First generation of real microbiome-based therapeutics

Microbiome therapeutics biotech mbiomics raises EUR 13 million in first closing of Series A round

March 23, 2023

Munich, Germany, 23 March 2023 – mbiomics GmbH, a pioneering microbiome biotech company developing the first generation of effective microbiome-based therapeutics announced today the first closing of EUR 13 million (US$ 15 million) of a series A financing round led by MIG Capital. High-Tech Gründerfonds and Bayern Kapital joined the funding round together with a pool of private seed investors.

mbiomics uses its proprietary, tailored high-resolution profiling platform and computational techniques to generate precision data on microbiota modulation. The technology provides an improved understanding of the complex interactions between the gut microbiome and the host, allowing mbiomics to design more effective microbial consortia that can be delivered to patients as precision therapies. mbiomics’ core technology also improves patient selection and monitoring for clinical trials, and thus, creates a competitive edge.

We are thrilled to have the support of such a strong group of investors who share our vision of using the power of the gut microbiome to develop targeted therapies. This funding will enable us to build our platform, accelerate the identification of our first lead drug candidates, and speed up the research efforts towards clinical validation.

Dr. Laura Figulla, co-founder and CEO of mbiomics

Dr. Laura Figulla, co-founder and CEO of mbiomics. Source: mbiomics

With the announced closing, mbiomics is in a position to spearhead the emerging field of synthetic microbial consortia with the potential to revolutionize the treatment of a wide range of diseases, from cancer to inflammatory bowel diseases. mbiomics will use the proceeds to embark on strategic partnerships, significantly expand their Munich laboratory facilities and R&D teams in Germany, and potentially increase US activities.

Dr. Markus Rinecker, co-founder and CMO of mbiomics

The microbiome provides a rich source of new therapeutic possibilities that has yet to be fully explored. We aim to harness the power of the microbiome to treat diseases that have been difficult to address with traditional approaches.

Dr. Markus Rinecker, co-founder and CMO of mbiomics

Our stellar R&D team achieved a technological proof-of-concept for our analytics platform in record time. With this technology at hand, mbiomics is uniquely positioned to understand microbiome modulation and to design effective microbiome therapies.

Dr. Johannes B. Woehrstein, co-founder and CTO of mbiomics

Dr. Johannes B. Woehrstein, co-founder and CTO of mbiomics

We are delighted to announce our investment in mbiomics and to back its journey to develop a truly innovative therapeutics platform. The company’s leading-edge approach of combining emerging technologies with the most advanced microbiome research has the potential to significantly improve patient outcomes. We look forward to supporting its ongoing research towards clinical development.

Dr. Matthias Kromayer, Managing Partner of MIG Capital

The influence of the microbiome on diseases is currently being researched in many ways. mbiomics shows high potential in the development of microbiome-based therapeutics for supportive intervention in various diseases and can thus take this research a decisive step forward. We can’t wait to work on this journey together with the company and the experienced and financially strong investor consortium.

Monika Steger, Managing Director of Bayern Kapital

In the process of developing Live Bacterial Products, a key challenge remains the microbiome profiling. Mbiomics has set up a novel high performance profiling platform which is tackling key bottlenecks in the development microbiome-based therapeutic approaches using novel bacterial consortia. We are delighted to conclude this investment in a strong team and technology alongside trusted co-investors.

Dr. Jan Engels, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds


About mbiomics
mbiomics GmbH, founded in 2020 and based in Munich, Germany, is a privately held biotech company, with a focus on developing the first generation of effective live bacterial therapeutics (LBT). The company is leveraging its tailored microbiome diagnostic platform to overcome current bottlenecks in LBT development – by generating precision profiling data, selecting better informed consortia, improving patient stratification and patient monitoring for clinical trials.

