlerweile 15-köpfige JUPUS-Team seine KI-Software weiter ausbauen. Aktuell ist das Tool bereits bei hunderten Rechtsanwälten deutschlandweit im Einsatz.

Als erstes juristisches KI-Sekretariat im europäischen Raum führt JUPUS die Mandatsannahme vom Erstkontakt bis zur vollständigen Akte vollautomatisiert durch. Rechtsanwälte werden dabei unterstützt von einem KI-Chatbot, einem Online-Terminbuchungstool und einer KI-Plattform, die Anfragen, Informationen und Dokumente automatisiert einsammelt und aufbereitet sowie eine automatisierte Kommunikation mit Mandanten ermöglicht.

„Die Rechtsbranche steht vor dem größten Wandel der letzten 120 Jahre“, erklärt JUPUS-Gründer René Fergen. „Wir sind hier einer der Haupttreiber für den praktischen Einsatz von KI und lassen sowohl die Akteure der Rechtsbranche als auch Rechtsuchende von dieser Technologie profitieren.“ Schon seit der Pre-Seed im Januar 2023 ist das Team von 2 auf 15 Mitarbeiter gewachsen. Seit Mai 2023 bearbeiten hunderte Kanzleien in ganz Deutschland ihre Anfragen über JUPUS, das KI-Tool übernimmt bereits mehr als 200 Anfragen pro Tag.

Bei der Finanzierung kommen insgesamt 1,3 Millionen Euro für den weiteren Ausbau von JUPUS zusammen. Die zweite FInanzierungsrunde war dabei schnell überzeichnet. „VCs haben großes Interesse an der Entwicklung im Bereich LegalTech und an unserem Ansatz gezeigt“, erzählt Fergen. Neben renommierten Business Angels aus der Rechtsbranche und erfolgreichen Playern aus der deutschen Gründerszene hat JUPUS nun auch die Aufmerksamkeit des High-Tech Gründerfonds auf sich lenken können – Deutschlands aktivster und größter Frühphaseninvestor. „Wir freuen uns sehr, mit dem HTGF einen tollen neuen Partner gewonnen zu haben,“ so Fergen.

Anwaltskanzleien stehen heute vor erheblichen Problemen im operativen Geschäft, da Fachkräfte fehlen, während die Komplexität der Mandantenaufnahme und Fallbearbeitung zunimmt.

Das Team von JUPUS begegnet der Herausforderung mit ihrer vielseitigen KI-Lösung insbesondere im Mandatsmanagement eindrucksvoll. JUPUS hat es in kurzer Zeit geschafft, eine signifikante Kundenbasis aufzubauen. Wir als Investor glauben daran, gemeinsam ein führendes Unternehmen in einem unterdigitalisierten Markt zu schaffen.

Max Bergmann, Investment Manager beim HTGF

Die rund 50.000 Anwaltskanzleien in Deutschland kämpfen mit einem enormen Fachkräftemangel und gestiegenen Mandantenerwartungen. „Dabei gehen Zeit, personelle Kapazitäten und auch lukrative Mandate verloren“, erklärt Fergen. Mit JUPUS sparen Kanzleien monatlich 40 Arbeitsstunden ein und verwandeln 2x mehr Website-Besucher in Anfragen. Der Druck auf die Anwaltsbranche hin zur Digitalisierung wird immer größer. Eine aktuelle Erhebung der Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer zeigt: Während sich die Anzahl der Rechtsanwälte seit 1990 fast verdreifacht hat, sank die Anzahl neuer Auszubildender Rechtsanwaltsfachangestellten im gleichen Zeitraum um 70%.

Alle, die jetzt noch kein Personalproblem im Anwaltssekretariat haben, werden es in den nächsten Jahren noch bekommen. Aber mit JUPUS können wir diesen Trend abfedern und geben Anwält:innen ein leistungsstarkes digitales Tool an die Hand.

René Fergen, Gründer von JUPUS

JUPUS Gründer René Fergen (links) mit einem Teil des Teams

Über JUPUS
Das Kölner Unternehmen JUPUS ist einer der führenden Anbieter von KI-Software für die Rechtsbranche in Deutschland und lässt Rechtsanwälte die Mandatsannahme vom Erstkontakt bis zur vollständigen Akte vollautomatisiert abbilden. Anwaltskanzleien werden dabei unterstützt von einem KI-Chatbot, einem Online-Terminbuchungstool und einer KI-Plattform, die Anfragen, Informationen und Dokumente automatisiert einsammelt und aufbereitet sowie eine automatisierte Kommunikation mit Mandanten ermöglicht. das JUPUS-Team besteht aus 15 Mitarbeitern und seit Mai 2023 bearbeiten hunderte Kanzleien in ganz Deutschland bereits mehr als 200 Anfragen pro Tag über JUPUS. Das Unternehmen wurde 2022 gegründet und wird von den beiden Gründern René Fergen und Jannis Gebauer geführt.
www.jupus.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.   
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. ​​​

Pressekontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
10. Juni 2024

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen. Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 i