Press

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

February 21, 2024

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, including Dr. Klaus Schäfer, former CTO of Covestro, who will also join Cyclize’s Advisory Board.

Full replacement of fossil resources

In an era of overdue change, Cyclize breaks conventional boundaries and reinvents the chemical industry. The industry, once firmly anchored in the use of fossil resources, must and wants to transform to achieve the net-zero emission targets. However, there is an additional challenge: Fossil resources don’t only serve as an energy source. The industries’ products intrinsically contain carbon, which is also derived from oil, natural gas, and coal. It is released when materials are incinerated after disposal. In total, plastics thus account for 15 percent of industrial CO2 pollution. A typical building block for plastics, foams, adhesives, paints, and more is synthesis gas, a carbon monoxide and hydrogen mixture. So far, alternative technologies like electrolysis or mitigation strategies like carbon capture and storage (CCS) struggle to meet the growing demand for CO2-neutral synthesis gas.

Cyclize offers a solution: A highly innovative plasma-based process that recycles mixed plastic waste of all kinds to produce synthetic gas, economically competing with fossil synthesis gas. Cyclize sets groundbreaking standards to replace fossil resources unrivaled.

With our process, we send a significant signal for climate-neutral chemistry. Our patented Cyclize Process enables chemical companies to remain competitive despite rising energy costs in Europe. Cyclize Plasma is not just the future of the chemical industry – it is an enabler for the circular economy: Turning plastic waste into a valuable raw material with monetary value.

Maike Lambarth, co-founder and CEO of Cyclize

Venturing into new markets: the net-zero revolution

The shift towards net-zero production opens new markets in Europe. Cyclize lays the foundation for the chemical industry through a low-threshold transformation. The company only replaces the first step of an extended value chain by offering synthesis gas that can substitute fossil sources. By retaining most of the value chain, existing process plants can continue to be used while keeping production costs low.

With their solution, they not only serve numerous chemistry segments that were previously dependent on fossil hydrogen and synthesis gas but also solve the global problem of recycling previously non-recyclable plastic waste. Cyclize is an innovation pioneer that decisively addresses the global challenges of our time.

Dr. Klaus Schäfer

Competitiveness through defossilization

Chemical companies cannot defossilize their industry using existing technologies while remaining economically viable.

Cyclize not only provides an affordable and clean alternative for chemical companies that previously relied on fossil natural gas as a raw material, but also solves the global problem of plastic waste that previously could not be recycled. A win-win, especially for the German industry and our environment.

Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Further development of plasma technology and company

Cyclize has already attracted significant interest from industry and politics. Since May 2022, the spin-off from the University of Stuttgart has been supported by the EXIST Research Transfer program of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK). With the capital raised in the seed round, the company elevates its implementation to the next level. Next, Cyclize will focus on scaling the technology and its application on an industrial scale with an expanded team. Also, test series with pilot customers who need synthesis gas or want to recycle complex waste streams are already planned. Thus, the young company actively advances technological development towards commercialization. Next milestone: Construction and operation of the first waste-to-synthesis gas plant of its kind in a chemical park to demonstrate applicability in the industrial environment.

Founding team of Cyclize: Left, below Dominik Novakovic, above Jan Stein, middle, Maike Lambarth, and right, Stephan Renninger.

About Cyclize
Cyclize, a spin-off from the University of Stuttgart, has developed a technology to defossilize the chemical industry using mixed plastic waste and CO2 as raw materials to produce synthesis gas (a gas mixture of carbon monoxide and hydrogen). This synthesis gas is a fundamental building block for advanced chemicals and is used in making plastics, methanol, hydrogen, and e-fuels. Until now, synthesis gas has been obtained through the linear use of fossil resources such as natural gas. The innovative plasma-based process replaces fossil resources with waste materials, enabling a circular carbon economy and avoiding hundreds of megatons of CO2 annually by 2050. For more information: www.cyclize.de.

About UVC Partners
UVC Partners is a leading Munich- and Berlin-based early-stage venture capital firm that invests in European B2B tech start-ups from pre-seed to series A. With about €400 million in assets under management, UVC Partners typically invests between €500,000 and €10 million initially and up to €30 million per company. The portfolio includes category leaders in deep tech, climate tech, hard- and software, and mobility with various technologies and business models. As an independent partner of UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s most extensive innovation and startup center, UVC Partners has access to proprietary deal flow, an industrial network of more than 1,000 corporates, and access to talent from the leading European technical university. The investments include Flix, Vimcar, planqc, Tanso, Isar Aerospace, TWAICE, DeepDrive, STABL, and many more. They all benefit from the team’s extensive investment and exit experience, their ability to build sustainable category leaders with a competitive advantage, and their passion for growing the game changers of tomorrow. For more information: www.uvcpartners.com.

