Press

PreOmics Announces Early Investors’ Exit and Closing of Series B Financing to Accelerate R&D and Commercialization of Proteomics Tools and Consumables

January 18, 2022

PreOmics Offers Unique Technologies, Advanced Automation Solutions and High-Performance Consumables for the Homogenization, Enrichment and Proteomic Sample Preparation of Biopsy, Tissue, Cell Line and Plasma Samples in Unbiased, Deep Proteomics for Pharmaceutical and Clinical Research


MUNICH, Germany – January 18, 2022 – PreOmics GmbH, a Martinsried, Germany-based developer of innovative automation and sample preparation tools and consumables for unbiased, deep proteomics analysis by mass spectrometry, has raised €13.5m in a Series B financing round provided by Bruker Corporation (Nasdaq: BRKR). PreOmics was founded in 2016 by Dr. Garwin Pichler and Dr. Nils A. Kulak as a spin-out company from the laboratory of leading proteomics researcher Professor Matthias Mann at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried

In conjunction with the Series B primary financing, several early investors in PreOmics, such as High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and Think.Health Ventures, as well as certain business angels, have successfully sold their PreOmics shares to Bruker in a parallel secondary transaction, and Bruker is now a majority investor in PreOmics. Financial details of the secondary transactions were not disclosed.

PreOmics’ innovative sample processing technologies for mass spectrometry-based protein analysis are complementary to Bruker’s high-performance scientific instruments, as well as to proteomics mass spectrometry systems by other leading proteomics companies. Close workflow collaboration synergies are expected to broaden the market opportunities for both PreOmics’ BeatBox platform technologies and Bruker’s timsTOF 4D proteomics platform with more complete, automated workflow solutions for academic and clinical researchers, for biomarker discovery and diagnostics companies, as well as for CRO and biopharmaceutical companies.

We are excited to increase R&D, marketing and sales investments, and are pleased to have Bruker as a collaborator and major investor. Bruker shares our vision for advanced proteomic discovery processes for everyone, and a commitment to accelerate PreOmics’ growth. Our existing and future customers and partners will benefit from accelerated investments at PreOmics and from proteomics solution synergies to extend or product offerings and global presence.

Dr. Garwin Pichler, Co-Founder and Managing Director of PreOmics

We see a bright future for PreOmics’ research, development and commercialization efforts accelerated by the Series B primary investments and Bruker as partner and scientific collaborator. Our novel BeatBox technology is seamlessly compatible with PreOmics’ proteomic sample preparation technologies and in combination with the timsTOF Pro provides end-to-end workflows for processing of large tissue biobanks. Furthermore, we aim to develop integrated and automated BeatBox-based workflow solutions for every experience level and throughput need, while providing highest performance levels for unbiased, deep and comprehensive proteomics research.

Dr. Nils A. Kulak, Co-Founder and Managing Director of PreOmics

The fact that our time as a seed investor in Preomics has come to an end already after 5 years is a proof for the fantastic performance of both the management and the extremely innovative technology. Thank you Garwin and Nils for having let us be a part of your journey. Joining forces with your partner Bruker Inc. now paves the way for setting gold standards in protein preparation and will thus make proteome analysis easier and more reliable than ever.

Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner at High-Tech Gründerfonds

Think.Health is grateful for having shared an important part of PreOmics’ success story, which will continue also beyond our investment with the great support by Bruker. We appreciate Garwin and Nils as exceptional scientists and visionary entrepreneurs – a rare combination we definitely need more of in Germany.

Dr. Michael Ruoff of Think.Health Ventures

We are very pleased to invest in PreOmics, a leading proteomics sample preparation, automation and consumables company, with this Series B primary financing. By also acquiring a majority investment in PreOmics, Bruker further expands its proteomics vision to include the unique PreOmics sample preparation technologies, as well as more comprehensive, automated, robust and reproducible workflows and consumables for translational, biomarker and biopharma proteomics research.

