Neural Concept Raises $27 million Series B to further accelerate global growth

June 3, 2024

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 3, 2024- Neural Concept, the leading Engineering Intelligence platform that transforms product design with 3D Deep Learning, today announced that it has raised $27 million in a Series B funding round. The round was led by Forestay Capital, with the D. E. Shaw group and existing investors AlvenCNB CapitalHTGF, and Aster Group also participating. This round follows the company’s $9 million Series A round in March 2022 and $2 million Seed round in 2020. Funds raised in this latest round will be used to consolidate Neural Concept’s technology leadership in the field, as well as to accelerate its global recruitment and growth to meet strong customer demand across Europe, Asia-Pacific, and the US.

Manufacturers globally are facing unprecedented challenges. The need for improved performance, safety, and sustainability is increasing, while pressure to reduce costs and accelerate innovation continues to rise. Neural Concept solves these challenges by empowering engineering teams to develop better products faster using AI.

Founded in 2018 and headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland, Neural Concept has more than 60 employees across Switzerland, Germany, and the US, and is the leader in 3D Deep Learning for product engineering teams in the Automotive, Micro-electronics, Aerospace, and Energy industries. More than 60 Original Equipment Manufacturers including Airbus, Bosch, General Electric, Subaru – and four out of ten Formula 1 racing teams – rely on Neural Concept’s platform to place Engineering Intelligence at the heart of their product development process.

The platform combines Neural Concept’s proprietary technology with unique data analysis, MLOps, and application deployment capabilities to make Engineering Intelligence central to the product simulation and development processes. It dramatically improves collaboration across data-science, simulation, and design teams in order to enhance and accelerate innovation. Neural Concept is proven to reduce end-to-end product development times by up to 75%;  accelerate product simulation by up to 10x; and improve product characteristics, including efficiency, safety, speed, and aerodynamics, by up to 30%.

The Series B funding news follows the recent unveiling of a close technical collaboration with NVIDIA, allowing Neural Concept to optimize performance of physics-driven deep learning models on NVIDIA GPUs and CUDA software and to jointly push the frontiers of the field.

Neural Concept has pioneered 3D Deep Learning – the leading-edge of AI – and demonstrated phenomenal traction and results with customers in various industries around the world. We are thrilled to be partnering with the company’s world-class visionary team and lead this significant Series B, which will accelerate its global growth and reshape the way engineering companies around the world develop and design products.

Deborah Pittet, Senior Principal at lead investor Forestay Capital 

We are excited to embark on this journey with Neural Concept and to support its growth. We believe Neural Concept can be a powerful accelerant for product engineering teams bringing products to market, as demonstrated by the dozens of global manufacturers already utilizing its innovative platform. This funding helps position Neural Concept to extend Engineering Intelligence to many more.

Jean Nations at the D. E. Shaw group

The world is facing unprecedented global challenges that urgently require innovative engineering solutions. Engineering teams are under enormous pressure to deliver smarter, safer, and more sustainable products faster – but to do this requires a fundamentally new approach. Neural Concept allows Original Equipment Manufacturers to place leading-edge 3D Deep Learning and Generative AI right at the heart of their product development – improving collaboration and processes while helping identify innovative solutions. We are delighted to work with our new investors Forestay Capital and the D. E. Shaw group and all of our existing investors to take the company to the next level. This $27 million Series B funding round will allow us to build on our strong commercial success and help more OEMs around the world harness the full potential of Engineering Intelligence to deliver better products faster.

Pierre Baqué, Co-founder and CEO at Neural Concept 

Photo: Neural Concept

About Neural Concept 
Founded in 2018, Neural Concept provides a leading end-to-end platform which places 3D AI at the center of the product development process to revolutionize the way engineers conceptualize, design, and validate products with Engineering Intelligence. The company – which was spun out from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL) and is backed by world renowned investors including Forestay Capitalthe D. E. Shaw groupAlvenCNB CapitalHTGF, and Aster Group, Neural Concept – works with 40% of the largest European and Asian OEMs and 25% of the world’s top 100 tier-1 suppliers.
www.neuralconcept.com 

About Forestay Capital
Founded in 2018, Forestay is an early-growth stage tech fund and part of B-FLEXION, an entrepreneurial private investment firm founded by Ernesto Bertarelli. Forestay invests in visionary teams reaching growth inflection points and partners with them to create future category leaders. The fund supports start-ups with investments between $10M and $20M in Europe, Israel, and opportunistically on the East Coast of the US.
www.forestay.vc

About The D. E. Shaw Group
The D. E. Shaw group is a global investment and technology development firm with more than $60 billion in investment capital as of March 1, 2024, and offices in North America, Europe, and Asia. Since the D. E. Shaw group’s founding in 1988, the firm has earned a reputation for successful investing based on innovation, careful risk management, and the quality and depth of its staff. The D. E. Shaw group has a significant presence in the world’s capital markets, investing in a wide range of companies and financial instruments in both developed and developing economies.
www.deshaw.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported more than 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected about 5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 180 companies. Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH  
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
10. July 2024

HepaRegeniX raises €15 million Series C round to advance clinical development of HRX-215 for liver regeneration

Funds to support Phase Ib clinical trial of HRX-215 in the US and an international multicenter Phase IIa clinical trial in liver regeneration Elias Papatheodorou moves from Chair of the Board to CEO of HepaRegeniX Dr. Linda Greenbaum joins HepaRegeniX as CMO Tuebingen (Germany), July 10, 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, a clinical stage company developing novel regenerative therapies for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases, today announced the closing of a Series C rou
 
Press
9. July 2024

SciRhom Secures EUR 63 Million Series A Financing Round to Accelerate iRhom2-targeting Therapies in Autoimmune Diseases.

