Pantherna Therapeutics secures EUR 4.0 Mio. follow-on financing to advance its therapeutic mRNA development programs   

January 11, 2022

Hennigsdorf, January 11, 2022 – Pantherna Therapeutics today announces the successful completion of a follow-on financing round totaling EUR 4.0 Mio. led by existing investors Riesner Verwaltungs GmbH and High-Tech Gründerfonds. The proceeds of this round will be used to accelerate preclinical development activities for its lead program PAN004, an mRNA-based therapeutic for Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS).  

ARDS causes a life-threatening damage to the lungs induced by an excessive hyperinflammatory reaction of the lung tissue in response to bacterial and viral infections including SARS-CoV2 (COVID-19). No targeted therapy is available for this syndrome to prevent fluid retention and tissue damage to the lungs. Pantherna Therapeutics is developing a targeted therapy with a new mode of action by expressing a TIE-2 receptor agonist to restore endothelial barrier function. 

The new funds will be used to expand the PAN004 development activities and will also support Pantherna´s efforts to strengthen its R&D team and activities for advancing its mRNA therapeutics technology for new indications.

Dr. Jörg Kaufmann, CSO at Pantherna Therapeutics

Qiagen developed the purification of RNA nearly 40 years ago, and in recent years the outstanding impact of mRNA-technology for vaccination became obvious. I am more than happy to follow now the development of mRNA-technology to the urgent need of targeted therapy. 

Prof. Detlev Riesner, Qiagen-co-founder and private investor of several Biotech companies

We are delighted to assist in the new funding round to bring Pantherna´s innovation a huge step closer to the clinic.

Dr. Anke Caßing, Principal at High-Tech Gründerfonds

About Pantherna  
Pantherna Therapeutics is a privately-held biopharmaceutical Company developing first-in-class therapeutics for vascular diseases. Pantherna’s innovative technology platform is based on advanced nanoparticles for the delivery and expression of therapeutic mRNA drugs in the endothelium. Pantherna is based in Hennigsdorf (Brandenburg) close to Berlin, Germany.   

Contact  
Pantherna Therapeutics GmbH  
Dr. Gerrit Maass   
Neuendorfstrasse 20b  
16761 Hennigsdorf  
T: +49 3302 2022 400 
info@pantherna-therapeutics.com  
www.pantherna-therapeutics.com

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.

Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Anke Caßing, Principal
T: +49 228 82300 148 
a.cassing@htgf.de  

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

Press
12. June 2024

New component for Germany’s Future Fund: HTGF Opportunity Fund launches with €660 million for growth-phase investments

Through the new fund, HTGF will be able to invest in selected HTGF portfolio companies. The objective of the HTGF Opportunity Fund is to increase the volume of later-stage financing rounds in the HTGF portfolio as required. Tenth Future Fund component added – another measure taken by the German government as part of its start-up strategy, helping to strengthen the country’s profile as a start-up hub. HTGF is one of Germany’s most active early-stage investors. Since its i
 
Press
6. June 2024

SmartLoC secures 1.8 million Euros seed funding to revolutionize international trade payments

Hamburg, Germany – 6 June 2024 – SmartLoC, a pioneering startup focused on developing a cutting-edge, fully digital B2B payment solution based on the monitoring of shipments and specifically tailored for international trade, today announces the successful closure of its seed round, raising a total of 1.8 million euros. The round is led by High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), one of the leading seed investors in Europe. Other investors include Loggerhead -Ventures, an early stage climatech VC

Pantherna Therapeutics erhält Finanzierung in Höhe von 4 Mio. EUR, um die Entwicklung von mRNA-Therapeutika voranzutreiben  

11. Januar 2022

Hennigsdorf, 11. Januar 2022 – Pantherna Therapeutics gab heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Folgefinanzierungsrunde in Höhe von insgesamt 4,0 Millionen Euro unter der Führung der bestehenden Investoren Riesner Verwaltungs GmbH und High-Tech Gründerfonds bekannt. Die Mittel aus dieser Runde werden zur Beschleunigung der präklinischen Entwicklungsaktivitäten für das Hauptprogramm PAN004 verwendet, ein mRNA-basiertes Therapeutikum für das akute Atemnotsyndrom (ARDS).  