Dr. Frank H. Laukien, President and CEO of Bruker Corporation

About PreOmics GmbH
PreOmics empowers our clients in life sciences to establish biological knowledge through efficient, reliable solutions and workflows that set the standard for protein analysis. Our team spirit, energy, and commitment empower us to be both creative and quality focused – A trusted partner with deeply rooted scientific experience. We envisage a future with revolutionary proteomic discovery processes open for everyone. Tools that reveal hidden causes of diseases, ensure sustainable nutrition, and provide diagnoses that enhance lives and society.

For more information, contact:
Dr. Garwin Pichler, Founder & Managing Director
PreOmics GmbH
Phone: +49 (0) 89 / 23 14 163 – 0
Email: info@preomics.com
Website: www.preomics.com
Address: Am Klopferspitz 19 | 82152 Planegg/Martinsried | Germany

About Think.Health Ventures
Think.Health invests as a boutique risk-taker in healthcare ventures. We continuously seek for innovations and disruptive business models in digital healthcare, life sciences, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology. For more information please visit www.think-health.de.

About High-Tech Gründerfonds
High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) is a seed investor that finances high-potential, tech-driven start-ups. With around EUR 900 million in total investment volume across three funds and an international network of partners, HTGF has already helped forge more than 650 start-ups since 2005. Driven by their expertise, entrepreneurial spirit and passion, its team of experienced investment managers and startup experts help guide the development of young companies. HTGF’s focus is on high-tech start-ups in the fields of digital tech, industrial technology, life sciences, chemistry and related business areas. To date, external investors have injected more than EUR 3.5 billion into the HTGF portfolio via more than 1,800 follow-on financing rounds. HTGF has also successfully sold interests in more than 150 companies.
Investors in this public-private partnership include the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, KfW Capital, and Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V., as well as the companies ALTANA, BASF, BAYER, B.Braun, Boehringer Ingelheim, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER and Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Media Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Investor Contact
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 136
b.goergen@htgf.de

Stay up to date

Subscribe now and receive the latest press releases on investments and other news from High-Tech Gründerfonds. We inform you about important developments at HTGF and provide you with interesting news from our portfolio. Whether it’s a successful exit, a new exciting investment or HR news – you’ll be the first to know!

More Press posts

Press
7. July 2022

Cologne-based EdTech start-up DeepSkill receives seven-figure pre-seed financing, including from High-Tech Gründerfonds and Kienbaum

DeepSkill is the EdTech platform for emotional skills and holistic personnel development. The start-up uses an innovative content-building system, intelligent algorithms, and data-based knowledge transfer to develop employees in a targeted manner and achieve sustainable transformational success.The capital will be used for platform development and the expansion of the tech, sales, and content teams.With regard to the recent success, Thomas Leidinger, who played a crucial role in building the
 
Press
28. June 2022

Successful exit for High-Tech Gründerfonds: Raidboxes becomes part of the team.blue family

Bonn, 28 June 2022 - team.blue, a leading digital enabler for companies and entrepreneurs, announced that the High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) portfolio company Raidboxes, a leading WordPress hosting provider, is joining its growing group of companies. HTGF is selling its stake after having closely supported the team led by Johannes Benz and Torben Simon Meier since 2016. team.blue supports local entrepreneurs and small businesses, enabling them to build, grow, and scale online. As a ma
 
Press
22. June 2022

TechVision Fonds I and High-Tech Gründerfonds invest in textile recycling startup EEDEN

Textile recycling rethought: Innovative process enables upcycling of old clothing Aachen, 22 June 2022 - TechVision Fonds I, together with High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) and a business angel, are the first investors to invest in EEDEN. The startup from Moenchengladbach, Germany has developed an innovative process for the sustainable and environmentally friendly recycling of clothing and other textile products. With the financing, EEDEN plans to further expand their R&D-activities and

