Proven by Mittelstand: The B2B Tech Start-up FINDIQ raises €1 million to become the all-knowing service assistant for industrial machines  

June 28, 2023

  • B2B tech start-up FINDIQ develops solutions for an AI-based knowledge transfer in machine service  
  • The aspiring company from the industrial region Ostwestfalen-Lippe has won the confidence especially of medium-sized companies, most recently of the global market leader Phoenix Contact
  • €1 million in pre-seed financing for expansion into further industries and regions comes from renowned investors such as High-Tech Gründerfonds, Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund and Notion Capital.

Herford, 28 June 2023 – The team has secured €1 million in venture capital for its vision of developing a centralised knowledge system for machine service that will become an indispensable backbone for SMEs in particular. In addition to High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and the Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund, the investors include renowned business angels such as Stefan Tietze, Dr Bettina Volkens and Annjana Engler-Sass. The backing of Notion Capital, a renowned London-based venture capital fund, gives FINDIQ special international recognition.

The topic of knowledge management received a lot of attention 20 years ago, but then people lost focus. Now that the industrial sector is facing significant demographic challenges and has to prepare for a permanently higher fluctuation, the use of knowledge becomes existentially relevant. With the new funding, we want to prepare for the recognizably international dimension of this problem

Sina Kämmerling, CEO and co-founder of FINDIQ

While the complexity of machines, plants and the processes that run on them has steadily increased in recent years, the expertise to manage this complexity continues to decrease. Data-based approaches such as condition monitoring or predictive maintenance do provide the necessary transparency about the condition of a machine. However, interpreting this data and deriving the right service actions is still the domain of a few experts. With a growing shortage of these service and maintenance personnel, the industry is heading for a significant knowledge gap, which is already reflected in instability and rising costs in machine operation and service.

FINDIQ has set itself the task of closing this knowledge gap. To do this, it has developed software that, for the first time, enables the transfer of expert knowledge within the service in an intelligent and scalable way. To achieve this, the team has integrated a knowledge management and assistance system into a central software package. The input and output of knowledge is easier and faster than with any other solution. Complex processing, i.e., knowledge transfer, is handled in the background by specially developed AI processes. As a result, the software significantly increases the productivity and quality of service operations, unleashing new potential even with decreasing human resources.

“We are particularly excited that medium-sized machine manufacturers such as Venjakob Maschinenbau GmbH and larger hidden champions such as Phoenix Contact are not only quickly entering into cooperation with us, but in some cases are doing so for the first time. This speaks for our trustworthiness and, above all, for the fact that we are addressing a market with a relevant problem and great potential,” explains Sina Kämmerling, CEO and co-founder.

Teamfoto FINDIQ
Team of FINDIQ

With Phoenix Contact GmbH & Co. KG, FINDIQ has recently acquired another major hidden champion. Phoenix Contact is a global market leader and generates billions in sales with the manufacture of components, systems and solutions in the fields of electrical engineering, electronics and automation. With FINDIQ, the company is now digitising its expert knowledge of the machines in their production, some of which Phoenix Contact manufactures itself, in order to accelerate testing and service processes across all levels.

We presented FINDIQ to our production and quality management departments and immediately met with great demand for this very promising approach. Having the team behind FINDIQ in our network is also an asset, not least because their business model is highly relevant to our entire industry.

Marcus Böker, Managing Director PHOENIX CONTACT Innovation Ventures

So far, since its launch in April 2022, FINDIQ has already been able to increase its number of customers and its turnover sixfold, despite the heavy burden placed on the SME sector by rising energy costs and uncertain markets. In particular, since the beginning of 2023, FINDIQ has seen a significant increase in the number of requests from machine manufacturers and operators who, due to the retirement of an entire generation of skilled workers, need to focus immediately on knowledge transfer.
Accordingly, the team has been expanded to include additional software developers and industry experts. The new financial resources will enable FINDIQ to serve its growing customer base on a national basis and to pursue its first international activities.