For more information, please visit the company’s website at www.mbiomics.com or contact info@mbiomics.com

About MIG Capital
MIG Capital is one of the leading German VC investors. MIG invests in young deep tech and life sciences companies in German-speaking Europe and beyond. The company has so far invested over €680 million in about 50 companies. MIG’s portfolio companies develop innovations in areas such as biopharmaceuticals, energy and environmental technologies, advanced computing, digitization / IoT, medical technology and digital health. The MIG investment portfolio currently comprises 30 companies.

MIG’s investment team consists of a committed group of experts of engineers, biologists, scientists and investors who use analytical and creative processes to evaluate the risks and opportunities of business models and technologies. Their reputation, experience and network provide excellent access to companies, institutions and decision-makers in order to support the growth of their portfolio companies.

In recent years, MIG Capital realized more than ten successful sales, including more recently the portfolio companies Siltectra (to Infineon, 2018) and Hemovent (MicroPort, 2021), and led BRAIN (in 2017), NFON (in 2018), BioNTech (in 2019) and Immatics (in 2020) to listings on stock exchanges.

For further information, please visit: www.mig.ag, www.mig-fonds.de

MIG media relations
MC Services
Raimund Gabriel, Dr. Johanna Kobler
+49-89-210228-0
migag@mc-services.eu

About Bayern Kapital
Bayern Kapital GmbH, based in Landshut (Germany), is the venture/growth capital company of the Free State of Bavaria. It supports innovative high-tech companies in Bavaria through their various growth phases, from seed to later stage, with equity capital from EUR 0.25 to 25 million. Bayern Kapital often closes gaps in the VC area in proven consortium arrangements with private investors (business angels, family offices and corporate ventures).

Bayern Kapital manages specialist investment funds with a volume of around EUR 700 million. Since its formation in 1995 at the initiative of the state government, the wholly-owned subsidiary of LfA Foerderbank Bayern has invested around EUR 400 million of its own equity capital so far in around 300 start-ups and scale-ups from industries such as life sciences, software & IT, materials & new materials, nanotechnology and environmental technology. More than 8,000 long-term jobs in sustainable companies have been created in Bavaria. The active portfolio currently comprises around 80 companies.

Examples of the many ground-breaking success stories that Bayern Kapital has already supported at an early stage include EOS (now the world’s leading technology provider in industrial 3D printing of metals and plastics), Proglove, Fazua, SimScale, Scompler, egym, Parcellab, Cobrainer, Quantum Systems, Casavi, Theva, Riskmethods, Tubulis, Catalym, Immunic, Sirion, tado and many more.

www.bayernkapital.de

Contact Bayern Kapital
IWK Communication Partner
Florian Bergmann
Ohmstraße 1, 80802 München
+49 89 200030-39
bayernkapital@iwk-cp.com
www.iwk-cp.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
The seed investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finances tech start-ups with growth potential and has supported 700 start-ups since 2005. With the launch of its fourth fund, HTGF now has about 1.4 billion euros under management. Its team of experienced investment managers and start-up experts support young companies with expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial tech, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than 4.5 billion euros of capital into the HTGF portfolio via more than 2,000 follow-on financing rounds. In addition, HTGF has already successfully sold shares in more than 160 companies.

Fund investors in this public-private partnership include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital and 45 companies from a wide range of industries. 

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Partner Communications & Relations
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
10. July 2024

HepaRegeniX raises €15 million Series C round to advance clinical development of HRX-215 for liver regeneration

Funds to support Phase Ib clinical trial of HRX-215 in the US and an international multicenter Phase IIa clinical trial in liver regeneration Elias Papatheodorou moves from Chair of the Board to CEO of HepaRegeniX Dr. Linda Greenbaum joins HepaRegeniX as CMO Tuebingen (Germany), July 10, 2024 – HepaRegeniX GmbH, a clinical stage company developing novel regenerative therapies for the treatment of acute and chronic liver diseases, today announced the closing of a Series C rou
 
Press
9. July 2024

SciRhom Secures EUR 63 Million Series A Financing Round to Accelerate iRhom2-targeting Therapies in Autoimmune Diseases.