Presse

PreOmics gibt den Ausstieg früher Investoren und den Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung bekannt, um die Forschung und Entwicklung sowie die Vermarktung von Proteomik-Technologien zu beschleunigen

18. Januar 2022

PreOmics bietet einzigartige Technologien, innovative Automatisierungslösungen und hochleistungsfähige Verbrauchsmaterialien für die Homogenisierung, Anreicherung und proteomische Probenvorbereitung von Biopsie-, Gewebe-, Zelllinien- und Plasmaproben an, um ein hocheffiziente proteomische Analyse in der pharmazeutischen und klinischen Forschung zu ermöglichen


München, 18. Januar 2022 – PreOmics GmbH, ein in Martinsried ansässiger Entwickler innovativer Automatisierungs- und Probenvorbereitungstechnologien und -verbrauchsmaterialien für die hocheffiziente und benutzerfreundliche proteomische Analyse mittels Massenspektrometrie, hat im Rahmen einer Serie-B-Finanzierungsrunde 13,5 Mio. Euro von der Bruker Corporation (Nasdaq: BRKR) erhalten. PreOmics wurde 2016 von Dr. Garwin Pichler und Dr. Nils A. Kulak als Spin-Out-Unternehmen aus dem Labor des führenden Proteomik-Forschers Professor Matthias Mann am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried gegründet.

In Verbindung mit der Serie-B-Finanzierung haben mehrere frühe Investoren in PreOmics, wie der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) und Think.Health Ventures, sowie einige Business Angels ihre PreOmics-Anteile in einer parallelen Sekundärtransaktion erfolgreich an Bruker verkauft, so dass Bruker nun Mehrheitsinvestor von PreOmics ist. Finanzielle Einzelheiten zu den Sekundärtransaktionen wurden nicht bekannt gegeben.

Die innovativen Probenverarbeitungstechnologien von PreOmics für die massenspektrometrie-basierte Proteinanalyse sind komplementär zu den wissenschaftlichen Hochleistungsinstrumenten von Bruker sowie zu Systemen anderer führender Proteomik-Unternehmen. Es wird erwartet, dass die engen Synergien die Marktchancen sowohl für die BeatBox-Plattformtechnologien von PreOmics als auch für die timsTOF 4D-Proteomik-Plattform von Bruker mit vollständigeren, automatisierten Workflow-Lösungen für akademische und klinische Forscher, für Biomarker-Entdeckungs- und Diagnostikunternehmen sowie für CROs und biopharmazeutische Unternehmen erweitern werden.

Wir freuen uns, unsere Investitionen in F&E, Marketing und Vertrieb zu erhöhen und Bruker als Kooperationspartner und Hauptinvestor zu gewinnen. Bruker teilt unsere Vision fortschrittliche Technologien für die proteomische Analyse jedermann zur Verfügung zu stellen und durch die Finanzierung unser Wachstum zu beschleunigen. Unsere bestehenden und zukünftigen Kunden und Partner werden von den Investitionen bei PreOmics und von den Synergien bei den Proteomik-Lösungen profitieren, um unser Produktangebot und unsere globale Präsenz zu erweitern.

Dr. Garwin Pichler, Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer von PreOmics

Wir sehen eine vielversprechende Zukunft für die Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Kommerzialisierungsaktivitäten von PreOmics, die durch die Serie-B-Finanzierung und Bruker als Partner beschleunigt werden. Unsere neuartige BeatBox-Technologie ist nahtlos mit den Proteomik-Probenvorbereitungstechnologien von PreOmics kompatibel und bietet in Kombination mit dem timsTOF Pro komplette Arbeitsabläufe für die Prozessierung großer Gewebebiobanken. Unser Ziel ist es komplette, benutzerfreundliche und automatisierte BeatBox-basierte Arbeitsabläufe für jeglichen Durchsatz zu entwickeln und damit Lösungen für eine hocheffiziente proteomische Analyse zu bieten.