Press contact
Maria Poursaiadi
maria.poursaiadi@uvcpartners.com

About Aurum Impact
Aurum Impact is an impact investing firm backed by the Goldbeck Family Office. It empowers positive systemic change by investing in ambitious founders and impact funds within the focus areas of Circularity & Materials, Climate & Energy, Ecosystems, and Stable & Equitable Society. Initial startup investments focus on Pre-Seed to Series A companies. Upon investment, Aurum Impact acts as a long-term and trusted partner across every stage and commits to longer investment horizons to allow founders and funds to flourish. The portfolio includes companies like UNDO, CleanHub, and the Landbanking Group as well as the impact funds Planet A Ventures, Revent, and Systemiq Capital. Learn more at www.aurum-impact.de.

About UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators
UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators is the pre-seed funding initiative at UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s leading center for innovation and business creation. UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators supports outstanding early-stage B2B start-ups in (deep) tech from the UnternehmerTUM ecosystem with the needed capital and network. The offers comprises prototyping grants, founder-friendly convertible loans as well as follow-on investments. The key focus is on identifying pioneering technologies and extraordinary teams that hold the promise of turning their ideas into scalable products. For more information: www.funding.unternehmertum.de.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies. Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI secures €1.1m pre-seed funding for data-driven decision making 

The AI start-up helps companies to use their data to make the best possible decision under any circumstances.  Scavenger AI receives € 1.1 million from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix and the B4i Investment Fund.  The new capital will be used to launch the first version of the software on the market and serve customers on the waiting list.   Frankfurt, 8 April 2024 – The German data analytics & AI start-up
 
Press
10. April 2024

Proxima Fusion Raises €20M Seed to Accelerate Timeline to Fusion Power

Less than one year from its €7.5M pre-seed round, the first Max Planck fusion spin-out has delivered on its vision of simulation-enabled stellarator design. New funding supports expansion of the world-class team in Munich and its public-private partnerships in Europe to build on existing momentum. Proxima Fusion directly builds on €1.3B of public investment in the ground-breaking W7-X experiment in Germany. Munich, Germany, April 10, 2024 – Proxima Fusion, the first spi
 
Press
9. April 2024

Change in the management of High-Tech Gründerfonds

Bonn, Germany, 9 April 2024 – Guido Schlitzer, responsible for finance, controlling, IT and fund administration on the management board of High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), will leave the seed investor at his own request on 31 December 2024 to pursue new professional challenges. Guido Schlitzer, whom we greatly value both professionally and personally, has provided significant impetus for both HTGF and the start-up ecosystem in Germany over the course of his long career. We very much

Presse

ClimateTech-Startup Cyclize erhält für revolutionäres Kunststoff-Recycling rund €5 Millionen Seed-Finanzierung

21. Februar 2024

Stuttgart, 21.2.2024 – Cyclize, das ClimateTech-Startup aus Stuttgart, geht mit €4,75 Millionen Startkapital voran, um eine Revolution in der chemischen Industrie einzuleiten. Ziel: Die Ablösung fossiler Ressourcen durch das innovative Recycling von Kohlenstoff aus Kunststoffabfällen und CO2. Geleitet wird die Finanzierungsrunde von UVC Partners. Komplementiert wird die Kapitalerhöhung durch High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators und Business Angels, u.a. Dr. Klaus Schäfer, ehemaliger CTO von Covestro, der auch Teil des Advisory Boards von Cyclize wird. 

Fossile Ressourcen konkurrenzlos ersetzen

Im Zeitalter des notwendigen Wandels bricht Cyclize eingefahrene Grenzen und erfindet die chemische Industrie neu. Die Chemieindustrie, einst fest verankert in der Nutzung fossiler Ressourcen, muss und will sich wandeln, um die notwendigen Klimaziele zu erreichen. Durch den bisherigen Einsatz von Erdgas und Kohle werden enthaltene Kohlenstoffatome zur Herstellung von Synthesegas genutzt – ein Gemisch aus Kohlenmonoxid und Wasserstoff. Dieses Gasgemisch ist ein Basisbaustein der Chemieindustrie und Ausgangspunkt für uns allseits umgebende Produkte wie Kunststoffe, Schaumstoffe, Klebstoffe, Farben und viele mehr. Bei deren Produktion und Verbrennung am Lebensende werden 15 Prozent der globalen industriellen CO2-Emissionen verursacht. Andere Verfahren, wie die Elektrolyse oder der Einsatz von Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS), können den wachsenden Bedarf an CO2-neutralem Synthesegas nicht decken.

