Press

Battery start-up BTRY raises CHF 900,000 in pre-seed funding for the development of an innovative solid-state battery 

January 18, 2024

  • The battery start-up is developing safe, long-lasting thin-film solid-state batteries that can be charged and discharged in one minute. 
  • BTRY receives CHF 900,000 from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Zürcher Kantonalbank. 
  • BTRY will use the funding to produce a first generation of products on a pilot line. 

Dübendorf, Switzerland, January 18, 2024 – Battery start-up BTRY has raised CHF 900,000 in pre-seed financing. The round is led by HTGF with participation from Zürcher Kantonalbank. The spin-off from Empa and ETH Zurich is developing a new type of lithium-ion thin-film solid-state battery that combines significant advantages for various commercial applications. 

Lithium-ion batteries are widely used, but they are not ideal for all applications. They are relatively slow to recharge, flammable and temperature sensitive. Empa researchers Dr. Moritz Futscher and Dr. Abdessalem Aribia are developing a new type of thin-film solid-state battery that can be charged and discharged in one minute, has a high energy density and delivers reliable energy even at extreme temperatures. Together with Dr. Yaroslav Romanyuk, head of Empa’s “Thin Films and Photovoltaics” laboratory, they founded the spin-off BTRY in 2023 to bring this technology to market. 

Until now, thin-film batteries could only store little energy. The founders have succeeded in stacking the thin-film cells, which are only a few micrometers thick, into more powerful batteries. They have developed a process that uses high-precision vacuum coating and no toxic solvents. The production uses advanced, but proven and scalable techniques to ensure efficiency and quality. 

The applications for BTRY’s solution are diverse. They can be used in consumer electronics such as smartphones and smartwatches, as well as in sensors, robots, drones and satellites. 

BTRY founders Dr. Moritz Futscher and Dr. Abdessalem Aribia will use the new funds to produce the first battery cells on selected pilot lines. Customer feedback will be collected to iteratively improve the product and tailor it to the needs of the target group. 

This financing round, just eight months after the company was founded, is a significant milestone for us, and we are thrilled to have such great partners by our side. We are highly motivated to take the next steps together to make our vision a reality –  a sustainable solid-state battery that can be charged in just one minute.

Dr. Moritz Futscher, CEO and Co-Founder of BTRY

We are convinced that innovative battery concepts will play a decisive role in future product developments. BTRY’s material and process innovations promise to lead to an all-solid-state battery solution with highly interesting unique technological features that open up a wide range of applications. I am very much looking forward to working with the BTRY team and supporting the company in its upcoming growth phase.

Timo Bertsch, Investment Manager at HTGF 

Zürcher Kantonalbank provides innovative start-ups with venture capital. As one of the largest and most active investors in Switzerland, we have already supported over 280 start-ups with more than CHF 230 million in venture capital. With our investment in BTRY, we are investing in a well-established team with an innovative and promising battery technology. BTRY’s pitch also convinced the jury of the Büro Züri Innovationspark (made possible by Zürcher Kantonalbank) and provides the young start-up with attractive workplaces, a network of experts, free coaching from industry experts and access to potential investors.

Florian Dünner, Investment Manager Zürcher Kantonalbank 
 

Founded in April 2023, the company and its founders have already received several prestigious awards and funding, including a BRIDGE grant for Futscher, the Empa Entrepreneur Fellowship for Aribia, admission to the Swiss Business Incubator of the European Space Agency (ESA BIC), Initial and Core Coaching from Innosuisse, and the first two Venture Kick stages. 

BTRY founders: from left Dr. Moritz Futscher, Dr. Abdessalem Aribia and Dr. Yaroslav Romanyuk (Picture: BTRY)

About BTRY  
BTRY AG, a Swiss battery start-up and spin-off from Empa and ETH Zurich, aims to revolutionize energy storage with its fast-charging Li-ion solid-state battery. The innovation lies in the stacking of thin-film batteries, which enables fast charging with high energy density. The technology uses environmentally friendly manufacturing processes, is solvent-free and suitable for various applications such as IoT, consumer electronics and aerospace. 