Dr. Nils A. Kulak, Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer von PreOmics

Dass unsere Zeit als Seed-Investor bei Preomics bereits nach 5 Jahren zu Ende geht, ist ein Beweis für die fantastische Leistung sowohl des Managements als auch der äußerst innovativen Technologie. Vielen Dank an Garwin und Nils, dass wir ein Teil eurer Reise sein durften. Der Zusammenschluss mit eurem Partner Bruker Inc. ebnet nun den Weg, um Goldstandards in der Proteinpräparation zu setzen und wird damit die Proteomanalyse einfacher und zuverlässiger denn je machen.

Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner beim High-Tech Gründerfonds

Bei Think.Health sind wir dankbar, dass wir einen wichtigen Teil der Erfolgsgeschichte von PreOmics mitgestalten durften, die dank der großartigen Unterstützung durch Bruker auch nach unserer Beteiligung fortgeschrieben wird. Wir schätzen Garwin und Nils als außergewöhnliche Wissenschaftler und visionäre Unternehmer – eine seltene Kombination, die ich mir in Deutschland definitiv öfter wünsche.

Dr. Michael Ruoff von Think.Health Ventures

Wir freuen uns sehr, mit dieser Serie-B-Finanzierung in PreOmics, ein führendes Unternehmen für Probenvorbereitung, Automatisierung und Verbrauchsmaterialien für die Proteomik, zu investieren. Durch die Übernahme einer Mehrheitsbeteiligung an PreOmics erweitert Bruker seine Proteomik-Vision um die einzigartigen PreOmics-Probenvorbereitungstechnologien sowie um komplette, automatisierte, robuste und reproduzierbare Arbeitsabläufe für die translationale Biomarker- und Biopharma-Proteomik-Forschung.

Dr. Frank H. Laukien, Präsident und CEO der Bruker Corporation

Über PreOmics GmbH
PreOmics ermöglicht Kunden in der Proteinanalyse, biologisches Wissen durch effiziente, zuverlässige Lösungen und Arbeitsabläufe zu generieren. Unser Teamgeist, unsere Energie und unser Engagement ermöglichen es uns, kreativ als auch qualitätsorientiert zu sein – wir sind ein zuverlässiger Partner mit tief verwurzelter wissenschaftlicher Erfahrung. Wir stellen uns eine Zukunft vor, in der revolutionäre proteomische Analysen für jedermann zugänglich sind um Ursachen von Krankheiten zu entdecken, eine nachhaltige Ernährung sicherzustellen sowie Diagnosen ermöglichen, die das Leben und die Gesellschaft verbessern.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Dr. Garwin Pichler, Gründer & Geschäftsführer
PreOmics GmbH
Telefon: +49 (0) 89 / 23 14 163 – 0
E-Mail: info@preomics.com
Website: www.preomics.com
Adresse: Am Klopferspitz 19 | 82152 Planegg/Martinsried | Deutschland

Über Think.Health Ventures
Think.Health investiert als Boutique-Investor in Unternehmen im Gesundheitswesen. Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach Innovationen und bahnbrechenden Geschäftsmodellen in den Bereichen digitales Gesundheitswesen, Biowissenschaften, Pharmazeutika und Biotechnologie. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte www.think-health.de.

