Press

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

July 7, 2022

  • DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.
  • The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.
  • With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the statistics portal Statista for ten years, is called in as Chief Technology Officer (CTO).

Cologne, Germany, July 7, 2022 – DeepSkill, has now received a seven-figure sum as part of pre-seed financing. The Cologne-based EdTech start-up founded in 2020 by entrepreneurs Miriam Mertens and Peter Goeke is a digital platform for holistic human resources development. The early-stage investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) joins forces with the Cologne-based consultancy Kienbaum and other investors such as Ina Schlie, co-chair of the female investor network encourageventures e. V., and Anna Kaiser, co-founder of the recently sold start-up Tandemploy, to invest in the Cologne-based start-up.

The investment enables the next development steps of the platform as well as the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams. The start-up convinced the investors with well-known customers such as Mazars, Ströer, and Mediq Germany and steadily growing revenues.

Particularly, the strong market interest in the developed solution, as well as the experienced, complementary founding team of DeepSkill, convinced us.

Dr. Maurice Kügler, Investment Manager at HTGF

DeepSkill impressively documents what digital transformation can mean for HR, namely the intelligent use of technology benefitting human progress. And that is crucial, because the approach of holistic HR development is one of the essential keys for the working world of the future, in which we need to shape learning organizations more than ever in order to survive in a VUCA world. We are very much looking forward to this future-oriented collaboration.

Fabian Kienbaum, Chief Empowerment Officer of Kienbaum

DeepSkill was founded in 2020 by tech manager Miriam Mertens and content expert Peter Goeke. The start-up’s mission is to bring emotional skills, i.e. deep skills, such as empathy, cooperation, and mental strength to the companies’ management floors and into the broader workforce through holistic personnel development. The aim is to establish a people-centered leadership culture and to actively help shaping a more human working environment.

The customized learning and coaching programs generally last for three to twelve months. The learning content is conveyed via individual and group coaching sessions, partly in live sessions, and via gamification and e-learning content. The start-up uses intelligent algorithms and data-based knowledge transfer to develop participants in a targeted manner and achieve lasting transformation successes, particularly concerning sustainable implementation in everyday life.

Miriam Mertens and Peter Goeke, co-founders of DeepSkill (Picture: Rheinproduktiv)

We are delighted that HTGF, Kienbaum, and our other investors believe in our mission to bring emotional skills to the broader workforce through smart technology. With the investment, we will further expand our platform and drive our growth.

Miriam Mertens, co-founder and CEO of DeepSkill

First top personnel: Thomas Leidinger, who helped build the statistics portal Statista, joins DeepSkill as Chief Technology Officer (CTO)

Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building up the statistics portal Statista over ten years, joins DeepSkill as Chief Technology Officer (CTO) as a result of the investment. He will be responsible for building, operating, and further developing the program configurator and the digital learning platform and establishing the tech team.

I am excited to use my expertise and experience to help DeepSkill reach its next growth phase. I am very optimistic that together we can take the learning platform to a new level and bring emotional skills to even more customers and learners.

Thomas Leidinger, CTO of DeepSkill

Thomas Leidinger, CTO of DeepSkill

About DeepSkill
The Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill is a digital platform for holistic personnel development. Miriam Mertens and Peter Goeke have founded the startup in 2020 out of the conviction that emotional intelligence is the key to professional success in the future. Personalized learning and coaching programs, which are partially conducted in live sessions and accompanied by experienced coaches, help professionals, managers and employees to develop emotional skills, i.e. deep skills, such as empathy, cooperation and mental strength and to transfer them into everyday life. The aim is not only to strengthen individuals in their professional and personal development, but also to make entire organizations more humane, productive and sustainable. The goal: to establish a human-centered leadership culture in companies and to actively help shape a more humane working environment.