The upsized and oversubscribed Series A financing round will be used to drive the lead development program toward clinical proof-of-concept and to broaden the therapeutic value of the proprietary iRhom2 strategy. Munich, Germany, July 9, 2024 – SciRhom GmbH, a biopharmaceutical company pioneering the development of first-in-class therapeutic iRhom2 antibodies, announced today the closing of a EUR 63 million (USD 70 million) Series A financing round. The round was co-led by Andera Pa

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

10. Juni 2024

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen.

Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 in Höhe von 9 Millionen US-Dollar und die 2-Millionen-Dollar-Seed-Runde im Jahr 2020. Die in dieser jüngsten Runde aufgebrachten Mittel werden zur Konsolidierung der Technologieführerschaft von Neural Concept in diesem Bereich sowie zur Beschleunigung der globalen Rekrutierung und des Wachstums eingesetzt, um die starke Kundennachfrage in Europa, im asiatisch-pazifischen Raum und in den USA zu befriedigen.

Manufacturers globally are facing unprecedented challenges. The need for improved performance, safety, and sustainability is increasing, while pressure to reduce costs and accelerate innovation continues to rise. Neural Concept solves these challenges by empowering engineering teams to develop better products faster using AI.

Mithilfe von KI bessere Produkte schneller entwickeln
Hersteller weltweit stehen vor beispiellosen Herausforderungen. Der Bedarf an verbesserter Leistung, Sicherheit und Nachhaltigkeit steigt, während der Druck zur Kostensenkung und Beschleunigung von Innovationen weiter zunimmt. Neural Concept löst diese Herausforderungen, indem es Ingenieurteams in die Lage versetzt, mithilfe von KI bessere Produkte schneller zu entwickeln.

Das 2018 gegründete Unternehmen Neural Concept mit Hauptsitz in Lausanne, Schweiz, beschäftigt mehr als 60 Mitarbeiter in der Schweiz, Deutschland und den USA und ist führend im Bereich 3D-Deep-Learning für Produktentwicklungsteams in der Automobil-, Mikroelektronik-, Luft- und Raumfahrt- und Energiebranche. Mehr als 60 Original Equipment Manufacturers, darunter Airbus, Bosch, General Electric, Subaru und vier von zehn Formel-1-Rennställen, verlassen sich auf die Plattform von Neural Concept, um Engineering Intelligence in den Mittelpunkt ihres Produktentwicklungsprozesses zu stellen.

Entwicklungszeiten von End-to-End-Produkten um bis zu 75 % verkürzt
Die Plattform kombiniert die proprietäre Technologie von Neural Concept mit einzigartigen Datenanalyse-, MLOps- und Anwendungsbereitstellungsfunktionen, um die Engineering Intelligence in den Mittelpunkt der Produktsimulations- und Entwicklungsprozesse zu stellen. Sie verbessert die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Datenwissenschafts-, Simulations- und Designteams erheblich, um Innovationen zu fördern und zu beschleunigen. Neural Concept hat bewiesen, dass es die Entwicklungszeiten von End-to-End-Produkten um bis zu 75 % verkürzt, die Produktsimulation um das Zehnfache beschleunigt und die Produkteigenschaften, einschließlich Effizienz, Sicherheit, Geschwindigkeit und Aerodynamik, um bis zu 30 % verbessert.

Die Nachricht über die Finanzierung der Serie B folgt auf die kürzlich bekannt gegebene enge technische Zusammenarbeit mit NVIDIA, die es Neural Concept ermöglicht, die Leistung physikbasierter Deep-Learning-Modelle auf NVIDIA-Grafikprozessoren und CUDA-Software zu optimieren und gemeinsam die Grenzen des Fachgebiets zu erweitern.

Neural Concept hat Pionierarbeit im Bereich 3D-Deep Learning – der führenden KI-Technologie – geleistet und bei Kunden in verschiedenen Branchen weltweit eine phänomenale Akzeptanz und Ergebnisse erzielt. Wir freuen uns sehr, mit dem visionären Team des Unternehmens zusammenzuarbeiten und diese bedeutende Serie B zu leiten, die das globale Wachstum des Unternehmens beschleunigen und die Art und Weise, wie Ingenieurbüros auf der ganzen Welt Produkte entwickeln und entwerfen, neu gestalten wird.