We were impressed with the team and their broad vision from the outset. Sina Kämmerling and her co-founders Tommy Giesbrecht and Patrick Deutschmann bring a great combination of industry experience, technical know-how and absolute ambition to revolutionise the machine service market with FINDIQ.”

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager at HTGF

For us, FINDIQ is the Ada Health for machines. Their detail and expertise in this area is particularly relevant as more and more machine operators are retiring and becoming difficult to replace. In the short time that FINDIQ has been active in the market, they have made impressive progress, winning high-profile customers and demonstrating the right product-market fit.

Dr Gesa Miczaika, General Partner at Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund.

In addition to HTGF, which draws on a large network of industrial companies in Germany, renowned funds and business angels such as Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund and Stefan Tietze are supporting the organisation’s growth. Former Lufthansa board member Dr Bettina Volkens and Annjana Engler-Sass from the Encourage Ventures network provide additional contacts from corporate to hidden champions. Last but not least, the participation of Notion Capital confirms the growth potential from an international perspective and their willingness to support in exploiting it together.

“Our goal now is to go beyond our current focus on process industry to conquer other industries and open up new fields of knowledge in machine service in an intelligent way,” says Sina Kämmerling.

About FINDIQ
FINDIQ is a B2B tech SaaS start-up specialising in knowledge transfer in machine service. The company develops software that, for the first time, intelligently integrates knowledge management and assistance systems. In this way, it makes the expert knowledge of experienced service technicians available to the future generation of employees, thus ensuring service quality and machine availability in the long term. For more information, visit www.findiq.de.

Media contact:
FINDIQ GmbH 
Senada Memic, Marketing Manager  
T.: +49 1590 4353441
senada.memic@findiq.de

About Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund
Founded by Dr Gesa Miczaika and Bettine Schmitz, the Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund aims to build a portfolio of Europe’s strongest female founders and accelerate gender parity in the venture capital community. The €19 million co-investment fund focuses on investing in pre-seed and seed-stage European companies with at least one female founder on the team.

Media Contact 
Auxxo Fund Management GmbH 
Alena Redeker, Investment Professional   
T.: +49 17631621003
alena@auxxo.de

About Notion Capital  
Notion Capital is a European B2B SaaS and Cloud VC with more than $1bn assets under management and with more than 100 investments to date. The Notion team founded, built and exited two highly successful SaaS businesses – Star and MessageLabs – and invests exclusively in exceptional founders with the ambition to build global category leaders. The Notion portfolio includes GoCardless, Mews, Paddle, Unbabel and YuLife. Notion is also the founder of Included VC, the venture capital fellowship for individuals from diverse and overlooked communities from around the world.

Media Contact 
Notion Capital Managers LLP.
Kamil Mieczakowski, Principal
T.: +44 7917668205
kmieczakowski@notion.vc

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.
Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media Contact 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 22882300121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
20. June 2024

Health Tech Start-up Carelane Raises €800,000 in Pre-Seed Funding to Revolutionize Clinical Trial Software

Carelane founders Gustav Vella and Yannick Boerner (Photo: Carelane) Carelane Secures €800,000: Carelane has successfully closed its pre-seed funding round, gathering €800,000, led by High-Tech Gründerfonds to expand its novel clinical trial software across Europe and the US. Innovative Unified Platform: Addressing the inefficiencies in clinical trials, Carelane’s platform integrates multiple necessary functions into one system, digitizing study protocols and processes to r
 
Press
19. June 2024

More than €5 million for the future of AI-powered B2B video content creation StoryBox secures fresh capital with “video-first” approach

Munich, 19.06.2024 – StoryBox, the innovator in the area of KI-based video creation solutions for businesses, has successfully raised 5.5 million euros in a Series A round. The round was led by new investor Wille Finance with participation of existing investors BayBG, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), CK Ventures and G8 Way Ventures. The fresh capital supports StoryBox in its mission to revolutionize video creation management for enterprises. The financing round reflects the investors

News

Im Mittelstand bewährt: Das B2B-Tech-Start-up FINDIQ sammelt 1 Mio. EUR, um der allwissende Service-Assistent für industrielle Maschinen zu werden