The upsized and oversubscribed Series A financing round will be used to drive the lead development program toward clinical proof-of-concept and to broaden the therapeutic value of the proprietary iRhom2 strategy. Munich, Germany, July 9, 2024 – SciRhom GmbH, a biopharmaceutical company pioneering the development of first-in-class therapeutic iRhom2 antibodies, announced today the closing of a EUR 63 million (USD 70 million) Series A financing round. The round was co-led by Andera Pa

Profiling-Plattform für die Entwicklung mikrobiombasierter Lebendtherapeutika: HTGF beteiligt sich an mbiomics

23. März 2023

  • mbiomics nutzt seine maßgeschneiderte, hochpräzise bakterielle Profilierungsplattform, um die Entwicklung wirksamer mikrobiombasierter Therapeutika zu beschleunigen
  • Konsortium unter Führung von MIG mit Beteiligung des High-Tech Gründerfonds, Bayern Kapital und privaten Seed-Investoren
  • Finanzierung ermöglicht mbiomics, seine Plattform auszubauen, strategische Partnerschaften einzugehen und seine F&E-Teams und -Infrastruktur zu erweitern

München, 23. März 2023– Die Finanzierung mit einer Höhe von 13 Millionen Euro wurde von MIG angeführt, unter Beteiligung des High-Tech Gründerfonds und Bayern Kapital sowie eines Pools privater Investoren. Die mbiomics GmbH ist ein im Bereich Mikrobiom forschendes Biotechunternehmen, das eine neue Generation wirksamer, mikrobiombasierter Therapeutika entwickelt. mbiomics wird die neuen Finanzmittel nutzen, um strategische Partnerschaften zu knüpfen, die Labore in München und die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten in Deutschland auszubauen und ihre Aktivitäten in den USA zu verstärken.

mbiomics nutzt seine firmeneigene, hochauflösende Profiling-Plattform und computergestützte Techniken, um Präzisionsdaten über die Modulation von Mikrobiota zu generieren. Diese Technologie ermöglicht ein besseres Verständnis der komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen dem Darmmikrobiom und dem Wirt, sodass mbiomics wirksamere mikrobielle Konsortien entwickeln kann, die Patienten als Präzisionstherapien verabreicht werden können. Die Kerntechnologie von mbiomics verbessert darüber hinaus die Patientenauswahl und ‑überwachung im Rahmen klinischer Studien und ermöglicht so Wettbewerbsvorteile.

Wir freuen uns sehr über die Unterstützung einer so renommierten Gruppe an Investoren, die unsere Vision teilen, die Möglichkeiten des Darmmikrobioms für die Entwicklung zielgerichteter Therapien zu nutzen. Diese Finanzierung erlaubt es uns, unsere Plattform aufzubauen, die Auswahl unserer ersten führenden Produktkandidaten zu beschleunigen und die Forschungsaktivitäten mit Blick auf die klinische Validierung zu intensivieren.

Dr. Laura Figulla, Mitgründerin und CEO von mbiomics

Dr. Laura Figulla, Mitgründerin und CEO von mbiomics

Mit Abschluss der Finanzierung ist mbiomics nun in der Position, eine Vorreiterrolle im Zukunftsfeld der synthetischen mikrobiellen Konsortien einzunehmen, welche die Behandlung eines breiten Spektrums von Krankheiten – von Krebs bis hin zu entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen – revolutionieren könnten.

Wir freuen uns, unsere Investition in mbiomics bekannt zu geben und das Unternehmen auf seinem Weg zur Entwicklung einer leistungsfähigen, innovativen Therapeutika-Plattform zu unterstützen. Der Ansatz des Unternehmens, neue Technologien mit modernster Mikrobiom-Forschung zu kombinieren, ist wegweisend und hat das Potenzial, die Behandlungsergebnisse für Patienten erheblich zu verbessern. Wir freuen uns darauf, mbiomics‘ laufende Forschung in Richtung klinische Entwicklung zu begleiten.