ARDS ist eine lebensbedrohliche Schädigung der Lunge, die durch eine hyperinflammatorische Reaktion des Lungengewebes als Reaktion auf bakterielle und virale Infektionen einschließlich SARS-CoV2 (COVID-19) induziert wird. Es gibt keine gezielte Therapie für dieses Syndrom, um Flüssigkeitsansammlungen und Gewebeschäden in der Lunge zu verhindern. Pantherna Therapeutics entwickelt eine zielgerichtete Therapie mit einer neuartigen Wirkungsweise durch Expression eines TIE-2-Rezeptor-Agonisten zur Wiederherstellung der endothelialen Barrierefunktion.

Die neuen Mittel werden für die Ausweitung der PAN004-Entwicklungsaktivitäten verwendet und unterstützen den Ausbau des F&E-Teams von Pantherna sowie die Weiterentwicklung der mRNA-Therapeutik-Technologie für neue Indikationen.

Dr. Jörg Kaufmann, CSO von Pantherna Therapeutics

Qiagen hat vor fast 40 Jahren die RNA-Aufreinigung entwickelt, und in den letzten Jahren ist die herausragende Bedeutung der mRNA-Technologie für die Impfstoffentwicklung deutlich geworden. Ich freue mich, dass wir nun die Entwicklung der mRNA-Technologie für den dringenden Bedarf an zielgerichteten Therapien vorantreiben.

Prof. Detlev Riesner, Qiagen-Mitbegründer und Privatinvestor in mehreren Biotech-Unternehmen

Wir freuen uns, dass wir mit der neuen Finanzierungsrunde dazu beitragen können, Panthernas Innovation einen großen Schritt näher in Richtung klinische Anwendung zu bringen.

Dr. Anke Caßing, Principal beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Über Pantherna 
Pantherna Therapeutics ist ein privat geführtes Biotechnologieunternehmen und entwickelt “first-in-class“ Therapeutika für vaskuläre Krankheiten. Pantherna’s innovative Technologie Plattform basiert auf neuartigen Nanopartikeln für den Transport und die Expression von therapeutischen mRNA-Wirkstoffkandidaten im Endothelium. Pantherna’s Standort liegt in Hennigsdorf (Innovationsforum) bei Berlin.

Kontakt
Pantherna Therapeutics GmbH 
Dr. Gerrit Maass
Neuendorfstrasse 20b 
16761 Hennigsdorf 
T: +49 3302 2022 400 
info@pantherna-therapeutics.com  
www.pantherna-therapeutics.com 

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investoren
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Anke Caßing, Principal
T: +49 228 82300 148 
a.cassing@htgf.de  

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Presse
28. Mai 2024

1,3 Mio. Euro für die Anwalts-KI: Erfolgreiche Finanzierung für Legal Tech JUPUS

Für sein KI-Sekretariat für Juristen, das erstmals eine juristisch trainierte und vollautomatisierte Kommunikation und Bearbeitung in juristischen Anliegen ermöglicht, hat das Startup JUPUS neue Kapitalgeber gewinnen können: In den Lead geht der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), daneben Combination VC bestehend aus Business Angels wie Refurbed-Gründer Kilian Kaminski und Wandelbots-CTO Georg Püschel. Auch bestehende Investoren sind erneut mit an Bord, neben namhaften Family Offices zähl
 
Presse
16. Mai 2024

Caeli Wind sichert sich in einer Serie-A-Finanzierungsrunde frisches Kapital in Höhe von 11 Millionen Euro

Notion Capital, Santander Alternative Investments und bestehende Investoren stellen dem digitalen Marktplatz für Windenergieflächen Wachstumskapital zur Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung und internationalen Expansion bereit. Berlin, London, Madrid (16. Mai 2024) – Caeli Wind, die 2022 von Ben Schlemmermeier und Heiko Bartels gegründete Plattform zur Analyse und Vermarktung von Windenergiestandorten, gab heute bekannt, dass sich das Unternehmen 11 Millionen Euro Wachstumskapital v