Press

TechVision Fonds I and High-Tech Gründerfonds invest in textile recycling startup EEDEN

June 22, 2022

Textile recycling rethought: Innovative process enables upcycling of old clothing

Aachen, 22 June 2022 – TechVision Fonds I, together with High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and a business angel, are the first investors to invest in EEDEN. The startup from Moenchengladbach, Germany has developed an innovative process for the sustainable and environmentally friendly recycling of clothing and other textile products. With the financing, EEDEN plans to further expand their R&D-activities and to build up initial production capacities.

With its process, EEDEN addresses the major problem of cotton shortage in the clothing industry. Since only a fraction of textiles are currently recycled and made into new clothing, high resource losses occur. At the same time, the demand for cotton is increasing rapidly due to the growing world population and trends such as fast fashion. EEDEN’s technology counters these developments by enabling resource-saving and environmentally friendly textile recycling.

Bernhard Kugel, MD of the management company of TechVision Fund I

Upcycling instead of downcycling

With EEDEN’s process, used textiles made of cotton or other cellulosic fibres can be converted into pulp, which serves as a resource for new fibres such as viscose, lyocell, etc. This makes it a real upcycling process: a high-quality product is created from an inferior starting material.

Currently, old clothes that cannot be used as second-hand goods often end up abroad, where they are improperly dumped in the countryside or just burnt, in many cases. Today, recycling basically means that textiles are ‘down-cycled’ into low-quality products such as cleaning rags or insulation material. We want to keep the material in a cycle and thus meet the growing demand for high-quality cellulose products.

Steffen Gerlach and Reiner Mantsch, the founders of EEDEN

Compared to other upcycling processes, EEDEN’s technology is more environmentally friendly and at the same time more cost-efficient. It uses significantly fewer chemicals and reduces by-products such as salt loads in the manufacturing process. Since the process also tolerates a higher proportion of foreign fibres compared to the competition, textiles with higher admixtures of e.g. polyester fibres can also be recycled in the future.

The conversion of a linear value chain to a sustainable circular economy requires a deep understanding of countless processes and technical details. As a seed investor, we are very pleased to support a team here that has developed a comprehensive understanding of the textile industry over the last few years and has already built up an impressive network of active and potential partners in the process.

Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager at High-Tech Gründerfonds

In addition to the founders and shareholders Steffen Gerlach (CEO) and Reiner Mantsch (CTO), the core team of EEDEN consists of Julian Hertrampf (CMO), Tobias Boernhorst (process engineering) and Lennart Marx (chemical engineering). Together they have already won several start-up competitions and support programmes with EEDEN.

Promising market growth

The market potential for the startup is high: with well over 20 million tonnes per year, the clothing and fashion industry, EEDEN’s core market, claims around 60 percent of the total demand for cotton and cellulose fibres.

EEDEN is operating in a dynamic market that is facing major upheavals. The demand for recycled fibres is already significantly higher than the corresponding supply. Constantly growing textile production, new legislation and trends towards regional sourcing and sustainability ensure that demand for EEDEN’s products will continue to rise in the future.

Björn Lang, Principal of TVF Fund Management

Founders EEDEN
from left to right: Steffen Gerlach and Reiner Mantsch, founders of EEDEN

About EEDEN
EEDEN starts upcycling – turning textile waste into valuable ressources for new fibres. The Company developed a chemical upcycling process for textile waste, recovering its resources. In this way, new, high-quality textiles can be created again from old textiles.
Globally textiles worth 100 bill. $ get landfilled or incinerated every year, while the industry faces resource shortages and regulatory pressure due to its ecological footprint. EEDENs product, a cellulose pulp for cellulosic fibres such as viscose or lyocell, is a solution to these problems.
The EEDEN team around the two founders, Reiner Mantsch and Steffen Gerlach, includes textile technologists, chemical engineers and chemists and will continue to grow in the coming months. Supported by consultants and a broad network to research and industry, the company is well prepared to further scale the EEDEN technology.
eedengerman.com

About TechVision Fonds
TechVision Fund (TVF) is the leading early-stage VC fund in the western Rhineland Area in Germany. TVF is the third venture fund managed by the team of the S-UBG Group and invests regionally in technology startups with a fund volume of € 55 million. As one of the most experienced investors, TVF supports founders with proximity, network and expertise and paves the way to becoming the next international category leader. In addition, TVF offers unique access to the “old economy” via the S-UBG Group, giving young start-ups access to their first potential customers in the crucial early phase. The network includes over 150 successful portfolio companies from 30 years of investment experience.

