ReCatalyst Announces Successful Closing of Oversubscribed Seed Financing Round

July 12, 2023

ReCatalyst is developing a nano-tech platform for production of next-generation of intermetallic platinum-alloy PEM fuel cell catalysts with the core mission to enable an optimized usage of platinum group metals.  

  • Slovenian Startup ReCatalyst was able to convince an outstanding international syndicate consisting of HTGF, xista science ventures and OCCIDENT, along with Slovenian investors, to invest €1.7 million.
  • The funding will be used to enhance market readiness and accelerate process development for ReCatalyst’s next-generation proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell catalysts, which are expected to grow to a $45 billion market by 2030.

Ljubljana, 12/07/2023 – ReCatalyst, a spin-out from the renowned National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana, developing next-generation PEM fuel cell catalysts, has closed an oversubscribed €1.7 million seed financing round. The funding round was co-led by the Germany-based High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), xista science ventures from Austria and OCCIDENT from Germany. The syndicate completes RUJ Ventures from Slovenia and the strategic business angel Dr. Tine Tomažič.

With the humanity’s race to ‘net-zero’, hydrogen and proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cells will play a critical role in decarbonisation of both the energy and transport sectors. Fuel cells technology is expected to decarbonize especially heavier applications such as heavy-duty trucks, buses, trains, airplanes, ships, etc. However, at the core of each PEM fuel cell are currently still far too high quantities of precious and scarce platinum that is found in the electrocatalyst. This makes the technology expensive and difficult to mass produce. To solve this problem, ReCatalyst is developing a nano-tech platform for the production of next-generation of intermetallic platinum-alloy PEM fuel cell catalysts with the core mission to enable an optimized usage of platinum group metals.  

Photo: ReCatalyst

The investment from a strong syndicate of renowned international investors not only provides the company with crucial financial and operational support but also positions it on a global scale. In addition, this opportunity synergizes effectively with Slovenia’s strong connections to the German and Austrian industries. I take immense pride in the fact that we have transformed what was once a PhD research project into one of the most promising products in the market with substantial potential for future developments. While we have been successfully building our company with prestigious non-dilutive funding sources, we have now reached a stage where a more aggressive approach for growth has been absolutely critical in order to capitalize on the emerging hydrogen and catalysts market.

Tomaž Bizjak, CEO and co-founder of ReCatalyst

We are really at a unique point in history to be able to make a direct impact towards an incredibly important humanity’s challenge and accelerate commercialization of hydrogen-based technologies at the very ‘heart’ – the (electro)catalyst. We plan to use this incredible opportunity to take our patented nano-tech platform to the next level, expanding both our production capabilities as well as product portfolio, revolutionizing not only the way we make fuel cell catalysts, but (electro)catalysts in general.

Dr. Matija Gatalo, CTO and co-founder of ReCatalyst

ReCatalyst has developed a catalyst manufacturing platform technology that not only reduces the amount of platinum required in PEM fuel cells, but also enhances their efficiency. We believe this is a critical improvement to make PEM fuel cells cheaper and more applicable to the heavy-duty vehicle sector, resulting in a great potential to reduce CO2 emissions in the long term.

Dr Jan Engels, Investment Manager at HTGF

ReCatalyst strongly fits our investment thesis of breakthrough science developed in a lab, spinning out as a company with major commercial potential. The team’s high ambition, focus on major reduction in platinum use without compromising on performance, and robust execution approach across the hydrogen and fuel cell value chain can unlock new possibilities for PEMFCs and even beyond.

Florian Resch, Partner at xista science ventures

ReCatalyst has made a very convincing technological leap with its innovative catalysis product. We believe that their technology will significantly contribute to reducing the required platinum loading of PEM fuel cells on an industrial scale and thus result in a considerable reduction in manufacturing costs. The ReCatalyst team demonstrates an excellent and unique combination of entrepreneurial mindset and cutting-edge technology emerging from National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana.