28. Juni 2023

  • Das B2B Tech-Start-up FINDIQ widmet sich dem KI-basierten Wissenstransfer im Maschinenservice
  • Das aufstrebende Unternehmen aus der Industrieregion Ostwestfalen-Lippe sichert sich das Vertrauen des Mittelstands, zuletzt des Weltmarktführers Phoenix Contact
  • 1 Mio. EUR Pre-Seed Funding zur Expansion in weitere Sektoren und Regionen kommen jetzt von namhaften Investoren wie dem High-Tech Gründerfonds, Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund und Notion Capital

Herford, 28. Juni 2023 – Für ihre Vision, ein zentrales Wissenssystem für den Maschinenservice zu entwickeln und damit ein wesentliches Rückgrat insbesondere für die mittelständische Industrie zu werden, konnte sich das Team 1 Mio. Euro Venture Capital sichern. Zu den Investoren zählen neben dem High-Tech Gründerfonds und dem Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund auch namhafte Business Angels wie Stefan Tietze, Dr. Bettina Volkens und Annjana Engler-Sass. Besondere internationale Anerkennung erhält FINDIQ durch die Beteiligung des renommierten Londoner Venture Capital Fonds Notion Capital.

Dem Thema Wissensmanagement erfuhr vor 20 Jahren schon einmal eine große Aufmerksamkeit, geriet dann aber aus dem Fokus. Jetzt, da die Industrie vor signifikanten demografischen Herausforderungen steht und sich auf eine dauerhaft erhöhte Fluktuation einstellen muss, wird die Nutzbarmachung von Wissen existenziell relevant. Mit dem neuen Kapital wollen wir uns auf das zunehmend erkennbare internationale Ausmaß dieser Problematik vorbereiten.

Sina Kämmerling, CEO und Mitgründerin von FINDIQ

Während die Komplexität von Maschinen und Anlagen sowie den Prozessen, die auf ihnen laufen, in den letzten Jahren stetig gestiegen ist, nimmt die Expertise zur Bewältigung der Komplexität immer weiter ab. Zwar existieren datenbasierte Ansätze wie Condition Monitoring oder Predictive Maintenance, die die notwendige Transparenz über einen Maschinenzustand liefern. Diesen zu interpretieren und die richtige Servicemaßnahme abzuleiten, passiert aktuell allerdings noch über das Expertenwissen in den Köpfen weniger. Angesichts des zunehmenden Mangels eben dieser Servicetechniker bzw. Instandhalter steuert die Industrie auf eine signifikante Wissenslücke zu, die sich schon heute in Instabilität und steigenden Kosten im Maschinenbetrieb und -service niederschlägt.

FINDIQ hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dieser Wissenslücke entgegenzuwirken. Hierzu wurde eine Software entwickelt, die erstmals den Transfer von Expertenwissen im Service auf intelligente und skalierbare Weise möglich macht. Dazu integriert das Team Wissensmanagement und Assistenzsystem in einer zentralen Software. Die Ein- und Ausgabe des Wissens erfolgt so einfach und schnell wie bei keiner anderen Lösung. Die komplexe Verarbeitung, d.h. den Wissenstransfer, übernehmen eigens entwickelte KI-Verfahren im Hintergrund. Im Ergebnis steigert die Software die Produktivität und Qualität der Serviceeinsätze erheblich und setzt so neue Potenziale frei, auch bei abnehmenden personellen Ressourcen.

„Uns freut ganz besonders, dass mittelständische Maschinenbauer wie Venjakob Maschinenbau GmbH und größere Hidden Champions wie Phoenix Contact mit uns nicht nur schnell, sondern zum Teil erstmalig die Kooperation mit einem Start-up eingehen. Das spricht dafür, dass etablierte Industrieunternehmen unserer KI-gestützten Software vertrauen und vor allem dafür, dass wir einen Markt mit einem relevanten Problem und großem Potenzial adressieren,“ erläutert Sina Kämmerling, CEO und Mitgründerin.