TVF – Brain | Cash | Proximity

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nikolaus Raupp
T.: +49 228 82300 – 185
n.raupp@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
7. July 2022

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the
 
Press
28. June 2022

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes becomes part of the team.blue family

Bonn, 28 June 2022 - team.blue, a leading digital enabler for companies and entrepreneurs, announced that the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) portfolio company Raidboxes, a leading WordPress hosting provider, is joining its growing group of companies. HTGF is selling its stake after having closely supported the team led by Johannes Benz and Torben Simon Meier since 2016. team.blue supports local entrepreneurs and small businesses, enabling them to build, grow, and scale online. As a ma
 
Press
21. June 2022

Kranus Health closes Series A financing and has now raised a total of 8 million USD for digital men’s health

Kranus Health, the company behind the world's first prescription digital therapeutic to treat erectile dysfunction, announces the successful closing of its Series A at over 6.5 million US dollars. The latest financing round increases the total funding of Kranus Health to 8 million USD, which the company collected in just 22 months after its inception. The current round was led by French health care investor Karista, Austria-based Family Office Peak Pride also joined the round. All existing s

Presse

TechVision Fonds I und High-Tech Gründerfonds investieren in Textilrecycling-Startup EEDEN

22. Juni 2022

Textilrecycling neu gedacht: Innovatives Verfahren ermöglicht Upcycling von Altkleidung

Aachen, 22. Juni 2022 – Der TechVision Fonds I beteiligt sich gemeinsam mit dem High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und einem Business Angel als erste Investoren am Textilrecycling-Startup EEDEN. Das Startup aus Mönchengladbach hat ein innovatives Verfahren für das nachhaltige und umweltschonende Recycling von Kleidung und anderen textilen Produkten entwickelt. Mit der Finanzierung plant EEDEN den weiteren Ausbau im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung sowie den Aufbau von ersten Produktionskapazitäten.

EEDEN adressiert mit seinem Verfahren das große Problem des Baumwollmangels in der Bekleidungsindustrie. Da aktuell nur ein Bruchteil der Textilien recycelt und zu neuer Kleidung verarbeitet wird, entstehen hohe Ressourcenverluste. Gleichzeitig steigt die Nachfrage nach Baumwolle durch die wachsende Weltbevölkerung und Trends wie Fast Fashion rasant an. Die Technologie von EEDEN begegnet diesen Entwicklungen, indem sie ein ressourcenschonendes und umweltgerechtes Textilrecycling ermöglicht.

Bernhard Kugel, Geschäftsführer der Managementgesellschaft des TechVision Fonds I

Upcycling statt Downcycling

Mit dem Verfahren von EEDEN lassen sich Alttextilien aus Baumwolle oder anderen cellulosehaltigen Fasern in Pulpe umwandeln, die als Ressource für neue Fasern wie Viskose, Lyocell, etc. dient. Bei diesem Prozess spricht man von Upcycling: Aus einem minderwertigen Ausgangsmaterial entsteht ein hochwertiges Produkt.

Aktuell landen Altkleider, die nicht als Second-Hand-Ware verwendbar sind, vielfach im Ausland, wo sie oft unsachgemäß in der Natur deponiert oder verbrannt werden. Recycling findet im Grunde nur statt, indem Textilien zu minderwertigen Produkten wie Putzlappen oder Isoliermaterial ‚down-gecycelt‘ werden. Wir möchten das Material in einem Kreislauf halten und somit die wachsende Nachfrage nach hochwertigen Celluloseprodukten bedienen.

Steffen Gerlach und Reiner Mantsch, Gründer von EEDEN

Im Vergleich zu anderen Upcycling-Verfahren ist die Technologie von EEDEN umweltschonender und gleichzeitig kosteneffizienter. Sie kommt mit deutlich reduziertem Einsatz von Chemikalien aus und verringert im Herstellungsprozess Nebenprodukte wie Salzfrachten. Da das Verfahren zudem einen im Vergleich zum Wettbewerb höheren Anteil an Fremdfasern toleriert, sind perspektivisch auch Textilien mit höheren Beimischungen an z. B. Polyesterfasern recyclingfähig.

Die Umstellung einer linearen Wertschöpfungskette zu einer nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft erfordert tiefes Verständnis unzähliger Prozesse und technischer Details. Als Seed-Investor freuen wir uns sehr, hier ein Team zu unterstützen, das sich in den letzten Jahren ein umfassendes Verständnis der Textilindustrie erarbeitet hat und dabei bereits ein beeindruckendes Netzwerk von aktiven und potenziellen Partnern aufgebaut hat.

Dr. Nik Raupp, Investment Manager beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Das Kernteam von EEDEN besteht neben den Gründern und Gesellschaftern Steffen Gerlach (CEO) und Reiner Mantsch (CTO) aus Julian Hertrampf (CMO), Tobias Börnhorst (Verfahrenstechnik) und Lennart Marx (Chemieingenieurwesen). Gemeinsam haben sie mit EEDEN bereits mehrere Startup-Wettbewerbe und Support-Programme gewonnen.

Aussichtsreiches Marktwachstum

Das Marktpotenzial für das Startup ist hoch: Mit weit über 20 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr beansprucht die Bekleidungs- und Modeindustrie, der Kernmarkt von EEDEN, rund 60 Prozent des Gesamtbedarfs an Baumwoll- und Cellulosefasern.