Simon Schild von Spannenberg, Junior Investment Manager at OCCIDENT

Photo: ReCatalyst

About ReCatalyst
ReCatalyst is on a mission to revolutionize the proton exchange membrane fuel cell industry by providing customizable next-generation platinum-alloy catalyst solutions. Our primary focus is to enable the massive scalability of high-power fuel cells while optimizing the usage of precious platinum group metals. Leveraging our revolutionary nano-technological platform, we are dedicated to expediting the decarbonization of the energy and transport sectors. By developing ground-breaking (electro)catalyst materials, we strive to play a pivotal role in advancing the clean energy transition and driving a sustainable future. More at www.recatalyst.si

ReCatalyst, d.o.o. is a spin-out company from the National Institute of Chemistry (Ljubljana, Slovenia) founded in early 2021 by co-founders Tomaž Bizjak and Dr. Matija Gatalo. Since inception, the company has received multiple awards including EIT Raw Materials Jumpstarter 2020, BASF Innovation Hub 2021 as well as most recently Slovenian ‘Start-up of the Year’ 2023. The company’s foundations have been developed within the frameworks of publicly funded projects such as the ERC Proof of Concept ‘StableCat’, EIT Raw Materials Accelerator as well as recently also the prestigious EIC Transition ‘ENABLER’.

Contact:
Tomaž Bizjak, CEO
ReCatalyst d.o.o.
tomaz.bizjak@recatalyst.si
+386 40 835 105

About xista science ventures
xista science ventures (xsv) invests in visionary science start-ups. xsv talks the language of scientist and investor, making it a unique partner to fuel founders’ deep tech ideas and help them build exciting, scalable companies. The xsv team has a deep understanding of academic spin-offs and the deep tech founders’ landscape, and can view, recognise, analyse and propel companies to the next stage. More at www.xista.vc

About OCCIDENT
OCCIDENT is an international venture capital investor with offices in Munich and Zug, is owner-managed and invests its own assets. Its mission is to make a positive contribution to society through sustainable and meaningful investments. OCCIDENT invests in innovative deep tech start-ups with excellent technologies, broad application possibilities and the potential for further development in the fields of life sciences, industrial tech and digital. OCCIDENT acts as a long-term enabler for highly innovative startups and visionary founders. More at www.occident.group

About High-Tech Gründerfonds 
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances technology start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF has approximately 1.4 billion euros under management. The team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts supports the young companies with know-how, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. The focus lies on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. More than 4.5 billion euros have been invested in the HTGF portfolio by external investors in more than 2,000 follow-up funding rounds to date. Furthermore, the fund has already successfully sold their shares in more than 170 companies.
The fund investors in the public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

Presse

ReCatalyst schließt überzeichnete Seed-Finanzierungsrunde erfolgreich ab

12. Juli 2023

ReCatalyst entwickelt eine nanotechnologische Plattform zur Produktion der nächsten Generation von intermetallischen Platinlegierungskatalysatoren für PEM-Brennstoffzellen mit dem Ziel einer optimierten Nutzung von Platingruppenmetallen.

  • Das slowenische Start-up ReCatalyst konnte ein namhaftes internationales Konsortium bestehend aus HTGF, xista science ventures und OCCIDENT sowie slowenischen Investoren für ein Investment in Höhe von 1,7 Millionen Euro gewinnen.
  • Mit den Mitteln soll die Marktreife und die Prozessentwicklung für die nächste Generation der Protonenaustauschmembran (PEM)-Brennstoffzellenkatalysatoren von ReCatalyst vorangetrieben werden, für die bis 2030 ein Markt von 45 Milliarden US-Dollar prognostiziert wird.

Ljubljana, Slowenien, 12. Juli 2023 – ReCatalyst, ein Spin-off des renommierten National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana, das Katalysatoren der nächsten Generation für PEM-Brennstoffzellen entwickelt, hat eine überzeichnete Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,7 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen. Angeführt wurde die Runde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), xista science ventures und OCCIDENT. RUJ Ventures aus Slowenien und der strategische Business Angel Dr. Tine Tomažič komplettieren das Konsortium.

Auf dem Weg zu „Net-Zero“ werden Wasserstoff- und Protonenaustauschmembran-Brennstoffzellen (PEM-Brennstoffzellen) eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Dekarbonisierung des Energie- und Verkehrssektors spielen. Insbesondere wird erwartet, dass die Brennstoffzellentechnologie die Dekarbonisierung von Schwerlastanwendungen wie Lastkraftwagen, Bussen, Zügen, Flugzeugen, Schiffen usw. ermöglichen wird. Das Herzstück jeder PEM-Brennstoffzelle ist jedoch nach wie vor der Elektrokatalysator, der viel zu viel wertvolles und knappes Platin enthält. Das macht die Technologie teuer und schwierig in der Massenproduktion. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, entwickelt ReCatalyst eine nanotechnologische Plattform zur Herstellung von PEM-Brennstoffzellen-Katalysatoren der nächsten Generation mit intermetallischen Platinlegierungen, um den Einsatz von Platingruppenmetallen zu optimieren.