Since its founding, the start-up has been on a growth trajectory. The team now comprises 16 employees and consists of experienced coaches, HR developers and digital experts. Its clients include Mazars, Ströer and Mediq Deutschland.
For more information, visit www.deepskill.com

Contact
Peter Goeke, CMO & CPO
petergoeke@deepskill.com

Press Contact
Drei Brueder Kommunikation und Beratung
Dr. Marie-Christine Frank
+49 173 4825735
marie@drei-brueder.de

About Kienbaum
Kienbaum is the first personnel and management consultancy of European origin and is represented by 26 offices on four continents. The national subsidiary in Austria was founded in 1957 as the first international office of the German family-owned company and operates internationally with a consulting focus on Executive Search, Compensation & Performance Management, Board Services, and Management Diagnostics/Assessment Services. Further information at www.kienbaum.com

Media Contact
Kienbaum Consultants International GmbH
Kerstin Wandt
Edmund-Rumpler Straße 5
51149 Köln
T.: +49 221 801 72 – 689
presse@kienbaum.de

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 670 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 4 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,900 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300-188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Maurice Kügler, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300-174
m.kuegler@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
9. August 2022

Mobile learning start-up doinstruct closes seven-figure financing from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Born2Grow

Rethinking employee training, integration, and communication: doinstruct develops a low-threshold, multilingual mobile training solution for frontline workers. The software enables companies to train their employees and service providers by smartphone, across supply chains and in any location. With its strong new partners doinstruct hopes to revolutionize in-company employee training and push ahead with product development and the expansion of the company into new sectors. doinstruct
 
Press
27. July 2022

Energy transition startup node.energy raises 7 million euros in Series A financing

A total of four new investors are joining the company, while existing investors such as High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and renowned business angels are once again contributing fresh capital. The four new Series A investors were selected consciously. The financing round is led by Cologne-based VC BitStone Capital, the leading PropTech fund with strong expertise in the real estate industry. As co-investors, the 10x Founders contributes extensive experience in the software-as-a-service secto
 
Press
12. July 2022

Embedded security startup Emproof secures €2m seed financing from European investor syndicate

Eindhoven/Bochum, July 12th, 2022 – Emproof B.V. successfully closed a € 2 million seed financing round, which enables the company to further develop its product range and serve customers in Europe and the USA. This financing round is led by the Dutch investment group TIIN Capital through its Dutch Security TechFund, alongside High-Tech Gründerfonds from Germany and the French venture capitalist Cyber Impact. Emproof has developed a unique technology which protects resource constrained

Presse

Kölner EdTech-Start-up DeepSkill erhält siebenstellige Pre-Seed-Finanzierung, u. a. vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Kienbaum

7. Juli 2022

  • DeepSkill ist die EdTech-Plattform für emotionale Skills und ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung. Das Startup nutzt ein smartes Content-Baukastensystem, intelligente Algorithmen und datenbasierte Wissensvermittlung, um Mitarbeitende zielgerichtet weiterzuentwickeln und nachhaltige Transformationserfolge zu erzielen.
  • Das Kapital wird für die Plattformentwicklung sowie den Ausbau des Tech-, Sales- und Contentteams genutzt.
  • In diesem Zuge wird auch Thomas Leidinger, der zuletzt über zehn Jahre maßgeblich das Statistik-Portal Statista mitaufgebaut hat, als Chief Technology Officer (CTO) an Bord geholt.

Köln, 7. Juli 2022 – Das 2020 von den Entrepreneur:innen Miriam Mertens und Peter Goeke gegründete Kölner EdTech-Start-up DeepSkill, eine digitale Plattform für ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung, hat im Rahmen einer Pre-Seed-Finanzierung eine siebenstellige Summe erhalten. Der Early-Stage-Investor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) steigt gemeinsam mit der Kölner Unternehmensberatung Kienbaum und weiteren Investor:innen wie Ina Schlie, Co-Vorsitzende vom Investorinnen-Netzwerk encourageventures e. V., und Anna Kaiser, Co-Gründerin des gerade verkauften Start-ups Tandemploy, in das Kölner Start-up ein.

Das Investment ermöglicht die weitere Entwicklung der Plattform sowie den Ausbau des Tech-, Sales- und Contentteams. Das Start-up überzeugte die Investor:innen mit namhaften Startkunden wie Mazars, Ströer und Mediq Deutschland und stetig wachsenden Umsätzen.

Insbesondere das starke Marktinteresse an der entwickelten Lösung sowie das erfahrene, komplementär aufgestellte Gründerteam von DeepSkill haben uns überzeugt.