Dr. Matthias Kromayer, Managing Partner von MIG Capital

Der Einfluss des Mikrobioms auf Krankheiten wird derzeit vielfältig erforscht. mbiomics zeigt großes Potenzial in der Entwicklung von Mikrobiom basierten Therapeutika zur unterstützenden Intervention bei verschiedenen Erkrankungen und kann damit die Forschung einen entscheidenden Schritt voranbringen. Wir freuen uns darauf, diesen Weg gemeinsam mit dem Unternehmen und einem erfahrenen und finanzstarken Investorenkonsortium zu gehen.

Monika Steger, Geschäftsführerin von Bayern Kapital

Bei der Entwicklung von „Live Bacterial Products“ bleibt die Erstellung von Mikrobiomprofilen eine der größten Herausforderungen. Mbiomics hat eine neuartige High-Performance-Profiling-Plattform entwickelt, die die wichtigsten Engpässe bei der Entwicklung mikrobiombasierter therapeutischer Ansätze mit Hilfe neuartiger Bakterienkonsortien angeht. Es freut uns, gemeinsam mit starken Co-Investoren in ein ausgezeichnetes Team und eine innovative Technologie zu investieren.

Dr. Jan Engels, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds


Über mbiomics
Die 2020 gegründete mbiomics GmbH mit Sitz in München ist ein privates Biotechunternehmen, das sich auf die Entwicklung der ersten Generation wirksamer bakterieller Lebendtherapeutika (live bacterial therapeutics, LBT) konzentriert. Das Unternehmen nutzt seine maßgeschneiderte Mikrobiom-Diagnostikplattform, um aktuelle Engpässe in der LBT-Entwicklung zu überwinden – durch die Generierung präziser Profiling-Daten, die Auswahl besserer Konsortien sowie die Verbesserung der Patientenstratifizierung und Patientenüberwachung im Rahmen klinischer Studien.
Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte die Website des Unternehmens unter www.mbiomics.com oder kontaktieren sie info@mbiomics.com.

Über MIG Capital
MIG Capital zählt zu den führenden deutschen VC-Investoren. MIG investiert in junge Deep Tech- und Life Sciences-Unternehmen im deutschsprachigen Europa und darüber hinaus. Das Unternehmen hat bisher über 680 Millionen Euro in rund 50 Unternehmen investiert. MIG Portfoliounternehmen entwickeln Innovationen unter anderem in den Bereichen Biopharmazeutika, Energie- und Umwelttechnologien, Advanced Computing, Digitalisierung/IoT, Medizintechnik und Digital Health. Aktuell besteht das MIG-Beteiligungsportfolio aus 30 Unternehmen.
MIGs Investment-Team besteht aus einer engagierten Expertengruppe von Ingenieuren, Biologen, Wissenschaftlern und Investoren, die in analytischen und kreativen Prozessen Risiken und Chancen von Geschäftsmodellen und Technologien bewerten. Ihre Reputation, ihre Erfahrung und ihr Netzwerk ermöglichen einen hervorragenden Zugang zu Unternehmen, Institutionen und Entscheidern, um das Wachstum ihrer Portfoliounternehmen zu unterstützen.
In den vergangenen Jahren realisierte die MIG Capital AG mehr als zehn erfolgreiche Verkäufe, darunter in jüngerer Zeit der Portfoliounternehmen Siltectra (an Infineon, 2018) und Hemovent (an MicroPort, 2021) und platzierte mit BRAIN (2016), NFON (2017), BioNTech (2019) und Immatics (2020) mehrere Unternehmen an der Börse.