Bild: ReCatalyst

Mit der Investition durch ein starkes Konsortium renommierter internationaler Investoren erhält das Unternehmen nicht nur entscheidende finanzielle und operative Unterstützung, sondern positioniert sich auch auf globaler Ebene. Gleichzeitig ist es eine gute Möglichkeit, die starken Verbindungen Sloweniens mit der deutschen und österreichischen Industrie zu stärken. Es macht mich sehr stolz, dass es uns gelungen ist, aus einem Forschungsprojekt eines der vielversprechendsten Produkte auf dem Markt zu machen, das ein großes Potenzial für zukünftige Entwicklungen hat. Wir haben unser Unternehmen erfolgreich mit renommierten, nicht verwässernden Finanzierungsquellen aufgebaut, doch jetzt haben wir eine Phase erreicht, in der ein offensiverer Wachstumsansatz absolut entscheidend ist, um von den aufstrebenden Wasserstoff- und Katalysatormärkten zu profitieren.

Tomaž Bizjak, CEO und Mitgründer von ReCatalyst

Wir stehen an einem einzigartigen Punkt in der Geschichte, an dem wir die Möglichkeit haben, einen direkten Einfluss auf eine unglaublich wichtige Herausforderung der Menschheit zu nehmen und die Kommerzialisierung von wasserstoffbasierten Technologien am „Herzstück“ – dem (Elektro-)Katalysator – zu beschleunigen. Wir wollen diese unglaubliche Chance nutzen, um unsere patentierte Nanotechnologie-Plattform auf die nächste Stufe zu heben und sowohl unsere Produktionskapazitäten als auch unser Produktportfolio zu erweitern, um nicht nur die Herstellung von Brennstoffzellenkatalysatoren, sondern von (Elektro-)Katalysatoren im Allgemeinen zu revolutionieren.

Dr. Matija Gatalo, CTO und Mitgründer von ReCatalyst

ReCatalyst hat eine Plattformtechnologie zur Herstellung von Katalysatoren entwickelt, die nicht nur den Platingehalt in PEM-Brennstoffzellen reduziert, sondern auch deren Effizienz erhöht. Wir glauben, dass dies eine entscheidende Verbesserung ist, wenn es darum geht, PEM-Brennstoffzellen kostengünstiger und besser für den Schwerlastverkehr nutzbar zu machen, wodurch langfristig ein großes Potenzial zur Reduzierung von CO2-Emissionen entsteht.

Dr. Jan Engels, Investment Manager beim HTGF

ReCatalyst ist ein prototypisches Beispiel unserer Investment-These von europäischen Spin-Offs mit großem kommerziellen Potenzial, die von ambitionierten unternehmerischen Teams ausgegründet wird. Der inhaltliche Ansatz, sich auf eine deutliche Reduzierung des Platinverbrauchs zu konzentrieren, ohne dabei Kompromisse bei der Leistung einzugehen sowie die Anwendbarkeit in der gesamten Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellen-Wertschöpfungskette können neue Möglichkeiten für PEMFCs und darüber hinaus erschließen.

Florian Resch, Partner bei xista science ventures

ReCatalyst hat mit seinem innovativen Katalysatorprodukt einen sehr überzeugenden Technologiesprung vollzogen und wir glauben, dass die Technologie wesentlich dazu beitragen wird, die erforderliche Platinbeladung von PEM-Brennstoffzellen im industriellen Maßstab zu reduzieren und damit zu einer erheblichen Senkung der Herstellungskosten zu führen. Das Team von ReCatalyst vereint in hervorragender und einzigartiger Weise Unternehmergeist und Spitzentechnologie aus dem Nationalen Institut für Chemie in Ljubljana.

Simon Schild von Spannenberg, Junior Investment Manager bei OCCIDENT

Team von ReCatalyst (Bild: ReCatalyst)

Über ReCatalyst
ReCatalyst hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Protonenaustauschmembran-Brennstoffzellenindustrie zu revolutionieren, indem wir anpassbare Katalysatorlösungen aus Platinlegierungen der nächsten Generation anbieten. Unser Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der massiven Skalierbarkeit von Hochleistungs-Brennstoffzellen bei gleichzeitiger Optimierung des Einsatzes wertvoller Platinmetalle. Mit unserer revolutionären Nanotechnologie-Plattform wollen wir die Dekarbonisierung des Energie- und Transportsektors vorantreiben. Durch die Entwicklung bahnbrechender (Elektro-)Katalysatormaterialien wollen wir eine zentrale Rolle bei der Umsetzung einer sauberen Energiewende und der Gestaltung einer nachhaltigen Zukunft spielen. Mehr unter www.recatalyst.si