Dr. Maurice Kügler, Investment Manager beim HTGF

DeepSkill dokumentiert eindrucksvoll, was die digitale Transformation für HR bedeuten kann, nämlich die intelligente Nutzung von Technologie zugunsten des menschlichen Fortschritts. Und das ist entscheidend, denn: der Ansatz einer ganzheitlichen Personalentwicklung ist einer der wesentlichen Schlüssel für die Arbeitswelt der Zukunft, in der wir mehr denn je lernende Organisationen formen müssen, um in einer VUCA-Welt bestehen zu können. Wir freuen uns sehr auf diese zukunftsgerichtete Zusammenarbeit.

Fabian Kienbaum, Chief Empowerment Officer des Beratungsunternehmens Kienbaum

DeepSkill wurde im Jahr 2020 von Tech-Managerin Miriam Mertens und Content-Experte Peter Goeke gegründet. Das Startup verfolgt die Mission, durch ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung emotionale Fähigkeiten, Deep Skills, wie Empathie, Kooperationsfähigkeit und mentale Stärke in die Führungsetagen von Unternehmen sowie die Breite der Mitarbeiterschaft zu tragen, dadurch eine menschenzentrierte Führungskultur in Unternehmen zu etablieren und eine menschlichere Arbeitswelt aktiv mitzugestalten. Die maßgeschneiderten Lern- und Coachingprogramme laufen in der Regel über einen Zeitraum von drei bis zwölf Monaten. Die Vermittlung der Lerninhalte erfolgt über Einzel- und Gruppencoachings, teils in Live-Sessions, sowie über Gamification und E-Learning-Inhalte. Das Start-up nutzt dabei intelligente Algorithmen und datenbasierte Wissensvermittlung, um die Teilnehmenden zielgerichtet weiterzuentwickeln und nachhaltige Transformationserfolge vor allem in Hinblick auf die nachhaltige Umsetzung im Alltag zu erzielen.

Das DeepSkill Gründerduo Miriam Mertens und Peter Goeke (Bild: Rheinproduktiv)

Wir freuen uns, dass der HTGF, Kienbaum und unsere weiteren Investor:innen an unsere Mission glauben, emotionale Fähigkeiten mittels smarter Technologie in die breite Mitarbeiterschaft zu tragen. Mit dem Investment werden wir unsere Plattform weiter ausbauen und unser Wachstum vorantreiben.

Miriam Mertens, Mitgründerin und CEO von DeepSkill

Erste Top-Personalie: Thomas Leidinger, der das Statistik-Portal Statista mit aufgebaut hat, kommt als Chief Technology Officer (CTO) an Bord

Thomas Leidinger, der zuletzt über zehn Jahre maßgeblich das Statistik-Portal Statista mit aufgebaut hat, kommt im Zuge des Investments als Chief Technology Officer (CTO) an Bord. Er wird sich um den Aufbau, den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung des Programmkonfigurators sowie der digitalen Lernplattform kümmern und das Tech-Team aufbauen. 

Ich freue mich, mit meinem Know-how und meiner Erfahrung DeepSkill zu der nächsten Wachstumsphase zu verhelfen. Ich bin sehr optimistisch, dass wir gemeinsam die Lernplattform auf ein neues Level heben und noch mehr Kund:innen und Lernenden emotionale Skills näherbringen können.