Für weitere Informationen: www.mig.ag, www.mig-fonds.de

Ansprechpartner
Laura Pivac-Bieser, MIG Capital
+49-89-94382680
lp@mig.ag

Pressekontakt
Dr. Klaus Westermeier Medienbüro
+49-172-8433232
info@kwestermeier.de

MC Services (internationale Medienanfragen)
Raimund Gabriel, Dr. Johanna Kobler
+49-89-210228-0
migag@mc-services.eu

Über Bayern Kapital
Die Bayern Kapital GmbH mit Sitz in Landshut ist die Venture-/Growth-Capital-Gesellschaft des Freistaats Bayern. Sie begleitet innovative High-Tech-Unternehmen im Freistaat über verschiedene Wachstumsphasen, von Seed bis Later Stage, mit Beteiligungskapital in Höhe von 0,25 bis 25 Mio. Euro. Lücken im VC-Bereich schließt Bayern Kapital oftmals in bewährter Konsortium-Konstellation mit privaten Investoren (Business Angels, Family Offices und Corporate Ventures).

Bayern Kapital verwaltet spezialisierte Beteiligungsfonds mit einem Volumen von rund 700 Mio. Euro. Seit der Gründung 1995 auf Initiative der Staatsregierung hat die 100-prozentige Tochtergesellschaft der LfA Förderbank Bayern bislang rund 400 Millionen Euro eigenes Beteiligungskapital in rund 300 Start-ups und Scale-ups aus Branchen wie Life Sciences, Software & IT, Werkstoffe & Neue Materialien, Nanotechnologie sowie Umwelttechnologie investiert. So sind in Bayern über 8.000 Arbeitsplätze dauerhaft in zukunftsfähigen Unternehmen entstanden. Das aktive Portfolio umfasst derzeit über 80 Unternehmen.

Beispiele für zahlreiche bahnbrechende Erfolgsgeschichten, die Bayern Kapital bereits früh begleitet hat, sind EOS (heute der weltweit führende Technologieanbieter im industriellen 3D-Druck von Metallen und Kunststoffen), Proglove, Fazua, SimScale, Scompler, egym, Parcellab, Cobrainer, Quantum Systems, Casavi, Riskmethods, Tubulis, Catalym, Immunic, Sirion, tado und viele weitere.

www.bayernkapital.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds   
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential und hat seit 2005 700 Start-ups begleitet. Mit dem Start des vierten Fonds hat der HTGF rund 1,4 Milliarden Euro under Management. Das Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 2.000 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 160 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.  
Zu den Fondsinvestoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, die KfW Capital sowie 45 Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichsten Branchen.  

Medienkontakt 
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH 
Stefanie Grüter, Partnerin Communications & Relations  
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188 
s.grueter@htgf.de 

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
12. Juni 2024

Neuer Baustein des Zukunftsfonds: HTGF Opportunity Fonds startet mit 660 Millionen Euro für die Wachstumsphase

Der HTGF kann mit dem neuen Fonds in ausgewählte HTGF-Portfolio-Unternehmen investieren. Ziel des HTGF Opportunity Fonds ist es, das Volumen von Later-Stage-Finanzierungsrunden im HTGF-Portfolio bedarfsgerecht zu vergrößern. Mit dem zehnten Baustein des Zukunftsfonds setzt die Bundesregierung eine weitere Maßnahme ihrer Start-up-Strategie um und stärkt so den Start-up-Standort Deutschland. Als einer der aktivsten Frühphaseninvestoren Deutschlands hat der HTGF (High-Tech Grü
 
Presse
10. Juni 2024

Neural Concept erhält 27 Millionen US-Dollar in Serie B

Lausanne – Neural Concept, eine Engineering-Intelligence-Plattform, die Produktdesign mit 3D-Deep-Learning-Technologien revolutioniert, gab bekannt, dass sie in einer Finanzierungsrunde der Serie B 27 Millionen US-Dollar aufgebracht hat. Die Runde wurde von Forestay Capital angeführt, an der auch die D. E. Shaw Group und die bestehenden Investoren Alven, CNB Capital, HTGF und Aster Capital teilnahmen. Diese Finanzierungsrunde folgt auf die Serie-A-Runde des Unternehmens im März 2022 i