Deborah Pittet, Senior Principal bei Lead Investor Forestay Capital

Wir freuen uns darauf, diese Reise mit Neural Concept anzutreten und das Wachstum des Unternehmens zu unterstützen. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass Neural Concept ein leistungsstarker Beschleuniger für Produktentwicklungsteams sein kann, die Produkte auf den Markt bringen, wie die Dutzenden von globalen Herstellern bereits zeigen, die die innovative Plattform nutzen. Diese Finanzierung hilft Neural Concept, Engineering Intelligence auf viele weitere Unternehmen auszuweiten.

Jean Nations von der D. E. Shaw Group

Die Welt steht vor beispiellosen globalen Herausforderungen, die dringend innovative technische Lösungen erfordern. Entwicklungsteams stehen unter enormem Druck, intelligentere, sicherere und nachhaltigere Produkte schneller zu liefern – aber um dies zu erreichen, ist ein grundlegend neuer Ansatz erforderlich. Neural Concept ermöglicht es Original Equipment Manufacturers, modernste 3D-Deep-Learning- und generative KI-Technologien in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Produktentwicklung zu stellen – und so die Zusammenarbeit und Prozesse zu verbessern und gleichzeitig innovative Lösungen zu finden. Wir freuen uns, mit unseren neuen Investoren Forestay Capital und der D. E. Shaw Group sowie mit allen unseren bestehenden Investoren zusammenzuarbeiten, um das Unternehmen auf die nächste Stufe zu heben. Diese Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B in Höhe von 27 Millionen US-Dollar wird es uns ermöglichen, auf unserem starken kommerziellen Erfolg aufzubauen und mehr OEMs auf der ganzen Welt dabei zu unterstützen, das volle Potenzial von Engineering Intelligence auszuschöpfen, um bessere Produkte schneller zu liefern.

Pierre Baqué, Mitbegründer und CEO von Neural Concept

Foto: Neural Concept

Über Neural Concept
Das 2018 gegründete Unternehmen Neural Concept bietet eine führende End-to-End-Plattform, die 3D-KI in den Mittelpunkt des Produktentwicklungsprozesses stellt, um die Art und Weise zu revolutionieren, wie Ingenieure Produkte mit Engineering Intelligence konzipieren, entwerfen und validieren. Das Unternehmen, das aus der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL) ausgegründet wurde und von weltweit renommierten Investoren wie Forestay Capital, der D. E. Shaw Group, Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital unterstützt wird, arbeitet mit 40 % der größten europäischen und asiatischen OEMs und 25 % der 100 weltweit führenden Tier-1-Zulieferer zusammen. www.neuralconcept.com

Über Forestay Capital
Forestay wurde 2018 gegründet und ist ein Frühwachstumsfonds für Tech-Unternehmen und Teil von B-FLEXION, einer von Ernesto Bertarelli gegründeten privaten Investmentgesellschaft für Unternehmer. Forestay investiert in visionäre Teams, die sich an einem Wendepunkt des Wachstums befinden, und arbeitet mit ihnen zusammen, um künftige Branchenführer zu schaffen. Der Fonds unterstützt Start-ups mit Investitionen zwischen 10 und 20 Mio. USD in Europa, Israel und an der Ostküste der USA.
www.forestay.vc

‍Über die D. E. Shaw-Gruppe
Die D. E. Shaw-Gruppe ist ein globales Investment- und Technologieentwicklungsunternehmen mit einem Investitionskapital von mehr als 60 Milliarden Dollar (Stand: 1. März 2024) und Niederlassungen in Nordamerika, Europa und Asien. Seit der Gründung der D. E. Shaw-Gruppe im Jahr 1988 hat sich das Unternehmen einen Ruf für erfolgreiche Investitionen erworben, der auf Innovation, sorgfältigem Risikomanagement sowie der Qualität und Tiefe seiner Mitarbeiter beruht. Die D. E. Shaw-Gruppe verfügt über eine bedeutende Präsenz auf den weltweiten Kapitalmärkten und investiert in eine breite Palette von Unternehmen und Finanzinstrumenten sowohl in entwickelten als auch in sich entwickelnden Volkswirtschaften.
www.deshaw.com

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 mehr als 750 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital-Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Rund 5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 180 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft. 
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen. ​​​

Pressekontakt
Tobias Jacob, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager   
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 121 
t.jacob@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
6. Juni 2024

SmartLoC erhält 1,8 Mio. Euro Seed-Finanzierung, um den Zahlungsverkehr im internationalen Handel zu revolutionieren

Hamburg, 6. Juni 2024 – SmartLoC gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss seiner Seed-Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 1,8 Millionen Euro bekannt. Das Start-up hat eine wegweisende digitale B2B-Zahlungslösung entwickelt, die auf dem Monitoring der Fracht basiert und speziell auf den internationalen Handel zugeschnitten ist. Angeführt wird die Runde vom High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), einem der führenden Seed-Investoren Europas. Außerdem beteiligen sich der griechische Frühphasen-VC Loggerhe