Thomas Leidinger, CTO von DeepSkill

Thomas Leidinger, CTO von DeepSkill

Über DeepSkill
Das Kölner EdTech-Start-up DeepSkill ist eine digitale Plattform für ganzheitliche Personalentwicklung. Es wurde 2020 von den Entrepreneur:innen Miriam Mertens und Peter Goeke aus der Überzeugung heraus gegründet, dass  emotionale Intelligenz der Schlüssel für beruflichen Erfolg in der Zukunft ist. Durch personalisierte Lern- und Coachingprogramme, die teils in Live-Sessions durchgeführt und durch erfahrene Coach:innen begleitet werden, hilft es Fach- und Führungskräften sowie Mitarbeitenden, emotionale Fähigkeiten, Deep Skills, wie Empathie, Kooperationsfähigkeit und mentale Stärke zu entwickeln und in den Alltag zu übertragen. Dadurch sollen nicht nur einzelne Menschen in ihrer beruflichen und persönlichen Entwicklung gestärkt, sondern gesamte Organisationen menschlicher, produktiver und nachhaltiger gestaltet werden. Das Ziel: eine menschenzentrierte Führungskultur in Unternehmen zu etablieren und eine menschlichere Arbeitswelt aktiv mitzugestalten.
Seit seiner Gründung ist das Start-up auf Wachstumskurs. Das Team umfasst mittlerweile 16 Mitarbeitende und besteht aus erfahrenen Coach:innen, Personalentwickler:innen und Digital-Expert:innen. Zu den Kunden gehören u. a. die Unternehmen Mazars, Ströer und Mediq Deutschland.
Weitere Informationen unter www.deepskill.com

Kontakt
Peter Goeke, CMO und CPO
petergoeke@deepskill.com

Pressekontakt
Drei Brueder Kommunikation und Beratung
Dr. Marie-Christine Frank
+49 173 4825735
marie@drei-brueder.de

Über Kienbaum
Kienbaum ist die erste Personal- und Managementberatung europäischen Ursprungs und mit 26 Büros auf vier Kontinenten vertreten. Die Landesgesellschaft Österreich wurde 1957 als erste internationale Geschäftsstelle des deutschen Familienunternehmens gegründet und ist international tätig mit den Beratungsschwerpunkten Executive Search, Compensation & Performance Management, Board Services sowie Management Diagnostics/Assessment Services.
Weitere Informationen unter www.kienbaum.com

Pressekontakt
Kienbaum Consultants International GmbH
Kerstin Wandt
Edmund-Rumpler Straße 5
51149 Köln
T.: +49 221 801 72 – 689
presse@kienbaum.de

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partnernetzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 670 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investmentmanager:innen und Start-up-Expert:innen unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech-Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 4 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investor:innen bislang in mehr als 1.900 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investorenkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Maurice Kügler, Investment Manager
T.: +49 228 82300 – 174
m.kuegler@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
9. August 2022

Mobile Learning Start-up doinstruct erhält siebenstellige Finanzierung vom High-Tech Gründerfonds und Born2Grow

Mitarbeiterschulung, Integration und Kommunikation neu gedacht: doinstruct entwickelt eine niedrigschwellige, mehrsprachige, mobile Schulungslösung für Frontlineworker. Die Software ermöglicht es Unternehmen, ihre Mitarbeitenden sowie Dienstleister lieferkettenübergreifend und ortsunabhängig auf dem Smartphone zu schulen. Mit den neuen, starken Partnern möchte doinstruct die Mitarbeiterschulung in Unternehmen revolutionieren und die Produktentwicklung sowie die Expansion des Unternehme
 
Presse
27. Juli 2022

Energiewende-Startup node.energy erhält 7 Mio. Euro in Series-A-Finanzierung

Insgesamt vier neue Investoren steigen in das Unternehmen ein und auch Bestandsinvestoren wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und renommierte Business Angels bringen erneut frisches Kapital ein. Die Auswahl der vier neuen Investoren der Series-A erfolgte dabei ganz bewusst. So wird die Finanzierungsrunde angeführt vom Kölner VC BitStone Capital, dem führenden PropTech Fund mit starker Expertise in der Immobilienbranche. Als Co-Investoren bringen die 10x Founders umfassende Erfahrung
 
Presse
12. Juli 2022

Embedded-Security-Startup Emproof sichert sich 2 Mio. € Seed-Finanzierung von europäischem Investorenkonsortium

Eindhoven/Bochum, 12. Juni 2022 – Emproof B.V. hat erfolgreich eine Seed-Finanzierungsrunde über 2 Millionen Euro abgeschlossen, die es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht, seine Produktpalette weiter auszubauen und Kunden in Europa und den USA zu bedienen. Angeführt wird die Finanzierungsrunde von der niederländischen Investmentgesellschaft TIIN Capital über ihren Dutch Security TechFund, zusammen mit dem deutschen High-Tech Gründerfonds und dem französischen Venture-Capital-Fonds Cyber Imp