Hier bietet Cyclize eine Lösung: Ein hochinnovatives, Plasma-basiertes Verfahren, bei dem gemischte Kunststoffabfälle aller Art recycelt werden, um Synthesegas zu erzeugen, welches wirtschaftlich mühelos mit fossilem Synthesegas konkurriert. Damit setzt Cyclize wegweisende Maßstäbe, um fossile Ressourcen konkurrenzlos zu ersetzen.

Mit unserem Verfahren setzen wir ein bedeutendes Signal für eine klimaneutrale Chemie. Durch unseren patentierten Cyclize-Prozess befähigen wir Chemieunternehmen, trotz steigender Energiepreise in Europa wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Das Cyclize-Plasma ist nicht nur die Zukunft der Chemieindustrie – es ist Innovator für die Kreislaufwirtschaft: Aus Plastikmüll wird ein echter Rohstoff mit monetärem Wert

Maike Lambarth, Mitbegründerin und CEO von Cyclize

Aufbruch zu neuen Märkten, der Netto-Null-Revolution

Die Bewegung hin zu Netto-Null-Produktionen eröffnet neue Märkte in Europa und Cyclize ebnet der chemischen Industrie durch eine niedrigschwellige Transformation den Weg. Das Unternehmen ändert mit der Produktion von Synthesegas lediglich den ersten Schritt in einer langen Wertschöpfungskette und substituiert die bisher fossile Kohlenstoffquelle. Dank des Beibehaltens der folgenden Verfahrensschritte können vorhandene Assets weiter genutzt und Produktionskosten niedrig gehalten werden.

Mit ihrer Lösung bedienen sie nicht nur zahlreiche Chemiesegmente, die bisher auf fossilen Wasserstoff und Synthesegas angewiesen waren, sondern lösen auch das globale Problem der Verwertung von bislang nicht-recycelbaren Kunststoffabfällen. Cyclize ist ein Innovationspionier, der globale Herausforderungen unserer Zeit entschlossen angeht.

Dr. Klaus Schäfer

Wettbewerbsfähigkeit durch Defossilisierung

Chemieunternehmen sind mit bestehenden Technologien nicht in der Lage, ihre eigene Industrie zu defossilisieren und dabei wirtschaftlich zu bleiben.

Cyclize bietet nicht nur eine bezahlbare und emissionsarme Alternative für Chemieunternehmen, die bisher auf fossiles Erdgas als Rohstoff angewiesen waren, sondern löst auch das globale Problem der Verwertung von bisher nicht recycelbaren Kunststoffabfällen. Ein Win-Win insbesondere für die deutsche Industrie und unsere Umwelt.

Johannes Weber, Senior Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Weiterentwicklung der Plasmatechnologie und des gesamten Unternehmens

Cyclize hat bereits großes Interesse von Industrie und Politik erfahren. Seit Mai 2022 wird das Spin-off der Universität Stuttgart durch den EXIST-Forschungstransfer des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWK) gefördert. Mit dem neu aufgenommenen Kapital hebt das Unternehmen seine Realisierung auf das nächste Level. So wird Cyclize sich im nächsten Schritt mit einem vergrößerten Team der Skalierung der Technologie und deren Anwendung im industriellen Maßstab widmen. Auch Testreihen mit Pilotkunden, welche Synthesegas benötigen oder komplexe Abfallströme recyceln wollen, sind bereits in Planung. Damit treibt das junge Unternehmen aktiv die technologische Weiterentwicklung hin zur Kommerzialisierung voran. Nächstes Ziel: Aufbau und Betrieb der ersten Waste-to-Syngas-Anlage ihrer Art in einem Chemiepark, um mit dem Pilotbetrieb die Anwendbarkeit im industriellen Umfeld zu belegen.