Teamfoto FINDIQ
Team von FINDIQ

Mit der Phoenix Contact GmbH & Co. KG konnte FINDIQ zuletzt einen weiteren großen Hidden Champion gewinnen. Phoenix Contact ist weltweiter Marktführer und macht Milliardenumsätze mit der Herstellung von Komponenten, Systemen und Lösungen im Bereich der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Automation. Mit FINDIQ digitalisiert das Unternehmen jetzt sein Expertenwissen zu den teils selbst hergestellten Maschinen in der Produktion, um Prüf- und Serviceprozesse schichtübergreifend zu beschleunigen.

Wir haben FINDIQ in unseren Fachbereichen der Produktions- und Prüftechnik bei Phoenix Contact vorgestellt und sind sofort auf große Nachfrage nach dem sehr ergebnisversprechenden Ansatz gestoßen. Auch das Team hinter FINDIQ in unserem Netzwerk zu wissen ist eine Bereicherung, nicht zuletzt weil ihr Geschäftsmodell hochrelevant für unsere gesamte Branche ist.

Marcus Böker, Geschäftsführer Phoenix Contact Innovation Ventures

Bisher konnte FINDIQ seit seiner Gründung im April 2022 seine Kundenanzahl und Umsätze bereits versechsfachen, trotz hoher Belastungen im Mittelstand durch steigende Energiekosten und unsichere Märkte. Gerade seit Beginn 2023 verzeichnet FINDIQ eine deutliche Zunahme von Anfragen von Maschinenbauern und -betreibern, die sich durch das Ausscheiden einer ganzen Generation von Fachkräften unmittelbar dem Wissenstransfer widmen müssen.
Entsprechend wurde das Team um weitere Softwareentwickler und Industrieexperten erweitert. Die frischen finanziellen Mittel ermöglichen es FINDIQ, die wachsende Kundenbasis jetzt auch überregional zu betreuen und ersten internationalen Aktivitäten nachzugehen.

Wir waren von Anfang an vom Team und seiner umfassenden Vision überzeugt. Sina Kämmerling und ihre Mitgründer Tommy Giesbrecht und Patrick Deutschmann bringen eine großartige Kombination aus Industrieerfahrung, technischem Know-how und absolutem Ehrgeiz mit, um mit FINDIQ den Markt für Maschinenservice zu revolutionieren.

Martin Möllmann, Senior Investment Manager beim HTGF

FINDIQ ist für uns das Ada Health für Maschinen. Es ist besonders relevant mit dem Detail- und Fachwissen in diesem Bereich, da immer mehr Maschinenführer in Rente gehen und schwer zu ersetzen sind. Für die kurze Zeit, die FINDIQ bisher am Markt aktiv ist, haben sie beeindruckende Fortschritte gemacht und namhafte Kunden gewonnen, was ihren passenden Product-Market Fit demonstriert.

Dr. Gesa Miczaika, General Partner bei Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund

Neben dem HTGF, der auf ein großes Netzwerk an Industrieunternehmen in Deutschland zurückgreift, unterstützen renommierte Fonds und Business Angels wie Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund und Stefan Tietze beim Wachstum der Organisation. Die Ex-Lufthansa Vorständin Dr. Bettina Volkens und Annjana Engler-Sass aus dem Encourage Ventures Netzwerk tragen zusätzliche Kontakte von Konzern bis Hidden Champion bei. Zu guter Letzt bestätigt die Beteiligung von Notion Capital auch aus internationaler Sicht das Wachstumspotenzial und deren Unterstützungswillen, dies gemeinsam auszuschöpfen.

„Unser Ziel ist jetzt über die aktuellen Fokusdomänen der Prozessindustrie hinaus weitere Industriesektoren zu erobern und mit ihnen weitere Wissensfelder im Maschinenservice auf intelligente Art und Weise zu erschließen“, sagt Sina Kämmerling.

Über FINDIQ
FINDIQ ist ein B2B Tech SaaS Start-up, das sich auf den Wissenstransfer im Maschinenservice spezialisiert hat. Das Unternehmen entwickelt eine Software, die erstmals intelligent Wissensmanagement- und Assistenzsystem integriert. So macht sie das Expertenwissen von erfahrenen Servicetechnikern für die zukünftige Generation an Mitarbeitern nutzbar und sichert so langfristig die Servicequalität sowie Verfügbarkeit von Maschinen.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.findiq.de.