EEDEN bewegt sich in einem dynamischen Markt, der vor großen Umbrüchen steht. Die Nachfrage nach Recyclingfasern liegt schon heute deutlich über dem entsprechenden Angebot. Ständig wachsende Textilproduktion, neue Gesetzgebungen und Trends zu regionalem Sourcing und Nachhaltigkeit sorgen dafür, dass die Nachfrage nach Produkten von EEDEN zukünftig weiter steigen wird.

Björn Lang, Principal des TVF-Fondsmanagements

Founders EEDEN
v. l. n. r. Steffen Gerlach und Reiner Mantsch, Gründer von EEDEN

Über EEDEN
EEDEN „starts upcycling“ und verwandelt Textilabfälle in wertvolle Ressourcen für neue Fasern. Das Unternehmen hat ein chemisches Upcycling-Verfahren für Textilabfälle entwickelt, das deren Ressourcen zurückgewinnt. Auf diese Weise können aus alten Textilien wieder neue, hochwertige Produkte entstehen.
Weltweit werden jährlich Textilien im Wert von 100 Mrd. $ deponiert oder verbrannt, während die Industrie mit knapperen Baumwollvorkommen und regulatorischem Druck, aufgrund ihres ökologischen Fußabdrucks, zu kämpfen hat. EEDENs Produkt, eine Zellulosepulpe für Zellulosefasern wie Viskose oder Lyocell, ist eine Lösung für diese Probleme.
Das EEDEN-Team um die beiden Gründer, Reiner Mantsch und Steffen Gerlach, umfasst Textiltechnologen, Chemieingenieure sowie Chemiker und wird in den kommenden Monaten weiter wachsen. Unterstützt durch Berater und ein breites Netzwerk zu Forschung und Industrie sieht sich das Unternehmen gut gewappnet, um die EEDEN-Technologie weiter zu skalieren.
eedengerman.com

Über den TechVision Fonds
Der TechVision Fonds (TVF) ist der führende Frühphasen VC-Fonds im westlichen Rheinland. Der TVF ist der dritte Venture-Fonds, der vom Team der S-UBG-Gruppe gemanagt wird und mit € 55 Mio. Fondsvolumen regional in Technologie-Startups investiert. Als einer der erfahrensten Investoren unterstützt der TVF Gründer*innen mit Nähe, Netzwerk, Expertise und ebnet den Weg, um zum nächsten internationalen Category Leader aufzusteigen. Darüber hinaus bietet der TVF über die S-UBG-Gruppe einen einzigartigen Zugang zur „Old Economy“ und jungen Startups damit in der entscheidenden Frühphase den Zugang zu den ersten potentiellen Kunden. Zum Netzwerk gehören über 150 erfolgreiche Portfolio-Unternehmen aus 30 Jahren Beteiligungserfahrung.

TVF – Brain | Cash | Proximity

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Nikolaus Raupp
T.: +49 228 82300 – 185
n.raupp@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
7. Juli 2022

Kölner EdTech-Start-up DeepSkill erhält siebenstellige Pre-Seed-Finanzierung, u. a. vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Kienbaum

DeepSkill ist die EdTech-Plattform für emotionale Skills und ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung. Das Startup nutzt ein smartes Content-Baukastensystem, intelligente Algorithmen und datenbasierte Wissensvermittlung, um Mitarbeitende zielgerichtet weiterzuentwickeln und nachhaltige Transformationserfolge zu erzielen.Das Kapital wird für die Plattformentwicklung sowie den Ausbau des Tech-, Sales- und Contentteams genutzt.In diesem Zuge wird auch Thomas Leidinger, der zuletzt über zehn Jahre m
 
Presse
28. Juni 2022

Erfolgreicher Exit für den High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes wird Teil der team.blue Familie

Bonn, 28. Juni 2022 - team.blue, ein führender digitaler Enabler für Entrepreneure und Unternehmen, hat bekannt gegeben, dass das HTGF-Portfoliounternehmen Raidboxes, ein führender WordPress-Hosting-Anbieter, seiner wachsenden Unternehmensgruppe beitreten wird. Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) veräußert seine Anteile, nachdem er das von Johannes Benz und Torben Simon Meier geführte Team seit 2016 eng begleitet hat. team.blue unterstützt lokale Existenzgründer:innen und klein
 
Presse
21. Juni 2022

Kranus Health schließt Serie A Finanzierung ab und sammelt damit als Pionier im Male Tech insgesamt 8 Millionen USD ein

Kranus Health, das Unternehmen hinter dem weltweit ersten digitalen Therapeutikum (DiGA) zur Behandlung von erektiler Dysfunktion, gibt den erfolgreichen Abschluss seiner Series A mit über 6.5 Millionen US Dollar bekannt. Mit der jüngsten Finanzierungsrunde erhöht sich die Gesamtfinanzierung von Kranus Health auf 8 Millionen US Dollar, die das Unternehmen in nur 22 Monaten nach Gründung eingesammelt hat. Die aktuelle Runde wird von dem französischen Investor Karista angeführt, ebenfall