Über den High-Tech Gründerfonds
Der Seedinvestor High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) finanziert Technologie-Start-ups mit Wachstumspotential. Mit einem Volumen von rund 900 Mio. Euro verteilt auf drei Fonds sowie einem internationalen Partner-Netzwerk hat der HTGF seit 2005 mehr als 650 Start-ups begleitet. Sein Team aus erfahrenen Investment Managern und Start-up-Experten unterstützt die jungen Unternehmen mit Know-how, Unternehmergeist und Leidenschaft. Der Fokus liegt auf High-Tech Gründungen aus den Bereichen Digital Tech, Industrial-Tech, Life Sciences, Chemie und angrenzende Geschäftsfelder. Mehr als 3,5 Milliarden Euro Kapital investierten externe Investoren bislang in mehr als 1.800 Folgefinanzierungsrunden in das HTGF-Portfolio. Außerdem hat der Fonds bereits Anteile an mehr als 150 Unternehmen erfolgreich verkauft.
Zu den Investoren der Public-Private-Partnership zählen das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz, KfW Capital, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie die Unternehmen ALTANA, BASF, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, B.Braun, Robert Bosch, BÜFA, CEWE, Deutsche Bank, Deutsche Post DHL, Dräger, 1+1 AG, EVONIK, EWE AG, FOND OF, Haniel, Hettich, Knauf, Körber, LANXESS, media + more venture Beteiligungs GmbH & Co. KG, PHOENIX CONTACT, QIAGEN, RWE Generation SE, SAP, Schufa, Schwarz Gruppe, STIHL, Thüga, Vector Informatik, WACKER und Wilh. Werhahn KG.

Medienkontakt
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Stefanie Grüter, Head of Marketing & Communications
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 188
s.grueter@htgf.de

Kontakt Investor
High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH
Dr. Bernd Goergen, Partner
T.: +49 228 – 82300 – 136
b.goergen@htgf.de

Immer aktuell informiert

Melde dich jetzt an und erhalte tagesaktuelle Pressemeldungen zu Investments sowie weitere Nachrichten rund um den High-Tech Gründerfonds. Wir berichten über wichtige Entwicklungen beim HTGF und über spannende Neuigkeiten aus unserem Portfolio. Ein erfolgreicher Exit, ein neues spannendes Investment oder Personalnews – du erfährst als Erstes davon!

Weitere Presse-Beiträge

Presse
18. Mai 2022

Ventech, HTGF und Business Angels investieren mehr als 4 Mio. EUR in das Berliner Retail-Tech Unternehmen 7Learnings

Das Unternehmen hat mehr als 4 Mio. EUR an zusätzlichen Investitionen von Ventech (Lead Investor), HTGF und Celonis-Führungskräften erhaltenSeit 2019 bietet das Startup 7Learnings Händlern eine SaaS-Lösung für die auf Machine Learning basierende Preis- und MarketingoptimierungDie Lösung des Unternehmens steigert die Gewinne von Händlern im Durchschnitt um >10%.Das Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, seine Software zur führenden Plattform für Retail Optimization auszubauen
 
Presse
12. Mai 2022

Sehr erfolgreicher Exit für den HTGF: AMCS wird Quentic übernehmen – starke Partner für eine grüne Zukunft

Quentic vereinfacht mit seiner modular aufgebauten Software-as-a-Service-Lösung das Management und Berichtswesen in den Bereichen EHSQ (Umweltmanagement, Gesundheitsschutz, Arbeitsschutz, und Qualitätsmanagement) und ESG (Environment, Social & Governance).Mit der Übernahme durch AMCS wird die Position der Quentic GmbH als einer der führenden Anbieter für integrative Softwarelösungen für EHSQ und ESG weiter gestärkt.Der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) war 2008 der erste Investor, g
 
Presse
3. Mai 2022

Tubulis schließt eine Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro ab, um seine ADC-Produktpipeline zu beschleunigen und das Spektrum der Plattformtechnologien zu erweitern

MÜNCHEN, 3. Mai 2022 - Tubulis gibt heute den erfolgreichen Abschluss einer Serie-B-Finanzierung in Höhe von 60 Millionen Euro (63 Millionen US-Dollar) unter der Führung von Andera Partners und mit Beteiligung der neuen Investoren Evotec und Fund+ bekannt. Alle bestehenden Investoren beteiligten sich ebenfalls an der Runde, darunter Bayern Kapital (mit Wachstumsfonds Bayern 2), BioMedPartners, coparion, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF), OCCIDENT und Seventure Partners. Das neue Kapital nutz