Contact 
BTRY AG 
Moritz Futscher, CEO 
moritz@btry.ch   

About Zürcher Kantonalbank  
Zürcher Kantonalbank (ZKB) is an independent public-law institution of the Canton of Zurich, incorporated under the laws of the Canton of Zürich. Its registered corporate domicile and principal place of business is in Zurich, Switzerland. It has received top ratings from the rating agencies Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s and Fitch (AAA/Aaa). With more than 6,000 employees across the group, Zürcher Kantonalbank offers its clients a comprehensive range of products and services. The bank’s core activities include financing businesses, asset and wealth management, trading, capital market transactions, deposits, payment transactions and card business. Zürcher Kantonalbank provides clients and distribution partners with a comprehensive range of investment and retirement provision products and services. www.zkb.ch 

About High-Tech Gründerfonds   
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 170 companies.  

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media contact 
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
27. February 2024

Successful Exit for HTGF: Valispace Joins Forces with Altium in a Strategic Acquisition 

Altium and Valispace are joining forces to accelerate the execution of a shared vision for empowering engineers.  HTGF was the first institutional investor and led the seed round in 2018 and has closely supported Valispace throughout all phases of their growth journey. As part of the deal HTGF will sell its shares.  Louise Lindblad, co-founder of Valispace: “We’re now excited to, together with Altium, continue our mission of empowering engineers to build great products,
 
Press
toolify founders
22. February 2024

€1.6 million investment for XITO: Seed funding for easily accessible robotics

With the completed seed financing, XITO now has €1.6 million to expand sales and product development. Toolify Robotics GmbH enables companies to implement robots independently with its XITO solution platform. Thanks to their product XITO, especially SMEs can get started with automation at low cost – without programming knowledge and without external specialists. Ulm, 22. February 2024 – The start-up Toolify Robotics, founded by the three robotics experts Dr. Dennis S
 
Press
21. February 2024

ClimateTech startup Cyclize secures €5 Million in Seed Funding for revolutionary plastic recycling technology

Stuttgart, February 21, 2024 – Cyclize, the ClimateTech startup from Stuttgart, is forging ahead with €4.75 million in startup capital to initiate a revolution in the chemical industry – the goal: To replace fossil resources using innovative carbon recycling of plastic waste and CO2. The funding round is led by UVC Partners, with complementary investments from High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators, and high-profile business angels, includin

Presse

Batterie-Start-up BTRY erhält CHF 900 000 Pre-Seed-Finanzierung für die Herstellung einer neuartigen Solid-State-Batterie  

18. Januar 2024

  • Das Batterie-Start-up entwickelt sichere, langlebige Dünnschichtfestkörperbatterien, die sich in nur einer Minute auf- und entladen lassen
  • BTRY erhält CHF 900 000 von High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und der Zürcher Kantonalbank. 
  • BTRY nutzt die Finanzierung für die Herstellung einer ersten Produktgeneration auf einer Pilotlinie. 

Dübendorf, Schweiz, 18. Januar 2024 – Das Batterie-Start-up BTRY erhält CHF 900 000 im Rahmen einer Pre-Seed-Finanzierung. Angeführt wird die Runde vom HTGF, daneben beteiligt sich die Zürcher Kantonalbank. Das Spin-off der Empa und ETH Zürich entwickelt eine neuartige Lithium-Ionen-Dünnschichtbatterie, die wesentliche Vorteile für verschiedene kommerzielle Anwendungen vereint.  

Lithium-Ionen-Akkus sind weit verbreitet, aber nicht für alle Anwendungen ideal. Sie laden verhältnismäßig langsam, sind brennbar und temperaturempfindlich. Die Empa-Forschenden Dr. Moritz Futscher und Dr. Abdessalem Aribia entwickeln eine neuartige Dünnschichtfestkörperbatterie, die eine Auf- und Entladezeit von nur einer Minute ermöglicht, eine hohe Energiedichte besitzt und auch bei extremen Temperaturen zuverlässig Energie liefert. Um diese Technologie auf den Markt zu bringen, haben sie 2023 gemeinsam mit Dr. Yaroslav Romanyuk, Leiter des Empa-Labors „Thin Films and Photovoltaics“ das Spin-off BTRY gegründet. 