ReCatalyst, d.o.o. ist ein Spin-off des Nationalen Instituts für Chemie (Ljubljana, Slowenien), das Anfang 2021 von den Mitbegründern Tomaž Bizjak und Dr. Matija Gatalo gegründet wurde. Seit seiner Gründung hat das Unternehmen mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter den EIT Raw Materials Jumpstarter 2020, den BASF Innovation Hub 2021 und zuletzt den slowenischen Start-up des Jahres 2023. Die Grundlagen des Unternehmens wurden im Rahmen von öffentlich geförderten Projekten wie dem ERC Proof of Concept „StableCat“, dem EIT Raw Materials Accelerator und zuletzt dem renommierten EIC Transition „ENABLER“ entwickelt.

Kontakt:
Tomaž Bizjak, CEO
ReCatalyst d.o.o.
tomaz.bizjak@recatalyst.si
+386 40 835 105

Über xista science ventures
xista science ventures (xsv) investiert in visionäre wissenschaftliche Startups und Spin-Offs. xsv spricht die Sprache von Wissenschaftlern und Investoren und ist damit ein einzigartiger Partner, um Deep-Tech-Ideen von akademischen Gründern zu unterstützen und ihnen zu helfen, spannende und skalierbare Unternehmen aufzubauen. Weitere Informationen unter www.xista.vc

Über OCCIDENT
OCCIDENT ist ein internationaler Venture Capital Investor mit Standorten in München und Zug, ist eigentümergeführt und investiert eigenes Vermögen. Der Anspruch ist, durch nachhaltige und sinnstiftende Investitionen einen positiven Beitrag für die Gesellschaft zu leisten. OCCIDENT investiert in innovative Deep Tech Startups mit exzellenten Technologien, breiten Anwendungsmöglichkeiten und dem Potential für Weiterentwicklung aus den Bereichen Lifesciences, Industrial Tech und Digital. OCCIDENT ist ein finanzstarker, unternehmerisch orientierter Partner und bietet vielseitige Unterstützung der Portfoliounternehmen durch ein kompetentes Expertenteam und die eigene Erfahrung als Entrepreneur.
Mehr unter www.occident.group

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds  
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
11. April 2024

Scavenger AI sichert sich 1,1 Mio. € Pre-Seed Finanzierung für datengetriebene Entscheidungsfindung 

Das AI-Start-Up hilft Unternehmen, anhand ihrer Daten, die bestmögliche Entscheidung unter jeglichen Umständen zu treffen.  Scavenger AI erhält 1,1 Mio. € vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Calm/Storm Ventures, Femventix und dem B4i Investment Fund.  Mit dem neuen Kapital wird die erste Version der Software in den Markt eingeführt und Kunden auf der Warteliste bedient.  Frankfurt, 08.04.2024 – Das deutsche Data Analytics & AI Start-up Sc
 
Presse
10. April 2024

Fusionsenergie: Proxima Fusion erhält Seed-Finanzierung über 20 Millionen Euro

Weniger als ein Jahr nach der Pre-Seed-Runde von 7,5 Mio. Euro, zeigen simulationsbasierte Stellarator-Optimierungen des ersten Spin-outs des Max-Planck-Instituts für Plasmaphysik erste Erfolge. Neue Finanzierung unterstützt den weiteren Ausbau eines Weltklasse-Teams in München und öffentlich-privater Partnerschaften in Europa. Proxima Fusion baut auf 1,3 Milliarden Euro öffentlicher Investitionen in das deutsche Experiment W7-X auf. München, 10. April 2024 – Proxima F
 
Presse
9. April 2024

Veränderung in der Geschäftsführung des High-Tech Gründerfonds

Bonn, 09.04.2024 – Guido Schlitzer, in der Geschäftsführung des High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) zuständig für Finance, Controlling, IT und Fondsadministration, wird den Seedinvestor auf eigenen Wunsch zum 31.12.2024 verlassen, um sich neuen beruflichen Herausforderungen zu widmen. Guido Schlitzer, den wir fachlich und persönlich sehr schätzen, hat in seiner langjährigen Laufbahn maßgebliche Impulse sowohl für den HTGF als auch das Start-up-Ökosystem in Deutschland gesetzt.