Medienkontakt 
FINDIQ GmbH 
Senada Memic, Marketing Manager  
T.: +49 1590 4353441
senada.memic@findiq.de

Über den Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund
Der von Dr. Gesa Miczaika und Bettine Schmitz gegründete Auxxo Female Catalyst Fund hat das Ziel, ein Portfolio der stärksten Gründerinnen Europas aufzubauen und dadurch die Geschlechterparität in der Venture Capital-Szene zu beschleunigen. Der mit 19 Millionen Euro ausgestattete Co-Investmentfonds konzentriert sich auf Investitionen in Europäische Unternehmen in der Pre-seed und Seed-Phase mit mindestens einer Gründerin im Team.

Medienkontakt 
Auxxo Fund Management GmbH 
Alena Redeker, Investment Professional   
T.: +49 17631621003
alena@auxxo.de

Über Notion Capital  
Notion Capital ist ein europäischer B2B SaaS- und Cloud-VC mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von mehr als 1 Milliarde US-Dollar und bisher mehr als 100 Investitionen. Das Notion-Team hat zwei sehr erfolgreiche SaaS-Unternehmen – Star und MessageLabs – gegründet, aufgebaut und wieder verkauft und investiert ausschließlich in außergewöhnliche Gründer mit dem Ziel, globale Marktführer zu schaffen. Zum Portfolio von Notion gehören GoCardless, Mews, Paddle, Unbabel und YuLife. Notion ist auch der Gründer von Included VC, dem Venture-Capital-Stipendium für Personen aus verschiedenen und übersehenen Communities aus der ganzen Welt.

Medienkontakt 
Notion Capital Managers LLP.
Kamil Mieczakowski, Principal
T.: +44 7917668205
kmieczakowski@notion.vc

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager  
T.: +49 22882300121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere News-Beiträge

Presse
toolify founders
22. Februar 2024

1,6 Millionen Euro Investment für XITO: Seed-Finanzierung für leicht zugängliche Robotik

Für den Ausbau des Vertriebs und der Produktentwicklung stehen XITO mit der jetzt komplettierten Seed-Finanzierung 1,6 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Die Toolify Robotics GmbH ermöglicht Unternehmen mit ihrer Lösungs-Plattform XITO, Roboter eigenständig zu implementieren. Dank XITO gelingt insbesondere auch KMU der kostengünstige Einstieg in die Automatisierung – ohne Programmierkenntnisse und ohne Fachkräfte von außen. Ulm, 22. Februar 2024 – Das von den drei Robot
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

ClimateTech-Startup Cyclize erhält für revolutionäres Kunststoff-Recycling rund €5 Millionen Seed-Finanzierung

Stuttgart, 21.2.2024 – Cyclize, das ClimateTech-Startup aus Stuttgart, geht mit €4,75 Millionen Startkapital voran, um eine Revolution in der chemischen Industrie einzuleiten. Ziel: Die Ablösung fossiler Ressourcen durch das innovative Recycling von Kohlenstoff aus Kunststoffabfällen und CO2. Geleitet wird die Finanzierungsrunde von UVC Partners. Komplementiert wird die Kapitalerhöhung durch High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators und Busine
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

Industrieller 3D Spezialist Threedy sichert sich 10,4 Millionen Dollar in der jüngsten Serie A Investitionsrunde

Threedy ist ein Hightech-Start-up, das 2020 als Spin-off des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Graphische Datenverarbeitung (IGD) in Darmstadt gegründet wurde. Drei bemerkenswert erfolgreiche Jahre nach der Gründung hat sich Threedy eine Investition von 10,4 Millionen US-Dollar gesichert, um das Wachstum in verschiedenen Branchen und Regionen zu beschleunigen. Zu den neuen Investoren gehören die LBBW Venture Capital, TRUMPF VENTURE, Futury Capital und EquityPitcher Ventures. Die Investition unter