Bisher konnten Dünnschichtbatterien nur wenig Energie speichern. Den Gründern ist es gelungen, die nur wenige Mikrometer dicken Dünnschichtzellen zu leistungsstärkeren Batterien zu stapeln. Sie haben ein Verfahren entwickelt, bei dem eine hochpräzise Vakuumbeschichtung zum Einsatz kommt und keinerlei toxische Lösungsmittel anfallen. Die Herstellung nutzt fortschrittliche, aber bewährte und skalierbare Techniken, um Effizienz und Qualität zu gewährleisten. 

Die Anwendungsgebiete der Dünnschichtbatterie sind vielseitig. Sie könnte in Unterhaltungselektronik wie Smartphones oder Smartwatches zum Einsatz kommen, aber auch in Sensoren, Robotern, Drohnen oder Satelliten. 

Die BTRY-Gründer Dr. Moritz Futscher und Dr. Abdessalem Aribia werden die neuen Mittel nutzen, um erste Batteriezellen auf ausgewählten Pilotlinien herzustellen. Folgend soll Kundenfeedback eingeholt werden, um das Produkt iterativ zu verbessern und es genau auf die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppe abzustimmen. 

Diese Finanzierungsrunde, nur acht Monate nach der Unternehmensgründung, ist ein bedeutender Meilenstein für uns, und wir freuen uns, so großartige Partner an unserer Seite zu wissen. Wir sind hochmotiviert, gemeinsam die nächsten Schritte zu gehen, um unsere Vision Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen – eine nachhaltige Festkörperbatterie, die in nur einer Minute aufgeladen werden kann.

Dr. Moritz Futscher, CEO und Co-Founder von BTRY

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass innovative Batteriekonzepte in zukünftigen Produktentwicklungen eine entscheidende Rolle spielen werden. Die Material- und Prozessinnovationen von BTRY versprechen im Ergebnis eine All-Solid-State Batterielösung mit hochinteressanten technologischen Alleinstellungsmerkmalen, die ein breites Anwendungsspektrum eröffnen. Ich freue mich sehr darauf, mit dem Team von BTRY zusammenzuarbeiten und das Unternehmen in der bevorstehenden Wachstumsphase zu begleiten.

Timo Bertsch, Investment Manager beim HTGF 

Die Zürcher Kantonalbank finanziert innovative Jungunternehmen mit Risikokapital. Als eine der grössten und aktivsten Investorinnen in der Schweiz haben wir bereits über 280 Start-ups mit mehr als 230 Millionen Franken Risikokapital unterstützt. Mit unserer Beteiligung an BTRY investieren wir in ein eingespieltes Team mit einer innovativen und vielversprechenden Batterietechnologie. Der Pitch von BTRY hat auch die Jury des Büro Züri Innovationspark (ermöglicht durch Zürcher Kantonalbank) überzeugt. Sie und stellt dem jungen Start-up neben attraktiven Arbeitsplätzen, ein Netzwerk an Fachleuten, kostenlose Coachings durch Branchenexpert:innen sowie den Zugang zu möglichen Investor:innen zur Verfügung.

Florian Dünner, Investment Manager Zürcher Kantonalbank 

Das im April 2023 gegründete Unternehmen und seine Gründer haben bereits mehrere prestigeträchtige Preise und Förderungen erhalten, darunter ein BRIDGE-Stipendium für Futscher, das Empa Entrepreneur Fellowship für Aribia, die Aufnahme in den Schweizer Business Incubator der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA BIC), das Initial und Core Coaching von Innosuisse und die ersten beiden Venture Kick-Stufen. 