Cyclize Gründerteam: links, unten Dominik Novakovic, oben Jan Stein, mitte, Maike Lambarth und rechts, Stephan Renninger (Bild: Cyclize)

Über Cyclize
Als Spin-off der Universität Stuttgart hat Cyclize eine Technologie zur Defossilisierung der chemischen Industrie entwickelt, bei der gemischte Kunststoffabfälle und CO2 als Ausgangsmaterial verwendet werden, um Synthesegas (ein Gasgemisch aus Kohlenmonoxid und Wasserstoff) herzustellen. Dieses Synthesegas dient als Grundbaustein für höherwertige Chemikalien und wird zur Herstellung von Kunststoffen, Methanol, Wasserstoff und E-Fuels verwendet. Bislang wird Synthesegas immer noch durch die lineare Nutzung fossiler Ressourcen wie Erdgas gewonnen. Das innovative Plasma-basierte Verfahren ermöglicht es, fossile Ressourcen durch Abfallstoffe zu ersetzen, eine Kreislaufwirtschaft für Kohlenstoff zu ermöglichen und bis 2050 jährlich Hunderte Megatonnen CO2 zu vermeiden. Weitere Informationen: www.cyclize.de

Über UVC Partners
UVC Partners ist eine führende Early-Stage-Venture-Capital-Gesellschaft mit Sitz in München und Berlin, die in europäische B2B-Tech-Start-ups von der Pre-Seed- bis zur Series-A-Phase investiert. Mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von ca. 400 Millionen Euro investiert UVC Partners in der Regel zwischen 500.000 und 10 Millionen Euro als initiales Ticket und bis zu 30 Millionen Euro pro Unternehmen. Das Portfolio umfasst führende Unternehmen in den Bereichen Deep Tech, Climate Tech, Hard- und Software sowie Mobility. Als unabhängiger Partner von UnternehmerTUM, Europas größtem Innovations- und Startup-Zentrum, hat UVC Partners Zugang zu proprietärem Dealflow, einem industriellen Netzwerk von mehr als 1.000 Unternehmen und Zugang zu Talenten von der führenden europäischen technischen Universität. Zu ihren Investments gehören Flix, Vimcar, planqc, Tanso, Isar Aerospace, TWAICE, DeepDrive, STABL und viele mehr. Sie alle profitieren von der umfangreichen Investitions- und Exit-Erfahrung des Teams, seiner Fähigkeit, nachhaltige Branchenführer aufzubauen, und der Leidenschaft für die Entwicklung der „Game Changer“ von morgen. Weitere Informationen: www.uvcpartners.com.

Pressekontakt:
Maria Poursaiadi
maria.poursaiadi@uvcpartners.com

Über Aurum Impact
Der Impactinvestor Aurum Impact unterstützt Startups und Fonds, die sich den großen ökologischen und sozialen Herausforderungen widmen. Als Teil des Goldbeck Family Office agiert Aurum Impact als zuverlässiger Partner mit langfristigem Investmentfokus entlang der Themen Kreislaufwirtschaft und Materialien, Klima und Energie, Ökosysteme sowie Chancengerechtigkeit und soziale Stabilität. Erstinvestments in Startups fokussieren sich auf die Frühphase von Pre-Seed bis Series A. Zum Portfolio zählen Unternehmen wie UNDO, CleanHub und Voltfang sowie die Impactfonds Planet A Ventures, Revent und Systemiq Capital. Weitere Informationen: www.aurum-impact.de.

Über UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators
UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators ist die Pre-Seed-Finanzierungsinitiative der UnternehmerTUM, Europas führendem Zentrum für Innovation und Unternehmensgründung. Die Initiative unterstützt herausragende B2B Deep Tech Start-ups aus dem UnternehmerTUM-Ökosystem mit dem nötigen Kapital und Netzwerk. Das Angebot umfasst Prototyping Grants, gründerfreundliche Wandeldarlehen sowie Beteiligungskapital. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Identifizierung von bahnbrechenden Technologien und außergewöhnlichen Teams, die das Potenzial haben, ihre Ideen in skalierbare Produkte umzusetzen. Weitere Informationen: www.funding.unternehmertum.de.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. Weitere Informationen: www.htgf.de.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F
 
Presse
9. April 2024

Veränderung in der Geschäftsführung des High-Tech Gründerfonds

Bonn, 09.04.2024 – Guido Schlitzer, in der Geschäftsführung des High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) zuständig für Finance, Controlling, IT und Fondsadministration, wird den Seedinvestor auf eigenen Wunsch zum 31.12.2024 verlassen, um sich neuen beruflichen Herausforderungen zu widmen. Guido Schlitzer, den wir fachlich und persönlich sehr schätzen, hat in seiner langjährigen Laufbahn maßgebliche Impulse sowohl für den HTGF als auch das Start-up-Ökosystem in Deutschland gesetzt.