BTRY Gründer: v. l. n. r. Dr. Moritz Futscher, Dr. Abdessalem Aribia, Dr. Yaroslav Romanyuk (Bild: BTRY)

Über BTRY  
BTRY AG, ein Schweizer Batterie-Start-up und Spin-off der Empa und ETH Zürich, widmet sich der Revolutionierung der Energiespeicherung mit seiner schnellladenden Li-Ionen-Festkörperbatterie. Die Innovation liegt im Stapeln von Dünnschichtbatterien, was schnelles Laden mit einer hohen Energiedichte ermöglicht. Die Technologie nutzt umweltfreundliche Herstellungsprozesse, ist lösungsmittelfrei und für verschiedene Anwendungen geeignet, wie IoT, Unterhaltungselektronik und Luft- und Raumfahrt. 

Kontakt 
BTRY AG 
Moritz Futscher, CEO 
moritz@btry.ch

Über die Zürcher Kantonalbank  
Die Zürcher Kantonalbank (ZKB) ist eine führende Universalbank im Wirtschaftsraum Zürich mit nationaler Verankerung und internationaler Ausstrahlung. Sie ist eine selbständige öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt des Kantons Zürich und wird von den Ratingagenturen Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s und Fitch mit der Bestnote (AAA bzw. Aaa) eingestuft. Mit konzernweit über 6 000 Mitarbeitenden bietet die Zürcher Kantonalbank ihren Kundinnen und Kunden eine umfassende Produkt- und Dienstleistungspalette. Zu den Kerngeschäften der Bank zählen das Finanzierungsgeschäft, das Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäft, der Handel und der Kapitalmarkt sowie das Passiv-, Zahlungsverkehrs- und Kartengeschäft. Die Zürcher Kantonalbank bietet ihrer Kundschaft und ihren Vertriebspartnern umfassende Produkte und Dienstleistungen im Anlage- und Vorsorgebereich an. www.zkb.ch 

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds    
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2 000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 170 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.   
Zu den Fondsinvestorender Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt  
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager 
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de 

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
toolify founders
22. Februar 2024

1,6 Millionen Euro Investment für XITO: Seed-Finanzierung für leicht zugängliche Robotik

Für den Ausbau des Vertriebs und der Produktentwicklung stehen XITO mit der jetzt komplettierten Seed-Finanzierung 1,6 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Die Toolify Robotics GmbH ermöglicht Unternehmen mit ihrer Lösungs-Plattform XITO, Roboter eigenständig zu implementieren. Dank XITO gelingt insbesondere auch KMU der kostengünstige Einstieg in die Automatisierung – ohne Programmierkenntnisse und ohne Fachkräfte von außen. Ulm, 22. Februar 2024 – Das von den drei Robot
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

ClimateTech-Startup Cyclize erhält für revolutionäres Kunststoff-Recycling rund €5 Millionen Seed-Finanzierung

Stuttgart, 21.2.2024 – Cyclize, das ClimateTech-Startup aus Stuttgart, geht mit €4,75 Millionen Startkapital voran, um eine Revolution in der chemischen Industrie einzuleiten. Ziel: Die Ablösung fossiler Ressourcen durch das innovative Recycling von Kohlenstoff aus Kunststoffabfällen und CO2. Geleitet wird die Finanzierungsrunde von UVC Partners. Komplementiert wird die Kapitalerhöhung durch High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), Aurum Impact, UnternehmerTUM Funding for Innovators und Busine
 
Presse
21. Februar 2024

Industrieller 3D Spezialist Threedy sichert sich 10,4 Millionen Dollar in der jüngsten Serie A Investitionsrunde

Threedy ist ein Hightech-Start-up, das 2020 als Spin-off des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Graphische Datenverarbeitung (IGD) in Darmstadt gegründet wurde. Drei bemerkenswert erfolgreiche Jahre nach der Gründung hat sich Threedy eine Investition von 10,4 Millionen US-Dollar gesichert, um das Wachstum in verschiedenen Branchen und Regionen zu beschleunigen. Zu den neuen Investoren gehören die LBBW Venture Capital, TRUMPF VENTURE, Futury Capital und EquityPitcher Ventures. Die Investition unter